FB Twitter

Wiggy's Cottage

Wiggy's Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 47 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.4
Location
4.6
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.3


A delightful former fisherman’s cottage, a stone's throw from the picturesque harbour. This three bedroom cottage has been tastefully and freshly decorated. A comfortable place to stay close to the heart of the village and with its own parking place.

Short break in St Mawes

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sweet cottage - and with parking for one car too - very useful in St Mawes. Located just a few steps from shops and good pubs you cannot go wrong staying here. The cottage has everything you need - comfortable lounge, a dining room and table big enough for all guests (not every holiday rental manages that!) and a well equipped kitchen. Beds were comfortable and there is enough room for clothes etc. The TV in the lounge is small and harks back to an earlier age - no catch up TV here. The Wifi works well.

The bathroom and shower room are both very compact, perhaps the smallest I have ever seen, but very clean and perfectly usable for a holiday break.

We would be happy to stay here again. The only improvement I could think of would be to have a second or spare door key available - there is just the one.




A lovely place for a quiet break

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is perfectly placed for walking around St.Mawes and touring Cornwall. It is secluded and quiet and offered everything that was conducive to a relaxing few days away. The shower isn't great, but it's functional and does the job. That would be our only tiny negative in what was overwhelmingly a very positive opinion of the cottage. We would very happily stay again!



Nice cottage and location

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage is well equipped (Instructions for the cooker would be useful!) and in a great location ...second time we have stayed here.



A lovely, well thought out cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Wiggys. It's a great cottage which is so well equipped. Everything has been thought of. It was really clean and comfortable. It is also in such a great location being so close to the central area of St Mawes.



Inadequate shower

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage itself is comfy downstairs lounge, kitchen and dining area. The garden needs some love and attention.
Shower room! What can I say it’s impossible to imagine anything any smaller. Plus the shower barely trickles very hard to wash long hair and rinse out. The upstairs bathroom would massively benefit from a over bath shower. Main bedroom comfy. Other double room extremely small.
Quite basic overall. But good location.

I would recommend if the shower issue could be sorted out.




A week away

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely break in beautiful St Mawes in Wiggys cottage. Property is in a great location, a short walk from the harbour. Went on some lovely local walks. Accommodation was comfortable and clean and in a nice quiet area. Great that a parking space was provided opposite the property. Enjoyed the fact that we could take our 2 dogs with us, who had a great time. Garden area could do with a little tlc. Otherwise perfect for us.



We love Wiggy’s and hope to return

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wiggy’s is very comfortable and convenient. The car parking is a bonus. Also the proximity to the sea. We used the tiny terrace for board games and meals in the evening sun but were sad to find the same rusty table and chairs as we mentioned last year. Also the kitchen blind needs a small repair. My daughter burnt her hand on the handle of the pottery type mug taking it out of the microwave, although it says microwaveable! However I only say this to be helpful. We loved staying in Wiggy’s.




Diana Davenhill, Owner replied 179 days ago
We have put a new table and six chairs in the main part of the garden. There are cushions in the cupboard under the stairs for the chairs on the terrace. Thank you for your helpful comments.

Disappointed.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Don't book if you have mobility issues as access is up steep roads and the stairs have no rail at the top to come from the bedroom to bathroom. There was a lot of dust in places and the bed in the main room slants down so rather uncomfortable. The furniture in the garden(do to be replaced last year)hadn't been so we couldn't sit outside. No non slip bath mat and dog hairs on the sofas. Shame as it was a nice cottage in a lovely area with parking. Just should have been cleaned better due to our arrival.



Family Trip

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property exceeded our expectations and was a lovely welcome after a long drive. We had an amazing time in St Mawes and made many happy memories. Wiggy's was a lovely home to come back to. We'd certainly rent it again.



Too hot!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Hi
The cottage was fantastic and in a great location..our only real problem was with the heat! We looked through the manual but were unable to stop the storage heaters kicking out tropical temperatures and had to fling open doors and windows.
Also the main bedroom mattress slopes badly on one side which meant we had to retire to different rooms to get a night’s sleep.




Wiggys at Christmas

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wiggys was as nice as we remembered and we really enjoyed our stay. The lovely new kitchen was a bonus and we can’t wait to return. Chris, Mike and Molly the setter.



