FB Twitter

Glenview

Glenview

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


The naturally light cottage provides everything you need with its spacious accommodation for 6 people which is carefully furnished and equipped to a high standard.

As guests you will enjoy the warmth of the log burning stove, underfloor heating and relaxing home comforts. Outside you can sit and relax, barbeque and dine while the younger family explore the surrounding woodlands, build dens and play games on the lawn.

There are extensive walks through the woodland to see wild life and our herd of deer.

Wonderful!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th or 6th stay at Glenview. Our favourite place! We love it there, as do our 2 Border Collies. Lovely house, in beautiful peaceful surroundings. We really don't want to go anywhere else for holidays, Glenview has spoiled us. Emma is so so helpful and leaves a great welcome pack of goodies - for humans & canines! A wonderful break in a wonderful place.



A lovely ,peaceful holiday.

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at this beautiful cottage. a perfect holiday if you want to unwind.Set in beautiful surroundings Glenview provides a perfect base to come back to after days out. Glenview is very comfortable, well equipped and tastefully decorated with a very high standard of cleanliness.It is rare for us to return to a property even when we have enjoyed it ,we have made an exception with Glenview and fully intend to return for a third visit.



A family break

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Emma is amazing and helped to make our return stay wonderful after natural fiascos cut our time short at New Year. Emma did everything and more to fix the situation and we were so glad to return!!! Thank you!



Two weeks stay in June...

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful relaxing stay in a fabulously tranquil location. The cottage had pretty much everything we needed for a home from home...along with that Scottish essential - midges! Take some repellent!!



Glenview a special place!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd visit to Glenview was just as special as the first. This is a magical hideaway. Great to just kick back and relax or a wonderful base for those who want to take in the countryside that surrounds the cottage. If you are into cycling there are great routes around Glenview and if you fancy a drive there are no end of places to discover. We will return!



A very happy week at Glenview

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at the cottage with our young family, with fun day-trips to nearby castles but many more days spent simply enjoying the cottage and its surrounds. The cottage is wonderful - very comfortable and homely - and well-appointed not only with kitchen and bedroom materials but also with things to read and play. Thoroughly recommended.



Idyllic, simply perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The pictures on the website don't do full justice to just how lovely, well appointed, comfortable and clean this wonderful cottage is. Set in splendid tranquility (apart from the local owl population) it is an absolute haven in which we decompressed from the rigors of everyday life. Our three boys played in the woods and streams and we simply relaxed and recharged in very sumptuous surroundings.



Emma replied 298 days ago
It is lovely the hear that the Owl has moved back into it's owl box.

Family weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet peaceful and full of fun. Building dens, exploring wildlife , and relaxing in a beautiful comfortable cottage. Definitley going back.



Emma replied 298 days ago
We absolutely loved seeing your addition to our dens.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is gorgeous. Not the easiest to find. But the owner was fantastic and stayed on the phone to get us there, which is fabulous. Its decorated to a high standard. i loved having the upstair bedroom and bathroom to myself. So peaceful, and the middle of nowhere. Lots of games etc for the children. The deer never came out for us which was a shame. No wifi which was a pity. Didnt want to leave. Would definately go back.



Glenview

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautuful cottage set in a quiet relaxing location. Everything you need is provided. This is a good base to explore the area, or just relax and enjoy the cottage.



Emma replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for coming to stay with us again and thank you for forwarding the venison casserole recipe, we look forward to trying it.

Another wonderful time at Glenview

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at Glenview & once again the family had a great time. My boys fed the deer, spent an afternoon den building & enjoyed a night walk with their torches. This time, my mum joined us and she was amazed at the beautiful quiet location and she loved the cosy cottage. We'll be back.



Emma replied more than 1 year ago
We love the den you built. Thank you for coming to stay with us again and we look forward to your next visit.

Wonderful, peaceful, beautiful house

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Glenview, and we went for two weeks this time. It is our favourite place. The house is really lovely, extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean. Emma is incredibly helpful. The welcome basket is full of goodies both for us and the dogs. The peace and quiet is wonderful. I cannot recommend Glenview highly enough. We're going to book to go again next year - twice!



