FB Twitter

Spinnakers

Spinnakers

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


Spinnakers is an immaculately presented & very well equipped apartment which is quietly situated overlooking a small courtyard just off the sea front of St Mawes near the quay. It is very conveniently situated for all the local amenities, car parking and beach.

A very comfortable apartment with everything you need

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spinnakers s a comfortable apartment in a beautiful area,It was the nicest area we have visited in Cornwall. We were blessed with lovely weather and only 1 full day of rain.St Mawes is a bustling area with small shops and a few pubs.The people are very friendly.The only thing was the shower was luke warm.we had a shower this year and that was luke warm also, and the plumber came back and adjusted the cold water feed in the shower and it is lovely now. overall a very enjoyable week,and would like to stay in St Mawes again



July 2019

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd stay at spinnakers. Its
A Great apartment very clean and spacious . Perfect location.




A perfect central apartment for exploring Cornwall

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spinnakers was a lovely spacious apartment, central for anyone wanting to explore Cornwall. It was very well equipped with everything you need to make your stay easy and comfortable. It was just across the road from the harbour and the view from the top deck was beautiful. Everything was clean and tidy. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in St.Mawes.



Great week

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location in St Mawes , very comfortable flat with great sea view terrace.
Mini soaps and shower gel in bathroom would be a definate advantage, avoids panic buy on late arrival !




St Mawes at it's best

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd stay at Spinnakers and doubt it will be the last. It has all you need and more for that home away from home stay and right on the seafront to boot with added bonus of outside decking area with few over the harbour and out to sea.



Enjoyable stay at Spinnakers

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very spacious apartment. Fully equipped with modern appliances including dish washer and washer dryer, having the en-suite shower room in the master bedroom was a bonus!
No allocated parking space but in theWinter months you can park outside against the sea wall.
We were there for 2 weeks and it was a nice surprise when the towels and linen were replaced over the middle weekend.
Very central in St Mawes.
The only thing I would recommend is that they replace the duvet on the double bed with the next size up!
Otherwise a great place to stay
t PLEASE NOTE there are 2 flights of quite steep stairs to access the apartment!




Spinnakers

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location of the accommodation was very good, car parking is mainly in the public car parks which can be expensive.
The ferry was very nearby and a good way to explore the area without the car. All eateries were a very good standard if a little pricey.




Great Location to explore Roseland Peninsula

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spinnikers is a lovely spacious property, with access on the wavefront of St Mawes. It is within easy walking distance of local shops, pubs and restaurants of which there's a choice. The apartment does have two outside terraces, the higher one provides a view over the rooftops to the bay and beyond.
Two things to note for any visitor. The property entrance is up a flight of stairs, with an additional flight up to the higher terrace. Secondly while you can stop to load and unload outside the court yard entrance, parking is best in the main village car park. There is a week long parking ticket option for £30,




Nice place, shame about the noise next door!!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice place, sadly ruined by the noise from the people two doors down who own a bakery business and think its ok to start shouting orders to each other/clanking around metal equipment/throwing stuff around and generally being very loud from 6am and through the day. Not what you want on your only holiday of the year! VERY ANNOYING! And we’re used to noise, coming from a big city. Someone needs to have a word.....



Alan Ball replied more than 1 year ago
I am surprised and very sorry that you experienced noise from the bakery. Although it is very unusual for the sounds of the bakery to be intrusive I will certainly talk to the owners about your experience. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Great Location & Fully Loaded

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great appartment in quiet & secluded location. Family freindly beaches and good quality bars and restaurants just a stone's throw away. One visit is not enough to explore the walks and wildlife
We managed 90km in one week and no driving necessary.
A must visit location




Perfect Location.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another lovely stay ay Spinnakers. Love being in the centre of St Mawes with all amenities in walking distance. Flat is bright and airy, well equipped and with the bonus of good outside space, the upper deck perfect for breakfast in the sun with lovely sea views.



Lovely place

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
About our 4th time here....still as good as the first. Lovely place and great location...always leave well rested.



Third time, still as good as the first

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really like this place, great size, nice and quiet, great location, very comfortable. Only gave 'Good' for comfort this time, as the double mattress has probably had it's day.

Must say, we loved the refitted bathrooms, they are so good it has spurred me to change my bathroom at home!

One difference we noticed this time was the internet seems to have a control on it, we could not access some websites, i.e. a couple of pubs/restaurants.....or the National Lottery - be nice if this was removed.

The above has not put us off, we have already booked for next April!




Alan Ball replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. There have been no changes to the internet filters recently, and I can see no reason that you could not access the local pub/restaurant sites; hopefully just a glitch. However I've identified a filter that blocked access to the National Lottery site and removed that.

Super stay at Spinnakers

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at Spinnakers. The flat was beautifully presented, very spacious and in an excellent location.



great location

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a fab week a the spinnakers property. Very spacious apartment in a fabulous location , right in the centre of town yet tucked away from the main road so very peaceful,. The apartment was very well equipped there was nothing that was not catered for. We loved the raised decking area and enjoyed a glass of wine whilst watching the sailing boats



Spinnakers, July 2017

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spinnakers is an excellent well located holiday apartment - close the harbour front at St Mawes but with a secluded courtyard feel. The apartment is comfortable, clean and very well equipped. Our only reservation would be concerning the double bed in the main bedroom - this room could benefit from the next size up of bed, together with a more robust mattress. However, this only detracts slightly from what is otherwise a superb apartment and good value for money.



