FB Twitter

Sunlight Cottage

Sunlight Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Sunlight Cottage is situated on a beautifully developed site with superbly kept gardens, which enjoys a blissfully peaceful & secluded setting just north of Truro. The location is very central and therefore ideal for those wanting to explore the county widely during their stay. This delightful & extremely well presented development is just less than 10 miles to the spectacular beaches at Perranporth, yet the cathedral city of Truro is less than a 10 minute drive away with its superb selection of shops and restaurants.
Can be combined with Lighthouse & Moonlight Cottages for larger groups.

Großartige Unterkunft mit großartigen Vermietern in großartiger Umgebung

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wir waren zwei Wochen bei Jill und John mit unseren beiden Kindern. Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Die FeWo ist sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet und bietet alles, was man braucht: komfortable Einrichtung, komplette Küche, gute Betten, gutes Bad, TV und Wifi. Das Grundstück ist traumhaft und die Kinder konnten sich hier nach Belieben austoben. Besonders hat es ihnen der Zen-Garten angetan :-).
Die Lage war ideal für unsere Belange: Strände und andere touristisch interessante Plätze waren gut zu erreichen, Einkaufsmöglichkeiten waren gut zu erreichen und trotzdem ist die Unterkunft absolut ruhig und ländlich gelegen.
Jill und John sind tolle Vermieter: sehr freundlich, zuvorkommend und um das Wohl der Gäste bemüht.
Fazit: wir kommen gerne wieder!




Beautiful property and location

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely welcome from the owners. The wine and biscuits were a lovely touch. Beautiful location, excellent atmosphere. Home away from home.



Amazing stay in a gorgeous cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant week at Sunlight cottage. The hosts were great, Close if you need them but didn’t intrude on our week in any way. The cottage itself had everything we needed as a family of four. We all slept really well as it’s so quiet and no street lights waking us up! Location wise, it’s was perfect for what we wanted. We visited a different beach every day and were happy to travel around a bit. We will definitely return if we are in the area again.



Our annual Cornwall break

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For somewhere that is peaceful, well cared for and in easy reach of north and south coasts this is a very good place to stay.
It is equipped to the right level in the kitchen, we like to cook. The dining and living space met our needs. The picnic table was well used being in a sun trap next to the cottage.
Also important to us is a
comfortable bed and a good shower, the cottage had these.
We will be going back.




Our Summer Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The beds weren't really that comfy and not big enough in master bedroom plus there was a bit of damp too. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and it was value for money we paid.



Jill replied more than 1 year ago
We were saddened to read that you were not entirely happy with the beds. The master bedroom has a standard sized double as listed and all beds have thick, quality mattresses selected for comfort which usually generate positive feedback. Knowing that mattress and pillow hardness is a very personal issue, I keep a selection of mattress toppers to adjust firmness. We always ask our guests to let us know if they are unhappy with anything so that we can do our best to address the matter straightaway. The damp you refer to is due to the unseasonably wet weather and it's effect on Cornish cob. It has been addressed. We were surprised to receive a lower score on customer service as we try to do as much as we can for our guests whilst remaining unobtrusive. Our goal is to give our guests the best holiday possible! :-) We would love to see you again!

Excellent stay at Sunlight.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were impressed by the friendliness, care and attention to details of Jill and John and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.



An ideal location for exploring cornwall

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the Sunlight Cottage was excellent. It provided an ideal location for exploring Cornwall with easy access to the A30.
The owners were very friendly and helpful but at the same time discrete.
The cottage was well kept and well provided for and the gardens were lovelly. The bedrooms were spacious and had plenty of storage space for clothing etc.
Our only negative comment would be that we felt the kitchen / living room was a little short of work surfaces and storage space for food etc. Not a problem if you eat out a lot or have small kids, but as a family of 4, including 2 teenage kids, we needed to store a larger quantity of food.




Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay, great location to explore Cornwall from, so peaceful. Clean and tidy, welcome pack is a nice touch. We could have done with a bigger bed though, there is certainly the space for it!



Ideal for Truro and surrounding areas

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great base camp for weekend activities in and around Truro, including Newquay, lands end, port Isaac, Falmouth, Camborne (Chinese) and most importantly Truro football club. A great time we all had coming down from Maidstone. Very good value for money, home from home and everything provided.



Work stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We work the Cornwall area 3/4 a year in the past have stayed at B&Bs and other establishments
Sunlight cottage has all you could ask for. Fab fab fab




A real gem of a cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are so happy we have found this getaway. We have family in Cornwall and this cottage is in the perfect place to visit all over this beautiful county. We hope that the cottage will be free next time we come down. As you can see above, cleanliness, comfort, location and value for money, all excellent. We also enjoyed the biscuits and wine that the owners left. We cannot recommend more highly this lovely place. Thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon.



We'll presented in a lovely peaceful location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good value for money,bedding,kitchen area,looked and smelt clean no faults there, parking good,owners very friendly.perhaps a little more attention to detail regarding dust in certain areas,but overall a very enjoyable week, and would like to return one day.



