FB Twitter

Fairways West at Highbullen

Fairways West at Highbullen

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.6
Location
4.0
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.8


Fairways West is a good sized four bedroom cottage at Highbullen Hotel. The dog friendly cottage sleeps up to eight guests who can take advantage of the wonderful onsite leisure facilities, including indoor swimming pool, tennis court and 18-hole golf course.

A Christmas "escape"

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed somewhere very quickly following flooding at our own property and,luckily, we found this. Booking process was easy. When we arrived we quickly settled in and found everything we needed for our stay over Christmas. The property was spacious and well equipped. There was an issue with the washing machine and this was quickly fixed by the extremely friendly team. Pool and spa was well maintained. Did not use the dining facilities or the bar.

Would have been nice to have the house decorated for Christmas but I suspect this is something we should have asked for rather than expected.

Would we stay again, yes. Would we recommend, yes.

Phil




Fabulous place

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A brilliant holiday for three families and a dog. We had a wonderful time. The self-catering facilities in Fairways West even allowed for celebratory cooking and provided plenty of space and privacy for all generations. There is plenty of entertainment at Highbullen for both adults and children with golf, croquet, walking, outdoor swimming etc. Even on the day when it rained there was indoor swimming, the sport simulator and even a fabulous Devon afternoon tea. The childrens' afternoon tea, presented in little secret drawers, was magical and really thrilled the little ones. There is so much space on this country estate that we were totally unaware that the hotel was fully booked for the entire week!



Great family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as a family party of 3 generations with ages ranging from 8 to 89. Accommodation was stylish and very comfortable - great beds and we all loved the huge sofas. Good outdoor space for BBQ and we enjoyed both the pools.

Only slight problem for older family member was the steps between all the down stairs rooms, including 3 steps from downstairs bedroom to bathroom. And the small step from kitchen to dinning room was a trip hazard for us all! But overall a great stay




Super accommodation in mid Devon

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Holiday accommodation was excellent - very clean and comfortable. The facilities available provided great variety for our family with older children. The pool is a good size, the golf course challenging, and tennis courts are in excellent condition. We played croquet and also enjoyed the snooker room whilst having a drink in the evening. We ate out only once in the Laura Ashley Tea Room, but lunch was excellent. South Molton 7 miles away has plenty of shops if self catering, with a Sainsbury’s, an excellent butcher and a cheese shop. We would definitely consider a return visit.



Our stay

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House was lovely, could done more hangers ( only about 20 for 8 of us )and drawers in bedrooms or more shelves.
Toilet seat in en suite kept falling off .
Dissapointed that didn’t say anywhere when booking that no swimming for children between 11 and 1 also when went one day about 5 we where told had to be out at 6 as aqua aerobics but there was nothing to warn us of this so had 2 dissapointed girls.
Having towels at pools nice touch .
Also found the men in the little carts speeding terribly , we where getting out of car to house one day one came so fast I had to pull my son back as he was crossing and walks slowly as has Down’s syndrome, scared him .
Biscuits tea coffee etc nice touch in the house .
Blinds in upstairs loo and downstairs bedroom see through and no privacy glass.




Great facillities for the whole family

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We arrived at Highbullen Fairways West and were delighted with the accommodation which suited our requirements perfectly.
I read the information pack which related to the hotel rather than the self catering accommodation but there were no instructions regarding recycling and waste arrangements which would have been helpful. I had to make separate enquiries in that regard.
The garden was extensive but on a couple of occasions a neighbouring dog was allowed to roam and encroach our rear patio which was a concern with small children about. This issue needs to be addressed.
The leisure facilities were excellent and we made full use of the indoor and outdoor pools, tennis courts and golf and even enjoyed some croquet on the lawn. Great environment for children who did not want to leave by the end of our stay.
We made limited use of the restaurant facilities as we found them expensive even though we dined one evening and occasionally used the Cellar bar and Golf Club for lunchtime sandwiches which were also expensive for a large family. For an overnight stay at the hotel the prices were more than acceptable but for a weeks self catering regular use of the dining facilities would have somewhat overstretched the budget.
The location was fairly remote for `dining out` at other venues but the reopening of the Exeter Arms should resolve this.
We would definitely return to Highbullen and would prefer to stay on the site if it could compete with surrounding hostelries as this would be far more convenient and provide greater flexibility for families.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay which could only have been enhanced by more reasonably priced on site catering.




Ideal accommodation and location for a family holiday 8 adults 4 children (age range 13-17) plus dog

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a near perfect property and location with gorgeous views for our family needs. Only small point about location was the distance to a surfing beach (eg Croyde, Woolacombe). Facilities on site were excellent with full access to swimming pool, complete with exercise classes, gym etc etc. Would definitely go again.



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Brian, thanks for the lovely review and so glad you had a good time at Highbullen. Please remember to check www.highbullenholidaycottages.co.uk next time. Cheers Harry

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and well equipped cottage which had everything we needed. The cottage was finished and furnished to a high standard. The kitchen was rather small, but we managed!



Mum's 80th Jan 2019

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We as a family of 16 (10adults 6children) had the most wonderful time at Fairways West/ East to celebrate mums 80th birthday,
we arranged to meet in main hotel bar as it was a surprise for mum to have us all together. The staff at Highbullen made us very welcome, the children played snooker & pool while us adults had a few beverages ! We collected the keys for Fairways West/East & on entering the property we all felt at home straight away, it was lovely and warm, spotlessly clean and tidy. plenty of room for us all, beds lovely and comfortable, plenty of hot water, utensils in kitchen spot on. Lovely garden lawn for the children to run around. We enjoyed using the swimming pool,shame we didn't have enough time to use the tennis courts. Highbullen is a little out of the way but set in beautiful countryside,with fantastic views. Great weekend had by all, will definitely go back.




Harry Roberts replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Debbie, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, were so glad you enjoyed your stay at Fairways West and if you ever want to return please remember www.highbullenholidaycottages.co.uk or www.myfavouritecottages.co.uk. Thanks Harry