FB Twitter

The Bull Barn

The Bull Barn

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 78 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, private patio with hot tub

Lovely cottage with great facilities

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week at Bull Barn. The cottage was clean, comfortable and well equipped.
The hot tub was very clean and well maintained.
The reason we booked here was due to the two large play barns in case the weather wasn't good.
The children loved collecting eggs from the chickens and seeing the cats and Millie the dog.
The whole place is well managed and it felt very safe for little ones to play safely.
There is so much to explore in the local area, it's a really good place to stay.
Thanks for a wonderful family holiday.




4th lovely visit to Upper Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time in Bull Barn we have stayed in the Sheep Shed on previous occasions. The Barn is lovely bright sunny and very well laid out. The furnishings great with very comfortable chairs and beds. The kitchen is well equipped.
Everything you need is in the Barn, its in a peaceful and beautiful setting with a great hot tub. We had visitations of Millie the dog a cat and chickens. I am not particularly and animal person but I enjoyed the animals they are very friendly.
The honesty shop is great and very handy.
Lovely hosts very friendly and helpful. We love this part of the the country very beautiful.




Really Lovely Cottage I’m Peaceful Location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bull Barn was excellent, much larger than we had anticipated, which was great. It’s also really well appointed with very few things missing which can be the case in holiday cottages.

Our stay was made all the more special because of the menagerie of animals on the doorstep - literally!! We loved having Millie the dog turn up to spend a few hours with us. That extended to at least two cats and a very friendly Chicken!!

The area is wonderful, lots of very interesting places to visit within a short drive. We happened upon Elsie’s Vintage Tea Room just down the road in Coedway and had such a fantastic bacon butty and marvellous cake. Best cake ever in fact. And just for good measure the ladies we’re a right laugh.

All in all a wonderful time was had by all and would wholeheartedly recommend the Upper House Farm to any prospective holidaymakers.




Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent holiday again at Upper House Farm Cottages. Fantastic location and after a day of walking, there is plenty of time to relax in the hot tub.
We have never stayed in The Bull Barn but this was just as good as the other properties.
We will be returning again this year.




Pleasant stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really well organised and well catered for group of elegantly converted buildings, with well proportioned living areas with largest amount of space for communal living which is great.

Nice outdoor area with hot tub and patio, but would have benefited from some minor maintenance work (ie weeding, pruning of dead and over hanging shrubs, but loose slabs were fixed during our stay) as detracted from well maintained indoor spaces.

Good base to travel from to see local sites and while no pub nearby seemed to be a disadvantage it meant no late night revellers so ideal for family stay.




A 'golden oldies' fab break in 5* accommodation - wish we could have stayed longer - will be back!!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was amazing from driving into this wonderful complex, being greeted by the animals, and owners, who couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. They are rightly very proud of their holiday accommodation and took time to show us around. The Bull Barn was everything, and more, than we ever expected, much better equipped than many holiday rentals we have stayed in. The Barn was beautifully clean, smelt fresh and we felt completely 'covid covered'. The bedrooms are spacious, all with en-suites (and TV's) and of course the patio, complete with hot-tub were just the icing on the cake. The tub was ready to go, and was well-used every evening without any problems. Unfortunately, as the weather was very kind to us, we didn't get to use the wood-burner - we would love to come back in the colder weather just to experience it's warmth and comfort. The utility room was a huge bonus as our bathers and wet towels dried overnight..... The use of our own 'Alexa' was amazing - again something we have never experienced anywhere else - well done!! Fresh eggs on offer - another bonus. I could add more and more, but you need to experience this place to appreciate everything. Thanks again Upper House Farm



Lovely cottage in peaceful settings

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is a well equipped, clean and comfortable. It contains everything you need for a week's stay. The hot tub is fabulous and we used every day. The honesty shop is very reasonably priced and contains all the basic things. You are only 20 minute away from Shrewbury . There isnt anything really in walking distance , but that didnt bother us. The owner lives nearby and was quick to deal with a couple of technical issues we had. We enjoyed our stay and will return for another stay,



