FB Twitter

The Old Cider House

The Old Cider House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 41 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


In a quite beautiful and peaceful spot, close to some of the most spectacular sections of Cornwalls north coast, The Old Cider House is a luxurious conversion providing spacious accommodation for a couple with the added advantage of a lovely private garden.

An absolute gem!

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There's nothing negative to say about this beautiful house. My only annoyance is that more and more people will find out about it and that I won't be available next time we want to use it!

The hosts were fantastic, it was clean, homely and comfy. The cider was beautiful, the finishing touches exquisite and the gardens lush and bountiful!

A great spot to stay to explore Cornwall.

Did I mention the cider? It's great.




Wonderful rest!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jon and sam owners of this lovely cottage are lovely, left us lots of goodies including a bottle of cider! Such a peaceful place wonderful and quiet , we went around a lot to port Issac , Boscastle beautiful places to visit , I would definitely go back



Much needed holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was just the break we were looking for, a quiet, relaxing place that was close to some great beaches and places of interest. Sam & Jon were the perfect hosts and we were greeted with a hamper of home made Cider, that was chilled in the fridge and some essential groceries, all of which were well received after our long journey.
We will not hesitate to recommend this holiday destination to our friends and we hope to return there soon.




Amazing Place!

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can only reflect what everyone else has written in their reviews. The Old Cider House is a great place to stay and so close to most of the main towns such as Bude, Boscastle and Port Isaac. Sam and Jon have made this place a little haven the gardens are so pretty and peaceful to laze around in with a glass or two!! of their fantastic homemade Cider. We would definitely love to go back soon to visit all the other places we did not have time to see in beautiful Cornwall. Thanks very much Sam and Jon for your hospitality.





Private, Peaceful, Tranquil

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect weeks holiday in a peaceful and quiet location. Jon and Sam are excellent hosts and a welcome pack on arrival is a lovely touch.

The accommodation is superb and well placed to explore the north Cornwall coast or to just sit outside and take in the peaceful surroundings.

Would highly recommend this property.




Delighted.

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully appointed and decorated cottage in a beautiful location. Sam and Jon were very friendly and helpful and we appreciated the welcome pack. We'd definitely come back.



Another lovely stay at The Old Cider House

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have booked the Old Cider House and again it did not disappoint. Sam and Jon are excellent hosts and really make you feel welcome. Not at all intrusive but readily on hand if you should need them. The house is beautifully appointed and feels like home from the moment you enter. Had some good meals in the Coombe Barton pub on the beach. Rode the Camel Trail on hire bikes and did lots of local coast walks. Can’t wait to return!



Complete relaxation

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Cider House is a perfect place to get away from it all. So peaceful and relaxing. Wonderful house with everything you need. Comfortable and cosy to stay at any time of the year.



Peaceful & beautiful

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely week at the old cider house, it was an incredibly peaceful location. The cottage has been beautifully refurbished & was spacious & airy, perfect for summer but would also be cosy for a winter stay. The beach & village are a short drive away (not really possible to walk as the road is narrow), which also has a great pub. Hosts were friendly & kindly gave us a lovely welcome basket & a try of their homemade cider which was delicious! They were on hand if we needed anything but they also gave us complete privacy during our stay. We really hope to come back again!



A fabulous place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Cider house is a wonderful place to stay, a quiet little bolt hole. Beautifully presented, everything you could need for a relaxing break. A lovely walk down to Crackington Haven, with a pub/ restaurant, a couple of cafes and beach. Access onto the coastal path.
Nothing was too much trouble for Jon and Sam.
The only disappointment was there was none of their own cider ready to try.
We will return and recommend




Our Stay at the Cider House

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very lovely stay at the Cider House. It had everything we needed and we loved the little touches. Managed a lot of cliff walks nearby.



A Cracking(ton) location

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the sort of place where you open the door and smile because it is so nice. It's very comfortable and spacious and well appointed. More importantly it just 'feels good'. Jon welcomed us and was very friendly, encouraging us to explore the large orchard. The location is very good for walking the SWCP..
Crackington itself has a couple of cafes and a great pub which serves a good selection of local real ales. The food is good and reasonably priced - you need to book early to get the best tables looking towards the sea.
We returned home wonderfully refreshed and with big smiles.




The Old Cider House, Crackington Haven

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely property, well appointed and stylishly decorated, positioned in a stunning location.
A beautiful retreat.




Loved it and we will be back.

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to stay, quiet, clean and welcoming. We normally go down to the Lizard for that extra bit of Cornish solitude, but we found it here at The Old Cider House. We were made to feel so welcome on our arrival and the week passed much too quickly. Only is criticism is the pictures, particularly of the outside do not do this beautiful little bolt hole justice..



The perfect getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 01 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this cottage for my birthday week. It was perfect!
It’s in a stunning location and the cottage itself was gorgeous. I highly recommend and I will be staying again as loved it.




