FB Twitter

Lower Leys Cottage

Lower Leys Cottage

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
91% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.2
Location
4.5
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.0


Lower Leys is a lovely two bedroom, semi-detached cottage situated in the heart of Exmoor. The dog friendly property sleeps up to four and is ideal for couples or families.

Very happy third visit.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third successive autumn at Lower Leys. Always happy there, although lack of mobile coverage and "outgoing calls only" on house phone meant the need to think ahead at times. Weather was poor (wet/very wet on all but one day in the fortnight). Would have booked again for next year had we not had car problems at last minute, which showed us the need to be closer to villages/towns at our age (84) .



Beautiful cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped - felt like a home from home. There was plenty of space both upstairs and down and the kitchen had just about everything we needed.

TV and WiFi worked fine whilst we were there for when we needed it but we were out and about most of the time - the location was perfect for exploring Exmoor. Our first time to Exmoor and I don't think we could have been happier with property or location!




A lovely time had by the whole family

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed for a week at Lower Leys and had a great time. House was well equipped, nicely furnished and comfortable. Great position with lots to do on the moor and further afield towards the coast. We were graced with good weather but I think entertaining the children in bad weather would have been much more tricky. 2 small things would improve the cottage further...a clothes airer so you don't have to use the tumble drier and the sofa was not the most comfortable but apart from that ...Thank you!



A delightful holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lower Leys cottage is an excellent place to stay in a beautiful setting. It was clean, well equipped with plenty of hot water - although it was a bit too hot at times and I would worry about that if there were children in the property. We would also have liked a small airer to dry the washing we did not wish to tumble dry.
Apart from those small niggles we really enjoyed our stay and would love to return one day.
Thank you for the welcome pack.




Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Carolyn, thanks for leaving a review and good to hear you had a good time, we will pass on your comments. Regards Harry

stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautiful location, the views and the peace and quiet. handy tea , coffee, milk supplied and lovely clotted cream fudge and wine as a welcome. loads of hot water. beds really comfy. only negative was the settee and chairs rather uncomfortable. would definately recommend if you appreciate the countryside.



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jude, good to hear you enjoyed your stay at Lower Leys and thanks for taking the time to write a review. Cheers Harry

Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
We had dirty duvet cover even though we mentioned it no offer of a clean one. Sofa in very poor condition. Sideboard very dusty could write your name in it. Kitchen cupboard above toaster plastic coating was peeling badly. No blinds in either bathroom and un one window was broken. No toilet roll holder in either bathroom. Pictures of kitchen table werent the same, no tablecloth, table had marks on it and chairs werent the same, they were very old. Very old freezer. Kitchen really needs blinds as no privacy. Good quality towels, lighting was good in all rooms. A real shame as with bit of care and attention could be very nice cottage. Would recommend if work was done.



Sam Godsal replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Clive I do apologise about your duvet cover - I was the last person int the cottage here you arrive and I suspect that, while I was up a ladder changing a light bulb for your my dog snuck upstairs and ran across the bed. This should not have happened and I apologise that I did not realise this was the case. The Sofa in the drawing room is a very good quality sofa and relatively new and I think comfortable - were the woollen cushions stained - was that the problem? I understand that there are no blinds to the windows facing the back garden - most people seem to prefer it that way but we could consider changing this. There are curtains in the bathroom which are generally considered sufficient? There is a tablecloth in one of the drawers and we will, in future, until the table has been resurfaced, leave the out for guests. I will have a look also in to replacing the freezer, which I do agree is old. In the meantime, do rest assured that we are doing our best to continue to upgrade this cottage and have recently commissioned new bedcovers and valances to be made for all beds so hopefully, if you come again, you will find most it not all of these issues have been addressed. Thanks, Sam

A very nice place to stay which would be even better with two simple improvements.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very clean and comfortable. Especially upstairs, with large well-fitted out bedrooms and bathrooms. Spoilt having three toilets for two people and one dog.The kitchen was well-equiped, except for one major basic omission which we found very inconvenient - no microwave oven ! (though there were instructions for one). We have been on many self-catering holidays and this is the first property not to have one. We rang the contact number and asked if one could be supplied for the rest of our holiday. The straight answer was no, (there used to be one there but it was taken out as it was deemed 'too dangerous). Exmoor is a great place to visit and views from the cottage are fantastic. We didn't attempt the longish walk down the steep lane to the village, especially when we found out the pub was closed down for refurbishment. To sum up. To achieve higher markings all that is required is provision of a microwave and a few of the bigger potholes on the lane down to the cottage to be filled in. My Honda Civic took a bit of a battering despite all my efforts to slowly weave around them.



Sam Godsal replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Michael Thank you for your recent review of Lower Leys and your comments both the good and the bad. On a count of a couple of repeat complaints about microwaves, we have decided to install a new and safe microwave on in each cottage. while we do not use microwaves, we do accept that other people do. I feel however that I was right to remove the very very old one that was in there - it cannot possibly have been safe for you to use being older than 25 years. Luckily the pub is open again now. I do understand that it must have been disappointing for you to find it shut. The potholes on the road are a longer and harder to fix problem. We are still waiting for BT and western power to remove their overhead cables. Once they and all their lorries are gone we will begin to look again at replacing the road [ this is something that has to get done every three years or so. Anyway best wishes and I do hope you will visit again. Yours, Sam

Quiet break on the moors to escape a busy life.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage on the outskirts of Withypool with beautiful views over the moor.

Cosy living room with a smart tv and wifi, a well equipped kitchen, good sized under-stairs cupboards for boots and a cloakroom on the ground floor. Upstairs there are two spacious bedrooms both with good en-suites and large built in wardrobes.

The cottage is within walking distance of the well stocked village shop and pub, although some might find it a steep walk back!

Many circular walks on the door step.




Breathtaking location

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage (third of an ancient stone farmhouse) was very warm, offered lashings of hot water at any time of day and provided comfortable beds and sofas. Perched on the side of the moor, the breath-taking views from the windows and garden mean that this is a very special location. A good walk down hill to the village (and its wonderful shop and tea-room) is only slightly soured by the fact that the walk back up the hill is not something you'd want to do every day - even if you are fit and healthy. So it's almost essential to take a car to get out and about. Perfect for walkers, birdwatchers, those who love to be away from the rat-race.



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Caroline, thanks for leaving such a lovely review and delighted that you had a good time at Leys, unfortunately most of North Devon and Exmoor is blessed with steep hills and often the pub is at the wrong end of it but at least you can walk off all the booze and food! Cheers Harry

February

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time staying at the cottage,it was a wonderfully peaceful location and perfectly positioned as a base to explore Exmoor.
The cottage was cosy, comfortable and warm, the bedrooms had great views and were spacious.
Would definitely stay here again




Harry Roberts replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jonathan, thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review of Lower Leys, so glad you had a great time at the cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Please remember www.leyscottages.co.uk or www.myfavouritecottages.co.uk. Thanks Harry

Perfect for our needs

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A clean and warm cottage with a well-equipped kitchen. The bedrooms are large and very comfortable, each with it's own bathroom and lovely views. For us the location was perfect - tucked away in a quiet spot with countryside all around, within walking distance of Withypool (which has a well-stocked village shop) and Exford. The only improvement would have been better signposting to the cottage once off-road, as it was a little hard to find when we arrived.



Harry Roberts replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Heather, thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about Lower Leys Cottage. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back one day. Please remember www.leyscottages.co.uk or www.myfavouritecottages.co.uk. Thanks Harry