Emma replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for coming to stay with us again. We would absolutely love to have Jack, Jess and your selves back. Best wishes Emma

100 percent11111222111122211111111111122222111112222222222222222222222222222222222222221000000000000

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Remote but idyllic beautiful setting,cottage well equipped and furnished to high standard.Perhaps a clear sighn further down the lane leading to the cottage would help guests on arrival.



Holidaying at Glen View cottage, Dunscore.

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was well set out carrying a very good range of kitchen ware. Cottage was very clean and a superb place to stay if you want peace and quiet. The wildlife in the area is very good with exceptional woodland walks throughout the area.
Cottage was very warm and cosy and we feel we couldn't have chosen better. One small downside was if you wanted to eat out you would have some distance to travel. However if you wanted to eat in there was also a range of venison in the freezer to be purchased but was exceptional in taste.

All in all a great holiday which we would repeat.




Charming cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a 4 night stay for ourselves & 2 friends from Ripon. Having viewed the reviews from previous visitors we were really looking forward to our stay and on arrival we were not disappointed......this is a lovely cottage albeit in a remote area but this added to the charm of the stay. A welcome pack of essential items...milk, butter, sausages, venison steak was in the fridge with a welcoming note to enjoy. Emma the owner contacted us by phone prior to our visit and discussed how to find the cottage & her email provided clear directions from the Dumfries area, if you're using sat nav be careful as ours took us along many country lanes and we resorted to using a map to get back on route. If you are seeking a quiet location where you can relax this is for you, a nice walk along the track took us to the Deer herd and with a bit of persuasion and a rattle or two of the feeding tub we were rewarded with an up close experience with a beautiful stag ......we will be back to Glenview as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
PS remember to pack a torch or 2.
If you want to book a stay we would recommend contacting Emma direct as we were charged a ridiculous booking fee by the site we booked through.




A lovely quiet break at Glenview.

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking to recharge your batteries, this the place to do it. Glenview is a beautiful property in tranquil surroundings. The interior of the property is completed to a high standard, everything we needed was there. Outside, some beautiful woodlands and the good chance of seeing some lovely wildlife, you can even feed the deer. Overall a lovely break.



Glenview is special!

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We selected Glenview for the setting, accommodation and the proximity to our home near Edinburgh. We had the most wonderful family weekend utilising all the space and when our kids and their partners went back home to work we enjoyed a few days with our dog Tess. Glenview is a real place to chill and relax and when you want some fresh air just pop outside on any of the many walks. We did a few local trips and it is a great base but for us it was Glenview that made our holiday special. The service and attention Emma provides is excellent. We are already planning a weekend in November!



beautiful cottage with amazing views

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
enjoyed our holiday at glenview. The house is beautiful, very comfortable and really feels like home. The surrounding countryside is breathtaking and great for walking. The wildlife there is amazing, deer, foxes, birds, squirrels. The owners were very helpful, thoughtful and kind. We would definitely stay there again without hesitation.



Our stay at glenview

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant time at glenview totally relaxing and just what we needed. Feeding the red deer from my hand had to be one of the highlights of our stay. A real home from home and nothing was too much trouble for Emma and Gareth the owners.



Loved every minute, absolutely stunning

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nestled in a forest up its own private drive this holiday cottage is absolutely stunning. Clean and sumptuous the inside is something special. If you want to get away from it all in superb surroundings this is the place.Take you family now! You won't be sorry. (Go shopping first though because your in the middle of nowhere).



the best property we have been to

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glenview is the cleanest, largest, most beautiful property we have rented to date. It is set within the most peaceful and idyllic setting you could want. It is off the beaten track but we loved that. We will definitely be booking again.