Snowed In

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As there was adverse weather approaching we contacted Jon and Sam to see if we could arrive early and they said that was no problem, they met us on arrival and helped with the luggage as the snow was falling rather heavily, it was warm and snug and perfectly appointed. They checked the next day to make sure we had everything we needed.
A perfect short break stay and will definitely go back.




So good I have stayed twice already....and will be back!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I first stayed at The Cider House Jan 2017 and have just returned from my second stay. I cannot thank Jon and Sam enough for their hospitality and all the lovely treats. This cottage is perfect for a single traveller, or couple, with own transport. There are many beautiful walks locally, and the owners have kindly provided plenty of maps for your use, but you should appreciate that the landscape can be extreme so inclines are suited to mountain goats :o)
The cottage is beautiful, with a fantastic log burner and two large leather sofas, a fully equipped kitchen overlooking the most wonderful countryside, and a lovely bedroom with velum windows offering night-time stargazing. Jon and Sam gladly offer an endless supply of logs for the fire and they also generously supply luxury bathroom products, local Cornish butter, eggs, bread and milk on arrival ( these may be subject to change I guess) and a bottle of bubbles....bliss!
Fresh daffodils on the kitchen windowsill were a lovely gesture, but also having tea, coffee, salt and pepper grinders and washing up/ dishwasher provisions all make for a very easy and comfortable stay.
You can walk from the cottage down to Crackington Haven or drive to many of the amazing North Cornwall/ South Devon beauty spots e.g. Port Isaac, Tintagel, Boscastle, Padstow, Bude, Widemouth Bay etc.
Highly recommended....don't take my word for it....go and see for yourselves!
Failing booking, or as well as, you might like to see if you can source Crackington Cider which Jon and Sam now produce using heritage apples grown in the orchards now establishing around the cottage.
Enjoy!





Fantastic rural cottage on the splendid North Coast of Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great start to the New Year! Loved the log burner and the style of the cottage. Both the exterior and interior is aesthetically pleasing to the eye and situated in a peaceful location.

The surrounding area has some lovely spots with the beach not so far away, and a decent local for real ale and good food!

I would recommend staying here if you need to escape for a few days!





Lovely Cornish hideaway

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy home-from-home. Loved the seaside decor, the wood burner and the view from the kitchen window. Nice touch with the Christmas tree and lights around the fireplace to make the place feel festive. Best of luck with the new cider making venture.



Private, Peaceful, Tranquil

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The title of our review says it all. We could not have wished for a better place to relax and escape the maddening crowd. Sam and Jon were excellent hosts and were there if we needed them. The place was spotless and very tastefully decorated with a perfect blend of modern decor and country cottage charm. It felt brand new.

This review may seem like a cliché but we have experienced so many holidays where we have not had these things despite them being promised in the advertisement.

We will definitely be returning in 2018.




Perfect!

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the best cottages we’ve stayed in. Cosy, relaxing, totally quiet, private but with lovely Jon & Sam on hand if needed.
They have done an incredible job on the restoration of the barn. A couple of shops and nice pub nearby, cliff walks (strenuous in this section!) and easy reach of Port Isaac, Padstow etc.




Relaxing Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a beautiful cottage. Spotlessly clean in a quiet location. Not remote there are a couple of shops for supplies and a lovely pub down on the beach. Can't wait to visit again!



The Old Cider House

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a wonderful farm cottage. Very private and quite in a lovely area of Cornwall. It was ideal for a restful holiday. The cottage was well presented and was very clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful, even leaving some supplies to get us going. The cottage was warm and comfortable, and recently finished to a good standard.
We would certainly be willing to stay there again.





Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean cottage. Had everything we needed and was a great base for a week exploring Cornwall.
Yummy treats on arrival and hosts were welcoming and helpful.




Outstanding

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation. Some lovely touches and a generous "welcome pack" in the "Old Cider House" on a working cider farm.



A peaceful haven

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Top quality accommodation, extremely comfortable, with lovely gardens and surroundings. Perfect location for touring around north Cornwall. Highly recommended.



Experience all that Cornwall has to offer at the Old Cider House

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well presented and comfortable cottage in a great location from which to explore the Cornwall coast. A Rural experience but only one mile from a striking beach nestled between imposing rocky cliffs and the coastal path and walking tracks. Hosts Jon and Sam were lovely and we appreciated both the wine and Cornish "treats" that greeted us on arrival and the beautiful garden setting of their home and the cottage.



Wonderful cottage in great location near to many beautiful places in Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at The Old Cider House couldn't have been better. The cottage is such a lovely place to stay and enjoy the time in Cornwall. It is very clean, comfortable and offers everything one needs. It has a beautiful garden with many flowers, plants and even orchards, which are taken good care of by the very friendly and helpful couple that owns the cottage. They are right next door on the farm and always offer great advice on nice places to visit in the area. We can definitely recommend the beautiful cottage on the Tremayna Farm.



