FB Twitter

Stephen Davey Barn

Stephen Davey Barn

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


A luxury conversion of one of the outbuildings of an historic manor house with spectacular living space, located just outside the village of Mullion on Cornwall's spectacular Lizard Peninsula. Beautiful beaches can be found nearby at Poldhu and Kynance Coves and there are miles of breathtaking coastline

A wonderful family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 9 ( an extra infant bed was provided) had a lovely stay at Stephen Davy Barn. The barn was large enough that we didn’t feel on top of one another. The outside space was good too although there wasn’t any grass for the children to play on. The friendly peacocks were great.
The bedrooms and bathrooms were excellent with really comfy beds and a fantastic shower.
The kitchen area was really big although we struggled a bit with such a small fridge and dishwasher. We self catered most of the time because of Covid-19 and with 9 of us the dishwasher filled far to quickly. A tumble dryer would have been nice too.
Other than that all the kitchen equipment, cutlery, plates etc were brilliant.
The location was excellent for visiting both Cornwall coasts.
We would certainly come back to this lovely barn again and recommend to all our friends.




Excellent Half Term Break

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family stayed in Stephen Davey Barn for 5 days during the half term week and were very pleased with the quality of the property, its location and the facilities provided. We were welcomed each morning by the numerous friendly Peacocks that roam the grounds and enjoyed the occasional visit from the sheep and Alpaca's that grace in the adjoining fields and paddocks.

Because of it's spacious layout the grandchildren had lots of room the play indoors on the days when the weather wasn't so kind, and its really ideal for a large family holiday together with easy access to the many attractions and villages on the Lizard peninsula and beyond.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would definitely book again in the future.




Beautiful and relaxing.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing week staying at Stephen Davey Barn. On arrival we were able to find everything we needed and we had some lovely Cornish biscuits, coffee and milk waiting for us. The kitchen was a dream for a holiday cottage. We love to cook and had everything we needed to make some great dinners.
Our children loved the space. So much room to run around and play. They also adored the peacocks which roam the estate.
Martin and Sarah were both very friendly and welcoming, and they were on hand for anything we needed.
Lovely beaches and supermarkets were a very short drive away and lots of things for children to do too.
We can't recommend this place enough.




A perfect place for a family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable holiday accommodation within easy reach of lots of beautiful beaches. We had a much needed, relaxing week on the Lizard peninsula, somewhere we had never been before and now our favourite part of Cornwall. Stephen Davey Barn has been carefully furnished and equipped and had everything we needed (although some pegs for the washing line would have been useful!. Such comfortable beds - we would all have slept for most of our holiday and missed all the fun if it hadn’t been for the peacocks and their daily alarm call! The flowers in every bedroom were a thoughtful extra I would never have expected. We hope to return! Thank you.



Fabulous family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stephen Davey barn was the perfect location for our family to holiday. Located well to see much of Cornwall. Plenty of space for all. Clean, well equipped and furnished. With the added bonus of visiting peacocks.
Only tiny negative was I felt the quality of the pillows and the pans let down the luxury feel of the barn.
A great holiday in a great place.




Excellent accommodation at Stephen Davey Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stephen Davey Barn is set in the grounds of Bochym Manor, a beautiful setting. The barn is clean, well furnished and well looked after. There was ample space for the 8 of us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would happily return again.



Eine tolle Wohnung in einer atemberaubenden Gegend mit zuvorkommenden Menschen

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wir verbrachten eine tolle Woche in einer luxuriösen (neu hergerichteten) Wohnung. Die Wohnung war sehr geräumig und ließ keine Wünsche offen, alles war da. Sie gehört zu einem spektakulären Anwesen. Sarah und Martin waren sehr hilfsbereit und zuvorkommend, ebenso Rupert, der unsere kleine Tochter Josefine mit (vor die Türe gelegten) Pfauenfedern froh machte.

Die Wohnung war idealer Ausgangspunkt zu zahlreichen Ausflügen in die Umgebung. Die diversen Strände erreichten wir jeweils in ein paar Minuten (der beste: Kynance Cove). In dem nahegelegenen Örtchen Mullion waren zwei kleine Lebensmittel-Geschäfte mit freundlichen Inhabern und eine Schokoladenfabrik, wo man bei der herstellung kostenlos zuschauen konnte.