Diana Davenhill, Owner replied 320 days ago
Thank you for your comments. They are much appreciated!

Halloween Half Term break

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wiggys Cottage ... all felt very clean. The quality of bedding and towels was excellent as we can be particular about this!! Location super and parking space an added value too.

We did not have the need to make a fire but we didn’t have any kindling had we needed to and limited logs and it did read that there would be availability until it ran out. Perhaps this needs to be stocked up for each booking as I’m sure had we had a supply we would have lit one fire for a night to enjoy a cosy evening in.

We will be back and would defo book via you.

Cerys Gill




Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Nov 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
St Mawes is a great location for exploring the Roseland and Cornwall. There are good restaurants and pubs in the town. The cottage was warm and cosy and well laid out. It was also very clean and the owners provide good towels and bed linen. The pillows could have been comfier but the beds were comfortable. Nice cottage, nice location and we had a great stay.



fishermans cottage at St. mawes

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage, plenty of room and beautifully furnished. A few minutes walk to the harbour where you can have a swim, a coffee, fish and chips or catch a ferry. St. Mawes is a great place to stay and Wiggy's cottage is perfect for a family holiday.



Our review of Wiggys cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We thought the cottage was quite cosy but it needed a bit of t.l.c. One reason we booked it was because it had a garden, we have a small dog and we also enjoy sitting outside in the evening. Unfortunately the garden was a disappointment, it was overgrown and unkept, metal railings were rusty and rust patches on the table and chairs, not very inviting and not as shown in the pictures when we booked. However, the weather was great and we had a pleasant stay on the Roseland.



House owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. Our aim is to make the garden as maintenance-free as possible, so guests are not disturbed during their stay. The garden furniture will be reviewed in September with a view to replacement.

A delightful week at Wiggy’s

Review submitted on Thu, 24 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have just stayed at Wiggy’s with my daughter and her three year old son. We were delighted with our accommodation. It was convenient, comfortable and cosy. It occurred to me that the owners may have stayed there themselves as they had thoughtfully provided everything we needed. The railing, table and chairs in the back garden may need renewing as the rusty places could be a hazard for little fingers. Nevertheless we really enjoyed our moments in the sun trap. We are certainly booking again!




Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 12 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wiggy’s Cottage was perfect for our trip away with the dogs. It has everything you need for that well deserved holiday, with parking outside and a very short walk into the main harbour of St Mawes which is now our favourite place in Cornwall.
Wiggys is comfortable & clean with a well equipped kitchen, two bathrooms, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, lovely outside space and very comfy beds. This really is a home from home and I would give it 5 stars. We hope to return again in the future.




Great location.

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Mar 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week at Wiggy's Cottage and hope to visit again next year. The wood burner was welcome during the snow storm!



Very convenient for walking into St Mawes

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Mar 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable beds convenient position & parking space close to property, we did get snowed in but that is very unusual there. Enjoyed our stay very much totally relaxing . It is looking a little tired & if it were mine I would get it redecorated & the garden patio pressure hosed, other than that it was lovely & warm with plenty of hot water.



All in order at this comfy cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just perfect for a winter break. Just seconds from the seafront and close to beaches, pubs and shops



We loved Wiggy's

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We loved our stay at Wiggy's Cottage which is on a quiet lane though at the same time centrally located. The cottage was clean, warm and comfortable and nicely furnished and decorated. Wiggy's has the added bonus of convenient parking. We have already booked another visit!



A short January break.

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Totally brilliant. Could not recommend Wiggys anymore. Go out of season love it. Roads are great. The Victory is the best pub.



Fab Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here middle of October for 1 week and had a fab time. The cottage is clean, comfy & has been tastefully refurbished. We didn't need to use to heating or the fire, the beds were comfy if not a little too warm. The water pressure in the shower is minimal, kitchen was well equipped, good Wi-Fi signal. Parking space was a bonus. Excellent location, next to the beach & shops. We go down to St. Mawes regularly and will definitely look at staying in Wiggys on our next visit.



Very comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped and newly decorated cottage. The only criticism would be that the TV wasn't very good, was too high and the angle of view not great so that colours and screen image were poor. Also the bed was extremely uncomfortable and soft for our taste. The bathroom and shower room are quite small and wouldn't be any good if you were fat! We aren't, so it was great! Otherwise no complaints and a lovely place to stay.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at wiggy's cottage. Location is excellent, very close to harbour, ferry and pubs. The cottage was very comfortable, has everything you need. Lovely patio area. Parking was ideal, right outside the cottage. Look forward to going back.



