FB Twitter

High Wards

High Wards

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Short Break

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A short break for a works team getaway. Great venue, great location, great stay.... thanks to Emily for looking after us!



Amazing venue

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High wards is an amazing venue in the most beautiful location. Emily helped us so much with our wedding planning and is extremely calming and helpful. Our guests had the best weekend and emily really made it feel like home. Can't explain how amazing this venue is.



As Always Fantastic.

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third family holiday at High Wards and we have already booked for next year. I think that says it all. The weather was not brilliant this year but that does not matter. There is plenty for everyone (ages 5 -72 in our party) at this fantastic property. We love it so much that it has become our forever holiday home!.



Just fantastic! Stunning location! Hope to return again.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at High Wards. The first was for our wedding in 2017.
As before everything was just perfect, including the weather this time! The house is in a stunning setting with just perfect views of Ben Lomond, especially at sunset with a sundowner! And no sign of any midges!
This time we were celebrating a couple of family birthdays. We asked Emily to cater a BBQ and afternoon tea and this was just superb.
More than one person commented on the meringues being 'to die for' and the ice cream cart for dessert at the BBQ was a lovely surprise.
The house is very comfortable and homely. With 2 dogs and 4 children under 9 yrs in our party, we still felt relaxed and welcomed.
Emily's aim is to ensure her guests have a wonderful time and this comes across in her helpfulness and advice.
It was just perfect for everyone to come together for dinner around the large table accommodating everyone and then to gather later in the lounge area for games.
The pool, trampoline and outdoor play area was perfect for keeping the children amused.
With forward planning, it's so easy to organise delivery of groceries for your arrival day and there is ample fridge and freezer space. The new addition of an ice machine was a bonus.

The tennis court is looking a wee bit tired and in need of some TLC, but this didn't impact on our enjoyment of the whole holiday.

Having left a little oak sapling there after our wedding in 2017, it was lovely to see it still growing and thriving amongst the trees at High Wards

Thank you Emily & Jim
x










Family reunion

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at High Wards. It was as lovely as advertised and accommodated nine teen people aged 3 to 88 in great comfort and style. Emily and her team did us proud and the location was a great base to tour the lower highlands . Outstanding holiday



High wards

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for my dads surprised 60th. It was fantastic. Everyone loved it. Emily couldn't have been more helpful and the house catered for everyones needs. There was nothing we went without. I'd highly recommend staying here. I think we will be making it a yearly thing.



Our amazing & memorable wedding weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had the perfect wedding weekend at High Wards. The location is stunning set against the wetlands and Loch in the distance. A group of us ventured out on the morning of the ceremony and enjoyed the flora and fauna on offer, not to mention the mountain views!
The grounds are well kept and plenty of space to play lawn games in the sunshine as we did.
The house itself is extremely spacious and of a high standard throughout. Almost all the bedrooms are en suite and everywhere was immaculately clean. The two very large public rooms were ideal for our purposes; the more formal Great Room was used for our champagne and canapés reception leading out onto the rear terrace where everyone mingled in the sunshine whilst the Garden Room was used for the evening meals including our wedding BBQ.
The pool table created hours of fun for the younger crew as did the indoor pool. We had our ceremony under the Gazebo which was idyllic. The whole weekend lent itself to rest and relaxation with ample food and drink throughout.
We had arranged for our weekend to be fully catered. Emily did all the cooking herself and the food and presentation was amazing. Her full Scottish Breakfast, which we ate outside each morning, was the best I had had for a very long time.
Even from the early planning stages Emily had everything under control and gave us some really good ideas on how we could organise our weekend. Nothing was too much trouble.
Ours was a small wedding of family and close friends and we wanted somewhere more personal than a hotel, where everyone could meet and get to know each other over a weekend. It has been a truly memorable occasion and we are so happy to have found High Wards.
We would have no hesitation in recommending High Wards as a wedding venue or in fact for any social gathering.





My second visit to High Wards for my 65th.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Attended this stunning venue for the first time in 2014. WOW, check it out, you will not be disappointed.



Boutique feel private house that's ideal for group holidays or special occasions

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Whether you're considering High Wards for a week or two's holiday, a hen party, a special celebration or your wedding - book it. Book it now without hesitation. It is a stay with a difference, in all the best ways.

Despite us both driving by the venue most days on our commute to work, we had no idea what lay beyond the High Wards Estate road sign until we were looking for a wedding venue. Yet from the moment owner Emily showed us around we were sold and promptly cancelled every other venue viewing we had booked.

What grabbed us? The sense of a boutique hotel or private residence; stylish enough to make our guests feel special and create a real sense of occasion, yet comfortable and practical too. The fact we could have our nearest and dearest stay with us in the nine bedrooms; each and every one of them beautifully done. The private pool (who doesn't get excited at the sight of a pool) with loungers. The TV and toy room for those with little guests to keep happy. The private grounds with spectacular views day or night. The opportunity to get married outdoors or indoors, meaning no need to fret about the weather.