Lizard Point (der südlichste Punkt Englands) ist nur 10 Minuten entfernt, Goonhilly (ehemals größtes Radioteleskop der Welt) und der Fogue von Halligye (ein eisenzeitlicher Tunnel) ebenfalls. Minack Theatre, Lands End (sehr touristisch!), St. Michael's Mount, die kleinen, bezaubernden Fischerorte Mousehole (nach Norden) und Helford (nach Osten), der wohl bekannteste Cornwall-Ort St. Ives und Falmouth mit seinem schönen flachen Strand sind ebenfalls schnell zu erreichen. Wanderungen auf dem South-West-Path waren atemberaubend schön.

Unsere drei Kinder hatten ihren Spaß beim Baden in den Buchten (die Wassertemperatur war für uns Ältere aber gewöhnungsbedürftig; es gab viele, die hatten wohl deswegen einen "Taucheranzug" an ...), beim Möwen-Füttern und selbst bei Spaziergängen (entlang der wilden Küste).

In Mullion gibt es einen schönen Pub (das Mullion Old-Inn); das der Wohnung nahegelegene "The Wheel Inn" hat dagegen leider seine beste Zeit hinter sich. Es gibt in Mullion noch zwei oder drei weitere Restaurants; vorherige Reservierungen sind stets notwendig.

Es gäbe noch viel zu schreiben, weil es keine Sekunde langweilig war. Man kann so viel unternehmen und erleben!

Wir haben diese Wohnung, die Menschen in Cornwall und die Gegend sehr geliebt und wir hoffen, eines Tages wiederkommen zu können. Vielen Dank für alles!

Wir wünschen Sarah, Martin und dem gesamten Team für ihre weiteren Projekte viel Erfolg und ein gutes Gelingen!




Stephen Davey barn

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place for 8 people, open plan area is great to socialise, only real issue were the really soft mattresses on the beds which didn't help our sleep. Would certainly stay again.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at Stephen Davey Barn. The owners of the holiday cottage were so welcoming, and the accommodation was perfect. We will be sure to visit again!



Fabulous Family Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the Stephen Davy Barn as a base for our family holiday this year. We were 4 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 2. The cottage had plenty of space for us all and was very comfortable. It is well positioned for travelling around western Cornwall which has many beautiful sites.

The cottage has an 'upsidedown' formula where the bedrooms are on the lower floor, which means the bedrooms are cool, they only slight downfall with this is that you can hear people moving about upstairs, this didn't seem to bother the children but my daughter found it slightly annoying when she was trying to sleep in.

The Peacocks were very friendly and would regularly greet us in the mornings, although they can be noisy first thing you soon get used to it.

Sarah made us feel very welcome, even calling me the evening before to check what time we were expecting to arrive and that we had received the map and directions to the Manor. Sarah came to greet us when we had arrived which we thought was a lovely touch, she is very proud of the work that she and her husband have done in renovating the Manor and offered to give us a tour, but unfortunately due to time constraints we were unable to do. However as we are planning to go back, I will definately take her up on her offer then.

All in all I would recommend the Stephen Davy Barn for a base in Cornwall and we will certainly book again.




Fantastic cottage in the heart of Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic 4 bedroom cottage situated within an hours drive of almost all of the sights of Cornwall - a fantastic location. The cottage was exactly as described and pictured, well equipped and plenty big enough for a weeks stay. Would definitely recommend to friends and family looking for quality self catering accommodation.



Lovely, lovely place.

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
location is great, facilities are fantastic all brand new and very well equipped.
The owners are lovely people and made us feel very comfortable and welcome.
We will be booking to stay here again.




April in Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent a lovely week in Cornwall at Stephen Davey Barn. I very nearly didn't book as there were no reviews on the website and what a mistake that would have been.
The barn is beautiful and we had a great welcome from Sarah and Martin, including a delightful welcome pack of wine, milk, biscuits, tea and coffee. The main living area is upstairs, it is massive and very well equipped - everything you need is included. the bedrooms and bathrooms are downstairs, they are lovely, airy and very spacious. The linen and towels are very good quality. My only point for improvement would be the inclusion of a shower over the bath to speed up getting everyone ready in the morning to enjoy Cornwall. There are peacocks and peahens wandering the gardens and alpacas and sheep to admire.
The position is great for exploring the Lizard and we went as far afield as St Ives and Eden. There are lots of eateries in the surrounding area, we particularly like Rick Stein's in Porthleven and the cafe overlooking the sea at Lizard point. We also bought the best pasties ever at Sue's and went to the best butchers to buy hog's pudding, both at Lizard point.
Hard to beat our stay, easy and delightful right from booking to arriving back home!