A lovely true Cornish cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very enjoyable week at Wiggy's Cottage, despite very mixed weather. It was well furnished and equipped and the main bedroom was very comfortable with ample wardrobe and drawer space. The lounge was quite spacious yet cosy, the kitchen was well equipped and the dining room was very pleasant. It was a very quiet and peaceful location, yet just a short walk from the harbour. The designated parking space was a great asset, being immediately outside the cottage.
For anyone with mobility problems the steep uphill walk to the cottage could prove quite challenging.




Great cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found this cottage comfortable and completely fulfilled all of our expectations. The kitchen was well equipped so we were able to cook all of our family meals there. The bedrooms were all very comfortable and had enough hanging space and drawers for our clothing. It was really nice having both a bathroom and shower room which speeded up getting ready in the mornings. I liked that there was a washing machine and tumble dryer which was really useful in freshening up the beach towels etc. The cottage itself was a little chilly but blankets were provided which we were grateful for - a pair of slippers or thick socks wouldn't go a miss on the tiled floor.
For us having older children the location was perfect, There is a good pub down the road which does lovely food, and a coop and few shops which the children were able to visit on their own. There were also lots of things going on out in the harbour most evenings such as live music, so worth checking out what's going on.




Pretty authentic Cornish cottage in ideal St Mawes harbour location.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed the first week of August in St Mawes during festival week. The weather was mixed which no one can control! Otherwise a perfect holiday. Wiggy's Cottage is very comfortable and cosy with woodburning stove, shower, separate bath, washing machine, tumble dryer and great outdoor seating in small rear courtyard garden. There was also allocated parking bang outside the cottage. It's situated under 5 minute stroll from the harbour, so close to the action but away from any noise. Easy access to lively Falmouth by boat. Lovely authentic Cornish stone cottage. Would highly recommend.



Our week at wiggys

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay only one thing would like to see is the garden/patio tided up i.e. Patios need a clean and
Bushes and trees need cutting back which would make it a lovely sitting area and base of the shed is getting
Very damp and rotting apart from that we had a fabulous time in wiggys




Cosy cottage in St Mawes

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Wiggy's cottage charming and cosy.It was very well equipped and in the perfect location.Also having a parking space was really helpful.We would definitely recommend it to others.Also lots of good walks locally to take the dogs as we had two with us.



Warm welcome at Wiggy's

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Booked for October half term and it was the right decision. Cottage is excellently located in this small fishing port village. The allocated parking was a godsend once we mastered the intricate negotiation of lanes and slopes. The cottage is well equipped and so toasty warm. The very low ceilings were a bit of an issue for my 6ft son but after a few episodes of concussion he soon learned to stoop in the appropriate places! An issue previous guests had also had judging by the jaunty angle of at least one light fitting!!!
The beds were comfy and the double glazing provided good sound proofing from outside noise. Sadly for us the adjoining neighbours were having some major works done so there were builders trying to drill and jackhammer through the stone walls from 7.30am every morning but that was just unfortunate timing and not within the control of Wiggy's.
The kitchen is spacious and well equipped for what is essentially a small fishermans cottage and the provision of two bathrooms a real bonus, although the shower is pitiful in its water pressure. You'd get wetter stood in the garden on a foggy day than under the shower, but the bath on the other hand is a joy. Fills fast, water super hot and hence we abandoned the shower and took up old fashioned bathing for the week.
We didn't make use of the garden as it was late October, but in the summer months I would imagine it's a lovely little sun trap and the perfect spot to sit with a book and a tipple of your choice.
St Mawes is an engaging little place and the people super friendly. The various ferry options provided good opportunities to explore the Roseland and leave the car behind. Everywhere was open and quite bustling with life even this late in the season. The scenery and coastline is beautiful and we spent a very happy and relaxing week getting to know the area from this comfortable and cosy cottage.
One tip: take condiments.... we have stayed in many self catering cottages and there is usually some basic provisions left by previous guests.... salt and pepper, sugar, sauce sachets or similar... not here! Just a couple of tea bags, two sachets of instant coffee and a couple of single serve long life milks. It's no biggy, but it's worth considering when you're packing. And do pack food and drink, the St Mawes co-op is it for provisions and while it covers most things the prices are very steep.... guess that's a monopoly for you! Eating out is always an option and there is some tasty fayre available but again the pricing reflects the limited outlets and is pretty high even for basic pub grub. So plan to cook at Wiggy's, there is a fridge and separate freezer, full size oven and hob, microwave grill combo and a dishwasher. There are also plenty of pots, pans, utensils and crockery.
Only niggles: the woeful shower and the lack of wifi which in an area with no phone signal is a bit of a must in this day and age.
So to sum up: a lovely cottage, warm, well equipped, comfortable and well located. The perfect half term hideaway.