Exactly as we might have hoped

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want somewhere quiet, really nicely done, and with a host that is friendly, helpful, and not intrusive, this is it.




A Perfect few Days

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for three nights at the Old Cider House and it was possibly the best cottage experience we've had.

We didn't have any interaction with the owners once we arrived (although they were next door), but they'd left logs on the fire ready to light, some welcome treats including eggs, shortbread and a bottle of Cava, as well as a message to let them know if we needed anything.

The cottage itself is really nicely decorated and very clean, plus Netflix on the big TV was another nice touch. Would happily stay here again.




Our Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the old cider house was better than we could have imagined. A perfect cottage, with everything we needed for a few days break. Sam and Jon went above and beyond to make our stay great, with a welcome pack full of Cornish goodies and so many amenities in the cottage!
A great base to explore the surrounding coast!
We certainly will be back! :)




A great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfully cosy modern cottage with a log burner. The owners had champagne, cake, bread, eggs tea, coffee and butter all waiting for us on arrival. The cottage was set on a quiet road 3 mins drive from Crackington Haven beach. There was a massive garden and patio to sit in too. The location is perfect for trips to Bude, Bosscastle, Tintagel, Padstow. Will definitely be back.



Brilliant stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Old Cider House during the second week of September and were not disappointed! Whilst the weather was a little hit and miss, the cottage was a welcome haven for our return. It was our first family holiday with our son, 6 months, and the cottage was perfectly equipped for every eventuality. The welcome pack from Sam and Jon was very generous: Prosecco, Cornish cake, butter and biscuits as well as everyday items like milk and tea to get you started. The cottage is a short distance from the lovely Crackington Haven and is well situated to explore both North and South Cornwall. Would not hesitate to recommend this lovely place to family and friends.



Gorgeous cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in August and had a fab time exploring the local area - there's tons of coastal walks nearby and great beaches to visit. The Old Cider House was a great base for us, beautifully done up and really comfortable. It's set in a lovely garden and a large cider apple orchard. The owners were really friendly and helpful and they included lots of extra touches that made our stay feel even more special. You can walk into Crackington Haven (but be prepared for the uphill sections!!) and there's a great farm shop and cafe on the outskirts of Boscastle just a few minutes by car. We had amazing weather for the week - so all in all a wonderful holiday! Would highly recommend staying there!



Relax and Explore

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place just to relax and to use as a base for exploring the coast. The cottage was excellent with everything you could need. The owners had left milk and bread plus some lovely cake and biscuits for our arrival which was a nice gesture. We would recommend this.



Peace at last!

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It really was as beautiful as the photos! Gorgeous setting and lovely owners. We even got to try the cider! Very nice welcome goodies too. Amazing scenery and coastal walks. Will definitely be returning.



Review

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a picturesque setting. The owners have done a great job of modernising. Well equipped kitchen, cozy living room and bright airy bedroom. Owners were very welcoming and extremely helpful. Closely located to Crackington Haven, Bude, Boscastle and Tintagel.



Beautiful Cornwall Beautiful Accomodation

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We turned up early so went straight to the pub (needed after a 3.5 hour drive), we went to the Mill a little early and was welcomed by Jon who straight away was very interactive with us, chatting to see what we liked etc, sorted us out maps for walking and mentioned whats nice to see along the walk, we had a welcome postcard telling us that we have a bottle of fizz in the fridge, along with Butter, Bread, Biscuits and cake (the last morning I found a tub of Ice Cream in the freezer - gutted), the fire was fully loaded ready for a match to start it, loads of books, DVDs, coffee, tea, milk, sugar, washing up liquid, everything you need for the perfect start. We did the Crackington Haven to Tintagel coastal walk, it took 6 hours, once you get past Boscastle it gets easier, the first 6/7 miles are hard going. Beautiful place and would not hesitate to go again, cannot fault anything about the place. Thankyou for a lovely stay.
Mark and Tara x




Old Cider House, Crackington Haven.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent conversion in a nice quiet location. Friendly, welcoming hosts Jon and Sam. Just needed the weather to make it perfect. Have already recommended to friends and family.



Beautiful base for exploring Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was very spacious, with a sitting area, dining table and sizeable fully kitted out kitchen in which we were able to cook evening meals. The cleanliness and attention to detail in the decor created a homey atmosphere and made our stay really comfortable. The cottage is surrounded by farms and country side (amazing views!) but is a good base for driving to visit other areas of Cornwall and Devon.



A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really loved The Old Cider House: the accommodation has been beautifully prepared and was meticulously clean; the bed was comfortable and we slept very well; the living and cooking areas were great too. The garden areas surrounding the house are just amazing and we were able to explore the owners' vegetable garden and cider orchards too. It's easy to walk down to the bay at Crackington Haven, where we saw some stunning sunsets, and it's possible (though harder work) to walk up again. It's a very quiet and peaceful area of North Cornwall and the flat has views across some open countryside. We would definitely stay again.