FB Twitter

Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer

Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Spectacular sea views across Lyme Bay and the Jurassic Coast
Sleeps 8 guests in beautifully presented spacious comfortable accommodation
Spacious patios to enjoy al fresco dining
Watch the sunrise from your private balcony
Delightful traditional Devon fishing village
Fun games room with pool and table football
Walk to own beach hut on Beer Beach
Wonderful walks on the South West coast path

Fantastic stay in a great house

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed here with our baby and another couple and their two little boys. The house was located in a fantastic position up the hill in Beer with magnificent sea views from all the main living rooms and bedrooms. It was very spacious and the games room was a great addition which the children loved. We were very lucky with the weather and were able to eat outside on the terrace everyday, which also has a great sea view. The house also has both a charcoal and a gas barbecue which we made use of several times during our stay.

The house is only a 10 minute walk or so down the hill into Beer (it took us a bit longer walking back up the hill with push chairs etc!) This made it very easy to head down to the village or beach everyday without having to drive and find somewhere to park. Beer is a very pleasant village and the beach is great with a lovely little cafe serving food all day and a delicious range of local ice cream. One of the best things about this house is it comes with it's own beach hut located above the cafe. This was great for storing things securely during the day and also has deck chairs etc that you can use.

We all had a really enjoyable stay and the house really made it. It was clean and well equipped and the owner was very helpful. She kindly met us at the property on the day of arrival and explained everything we needed to know. She also found one of the children's slippers that we managed to leave behind, and very kindly offered to post it back to us.

I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay particularly for large families or two couples with children as it is so spacious and well equipped, to enable you to enjoy your stay even if it rains the whole time.


Christopher from Aylesbury stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer for 7 nights in May 2018


LOVED OUR STAY!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another stay at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer! Every stay has been fantastic - the property has always been so clean and comfortable and works so well for all our family. Quiet location with great sea views. Such a lovely owner, too!

Pat from Salisbury stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer for 7 nights in April 2018


Chaffcombe Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was a perfect place for our get together......comfortably warm and very pleasantly furnished.The kitchen is very well equipped and the bedding is extremely comfortable.
On the one day it rained all day we couldn't think of a better place to be!
Beer is a delightful village and there are beautiful walks along the coastal path.
What more could you ask for?
Jenny


Jenny from Weobley stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer for 4 nights in February 2018


Another lovely weekend at Chaffcombe Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Chaffcombe Lodge and we have already booked for next year. The accommodation is extremely well appointed and very comfortable with beautiful views.

Alison from Devizes stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer for 3 nights in November 2017


Chaffcombe Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was everything you could wish for from a holiday let. Spacious,well appointed just perfect.

Steve from Retford stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer for 3 nights in September 2017


Villa above the sea

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous family accommodation. Clean spacious luxurious. Well equipped.. already rebooked twice!!!!!

Guest from Redditch stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer for 7 nights in August 2017


Just what we were looking for!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a long time searching for a place that was on the coast, walking distance from a pretty village, had enough rooms to sleep 8 and had a games room to keep a bunch of teenagers busy should the weather be mixed. Chaffcombe Lodge had it all! Great location on the Jurassic coast and it was a clean and spacious home for the 2 weeks we spent there, with great views. Importantly too the beds were comfortable!
The perfect base for exploring this part of the coast. We walked along the coastal path to Branscombe - with its lovely old working forge and NT tea shop. Beer itself was charming with a varied array of shops, pubs fresh fish and ice cream opportunities! We used Seaton Water Sports for a fabulous SUP "safari" up the Axe River and some sea kayaking along the coast on another day. Other trips included the lovely Lyme Regis, Sidmouth and some fossil hunting and swimming at Charmouth Beach.
Chaffcombe Lodge was the perfect base and Julia, the owner was extremely helpful. Thoroughly recommend this property.


Brigitta from stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer for 14 nights in July 2017


Julia replied 287 days ago
Thanks for your lovely comments and recommendations, it was great to welcome you all to the house and also to see your fantastic photos of the paddleboard expedition, Beer is a very special place, I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay.

lovely views

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent house and location with lively views.We love coming to this house and village and visiting the surrounding areas.

Keith from stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer for 7 nights in June 2017


A lovely place to enjoy time with family.

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fully equipped house which offers flexibility for families of all ages. Enjoyed our time over the years. Amazing views.

Johana from stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer for 7 nights in May 2017


A wonderful house for a family of 3 generations

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay at Chaffcombe Lodge. It is a fantastic house with the most amazing views of the sea. Beautiful to see the sunrise and set from the property. The house is well equipped, especially if you are holidaying with children. There are highchairs and cots, as well as stair gates at the property. Julia is easy to contact and will always answer emails promoting, booking was easy and nice to be met at the property on arrival. Beer is a beautiful village with lots of amenities. The surrounding area is full of great places to visit too.

Laura from Horsham stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer for 7 nights in April 2017


WOULD DEFINITELY RETURN!

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge twice now and would have no hesitation in returning there. Lovely property, beautiful views and a very nice relaxed welcome from Julia, the owner. One word left to be said "GREAT"!!!

Pat from Salisbury stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer for 7 nights in April 2017


Outstanding place for a family celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chaffcombe Lodge is a wonderful place - luxurious and welcoming in equal measure. The location could not be better and Julia's attention to detail and customer service was first rate. Especially loved the games room for a slightly overcast weekend! We will be back.

Guest from Bristol stayed at Chaffcombe Lodge in Beer for 3 nights in March 2017