Enjoyable stay in a character filled cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a lovely character filled, quaint cottage, just a short distance from the village. It was cosy and well equipped. The quality of linen and towels was excellent. It was also great having a parking space.

However, the old uneven floor meant the master bed was not flat and so my husband slept quite badly, as his side of the bed was on a bit of a slope.

Leaving tea, coffee and biscuits was thoughtful, and the kitchen was generally well equipped, just in need of a vegetable peeler and non-stick frying pans.

As there is no phone signal in the house, I would recommend that they consider installing wifi.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.




Diana Davenhill replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback. We have recently bought Wiggys, so are keen to make any necessary improvements. We will address the sloping bed issue and the extra items for the kitchen and hope to have wifi installed within the next month.

An enjoyable few days in a comfortable cottage in a convenient, pleasant location.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Wiggy's Cottage. The cottage had a pleasant atmosphere and was very conveniently located near the centre of St Mawes, but in a quiet road away from the sometimes busy harbour area. The cottage was quite clean and well equipped. Few grumbles, but the reserved parking place (an attraction for us) was occupied by another car on arrival. My wife left a note on the offending car , and it was eventually removed the next day.

As a person with some mobility problems I found some difficulties in negotiating the first floor passage between one of the bedrooms and the bathroom. This was because there are two steps down and then two steps up when passing the top of the main stairs. I have no problems with stairs if they have bannisters, but there was nothing to hold on to at the top of the stairs. Installation of a handrail would solve the problem.

All in all, a very pleasant stay.




Wiggy's

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have previously stayed here twice before with younger children and loved it so was nostalgically looking forward to this stay. We have obviously outgrown it and was sadly disappointed that the cottage was not quite as loved as previously and so lost it's special feeling.
However, for a young family, the position and basic provision are great. (The damp smell and the sofas - the same uncomfortable ones - are an acquired taste. )




Good value for money

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose this cottage as a budget decision, so the location for the money was very good. But the accommodation for 2 of the bedrooms is cramped and the sitting room comfort is not great, but fine. Storage in the kitchen is v limited too.



Lovley Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wiggys Cottage is a great little cottage, in a great location (although the steep hill should be mentioned in the ad as anyone with mobility problems would struggle with it) The cream tea that was left for us was a really lovely treat and the kitchen was well equipped with everything you need and more. The parking space was a godsend! Everything was very clean and tidy and there were plenty of towels. The bed in the second bedroom was not very comfy at all and our friends who stayed with us for a night said they would not want to sleep in it for more than one night! No Wi-Fi is the only downside that we found to Wiggys Cottage, especially as there is no mobile signal at all.



Wiggy's Cottage, fishermans friend

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Parking for us was fine, others in the bay had difficulty and minor prangs due to wall end & tight turning space.
Steep slope up from the harbour ensured our fitness improved over the week.
Dried food storage inadequate for long stays. Rest of kitchen ok.
2nd double bedroom ok for a short stay but the bed touched the walls on three sides & mattress very soft.
Garden lovely with phone reception for the whole house in one corner only!!
Garden chairs in lounge uncomfortable. Dinning room roomy.
Washer & drier ok but took a long time for cloths to dry.
Location very handy for the amenities.
Would suit a family with 2 Adults & 3 children rather than our party of 4 Adults & 2 children over night. Bedding & towels all new.




Great cottage and very clean

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a lovely cottage. On arrival, it was really clean and tidy with cream tea's waiting which was a nice welcome. Good size for 5 of us and a nice garden. Two minutes walk to sea shore and shops. Slight steep hill to cottage but no problem unless you have difficulty with mobility. Good size dining area with table and chairs for 6 and all facilities you'll need in the kitchen.

