FB Twitter

The Engine House

The Engine House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.7


A quite beautiful conversion of an old engine house in a breathtaking location on the St Anthony headland. Perched on a ridge high above Porthbeor beach, the house benefits from spectacular sea views and is surrounded by spectacular National Trust coastline. A haven for walkers or a romantic break, this luxury property is only a few steps from the coast path. Regrettably no children under the age of 3.

Lovely cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Five stars for the Engine House!

Cosy, comfortable and well-equipped cottage with beautifull sea views. We really enjoyed our autum holidays in the Engine house despite of some rain-drops....!

Ragni and Frank




Wonderful location

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I find it very difficult to review as we do not often self cater so have little to compare with, particularly in terms of value for money. There were good aspects and some not so good. Location is superb and owners very friendly, and there is plenty of outdoor space. The sitting /dining room is spacious and comfortable .The only bedroom we used was small and the bed not particularly comfortable. One of the windows was impossible to close which made it draughty and noisy on a windy night.The bathroom and shower room were also small, the bathroom having a sloping ceiling. There was a problem with the central heating/hot water boiler when we arrived which was never totally resolved in spite of the owner’s best endeavours. To summarise, we enjoyed our stay, helped by the lovely sunny weather, but would probably look for a bit more luxury if we decided to go again.



A luxurious hideaway in a gloriously isolated location!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here with our two children stayed here for a week in the summer. The property was exactly what we were after: a comfortable cottage in a very quiet location close to the sea. The property is finished to a very high standard and is very well equipped. There are swings in the garden that our children made good use of. The owners live next door and are very friendly. We had never used an Aga before but once we got used to it there was no problem on that front. The location is idyllic and the property is close to good beaches and the St Anthony's Head lighthouse/former military battery (a National Trust property) so it is ideal for walks and rambling. The walk to St Anthony's Head lighthouse is highly recommended. There are narrow country roads to get to the property, but that is Cornwall. The closest grocery shop is 15 minutes drive away (Portscatho) so one needs to plan provisioning in advance. My only slight issue was that I found the entrance to the property's parking area to be tight, so driving in and out and turning the car around was tricky. All in all though a fantastic property and we had a lovely stay.



Amazing setting for beautiful Cornish holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the Engine House was all that we hoped that it would be: beautiful setting, stunning views, for a quiet and peaceful holiday. We enjoyed relaxing in this beautiful cottage, cooking on the Aga, visiting stunning beaches and getting the small boat to St Mawes.



Beautiful accommodation in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were greeted on arrival by the owner who was welcoming, friendly and informative. The house is in an amazing location with wonderful views, and was very comfortable. It was well equipped and had everything we needed. We very much enjoyed the area and the house is close to the ferry stop to St Mawes where you can access the ferry to Falmouth and other attractions. We would recommend the accommodation without hesitation and would definitely like to return.



Hate having to give reviews

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was great, the owners very helpful when required. Discrete and stayed out of the way for the rest of the time.
Unfortunately I hate having to provide reviews. If it had been poor I would have complained at the time to the people who could do something about it. There was no need as the place was grand, so hence does not really need a review other than just to tick the boxes.




Very good - let down by dishwasher

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All very good as advertised and an ideal location except.....
The property is let down by the dishwasher which is very old and needs replacing. The bottom basket has lost two of the required 8 rollers which makes it very difficult (impossible with one hand) to push it in and out once the basket is loaded with crockery. We would have preferred a modern cooker rather than the old AGA which is not easy to use.




A hidden haven

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly, this has a lovely view of the sea and is fabulous for walkers. A very peaceful location with owners on hand but not intrusive. A couple of secluded coves meant that this was a lovely place to get away. The property was clean and well maintained. We did find the Aga a challenge at first. Wifi signal was good. Also the roads weren't too bad for passing places. We've stayed in places with much narrower access! The boat ferry was a surprise at first (depending on which direction you go in) but on the whole a good place to be able to access areas of Cornwall.



A delightful cottage off the beaten track

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 weeks at the cottage. Within 5 miles (as the crow flies!) there is plenty we can see and enjoy: beaches in small coves, foot paths along the coast and inland, picturesque villages and churches, historic buildings... We cannot not mention the welcome, friendliness and helpfulness of Judy and Steve.



Engine House Review

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A wonderful cottage in a beautiful location with such friendly and caring hosts! I would highly recommend this place as a quiet and picturesque base to explore that part of Cornwall.



Lovely Location

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location. It takes a great deal for us to return to somewhere three times as it has to live up to The Cotswolds which is where is where we live and is quite beautiful, but the location has a different beauty, as in its remoteness, but with out feeling cut off.
The sea breezes were especially appreciated this year.
Thank you Jude for the rock cakes and hope your open garden goes well as it's beautiful.




Perfect for an escape

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you're looking for action and a wide range of eateries and music venues. This is NOT for you. This is the absolute best place we've ever stayed because what we need is seaviews, quiet and walks. The ferry is only a short walk away if you fancy a trip to St Mawes or Falmouth, but honestly. Just sitting in the garden looking at the ships sail by and then strolling along to the beach. That's enough for us.
And the hosts are incredible.
If you are a dapper hand with an Aga you're in LUCK. This is slow living at its best. Calm, meditative stay
Xx




Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jan 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely location. A little remote, which is what we like, sea view, lovely gardens - lots of space (inside and out) But I have to say missed the cakes upon arrival which we had in the summer. Loved learning to cook with an Aga. Only niggles are the mirror in the upstairs bathroom is a little too high, and things seem to be screwed down (lamps in double bedroom) Could perhaps do with another lamp in the large living room either floor or on a table (don't see the point of one being right next to the tv) But still love staying here.




Just wonderful.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay could not have been better. We didn’t want to leave will certainly go again. Very peaceful, didn’t need to leave the house there was so much to watch going by on the Ocean.



The Engine House, Portscatho

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the Engine House. Amazing location with stunning views. We definitely hope to return.



Coastal Path Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage with stunning coastal views situated separately but within owners grounds. Be prepared for long narrow lanes (with passing places) mainly between Portscatho (about 5 miles distance) to reach property. Lovely quiet location, large private garden great for stargazing on clear nights. Within easy reach of St Mawes also Falmouth and Truro via King Harry ferry. Right on South West coastal path with great walks to nearby unspoilt beaches. Comfortable cosy detached cottage with attentive friendly owners.



Stunning place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first visit to the Roseland and it was stunning. The Engine House has amazing sea views and is close to the SW coastal path with lovely walks to St Anthony Head (1.5 miles) where you get amazing views of St Mawes, Falmouth and the Lizard.The house was very clean and welcoming with plenty of room. Steve and Jude were very helpful and friendly and gave us tips on places to visit. The garden is large with plenty of room to sit and relax.Would strongly recommend a visit and we shall be returning.



Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage with amazing views! We stayed here recently and it really is a lovely setting, very comfortable and the owners were very welcoming. Our children loved the swings in the garden too! Thanks for a wonderful stay.



Away From It All

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful cottage, with spectacular sea views from the cottage and garden. A great place to just unwind and relax. Close to coastal path for beautiful walks.






What a view!

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the engine house because of the stunning views in the pictures. The reality was even better. Amazing sea views from all aspects of this property including from the beautiful garden. Coastal walks were on our doorstep. The Roseland peninsula offers such tranquility. If you wish to escape the hustle and bustle this is the place. Yet the short ferry ride to st mawes brings amenities to your stay. We highly recommend this cottage and the owners are lovely.