Wonderful week in Cornwall

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
John and Jill Tisdale were lovely hosts who could not have done more to make us feel welcome. The cottage is set in the heart of beautiful countryside and, being close to Truro, very centrally positioned enabling us to see as much of Cornwall as possible. It was a pretty little cottage and very comfortable.



Perfect Base

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect base for travelling around the county. The owners are friendly and helpful. This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the cottage and hope to do so again.



Lovely location, lovely people, lovely cottage. Lovely, lovely lovely!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't recommend the Sunlight Cottage enough. John and Jill are lovely hosts and the cottage is very comfortable. The location is close enough to a number of attractions and places worth visiting. Overall an excellent stay.



Our second visit to Sunlight Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A nice two bedroom cottage central to the Truro area, well appointed and cosy. The owners, Jill and John were very helpfull and welcoming. We took advantage of nearby Newquey airport to visit the Isles of Scilly for a daytrip. We also went to Fowey for lunch on the riverside, the Minac theatre and saw a play and visited many beaches and villages. There is a good pub in the village that does good food, and an exalent village shop/post office/off licence. You are made welcome to explore the five acres of garden that the property sits in. Truro has a farmers market on Wednesday and Saturdays.



Beautiful Home From Home!

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for 2 months during the coldest winter months, and in spite of the below par temperatures, we had a cosy, comfortable stay in Sunlight. John and Jill are the loveliest hosts - attentive and friendly, whilst also respecting space. The cottage itself is very well equipped - even for our long stay which was not holiday time but a short let whilst settling into a new area. The cottage is finished very thoughtfully too making it feel very homely and welcoming. John and Jill couldn't have been more helpful - from the welcome on arrival, to popping down with post that had arrived for us, and replacing the TV when the other had given up the ghost! Only one tip - a little hand blender in the kitchen would be fantastic for us foodies!

All in all, a fantastic stay and we would highly recommend whether for a short or longer-term let. Cornwalls Cottages were very efficient and professional.




Excellent customer service

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The customer service was above and beyond expectations. We received very welcome recommendations on where to visit, including up-to-date information on events. When we said that we had forgotten towels, they were quickly provided. After being informed of an event that was on that day, we called in to find out more information and were given maps and information to help us on our day out and John went on the internet to provide us with all the details and directions we needed.
We were very impressed with the garden and it has inspired us to make changes to our own garden. The location is good for road links to easily reach many areas of interest. Try and avoid travelling through Truro unless you need to, however, as we found it very busy.




Sunlight Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was very welcoming and a real home from home in an excellent location for exploring the rest of Cornwall. We really enjoyed our stay and the cottage provided everything we could need.



Perfect Base

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was a perfect base in a quiet countryside location for a stay in Cornwall.

The couple who owned the cottage and lived on the site were very helpful throughout the stay.

Everything was perfect with the accommodation and amenities, would book again without hesitation.




Family Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Aug 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of 5 (2 adults, 2 older children and 1 infant) and we had a wonderful week long stay in Sunlight Cottage. We have a lovely warm welcome from the owners and the accommodation had everything we wanted, including a high chair, travel cot and a baby bath and ducks for little one! A really comfortable, well equipped cottage in a great central location to explore Cornwall, we would love to return!



very pleased

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
i do not think we could have chosen a better accommadation in cornwall.we were made very welcome by john and jill.beautiful scerery,very relaxing holiday.would highly recommend,thank you.brian



Warm and welcoming.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous time in sunlight cottage, lovely location, nice and peaceful but also near to the hustle and bussle of Newquay and fistral beach and lovely hosts john and Jill, will definitely visit again.



short break holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 22 May 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
a great base for exploring the Fal Estuary- the city of Truro - Eden Project and too many other attractions to list- the cottage is in a lovely setting- easy to find - friendly hosts - the cottage was well equipped and comfy - really enjoyed our stay ! shame that the Wi-Fi was intermittent- more off than on- that may be a boon for some- but it made it harder to go online for exploring websites for local attractions.



An excellent base for a quiet stay in Cornwall

Review submitted on Thu, 08 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sunlight Cottage proved to be an excellent choice for a 3 day visit to Cornwall. It is set in a quite rural location and has all the facilities and equipment you need. Truro and both the north and south coasts are within easy reach. The owners were very welcoming.



Great November Break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Dec 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideally placed in the middle of cornwall, Friendly owners, Nice local pub, wasn't too cold when we went in November.
(Now i need to fill up space to save this review)




A really lovely place!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely holiday in a lovely cottage owned by lovely people!!!
My husband, my sister and myself really enjoyed our Cornish holiday and it was so nice, at the end of the day to come home to a nice warm cottage!




Really helpful

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the cottage was excellent, we had a problem with the steps down to the cottage as my father is quite frail, when I spoke with the owners they arranged for a handrail to be installed, you really don't get such care given to customers very often.
I would recommend the cottage unreservedly.