Bull barn at Upper house farm

Review submitted on Wed, 19 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived to find a lovely converted barn for our weeks stay .It was clean and warm ,everything you needed ,although we had took our own cleaning stuff ,it was all there .Robert (the owner)was there to welcome us and was about if any problems through out our stay .
Although weather wasn’t too good it didn’t stop us going places ,plenty of walks to do ,found a pub nearby although we had to sit outside,had an enjoyable meal and drinks a couple of nights .All in all enjoyable and relaxing holiday ,would definitely recommend and definitely stay again 10/10





Excellent value property, great private and secluded hot tub and on-site activities

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Property is well laid out and spacious with touches of luxury, such as; underfloor heating and electric controlled recliner settee's.
All bedrooms are en-suite and fully fitted kitchen holds all you will need if eating in.
6 seater hot tub in private (not over looked at all) back yard was perfect for relaxing after long walks.
Games room on-site with table football, pool table and space invaders along with an internal badminton court was well used throughout our weeeks stay, as was the option to collect fresh eggs each morning from the on-site chicken coop.
Property is well located, only 9 miles from Shrewsbury (plenty of shops and some nice restaurants) and only a mile from the welsh border, so plenty of good walks within 30 minutes drive, such as; Haughmond Hill, Stiperstones and the Long Mynd.
I would happily recommend this property




Great place for a holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the Bull Barn, the place was very well equipped. It was clean and tidy. We particularly enjoyed using the hot tub. We also made use of the games room and playing badminton. The owner was friendly and helpful too. We would recommend without hesitation.




Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay, great area for a weeks break with plenty to do. Shrewsbury lovely place to shop with local boutiques



Comfortable barn conversion in perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bull barn was one of the nicest holiday homes we have ever stayed in. The place was immaculate, the beds very comfortable and the recliner sofas a real treat. The location was perfect, peace and quiet with amazing views of beautiful countryside yet easy access to the lovely town of Shrewsbury. The games room is a lovely addition and we enjoyed several games of pool (at no additional cost ). We very rarely return to the same holiday home as we like to explore different areas but I think the bull barn will be the exception. Missing the place already.



Fab family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great accommodation in a lovely part of the country well situated for the many attractions in the area. Had a fabulous family holiday and would definitely recommend a stay to anyone. Looking forward to returning again in the future.



Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good facilities for young children, the play barn was a hit and loved collecting the eggs each day. Two boys aged 18 enjoyed the badminton and also there was plenty of space to kick a ball around. We all liked the hot tub and was a good place to round off the day.
The kitchen was fully equipped utensil wise and plenty of space throughout the accommodation.




J manton

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent break away. Would highly recommend. Will be booking again for later in year . Robert the owner always there if you needed help. Hot tub a bonus. Well worth the money.



Superb accomodation

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing break with our group of 26 on our 5th visit to upper house. As good as ever . Already booked for 2021



Lovely relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Feb 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd time staying at The Bull Barn. We had such a nice time enjoying the relaxing hot tub after our busy day out seeing the sights.

Upper Farm Cottages are ideally situated to get out and about and enjoy the area then come home to enjoy a glass or two of your favourite tipple under the stars.




Visit to the Bull Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived after heavy rainfall and Sainsbury's delayed the delivery. Thanks to Julie who offered Pizza and Chips from her own freezer. We bought breakfast items from the shop on site. Very friendly dog. Enjoyed the hot tub. Lake Vyrnwy beautiful. If we visit the area again we would want to stay at the Bull Barn.



Outstanding stay

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful barn in a beautiful location. It was just perfect. Robert was extremely thoughtful and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Cannot recommend highly enough.




Relaxing beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location and welcoming hosts all needs catered for well recommended to others
Children and adults will enjoy




A Visit to The Bull Barn at Upper House Farm, Alberbury.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 6 adults and two young children thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Shropshire, staying at the welcoming and convenient Bull Barn. The facilities are excellent and everyone used the play barn and the indoor badminton court and climbing area. The children loved the dogs and especially the chickens, whose eggs they were allowed to keep.
Being National Trust members we loved, Attingham, Powys and Chirk Castles, all within reasonable range. Shrewsbury delighted us. The city is interesting, has unusual shops, fantastic parks for the children, riverside walks and excellent picnic places. The Market Hall was a great find, as was the Friday market beside the old market hall.
However, our best recommendation for the Bull Barn is that this was a return visit!