Another 5* stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just returned from our 'annual' stay at Glenview cottage & throughly enjoyed the week! We have 2 children aged 7 & 4 & have never ran out of things to do but we have ran out of time in which to do everything! The house itself is warm, spacious & inviting. It's finished to a very high standard & is extremely well equipt - a true home away from home! The grounds are amazing & we had a great time feeding (& naming!) the Deer, finding fairies in the woods, building dens & playing games. It's a great base for days out & during our stay we went to the Cocoa Bean Chocolate factory, Mabie Farm park, Cream O' Galloway ice cream farm park, Dock park (Dumfries), Thornhill & a few trips to 'big' Tesco! We're very much looking forward to returning next year.....if not before! Emma it was a pleasure to meet you, thanks again for a fab Easter holiday xxx



Wonderful, peaceful, beautiful house

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glenview is the most wonderful holiday cottage. This was our second visit, and we now don't want to go anywhere else. The house itself is absolutely lovely, everything you could need is there. The setting is fantastic, so beautiful, peaceful and quiet. As it is quite remote, there is no light pollution and the night sky is fabulous. We saw wild deer on two occasions in the grounds, and also a snowy owl. The customer service is brilliant, Emma is so very helpful. I couldn't recommend Glenview more highly.



A beautiful, warm & cosy cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glenview is in an idyllic location - so quiet & peaceful. The cottage is clean, well equipped, and so warm & cosy with the underfloor heating. My boys 3 & 5 loved exploring the woods & feeding the deer. The welcome pack of goodies was appreciated, especially the very tasty venison sausages. We will be back - a lovely rural getaway for the family.



Glenview Cottage review

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is a real gem. The standard of accommodation is outstanding and really is home from home. With under floor heating, excellent kitchen facilities(including a superb Bosch dish washer) and washing machine and separate dryer, it makes an ideal base for total relaxation with all home comforts. The situation of the cottage is idyllic with deer almost always seen around the house. This is the second time we have stayed and look forward to many more visits in the future.



Glenview

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had all we could want for a very comfortable stay.
Very clean and well presented
The venison sausages, pate and home made preserves were a lovely and very delicious touch




A great family space ...

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property which was a great family space for our annual get together. Warm and cosy with decent showers and very comfortable beds. Really good communication with Emma beforehand - she couldn't do enough for us to help make our stay even better. Even down to extra charcoal for our Hogmanay BBQ !!
A great time was had by all - thank you.




The perfect place to relex

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not have chosen a better place for a short break to relax and re-charge the batteries, perfect peace and quiet, lovely location. The cottage felt like home as soon as we walked in, fitted out to a very high standard and an extremely comfortable property for a walking holiday.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Glenview everything you could need is here plus more we hope to return soon to stay for longer thank you for our wonderful break X



Stunning holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed a relaxing week in this stunning property. The cottage is surrounded by forrest and we saw deer, bats and birds of prey on our doorstep.
There are all the comforts imaginable in this spacious, beautifully appointed property. The very friendly owner had left a hamper of goodies to greet us. She was very knowledgeable about the area and provided lots of helpful tips and advice.
We were all sorry to leave and will definitely be back.




GLENVIEW COTTAGE REVIEW

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WONDERFUL COTTAGE EVERYTHING YOU REQUIRE FOR YOUR STAY. OWNERS VERY HELPFUL . THE QUIETNESS OF THE COTTAGE IS GREAT. NOTHING NEGATIVE TO SAY WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR TIME AT GLENVIEW AND EMMA AND GARTH WERE EXTREMELY HELPFUL WILL CERTAINLY RETURN AGAIN



5 days at Glenview

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glenview is in a remarkable location and whilst at first seemingly remote, after a couple of nights you realise that remoteness is it's greatest asset. Our party of three consisted of two sixty something.s and an eighty six year old. we loved the location; the appointment of the cottage was excellent, the spacious rooms, the layout was exactly to our needs, with mother on the ground floor; near to her own bathroom. The kitchen was supplied with everything necessary and more besides. Yes, we would give it ten out of ten, but it may be helpful to others to emphasise the remote location.



Secluded luxury, and very helpful owners!

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I made direct contact with the owner before booking and they were extremely helpful and friendly. They did everything they could to make the booking process – and the stay itself – as straightforward as possible. The cottage itself is an absolute joy: as an easily accessible, get-away-from-it-all holiday spot it takes some beating. Very well equipped and comfortable, yet sympathetic in design to its surroundings. We had a superb time there – and in the surrounding area, which is great for cycling, walking and generally enjoying nature – and will no doubt be back. Thank you!