In the months leading up to our wedding, Emily was just as helpful as she'd been on our very first visit: recommending her go-to suppliers; advising us on what other couples had found worked well; inviting us back for several more viewings; and answering 101 little questions by email with the utmost patience and good humour.

Then, over the wedding weekend itself, Emily and husband Jim worked quietly and discretely away to ensure we have everything and anything that we or our guests needed, right down to ensuring that the severely celiac father of the bride remained in good health and a big part of the celebrations throughout (truly the best wedding gift). So many people had good things to say about Emily, Jim and the High Wards team. Our only disappointment is that we can't do it all again this weekend. So go book - you won't regret it.




A perfect weekend, thanks to a great team in a wonderful setting.

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot recommend this team or this venue highly enough. They helped us achieve our dream weekend for our wedding - time and space spent with close friend and family in a relaxed, informal environment. The house was wonderful, well maintained, clean and great amenities. The team had a friendly professional manner throughout our dealings with them - from our initial contact to the wedding day itself. We have very special memories from our incredible weekend and the High Wards team played a huge part in achieving this - thank you Emily and team.



Wow.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing retreat in a wonderful location just a few miles from beautiful Loch Lomond. The scenery was incredible. Deer walking past our windows as we had our meals. Emily and her staff were wonderful, so helpful and very accommodating. Nothing was any bother to them. The food provided for the whole weekend was food that you would expect at a 5 star hotel. It was very well presented, hot, and very enjoyable. The 9 rooms were all different and very comfortable indeed. If you want to celebrate a special occasion High Wards must be a place you must consider. I believe that you will find it very difficult to find somewhere as good. Our friends who attended the weekend we had at High Wards were blown away.



Perfect stay and wedding at High Wards

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WOW, just WOW. We got married at High Wards in April 2019 and EVERYTHING was perfect from start to finish.

We arrived to the house on Thursday ahead of our wedding on the Saturday, we were married under the BEAUTIFUL pergola, had our marquee wedding breakfast and reception on the Saturday, then had a family BBQ catered by The High Wards team on the Sunday. The house was stunning, furnished and equipped to the highest standard and impeccably clean and comfortable. The food was delicious both at the wedding and BBQ, the service was top notch and all done in a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Emily and Jim’s attention to detail was evident and all the guests raved about every aspect. Emily, Jim and the team delivered by giving us the wedding of our dreams, and for that we cannot be any more thankful.

Some service highlights - Emily offering to go to Costco for us (going the extra mile when she really didn’t have to!), Emily’s attention to detail with the dietary requirements, we had all varieties attending and Emily made sure they were all looked after (to the point we helped Emily at night introducing the people with dietary requirements so that she could find them and personally deliver their evening food to them!), the friendly High Wards staff who took an interest in us and got to know us, they were really nice people, fab, although we think they secretly wanted baby cuddles instead of chatting to us! All guests who stayed in the house (and those who attended the wedding and BBQ) were made to feel so welcome and accommodated and nothing was ever too much trouble.

We HIGHLY recommend High Wards to anyone for a family holiday, or large event such as a wedding. We will be returning as a family group soon! THANK YOU!




Perfection

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed at high wards on two occasions, the first we stayed and organised a birthday party within the venue it, Emily helped organise a lot of the party details and everything was planned perfectly, the second we hired for a smaller family birthday and we celebrated on our own, both times the house was spotless and is luxurious. Kitchen is well kitted out, pool is warm and comfortable and sitting are areas are very relaxing, we have kids with us on both locations and they have loved the house as much as the adults, i can honestly say the location of this beautiful house is stunning. Wether your looking for a family holiday or for a special occasion this house would suit and exceed your expectations. Thank you again and I hope to see you again in the future.



Celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent weekend High Wardwas the most relaxing place to host 20 of out friends and family for our Ruby wedding...from booking to leaving Emily and her husband were so attentive...a big thanks to them.



Hen weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the best weekend at High Wards for my sisters hen do, the house is beautiful, so much space and everything you would need. The rooms are all luxurious, views are amazing and the pool is fantastic, only wish we could stay longer!!



JC 70th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High Wards had everything for a great stay, the standard and layout of the property is exceptional. We were a party of 15 adults and five children with ages ranging from 4months to 89 years. Everyone had a fantastic time, cooking made easy for a large party with the house having 5 ovens, massive fridge and 3 dishwashers. With so much space indoors and out everyone had a great time with so many activities available at the house. Football, kids play area with slide, trampoline, indoor swimming pool, pool table, two large tv’s with plenty of comfortable couches. The facilities and number of comfortable seating and dining areas with log fires and great radiators to make sure the house is always warm and cosy.