Another lovely week at Upperhouse Farm Cottages.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed a week in the Bull Barn - 2 boys ages 10 & 7 & an elderly frail 81 year old. Great week once again. Would recommend. The boys had a great time. We will be back ..........



Family trip for birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely setting for a family getaway. Comfortable and very well set out accommodation. Younger members enjoyed the play barns and the chickens particularly, whilst older members appreciated the hot tubs and the relaxed atmosphere.



Superb accommodation, location and ideal for entertaining families of all ages.

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Due to work commitments we always have to wait until the very last minute to book our summer holiday. This is always a risk as most of the best holiday accommodations have already been booked up! With 6 of us in our family it isn't easy to find somewhere to accommodate us all comfortably but, amazingly, we came across The Bull Barn.
Not only did the area have a lot to offer but the accommodation was superb, both in comfort and entertainment, and with four children of different ages (almost 14 yo, 10 yo, 8 yo and 2 yo) it isn't an easy task keeping them all happy and entertained at the same time! The play barn, the indoor badminton/football and play area plus the hot tub were all a huge hit! Being able to feed the hens and enjoy their tasty eggs was a bonus! 
We found the location great for our planned days out. Not too far from Cadburys World, West Midlands Safari Park, Alton Towers, Drayton Manor and plenty of other places.

We have already recommended Upper House Farm Cottages to family and friends and would have no hesitation booking with them again.





excellent all round no negatives, top venue, good family friendly with lots to do

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
no negatives, top venue, good family friendly with lots to do and equipped to highest standards. ...



Fabulous accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A spacious comfortable accommodation all on the ground floor. Plenty of parking. Near to loads of lovely places to visit.
Loved our private hot tub.
Would definitely recommend.




Once is not Enough

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5 of us enjoyed all of the delights on offer at Bull Barn: we sampled the hot tub after long walks; barbecued in the evening sunshine; played badminton, air hockey & Space Invaders in the Play Barn; borrowed a DVD & board game; fed chickens; collected eggs & stroked friendly dogs: the property & the complex itself is of the highest standard & provides excellent entertainment for all ages. Our host, Robert, was helpful as we arrived with advice about the facility & surrounding visits & walks, so, as the title suggests, we need to go back - perhaps this time with some holiday makers who'd enjoy the ball pit!



Best holiday cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Sheep Shed & Bull Barn cottages as a group of 12 for a long weekend.

Booking was easy and Julia was so helpful in helping me get the best combination of cottages. I needed a ‘party’ space so she booked the beautiful Sheep Shed a little away from the main barns and then The Bull Barn for the extra rooms.

I was actually amazed when we arrived. I thought it all looked great online - but its GORGEOUS. The setting is idyllic Shropshire countryside, just 20 minutes from Shrewsbury centre. The barns themselves are stunning.

THe Sheep Shed is long with 2 huge, en-suite double bedrooms, another twin room, big bathroom and even a sauna (!), big kitchen area and an entertainment space (big pool table and tv area) all facing a big beautiful fish pond. The hot tub is on a deck out by the fishpond.

It was just perfect, and gorgeous, crisp white sheets, fluffy towels, tea-bags ans biscuits on arrival. Etc etc.

The Bull Barn was equally spacious and...frankly... gorgeous. Our group was completely bowled over by how lovely it was and also what good value it was. For the 12 of us to stay it worked out less than £100 a head for 2 nights. Crazy value.

Access to Shrewsbury was great (we went out on Saturday night)... stay HERE if you want to go to Shrewsbury.

Thanks so much Upper house farm. I think a few of the girls will be coming back with their families!




EXCELLENT ACCOMODATION

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th visit and was as wonderful as the 1st time. Lovely large accommodation with ensuite bathrooms to all 3 bedrooms, tvs in every room, hairdryers, fans and alarm clocks. The welcome pack of tea,coffee, milk, biscuits etc was greatly received as were the little touches of washing liquid, tea towel, cleaning cloths. etc
The large hot tub area is a a wonderful place to relax.
There is also a games barn, sports barn and well stocked honesty shop
We will definitely be staying here again




3rd family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Visited for 3rd time with family and they loved the jacuzzi and the play barn. Also found the experience of collecting freshly laid eggs a treat. Good to meet Millie again - she is always so friendly. Thank you.