It would be hard to fault this cottage and overall, we were not disappointed. The only issues we had was the bed in the 2nd bedroom which needs to be replaced pronto, as it was really uncomfortable and the wicker chairs in the lounge are unforgiving on the arms and elbows, for us they were not exactly chairs to relax in after a day out. Overall though, very good.




Convenient location in attractive St Mawes

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We found Wiggy's Cottage to be everything we had hoped it would be - apart from the steepness of the descent from the cottage to the main road which was an issue for my mother who has mobility diffculties. The cottage itself is very well-presented, in good decorative order and was very clean. The cream tea was a welcome touch after a long journey. The car parking space was essential for us because of my mother but an absolute bonus for any visitor I would say. We were four adults and I did find the bunk bed room a little small but Wiggy's is a cottage and I wasn't expecting palatial proportions. The cottage is ideally situated for exploring the Roseland Peninsula and we had a lovely week doing that, as well as venturing to the Minack Theatre, the Lizard Point and Truro. There were a lot of things to do and my friend would like me to mention Cornwall Segway which she thoroughly enjoyed! We also found a very wide selection of cafes/pubs/restaurants and particularly liked the The King's Head at Ruan Lanihorne, the Watch House and Hotel Tresanton in St Mawes. The Idle Rocks looked fab but we ran out of time.



Ok

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The bed in main bedroom was extremely uncomfortable. Although a nice cottage was rather limited in terms of communication. No phone no wifi. No mobile signal



Fantastic Winter retreat!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week. Everything went smoothly. In addition to the Cottage being great it was a very nice touch to have tea/coffee provision on arrival along with scones and cream. Cottage was warm and cosy, log fire hardly used as storage heaters very efficient. St Mawes is a unique place to stay, pretty, quiet, people were very friendly. A visit to the castle was fascinating with history so well preserved. Trip on the passenger ferry to Falmouth was great. I use a mobility scooter and although some of St Mawes hills challenged it to its limit I still managed a good look around. All in all a great stay in a fabulous cottage and a fabulous location with great food and drink and a friendly community. We hope to be back.



Wiggy cottage reviewed

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Arrived early and the cleaners kindly accommodated us with a parking place where we could leave the car.
A good parking lot meant we could walk into the centre in just 2 minutes. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. There was nothing that hadn't been thought of in the kitchen. We were welcomed with milk, tea, coffee plus a
lovely Cornish cream scone, nice touch. Only myself and my husband so cottage a good size. Probably not suitable for a young family because of the back garden being on two levels. We enjoyed St Mawes and some wonderful boat trips and walks.




nice cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A cottage in a fantastic location. Beware of the low ceilings though! We had a very pleasant stay at Wiggy's Cottage, it is well fitted out & in a quiet row of former fishermen's dwellings. Good pubs & restaurants are close by & the sea is within 50 yards. My only minor gripe however was with the cleaning carried out before we arrived. I'm guessing that the cleaner follows a list of instructions on a weekly basis, & whilst the bedding, bathrooms, etc etc were superb, we just got the feeling that other things were overlooked, the tops of the bedside cabinets for example were very very dusty, & we found part of a broken wine glass behind the bread bin which looked like it had been there for a while. So whilst the essentials were spotless it has to be said, it just felt like other areas hadn't been touched. But as I say, that's a minor gripe. Overall Wiggy's Cottage is very very nice & is worth a visit.



Our stay at wiggies cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location Is georgous, the cottage is very comfortable has everything you need. It is a very short walk to harbour ,shop, bakery, and choice of 3 pubs which are all very good. The ferry ride over to Falmouth is really good.It was our 4th stay there and we still love it!



Excellent good value cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 26 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this for a quiet week in st mawes. Booking was easy and all the information came in good time. Even the directions were well explained. The cottage has a lovely terrace and it's own parking space ( a blessing in st. Mawes). Everything was spotlessly clean and well equipped.



Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A brilliantly well-appointed cottage in the wonderful village of St Mawes. The property was clean and comfortable, well-furnished and equipped. We would stay there again.



a summer sojourn

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A well appointed cottage in a central location,close to the heart of charming St.Mawes. Good drying facilities after a day on the water & a nice kitchen. Ideal for a family of four. We look forward to next year.