Weekend away

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked a weekend away for my husband and his friends 30th, 19 of us in total. One of the best weekends of my life.
The house is just unbelievable, the pictures don’t do it justice. It was spotlessly clean when we arrived, the house is so comfortable and homely although it is so big! Everything was perfect from start to finish and Emily was very helpful. Desperate to go back again




Another amazing weekend at the fabulous High Wards

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at High Wards. A group of 9 couples have rented houses for a long weekend in November for the past 17 years in both Scotland and England - High Wards surpasses them all....
The standard of the interior is excellent with everything and more than you could possibly want or need. Emily was there when we arrived and showed us the new extension - what an amazing room to compliment an already amazing house!! It was wet and miserable on the Saturday when we were there but the house was so cosy and along with the swimming pool we couldn't have been in a more pleasant place.
Sometimes when you rent a house for a short break it's the simple little things that you miss or forget....like a herb for a dish or you're given 2 dishwasher tablets for a whole weekend...not High Wards...well stocked with all these little extras, a home from home, plenty of plates, glasses for every occassion and cutlery (not limited to one each like some properties).
We couldn't fault it in any way and will certainly be back.




Fab birthday weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and friends spent a fabulous celebratory birthday weekend at High Wards. It was absolutely perfect - large enough to give everyone their own separate space whilst other areas were perfect for when we all wanted to be together. The grand lounge is stunning with a massive window magnificently framing Ben Lomond. Every area is well equipped - the kitchen area, equipment, massive fridges and drinks cooler provided all we needed for making meals and snacks; leisure activities included a fab pool and snooker table providing hours of fun indoors and the tennis court, trampoline, go karts and nearby walks the same outdoors. Every bedroom was superb, all bar one with an en-suite, the master is particularly stunning with views to Ben Lomond. Emily (owner) provided lots of advice and guidance in advance. The 3 course meal she prepared for 19 people on Saturday was fabulous and the lovely Sophie looked after us so well, efficient and ever smiling. Despite the weather being a real mix of sunshine and showers, we had a fab BBQ for 45 people on Sunday and with 3 large tables (1 outside), everyone had space to sit and eat the wonderful range of dishes. I particularly appreciated that Emily had accommodated my friend, who has a garlic allergy, by making small separate bowls of the salads provided for the crowd so that she could enjoy the same foods, rather than just being told ‘you can’t eat this or that’. I can’t recommend High Wards enough for a house party....it’s a very special place....I hope we can return once again!



An extended family on holiday together

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful relaxing time together. The young ones in the pool or on the bikes, the older ones out in their canoes, the senior ones just enjoying the beautiful countryside from the lounge.
The only negative was that the tennis court needs major attention.




Another fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Since discovering High Wards it has become our forever family holiday home. Three generations can enjoy the excellent facilities and stunning location. Whatever the weather there is always something to do.
The absolute best holiday property for rent that we have ever found. This was our second year at High Wards and we have already booked for 2019 which says it all.
Yes it is quite an expensive rental but we'll worth every penny.




Wedding at High Wards

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We got married at High Wards on 7th July. It was a dream. The location for one is stunning! The house was the perfect venue for all my Family and Bridal party to stay for the whole weekend. We really made the most of it while we were there.
Emily is amazing at organising, she worked miracles helping us with so many aspects of the wedding, and on the day everything ran so smoothly as she was there overseeing the whole thing. I couldn't reccommend it enough as a wedding venue but also as somewhere just to gather your friends and family for a wonderful week or weekend together.




Amazing!!!

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time I’ve stayed in the Highward House. The House is stunning. Emily is an amazing host and the food is brilliant.
I highly recommend booking the House for a break away or wedding.
Can’t wait to book up again.





Yet another fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my 4th stay at High Wards and once again it was up to the usual fantastic standards. The house is just the most comfortable, luxurious accommodation that feels like home....I wish!!
We were a group of 17 adults and teenagers, everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay, helped by the glorious sunshine. I can’t wait for my next excuse to return!
Thank you Emily and Jim x




Great experience

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From booking through our stay to the post visit communication our experience was excellent. The spacious accommodation, set in such a beautiful location ,was appreciated by every member of our extended family - infants - children - teenagers - adults to senior citizens.
The swimming pool was a big hit.
Everyone commented on the high level of comfort - from the many communal areas to the bedrooms (and beds). The high level of cleanliness and quality of furniture and fittings ensured a comfortable stay.
The outside areas were well tended, varied and suitable for a wide range of activities from tennis to a walk in the gardens to mini sports and dog walking.
The food and service provided were, not just very good, but excellent. Leftovers for lunch on the following day were also enjoyed!
Booking was easy. Communication throughout was first class and very pleasant. Services provided were high quality, always on time and again provided with grace and good humour.
There was something for everyone and plenty of spaces to ensure we could all get together when we wanted or go somewhere quiet if desired. Sound proofing in house was wonderful - Young people's music didn't need to be enjoyed/endured by everyone!
High Wards and excellence go together.




