FB Twitter

The Bolt Hole

The Bolt Hole

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Overlooking sloping meadows with the River Fal running along the valley, this cottage has retained its 18th Century charm and benefits from a sunny enclosed garden and parking to the front of the cottage.

Perfect bolt hole

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect little house for 2 people. Very well equipped. Nice outdoor space. Quiet location. Lovely welcome. What more could we ask for.

Alex from Kilmaganny stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in June 2018


Fantastic A Must Stay!!

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply stunning! Beautiful little cottage with everything you need.
Great location in which to explore Cornwall.
Highly recommend.
Has a private parking space in front of the cottage and a fantastic local pub 'Kings Arms' and A Londis shop both with in a 2 minute stroll around the corner!
Highly recommend the Roseland Inn pub about 10mins drive away.
If you are reading this and thinking of going then stop thinking and just book it as you will love it!!


John from Harrogate stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in August 2017


The Bolthole is a great little cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable week at the Bolthole in July. The cottage is down a quiet lane with parking opposite and is very pretty. Inside, the decor is lovely and very homely. The cottage is very clean and is equipped with everything you might need. There is also complimentary tea and coffee. The only downside is if you are tall you might bang your head on the stairs and in the shower but the fact the cottage is so lovely more than makes up for it! The bed is extremely comfy too!

Sarah from Harrogate stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in July 2017


Cosy Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to this lovely cosy cottage in a great location. Once again we had everything we needed for a relaxing fortnight and as a base for visiting so many beautiful places.

Nigel from Ferndown stayed at The Bolt Hole for 14 nights in June 2017


My review on this lovely little cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in this lovely little cottage April 2017 for one week.The cost of the accommodation was the first thing that initially attracted me.I was very reasonable at 265 pounds.I found the cottage very easily and was delighted when I walked in.I would almost describe it as 'cute'.Fully beamed in the living room and the bedroom.Clean and neat.All amenities in the kitchen with a downdtaires loo for convenience.As I walked out into the garden it had a lovely decorative wall with lights and atrative slate and a small stream.Very well thought out small garden.Upstairs is lovely with another toilet and bathroom, very clean and tidy.
The only downfall about my stay was the fact that I had no phone reception so could not receive texts and calls at all.The WiFi is good and strong though with all TV channels provided.The village itself is about ten mins drive to Truro and I would suggest u have a car gir your take outs etc.
The cleaning staff are lovely and the booking was handed in a very professional manner.
I would visit this cottage again for its charms but I would of loved a good phone reception.
Heidi


Heidi from St Albans stayed at The Bolt Hole for 8 nights in April 2017


April visit to the Bolt Hole

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location as good access to coast and main road network.
Very well equipped for such a small property.
Really comfortable bed.
Parking was easy.
Only one negative point - A good reading light in the living room would have been good.


Judith from London stayed at The Bolt Hole for 6 nights in April 2017


A simple hideaway off the beaten track.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed out of season and got a great deal for 2 weeks whilst I was working in Truro. Would stay here again but feel two things should be made clearer though... It's a property for small people with small cars.

1: I'm 6'2" and am used to stooping to avoid banging my head on stairs in old cottages. Being unable to stand under a shower without banging my head was an unwelcome surprise.

2: A parking space is available but access to it is challenging unless you have a small car with good road clearance. Had the space been in use next door it would have been impossible to get access.


Mark from Faversham stayed at The Bolt Hole for 11 nights in February 2017


Carol Barry replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr. Caddy, Thank you for taking the time to complete the Upfront review. I am sorry that you had a problem with the headroom in the shower. However, the bathroom is described on the website as being small and having a shower over the bath. It is also clear from the photos that it is an old cottage with sloping ceilings and beams, although the ceilings are in fact a good height for such a cottage. The parking space can accommodate two small cars or one large one. We ourselves have a large 4x4 and we have never had a problem parking in it, even when the neighbour's car is in the adjoining driveway and access has never been denied. We do hope these issues didn't detract too much from your enjoyment of the cottage. Kind Regards Carol and Sean Barry

Exceeded expectations!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delighted with the cottage, and all the extras provided . Lovely teas , wine and all manner of cleaning stuff. All arrangements went without a hitch . We will definitely come again.

Lynn from Haverfordwest stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in October 2016


The Bolt Hole

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely little cottage that I stayed in on my own for a week in August. The Bolt Hole contains everything you might need for a week self catering and there was a bottle of wine waiting for me when I arrived. Tregony village has a shop/post office, a very friendly pub, a hairdressers and an art gallery, all within easy walking distance.
The only negative might be that the low ceilings may be a problem especially in the shower. I'm only 5ft 5 so fitted in just fine but taller people could struggle a little.
Very comfortable and clean throughout with lots of nice touches provided. Thoroughly recommend.


Helen from Hillingdon stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in August 2016


A Bolthole Indeed!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As a base to explore the Roseland peninsula, and further afield, the Bolthole is ideal. The property itself is charming, and apart from the limbo routine to get down the stairs, very comfortable. All the facilities are in good order, and you couldn't really want for more....well maybe a decent cook's knife! All in all, an excellent holiday base.

Phil from Nuneaton stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in July 2016


Lovely Homely Cottage - Great for Exploring Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cosy and well equipped cottage in a lovely village. This central location made it possible to explore the Roseland Peninsula and well beyond. We would definitely recommend this place to others and would certainly go back on a future visit to Cornwall.

