FB Twitter

Westaway Cottage

Westaway Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.5


This charming 18th century home has been fully refurbished into a delightful, modern holiday cottage. The property, which benefits from a fully enclosed back garden and off street parking, is conveniently situated just a short stroll from the picturesque and historic harbour of Charlestown which has a good selection of pubs and restaurants.

Fabulous westaway cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Jenny at Cornwalls cottages was very helpful Re local knowledge and their instructions to and for the property were very clear.
We loved the cottage and the underfloor heating in the kitchen was so welcoming, warming our feet after a long coastal tramp. And to then hop into the super big roll top tub was heaven ! It’s obvious just how much thought and good taste has gone into making this cottage so welcoming for guests. The only criticism we would have was we found the sofas uncomfortable, and think they could do with an upgrade but apart from that all was superb and we would love to return.




Holiday in Westaway Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Cleanliness in the kitchen not good , stale scones behind microwave, fridge had very old out of date cream (2 packets) freezer still had other people’s food. Fridge in main kitchen was not cold, looking inside the back was coated in ice, also could not get the oven to work. Stains on settee cushions. Upstairs was good with mega comfortable large bed. The saviour for this holiday was the garden, lovely.



Perfect location

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in beautiful Westaway cottage. It’s perfectly located in Charlestown with only a short walk to the pubs and restaurants. It was also only a coastal path walk away from the one dog-friendly beach in the area which was perfect for us.



Westaway in March

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What lovely accommodation, and welcomed with scones, jam and cream. Fabulous location in Charlestown.



Could not get tv to work

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage second time we have stayed in it but we could not get the tv to work apart from that every thing was good



Cream Tea!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We booked Westaway Cottage due to a last minute getaway and having seen the cottage on various sites, were pleasantly surprised by how lovely it was. Facilities wise, everything was provided, however, there was no Greetings Pack of Information in the cottage. We looked high and low for the Internet Connection details, but only after looking in all the drawers did we find the Internet Code under a stack of other papers. All we were given when we booked the cottage were the House-Keepers contact details. There were no local information booklets suggesting places to visit, beaches to explore or even where the local Tesco was. I only found this out by asking one of the locals and he directed me accordingly.
Reading the "Comments" book, we noticed that many other previous guests had enjoyed a Welcome Cream Tea on arrival, we found we had been left some small scones and a pot of Tesco Jam in the fridge, hardly the "Cornish Cream Tea" many others had experienced.
Location wise, the cottage is in the perfect place, central to many places to visit. A walk along the Coastal Path to Carlyon Bay is a must, the views are breath-taking.
All in all, the cottage was nice, warm, once you put the heating on as the evenings were chilly and we endured a few storms along the way with the added bonus of seeing "Poldark" being filmed in the port.
I must advise though, that one of the ceiling beams in the dining/kitchen room is quite low, as I found out on our first evening there. If you are over 6ft tall, beware! The lump on my head is a testament to how low it is.




Ideal Location

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Westway Cottage. The garden was ideal for our dogs and a really nice size to relax in and have a bbq. The bedrooms and kitchen were all a good size. There was only 3 of us so the Lounge was fine, but it could be a bit small for 6 people. The cottage was ideally placed for exploring Charlestown and enjoying all the surrounding walks.



Wonderful cottage in an amazing location

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another amazing two weeks staying in this brilliant cottage. The location is perfect for accessing the wonderful sights and activities in Cornwall.



Lovely cottage but a few additions would be welcome

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
One bedroom window wouldn’t open. Bathroom toilet flush handle was cracked. Kitchen tap top loose and came off in hand. One of the cooker rings would only ignite with a match. No clothes airer and no pegs for the washing line. No facilities for recycling. Rugs upstairs would be nice. Having said this the location apart from some late night noise from pub leavers, the location was fabulous. It was also nice to find a cream tea in arrival. Overall a lovely cottage but overpriced.



a lovely weekend retreat!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for a long weekend. The cottage was easy to find in an ideal location to Harbour, restaurants, and walks. The cottage had charm and was cosy, clean, and well equipped. A couple of minor 'maintenance snags' which were identified on arrival, which were reported with ease. Looking forward to staying again in the future



6 night stay

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful stay, it was better than we imagined. We stayed at many places during our holiday all over the world and this would have to be one of the best.