Fantastic weekend at highwards

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From arrival to check out we could not have been happier with our stay at Highwards, great food and service from Emily in a beautiful location.



A brilliant experience

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can’t recommend this place enough. Anexcellebt venue for a big get together of family and friends. Loads of space fur socialising, really luxurious bedrooms and plenty to do for adults and kids.

Top marks all round!




Family break

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a stunning property with everything you will need in a beautiful and central location. Everything on site for a family break for all ages. Emily was very helpful before we arrived and nothing was too much bother. We celebrated a birthday on the Saturday night and we were thrilled with the three course meal and service provided by Emily and her family. We would have no hesitation in recommending High Wards for a family get together.



Amazing weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at the house. Such an amazing house and Jim and Emily were so helpful. We were stranded in the snow and they helped cars out and took people home.



Outstanding in all ways!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had our wedding at High Wards in July 2017 and could not have had a better experience, thanks to Emily and her team (with a special mention to Jim too!). We stayed in the house for five days, from the Friday to the Wednesday, with the wedding on the Saturday. As the house sleeps 21, we had close family and friends to stay with us too.

On the Friday night, Emily catered for all our wedding guests with a meal and drinks, and this was delicious, yummy, scrumptious - whatever! The wedding day catering was praised by all too, with special dietary needs even being taken into account, and the evening buffet again was superb. On the day after the wedding, all our guests enjoyed a BBQ, again being characteristically sumptuous.

The house is stunning and kept to an immaculate standard. It is luxurious but also homely, and we did not feel awkward with children & grandchildren in tow, with our dog present for the full five days also. The whole venue, the little touches like the swimming pool, garden games, tennis courts, the well appointed kitchen and the grounds are all magnificent, and lend weight to High Wards being an excellent venue in which to relax.

Emily and her team were brilliant. She is so easy to work with in helping to plan the Big Day. Clearly, she is a fount of knowledge for someone wanting to arrange big events there, and she could not have been more helpful in making things happen, with all the small touches we wanted. She has gone "over and above", in our opinion, in helping us with some extra detail to make our wedding so very memorable.




Wedding at Highwards

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Highwards for our wedding, the day before - where all guests came together, and the day after. It was better than expected - for the wedding we had plenty of space to celebrate and a great atmosphere with the hills and the loch in the background. Also Emily and the team took care of the food which was just excellent. Also the day after - we found plenty of activities. Everyone had a great day.
Absolute fantastic place to stay and to celebrate your wedding - there's nothing I would have changed.
Big thanks again to Emily and the team!




Weekend wedding

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful setting for a wedding. Totally stunning. The house is magnificent and very comfortable. Emily is great could not do enough for you. Would recommend to anyone who loves the country and loves being spoiled and a good base for visiting other local beauty spots



Just Perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is far and away the best property that we have rented for a family holiday.
I simply can't fault it. Every aspect of it is six star and all aspects of the property are top quality.
The owners go above and beyond - nothing is too much trouble. The best recommendation I can give is that we had booked it again for next year before we left.
We are a family group aged from 3 to 65 and we have finally found our forever holiday home.




This is a glorious versatile house in a glorious location

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at High Wards for a week around the wedding nearby of our son using it as a base for friends and family between the ages of 2 - 85 years and we all loved every minute. There is something for everyone. We didn't want to leave. We had 18 people staying and, despite the terrible weather rolling through, we never once felt on top of each other. There are endless comfortable living rooms, an enormous kitchen with lots of storage and fringes and freezers, comfortable bedrooms each with its own bathrooms, a cupboard full of toys, a garage full of children's scooters and bikes and enough terraces and seating outside for everyone. Everything was provided for us. We swam and played tennis and watched the osprey fishing and the deer running through the grounds. Just sitting in the Great Room with the glorious views of the hills and (sometimes) of Ben Lomond was an experience.
Almost best of all is Emily who will do as much or as little catering as you want. Her calm presence and advice both before and during our stay was invaluable. We had a number of parties which she organised for larger visiting numbers before and after the wedding. She produced two delicious BBQs and a wonderful breakfast on the day of the wedding. Her sticky toffee pudding will be spoken of for many years.
We really can't think of anything that could have improved our stay at High Wards. I am sure we will be back!




Wonderful Place

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we stayed for a week to celebrate our joint 70th birthdays with family and friends. The house is superb, wonderful pool that the kids would have spent the while week in, and the play area was also fantastic. All the facilities in the house are fabulous and Emily took great care of us throughout. Overall, brilliant.