FB Twitter

Hayloft at Wheel Farm (2)

Hayloft at Wheel Farm (2)

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
89% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


A cosy cottage for two situated at Wheel Farm near Combe Martin. Guests staying at the Hayloft are within easy reach of North Devon's beaches and Exmoor National Park. The one bedroom cottage is well-equipped and guests can take advantage of the onsite leisure facilities.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were meant to stay last year to celebrate a big birthday, but covid meant it got pushed back to this August. The cottage was lovely, but slightly cramped for a family of 4, not much room around the beds etc but it was functional. The shower works but is more akin to washing in a gentle rain storm due to low pressure, but it did the job. Storage is limited, especially the kitchen, it has cupboards for pots/cooking trays/glassware etc, but none for storing food. So a bit disappointing. The area was lovely, lots of space for dog walking and the kids to play safely. The pool is great, was my kids favourite thing to do, but too cold, covid stopped me using the sauna so can't comment on that. Overall, it was a nice stay, but I wouldn't come back, as we needed a bit more space and I think North Devon is more for dog owners and couples, as it didn't have much to do plus the weather wasn't great. Admittedly, covid didn't help, as we tried to booked the zoo, wildlife park and Big Sheep but they were all booked due to taking limited numbers. But the owners Alli & Richard were outstanding and very helpful.



A 70th birthday holiday for my wife.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was everything we expected.
It was clean and tidy when we arrived and was exactly as shown on the website.
The grounds surrounding the cottage were well maintained,
and with the play area ,tennis court and swimming pool our grandkids loved our stay,
We also made full use of the dog walking field.
The location was ideal for travelling to the beaches nearby,
all within 15 minutes driving.
Would definitely recommend Wheel Farm Cottages to everybody.




Lovely, secluded, peaceful - a great property with excellent facilities

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely secluded peaceful location and a well maintained property with plenty of space and very good facilities. The swimming pool was great to have in such very hot weather and the meadow with picnic benches was a great alternative to lying on a crowded beach - we used it for meals outdoors too. The owners Ali and Richard were very welcoming and helpful.
It’s seclusion means it’s a bit remote when it comes to getting into Coombe Martin on foot ( journey back is up a very steep hill!)
The Hayloft was big enough for two and was well equipped It would have benefited from a bistro table outside as the large outdoor table was more suitable and was used by larger parties. We would certainly recommend it as we had a great weeks break!




Not as relaxing as expected

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jul 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was hoping for a relaxing week and to explore the lovely countryside nearby. Unfortunately we felt like we were in a gold fish bowl with what seemed a constant stream of people going past the kitchen window. It was noisy as a large group of guests stayed in a number of the cottages. They quite rightly used the time for their family get together but it meant they met in a large group and wandered between properties. Also had a whining dog in the next cottage which had been left unattended by the occupants. Very distressing to hear and not very relaxing. Had a few minor problems with the accommodation which added to the frustration. I suspect we would have been happier in one of the larger cottages away from the courtyard. Shame really as the grounds were lovely and Alli and Richard were helpful. Did have some lovely days out though.



Excellent holiday location

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wheel farm is in a beautiful setting on the edge of Exmoor National Park and an ideal place for visiting North Devon.
The accommodation was first class, well fitted kitchen, comfortable settee, up to date tv and a sumptuous King-size bed.
We were greeted on arrival by Richard and Allie who made us very welcome.
The grounds are beautiful with a mix of trees, wild flowers and well kept grass areas, barbecues, large parking area and the bonus for us, a large dog secure field. Unfortunately we were unable to use the pool facility as two people had to be in the facility together and we had our dog with us.
All together a enjoyable and memorable holiday and would highly recommend for either an older couple or families with children.




Relaxing week in Devon

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to relax, very comfortable and well-equipped cottage in a lovely setting.
Our hosts were really helpful and friendly.
We're looking forward to returning sometime soon!




June holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very attractive complex in a discreet but accessible location. Although fully booked the site was never overcrowded. Once you got to grips with the location it proved to be an ideal centre for touring around and discovering North Devon.



Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location making it easy to visit the surrounding area.
The cottage was very comfortable everything you needed was provided and spotlessly clean. The pool was a real bonus.




Excelent Accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Apr 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Hayloft Cottage accommodation of a high quality, and would certainly recommend with no hesitation. We did not use the swimming pool on this occasion. There was plenty of hot water and the central heating was very effective. The area was very quiet, and the grounds were particularly pleasant and useful. We had our dog with us and made sure that he respected the property, and it appeared previous holidaymakeres had also took care of the cottage as it was very well maintained.



We had a great stay at wheel farm the cottage was perfect. The grounds were excellent for our dog.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Facilities were clean and really dog friendly. Everything we needed was close at hand and we were able to relax and enjoy a stay in the north devon countryside. Easy access to nearby towns and beaches. Perfect for any walkers.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to wheel Farm many times over the years and have stayed in several cottages, each one being excellent, our stay in the Hayloft was ditto, clean, cosy and comfortable. Even though things were slightly different because of Covid19, everything was done to make you feel safe.
Thank you to Richard and Ali.




A very relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable week away in a comfortable cottage.The accomodation was very clean which puts your mind at rest in these current times. Everything you need is provided should you wish to cook if not there are plenty of good eating places locally (we would recommend The Dolphin) .The complex is well located for local attractions and good walking and the swimming pool is a bonus.I can certainly recommend Wheel Farm and would gladly stay there again!



Snug Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Snug and well equipped cottage. Beautiful part of the world.
Snug and well equipped cottage. Beautiful part of the world.














































Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Hayloft, slight issue on arrival that was dealt with with in 20 seconds (literally)! Lovely cottage
in a great setting around a pretty courtyard, use of pool, close to Combe Martin. Already recommended the place to friends.




Family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as 3 separate families in Hayloft, The Dairy and The Shippen. Ideal for the children and dogs as lots of space in the grounds to roam around. Made use of swimming pool every day and enjoyed a few barbecues. Allison was very friendly and helpful. We all really enjoyed ourselves after all the uncertainty of covid. Lovely area.



The Hayloft

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottages - this is the second time I have stayed there - the first being in The Dairy, but oh dear the water problems have not been resolved, regrettably. It's water pressure - or the lack there of - downstairs fine - upstairs dreadful.

Hayloft : The upstairs hand basin cold water feed was nothing but a trickle - I reported this to Hannah on the Sunday of my arrival, but nothing was fixed. The shower head over the bath the pressure was OK if you held the shower head down into the bath, but once put any higher again the feed was nothing but dismal!

Ali & Richard are charming - but I do not go on holiday to do any maintenance (instructions to fix any air blockages in the water pipes are in their property booklet) - I go away expecting the facilities to be fully functional. Indeed I even contemplated going to Stowfords where my daughter was staying to use their shower facilities it was so disappointing.

Will I use Wheel Farm again - although lovely and very cosy with the log burner going - unless I was guaranteed constant good water flow - sorry no.

Such a shame.




Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sandra, really sorry to hear about the issues with the water, I think Alli is writing to you to apologies and explain although its too late for your stay but they are getting a plumber in. I hope this doesn't put you off Wheel Farm. Cheers Harry

Short autumn break

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at wheel Farm, the cottage was cosy. The swimming pool was a nice extra. There was plenty to do if you enjoy a walk. Combe Martin is a pretty coastal village.



Idyllic place to escape and relax

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings everything was clean and had everything you could possibly need. Great place for a holiday to chill out and relax with amazing beaches or countryside in easy reach. Will definitely recommend and will hopefully return again soon.



Lovely cottage in a lovely setting

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our cottage was comfortable and clean. The owners were very welcoming and friendly, the gardens were pretty and the swimming pool was warm. The sauna which was on a timer worked too and I really enjoyed it. We would have liked the pool to be open till 8p.m. rather than 7pm as with such lovely weather we didn't get back in time on some evenings to use it. Although it feels as if you are off the beaten track there is a good road network and a lot of places of interest nearby. We would recommend this cottage.