Second visit to the Bull Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were a family of five - me, daughter, son in law and two grandchildren aged 3 and 1. This was our second visit to the Bull Barn, and we enjoyed it as much as the first. The Bull Barn is very spacious, warm and cosy. The hot tub was used every day. The playbarn was used by my grandchildren, at least once a day, and my daughter and her husband spent an evening there, as it is for adults as well as children. Lots of things to do nearby, and further afield. I don’t think that this will be our last visit to the Bull Barn.



Upper House, a winner!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Upper House, the last being 3 years ago. It never dissapointed from the warm welcome from the team to the standard of comfort and facilities.
We look forward to visiting again!




A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Upper House cottages - The Bull Barn. It was wonderful. The cottage had everything needed - home from home.
Even thought we were a group of 6 'oldies' we thoroughly enjoyed the play barn !!
Can recommend The Hand and Diamond pub - they even picked us up and took us home in their minibus.




New Year Break

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab property with every little extra detail. Lovely location, hot tub amazing, friendly service - just superb.



Christmas at the Bull Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic Christmas at the Bull Barn.
Both Julie and Robert were so warm, friendly and welcoming.
On our first evening we were invited to join the locals at bell ringing and carol singing. What a lovely start to the festive period.
The kids loved the surroundings and enjoyed both games rooms. Kept them pretty occupied throughout the day. Brilliant idea.
Even going to the local pub on Christmas Day we were welcomed by all there. Such a friendly area.
Highly recommend Upper House Farm Cottages - fantastic stay.
Thank you




They set the bar at a level that others will aspire to achieve

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 1st experience of this type of holiday and I would say that they have set the bar at a level which others will want to achieve.
The standard of accommodation and facilities provided (down to the kitchen utensiles) far exceeded our expectations.
Thank you Robert, Betty Lou & Julie for making our stay just perfect.




Hot tub friends at Bull Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal setting with open space around. Great facilities and extras - the play barn, big barn, emergency rations and fresh eggs. We drew lots to see who would eat the daily collection (max. 2 for us). We liked the open plan design - whoever was cooking could still enjoy the rest of the company. Excellent hot tub (been to several in last few years). Lots of places to visit in surrounding district. Enjoyed looking at the rest of the properties and loved the Mill House. We would have liked to stay longer and would definitely recommend to others.



Welcoming and good customer service

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been before and lovely to be back again. Thank you Julie for very good customer service had problems with the hot tub which she sorted immediately. Everything was lovely as usual, including the games room and honesty shop.



Everything to make your stay comfortable

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The welcome from to owners and staff was excellent. We enjoyed the hot tub but we really enjoyed the company of the canine hostess Millie and Bella. We were given help with deciding on outings and the advice was always appropriate for our party. We came as guests and left as friends






Great!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well presented and well maintained cottage within a great setting. The hot tub was a great bonus too. All three children in our party loved the play barn and collecting eggs from the hens. We would recommend staying here and would hope to return someday.



Perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd stay at the bull barn and it is still an amazing place to stay . It is extremely spacious with everything you could need from fans, hairdryers and pegs to tea, coffee, milk and very tasty biscuits. Cleanliness is second to none. The addition of an honesty shop and fresh eggs was a lovely touch . The hot tub was hot and clean and the surrounding patio area a gorgeous place to sit if the weather is right (we were lucky enough to have a mini heatwave). We will definitely be returning as it is everything you could want in a great location . Iron bridge, Acton Scott working farm, Shrewsbury castle , raf cosford to name a few are all within 45 minutes . And lastly loads of places to eat within a 10 minute drive. Yockleton arms and the windmill come highly recommended.