Regatta week

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Easy to find with off road parking outside the front door. The cottage is on the main road and traffic can be noisy. Cottage clean and tidy. Generous size kitchen/diner. Downstairs WC. Small lounge. Good size bathroom which got very damp as the window could not be opened. Bare floorboards in bedrooms and bathroom. No wardrobe in bunk bedroom. Plenty of hangers in main bedroom wardrobe. Nice sun trap garden with good garden furniture. Kitchen equipment a bit 'hit and miss'. Non stick pans but only cheap wooden or metal utensils available. Had to use tin foil to line oven dishes as they were old and damaged. Good crockery but it did not fit into the dishwasher very well which is probably the reason why some of it was chipped. It would be helpful if the manuals were available for the appliances and the TV. After great difficulty and advice from the owners, we managed to open the main upstairs bedroom window. The owners were very helpful. However all upstairs windows should be easy to open as they are listed as fire escape routes and this is not the case.
There was a leak from the shower that ran down into the kitchen and got into an electrical socket. An electrician was quickly despatched to ensure everything was safe. The owners were aware of this issue and previous tenants had been warned but we were not.
It is requested that rubbish is put out for a Thursday morning collection; the threat of a fine for non compliance is objectionable.
Overall the cottage is not as luxurious as the price suggests.
A 5 minute downhill stroll takes you to the first set of shops with the harbour a maximum of 10 minutes away. There are shops, restaurants and pubs as well as thxe historic harbour and Shipwreck Centre. Charlestown is truly a wonderful place to visit and we had the added bonus of Regatta Week, with all the associated activities. There is a large Tesco, butchers and baker a 2 minute drive away. The cottage is in a good position for all of the tourist destinations in Cornwall.




A Great Cottage in a Great Location

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Modern, clean and recently refurbished. Good facilities, garden and shower. Good base to explore from. Nice restaurants in Charlestown, try the Longstore.



We will be back

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect property, perfect location we will be back. This was our second stay and the property added to our enjoyment of our return visit.



Westaway Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lots of nice touches, great holiday cottage. Very well equipped a real home from home. Certainly worth pay the extra to take a dog, with easy access to the coast path by the harbour.



Lovely cottage in Charlestown

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a long weekend, the cottage itself is a really high standard with lots of period features. The layout is excellent and all the facilities and little touches were lovely. We really enjoyed sitting in the garden as it is a sun trap all day. The local area is really nice and we enjoyed visiting many of the dog friendly beaches near by. Charlestown itself is not a dog friendly beach however there is one a few miles away.

Would recommen this cottage to anyone staying in this area.




A perfect Cornish stay

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay in a cottage that was a home away from home. Great location and the cottage has been recently been done up. It is clean, spacious and homely. Great for the dogs too and will definitely be staying there again.



A magical Christmas

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
excellent, excellent, excellent! A magical home, incredibly well refurbished with absolutely everything that you need.. Loved it!



Highly recommended!

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Westaway Cottage and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quintessentially Cornish getaway! it felt like a home from home.



Beautiful Cottage in an amazing location

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Westaway Cottage. It has been restored to an amazing standard with everything you could possibly need and more. If you want to be close to the "action" of Charlestown then this is the Cottage for you. The Cottage is definitely up there as one of the nicest dog friendly properties we have found in Cornwall over the years. Thank you



An excellent cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westaway Cottage was an absolute delight. Finished to a high standard with everything you could need for a week away, we all immediately felt comfortable and like it was a home from home. The back garden was lovely and just what was needed for two energetic small children and the nespresso machine an essential for the adults. This was our fourth year to Charlestown and the best property we have stayed in by far. Charlestown as always was brilliant, great location, fabulous restaurants and an excellent base to explore Cornwall from. We will definitely be back.



The best

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family with a dog we have stayed in Charlestown many times, this was by far the best accommodation we have had. It was kitted out to a very high standard and had many pluses including the off street parking for more than 1 car and an enclosed rear garden.
The cream tea welcome was gratefully eaten and set the tone for a wonderful break. The cottage is top of our list for next year.




Lovely cosy cottage in great location.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westaway cottage was the ideal place to stay as it was near to all the places we wanted to visit. The cottage was very comfortable, clean and quiet with everything provided....even cream tea upon arrival! Our dogs had an equally lovely time and enjoyed their time swimming in the mornings. We would definitely come back again and would highly recommend a stay here.



Westaway cottage in Charlestown.

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Westaway cottage in March 2016. With four adults and a baby the cottage offered ample space and comfort. Every room was beautifully decorated down to the smallest details.
Its location, in the very picturesque Charlestown, was ideal. A pub, restaurants and a collection of shops all within a minutes walk.
Charlestown near St Austell is great place to start to explore the coastal walks and attractions in Cornwall. We took this short holiday with my elderly parents and four month old son, and we found everything we needed easily accessible and with the cottage very comfortable.
We are already planing our next trip!




Beautiful cottage in Charlestown

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked very last minute and we were very pleased with our choice. Cottage was stocked with milk and coffee pods for the machine. Great little enclosed garden, perfect if you have dogs. We made use of the fire in the living room which made it really cosy. There was plenty of kindling and coal left for us. Decoration in the cottage is lovely, just been renovated. Lovely heated floors in the kitchen. Just a very short walk down to the various pubs and restaurants in the harbour.



Autumn Half Term

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just as it said on the tin, a very well appointed cottage! Exactly what we were looking for! Easy for blustery coastal walks with the dog! Loved all the personal touches, the vintage books, China, decor in the cottage made it feel cosy, clean and as you would want it!

Maybe a bit tight if we had been a party of six, particularly in the sitting room!

We had an issue with a light bulb, in a bedroom but the owners said they would deal with it and it was not a problem. They were kind and approachable.

I wish them great success with Westaway! Thank you for our quality family break away!