Perfect accomodation in perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3rd visit to Spinnakers. On each visit the property has been improved, the new bathrooms this year are lovely. we love the location and make full use of the ferries so as not to use the car very often. Lots of nearby walks and great local shops and pubs. Can't think of anything that would improve either the property (except perhaps for cushions for the outside wooden furniture) or St Mawes itself. Can't weight to come back next year.



Great second stay....

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is a great place to stay, secure, private and quiet. Layout of place is great, design gives two couples their own bathroom.

Put condition as 'Good' only necause there is dampness in the main bedroom which needs to be seen too. When it rained the wall was actually wet.

Would definitely book this place again.




Alan Ball replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and in particular the comment about the wetness of the wall. I'm very sorry this happened. A contractor is investigating the cause so that we can put it right.

Our stay at Spinnakers

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable and spacious flat in an ideal location in St Mawes. We think it is really good that you offer a couples discount for the use of one bedroom/bathroom only. Makes this great value for money. We appreciated the owners welcome pack too which gave lots of local information and useful tips.



Super

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good had a great time, excellent and very comfortable , very clean and in a superb location would definitely recommend to others and would stay there again



Suggestions

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always, spinnakers was superbly presented. It had obviously been freshly painted. First suggestion: Because of being freshly painted, the front door was sticking quite badly. Repeated forcing it open may damage it . Easing the door would be helpful.
The new decking is a great feature. Suggestion two: The use of the decked area would be enhanced by tidying the garden approach and the overhanging vegetation. Some garden furniture on the decked area would further enhance its' use.




Alan Ball replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to say that front door is now fixed and the furniture for the decking will be delivered soon.

Gem of a place

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only found this place after spending one night in an awful place, Fishermans Cottage in Port Isaac...so bad after one night we found this place...lucky for us it was free and we could afford to pay for the weeks rental. Cornwall Cottages were a great help in assisting with securing Spinnakers for us.

Spinnakers is FIRST CLASS accommodation. Very spacious, what with one double room one side of the flat with a large bathroom and another at the opposite side with an ensuite. The large living room is a shear joy.....very well equipped, excellent use of space and in a very quiet location. No sea view, but to be honest you do not need it, this place is really restful.

So good we have booked to go back for two weeks in October.




Spacious apartment in great location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Spinnakers in St Mawes. The apartment is very light and spacious and very well equipped. The location could not have been more central and convenient. The patio table was used often for sunny breakfasts and quiet suppers. We came down on the train, bought Fal Mussel cards and travelled about all week on boats, trains and buses and this worked out really well. We will definitely consider coming again.



Fantastic week in a stunning location.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd visit to Spinnakers lived up to expectations. The new decked area is a great addition. The Roseland is a lovely unspoilt area of Cornwall. The property has everything you could want and more whilst being reasnably prices. Great area for walking. Only used our car a couple of times all week. Indifferent weather meant we were unable to take advantage of a mussel card effectively. But still made good use of the ferries. Good facilities in St Mawes for holidaymakets without the character of the village being spoilt. Will be back.



Spinnakers

Review submitted on Wed, 27 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location and a very well equipped and comfortable property. On the downside there was no phone signal available, Wi-Fi was intermittent and we were unable to access sites such as Facebook. We also spent 20 min on reading the manual to the washing machine in trying to get this to work, with no success. This was reported we were then contacted a day later by the owner only to inform us that they had forgotten to make us aware that this is currently out of action and they were waiting for a spare part. It would have been nice to have known this previously as we could have taken additional items of clothing as we were counting on being able to wash items.



Alan Ball replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, particularly that WiFi would not allow access to Facebook. This has now been rectified and all social media sites should be available.

Spinnakers

Review submitted on Sat, 16 May 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
the flat suited our needs, but there was a musty smell in the hall. The Flat was more than adequately equipped and there were plenty of towels. The Packet of biscuits was a nice touch.



Great for a short stay

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jan 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spinnakers is a lovely large flat. The rooms are neat and tidy and everything works well. There isn't really a view from the flat, so it's good if you down there for a short time. The location is unbeatable.



Spinnakers

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent sheltered location with ample living accommodation including a separate bathroom and a shower room. The kitchen has a washer/dryer, dishwasher and good cooking facilities, making evenings in a pleasure!



a Great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spinnakers is a great flat in a great location. Two thoughts to make things even better. It would be very useful to have two sets of keys. In the evening someone locks the outer door. If one couple have gone to bed and the other returns late the couple inside have to be woken to let them in. Secondly a couple of sun beds on the little lawn would be very nice.



Wonderful stay at Spinakers

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed one week at Spinakers. It is a rather large flat with a lovely terrasse right at the harbour of St Mawes. The kitchen and everything was well-equipped and because of the many pictures on the walls which were painted perhaps by the owner of the flat or artists living in St Mawes it was very cosy. A lot of material (maps etc.) about St Mawes and the area were provided.



Good location, Clean, safe

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent value for money, 2 bathrooms, two double bedrooms, parking 2 to 3 minutes walking, two flights of stairs to climb. Would definitely go back