So peaceful!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Upper House Farm cottages. We stayed at the Shep shed last year and the Bull barn this time. The barns are spacious, clean, comfortable and have everything you need in the kitchen if you wanted to stay in and cook. Millie the dog is wonderfully friendly and spent most of the week with us as we were the only other visitors until our last night when the other barns filled up with guests. Robert and Betty Lou are very welcoming and if anything is needed they are there straight away. Fortunately we had gorgeous weather so we spent a lot of time in the garden and the hot tub in the evenings. A few sun loungers would have been a real treat. We will definately be going again hopefully next year.



Great place

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place to stay very relaxing.Really like the facility onsite especially the chicken eggs you can get



A lovely stay had by all

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation in a lovely location. The on site facilities were enjoyed by all,It was lovely to be able to collect fresh eggs for breakfast. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived and have already booked to return.



A Great Holiday - despite the weather or maybe because of it.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was during the coldest weather we have had for many years, plus we had snow for days. The Bull Barn was warm, cosy, and comfortable, and we spent half of our days on site. My 2 year old granddaughter loved the playbarn, and would happily spend hours there. She also spent hours playing in the snow, before warming up in the hot tub, which was a great hit with everyone, and used daily, despite the weather. Collecting eggs from the hens was another new experience.

The honesty shop was very useful, as was the large selection of DVDs and games, when the weather was unkind.

There are many things to do in the area, and many places to visit. We plan to come back another time to Upper House Farm Cottages, when hopefully the weather will be kinder, to do these things. Having said that, we all agreed that we had had a great holiday and stayed in a fantastic place.





brilliant venue for a family celebration

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took all the properties at Upper House Farm for a big family celebration.We stayed in the bull barn.All the properties are done to a high standard and the pictures don't really do them justice. They are spacious , very clean and comfortable . The hot tubs were all on and ready for use ... Outside in January and super warm. The play barn is wonderful .
Everything is so well thought out . Highly recommended .We hope to return.




Great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bull Barn was everything we had hoped for. The owners have put a lot of thought into providing excellent accommodation with all those little extras. We stayed just before Christmas to celebrate a special birthday. It had snowed just before we arrived so the log fire was very welcome to snuggle down to of an evening. The hot tub was perfect for crisp evenings of star gazing. Jimmy's barn was fab not just for children but adults too. The little shop was a welcome surprise and extremely well priced.
Robert took us to view all the cottages which were all of such a high standard.
Plenty to do in surrounding areas.
A perfect break and we will be back.




New Year Week 2017/18

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to the Bull Barn a group of 6 friends enjoyed a fabulous few day over the new year.



Half term

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week staying at the Bull Barn lots to visit locally and very relaxing if you want to just stay in the children enjoyed the sports barn and games rooms and were safe to roam.

The jacuzzi was a treat and we used it every day.




Bull Barn Nr Shrewsbury

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable cottage will all the mod cons, all bedrooms ensuite, that makes a big difference not many cottages have that facility, and TVs. Welcome pack with tea coffee milk biscuits, another great benefit. Was a bit cold for the hot tub this time, but we did use it last time we stayed. Will go back again it’s great.



One of the BEST!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we stepped inside the Bull Barn we knew we had made a good decision. We felt at home.
I thoroughly recommend the cottages to anyone wishing to visit Shropshire - a lovely county.




Enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great holiday at the Bull Barn. Beautiful place with everything you could need. Very well maintained, Beds very
comfortable, and bed linen and towels top class. Garden lovely and secluded, with large hot tub, that we enjoy.
Plenty to do in surrounding area. Nice holiday all round, and weather quite kind to us.




Our stay at The Bull Barn.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this holiday for myself, my husband, our girls and partners and our little grand-daughter. We were all very pleased to have spent our week at The Bull Barn. We were impressed by the 'cottage' and the surrounding countryside. Everything we needed was provided and there was a useful honesty shop. It was unfortunate that the weather wasn't good, but great that there was a play barn and covered badminton court. These facilities were used everyday! We also used the hot tub daily and our 2 year old loved her 'swimming'. The staff were friendly and helpful. They advised us as to the best local visits, walks, pubs and restaurants. All of which we sampled.
Thank you.




Love this place

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage, lovely layout, great hot tub. Comfy beds. Not our first visit and hopefully won't be our last. Highly recommended.



Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
excellent facilities at the venue, although we were not use to being so far away from a local food supplier.



Beautiful barn in an excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent a wonderful week in the beautifully converted and well equipped Bull Barn. It is in an excellent location and we all thoroughly enjoyed exploring the area and all there is to see. Both Robert and Julie were so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hot tub was amazing and so private it was just the place to lounge with a glass of wine after returning from our travels each day. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this stunning property.



Bull barn cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in Bull barn cottage, it is a very nice place, being part of a larger group of barn type cottages. The cottage has been converted to a high specification and includes most home comforts, it has two double bedrooms and one twin all with en suite facilities. The kitchen has plenty of cupboards, built in oven, hob and dishwasher. There is also a washer dryer in a separate utility room.
Outside is a garden patio area with hot tub, patio furniture and BBQ.
As part of the complex there is a children's play area, pool, air hockey and table football, you can also purchase a limited amount of groceries in the shop. DVD's and books can also be borrowed in this area to use in your cottage.
The owners are very helpful and welcoming.
The location is good for visiting the many tourist sites in Shropshire by car, my only minor criticism would be if you enjoy walking, the busy main road has no footpaths once you reach the edge of the village and is not a pleasant experience for pedestrians. Although there is a public footpath which goes across fields directly opposite the entrance to the cottages.
I would recommend Bull barn or any of the other cottages for a relaxing family holiday.





return visit to the Bull Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to the beautiful, peaceful, well equipped and comfortable Bull Barn. Nothing is too much trouble for our hosts, Robert and Betty Lou, and manager Julie. The secluded hot tub in the warm private courtyard garden is well looked after, and for us is the key feature of the property.
One always has the concen that a return visit cannot be as good as the first: but it can, and we have already booked to return again next year.




Perfect wedding accomoda

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation was perfect for all our wedding guests, particularly the bridal party. Everyone at Upper House was so helpful and we had a perfect three days. Classy high standard accommodation at s. Dry reasonable price. Thank you everyone.



70/100

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We liked the Bull House with comfortable settees and a large kitchen open plan area. The hot tub was wonderful even on cool days. Our only complaint was an uncomfortable bed which we should have complained about as we were assured it would have been rectified.



Weekend with friends

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Mar 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great cottage in a lovely setting. Hot tub was fabulous. Local pubs great for food. Will definitely return



Great Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to stay, warm, cosy, clean, quiet and very relaxing. Hot tub great, facilities excellent.

Would recommend.




Why go anywhere else ?

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Upper house Cottages is a superior complex of lovingly converted barns and cow sheds, we have now stayed in Bulls Barn and The Cart House and to say the quality of the furnishings are both comfortable and luxurious would be an understatement, Also the warm and friendly welcome you get on both your arrival and through out your stay are second to none, the complex also boasts a child's play barn (jimmy's barn) which caters for children from 1- 18 with a ball pit, a retro arcade machine with over 50 retro games on, to an air table and mini football table too, also a small honesty shop within the barn too! add to that another sports barn which has a badminton court set out along with a climbing frame and swings/slide and ample space for other ball games, these cottages really do meet most family needs ! so if your looking for a relaxing and peaceful holiday but also want to keep the kids entertained the we would highly recommend a visit to these cottages , and if you enjoy them as much as we have you like us will become repeat visitors time and time again. oh and don't forget the hot tubs too , each cottage has is own private hot tub and they are immaculately clean and well cared for too.
You are also so in an outstanding area of natural beauty so close to Wales and its scenery and only 10 minutes from the lovely town of Shrewsbury, I would also recommend a trip to the nearby Pub The Hand and Diamond , very family friendly and also great food at a good price !
We look forward to coming back soon .




New year

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has every thing you need for a five star holiday there are plenty of games to play in the play barn.
The staff are very helpfuland the local people are very friendly.




Fantastic Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 3 visit and as normal owners are so friendly and helpful. Houses are amazing and comfortable with everything you need. Hot tubs are a lovely extra, making it so relaxing.