Nigel from Ferndown stayed at The Bolt Hole for 14 nights in May 2016


A delightfully decorated and cosy cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In a lovely quiet little back lane overlooking fields and hills but with the conveniences of a small town, this is a delightfully decorated and cosy cottage.

Nigel from Cambridge stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in June 2016


Excellent cottage central for both coast

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage clean and tidy. Central location for all attractions (Edan Project, Newquay, Padstow and Falmouth ) Good pub in walking distance, fish and chip van on Fridays.Nice touch with the bottle of wine

Michael from Leeds stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in June 2016


Cosy, well located.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for two people. The village is ideal for visiting the Roseland Peninsula, and the regular bus service can free you from parking problems and fees. The local pub and the Londis supermarket are handy, and the pizza van (Wed.) and fish & chip van (Fri.) are useful too.

Richard from Bromsgrove stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in May 2016


The Bolt Hole

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Most enjoyable stay at a delightful property. Very clean and quiet and a joy to return here at the end of every day out. Impressed that, despite being a place for 2 there was plenty of crockery and cutlery - a frequent grumble in other places - such that we did not need to keep on running the dishwasher. One small things to look out for:
- potential for mould around the bath with a lack of ventilation in that room.

Otherwise really lovely and really do hope that we can return for an even longer stay to explore more of this fabulous area. Thanks, Tim Ford


Tim from Southampton stayed at The Bolt Hole for 6 nights in April 2016


Ideal

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the ideal property for two. Cosy and comfortable it has all that is needed for a pleasant stay. It is compact but provides ample space and facilities for two, including the - for me - essential bath as well as shower. It has been very well modernised making full use of the space and has great views as well as the courtyard at the back and lovely garden opposite at the front. Tregony is a lovely village and provides a great centre for visitors to the Roseland with Truro and St Austell within easy reach. There are many great places to visit within a short distance.

Liz from Lancaster stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in March 2016


Aptly named comfy, cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Feb 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay in this very comfortable, and well equipped cottage which was beautifully warm and cosy for a late winter break. It had everyting we required, was well located on the edge of the Roseland peninsula in an interesting village. It was great to have upstairs and downstairs lavatories and a dishwasher with enough crockery and cutlery not to have to waxh up after every meal. Our host made us very welcome and even the weather was kind: after weeks of rain we had crisp bright days, perfect for walking around the coast and exploring the local delights.
We wouuld be very happy to stay here again, perhaps in the summer when we could make full use of the garden and tiny courtyard outside. It is well named, as it is a bolthole - home from home.

One comment - this cottage would be quite challenging for particularly tall people due to the low ceiliings and some small spaces, but for us it was perfect.


Hilary from Honiton stayed at The Bolt Hole for 5 nights in February 2016


A wonderful place to enjoy the peace of the countryside and the excitement of Cornwall

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bolt Hole and Tregony themselves are enough to send me straight back to Cornwall! The beautiful little cottage was immaculately clean and excellently appointed - warm and comfortable with everything we needed for our stay. It was situated in the stunning location of Tregony, a wonderfully beautiful village conveniently placed between Truro and St. Autell and within an easy drive of all the exciting coastal locations of Cornwall. Although buried deep in the tranquil countryside, Tregony and the Bolt Hole are only a few minutes drive from the main A30 and the A390 so getting about was extremely easy.
The booking process couldn't have been easier and the arrival instructions were excellent. Out thanks to the housekeeper, Angela, who came out immediately to help us when the gas ran out.
I can't recommend the cottage and Cornwall Cottages Ltd highly enough - thank you for a wonderful stay. We'll definitely be back.


Paul from Stalybridge stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in September 2015


Great holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great holiday exploring Roseland peninsula. Lovely accommodation. Great walks.
Go to St Anthony Head you won't be disappointed. We had a wonderful time.


Stella from Halesowen stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in September 2015


cosy and welcoming.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and for a little old cottage it is comfortable and everything in very good condition. Welcoming and a pleasure to return to after a long day exploring Cornwall. Luxurious towels and bed linen, comfy bed.

Stephen from Aberystwyth stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in June 2015


Great Break

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bolthole is a lovely little cottage great for a couple who wanted to explore the Roseland Peninsula. It is a central base making travelling easy. The cottage is clean, tidy, cosy and functional. Only gripe we had was that there weren't any egg cups for a traditional holiday boiled egg breakfast!!!!!

Guest from Redhill stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in August 2014


Minor criticisms

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jun 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nowhere to hang swimming gear outside and no pegs, make more use of rear yard for this. The garden shed lock is broken, i.e. the staple holding lock to shed has fallen out,, therefore shed not lockable, and the shaving mirror needs a new bulb., otherwise a wonderful week.

Guest from Lewes stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in June 2014


Comfortable cottage, great location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage was very clean, warm, comfortable and well appointed. A super location for exploring the SW Coastpath between Falmouth and Fowey. Pleasant nearby pub with excellent food and handy local shop.
Good value and highly recommended.

Only drawback was poor mobile phone cover - not just the cottage - the whole area!

The bottle of wine on arrival was a very nice unexpected surprise.


Guest from Wells stayed at The Bolt Hole for 7 nights in May 2014