40th Birthday get together

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for my wife's 40th Birthday. As there was six of us the bull barn was more than spacious. Close to our visits to iron bridge and Shrewsbury it was a perfect retreat.



excellent holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at The Bull Barn. So relaxing. We could not fault anything at all. The cottages have everything you could think of. Lovely hot tub to end the day. We would definitely stay there again and have already told many friends about it



Brilliant break!!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were welcomed by the owners who showed us around the property, explained the controls on the hot tub, showed our grandson around the play barn and then left us to our own devices!!! The accomodation itself was lovely, very spacious and comfortable.

We visited many local tourist attractions in the area as this place is quite central to many of them.

We had a brilliant break, so good in fact that we are returning on our own later in the year!




Relax in affordable luxury

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit and had once again had a lovely welcome by the owners.A relaxing week in affordable luxury. Loved the hot tub and barbecue in its secluded private garden.Wonderfully situated to access the local area.A good selection of dvds to watch.



A great place to stay if you want to get off the treadmill for a long or short break

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb barn conversion, equipped to a very high standard, with plenty of space. Would also suit anyone with limited mobility.The different cottages are connected round a courtyard, but we were not aware of other visitors. Each cottage has its own very private well landscaped garden with a wonderful hot tub. All furnishings were comfortable, and supplied linen and towels were of best hotel quality. Excellent fast secure wifi and good mobilephone reception on site.
Layout of site allows you to drive your car to your door to unload, then plenty of parking nearby.
Little shop in playbarn has grocery essentials, and amenities and amusements to suit all ages.
Situated in a glorious part of England, only a couple of miles from teh Welsh border, with numerous historic houses, castles, museums and towns to choose from, some excellent pubs and resaurants within easy reach if you don't want to cook. Good walking country - you can even borrow a dog to share the enjoyment of your walk.
We were made to feel very welcome, and will certainly be returning again - and again!




An excellent holiday all round.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bull barn, clean, very obliging owners, well furnished and close to Shrewsbury and the Welsh border. Well adapted for disabled guests (except that the Hot Tub was not accessible).



Best Holiday Ever

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked the Bull Barn for my grandchildren. They loved it and did not want to ever leave. Jimmy's Barn was a big hit and adopting a pet cat for the week was the icing on the cake.



in short the best

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
full mark as it was the best, our party of 6 all enjoyed everything we did and the accommodation was 2nd to none that means first class. we will book again that is for sure. thank you very much for an enjoyable week.

many thanks Pauline from devon




Couldn't fault it

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous facilities. We almost wished it would rain, so we could make full use of everything. But very glad of the evening clear skies for a spot of star gazing from the hot tub!
Owners on hand to help, but not intrusive.
Spotlessly clean.
We'll be recommending and returning.




Perfect getaway for NYE

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Bull Barn for 3 couples over NYE and it was perfect! The hot tub was fab, underfloor heating, spacious open plan living/kitchen area and a fully equipped kitchen! The play area barn would be great for children but we still had a great time in there too.
Location is set in the country side but we were recommended a local BBQ restaurant which was brilliant and within 5 mins drive. The only slight set back was the nearest supermarket being nearly 30 mins away however the modesty shop catered for necessities - make up wipes too!

We paid for 1week as this was the minimum but only stayed for 4 days so having an option to only pay the days we stayed would of been nice however it was NYE so understand why there was a minimum stay!

We had a fab time and would definitely return/recommend!




We loved it that much we are coming back and bring the whole of the family

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can't stop talking about this place. We had the best time ever. We chilled out, spent time with our 6 month baby in the play bar, watched dvd as a family and had little relaxing napps. The hottub was just bliss. I took my book with me and just completely relaxed, even tho it was Novemeber the sun was shining down on me sitting in the hot tub. It was a still frame moment. We went for a walk and took the farm dog milie. We can't wait to return and take the whole family and show them the great experience we had. 100% recommend this place.



5* Luxury

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation, very spacious and wonderful access for my daughter's wheelchair. Owner very charming and helpful. Excellent location to explore Shropshire and Wales, Powis Castle definitely a must for their beautiful gardens. Loved the hot tub and the games room. Honesty shop filled with lovely home baked goodies to eat.



Fantastic Time

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 days and the surrounding area was secluded but we had access to lots of facilities. The residents enjoyed their stay especially the hot tub.