FB Twitter

Seacliffe Warren

Seacliffe Warren

4.0
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.9
Comfort
3.9
Condition
3.5
Location
4.9
Value
3.5
Customer
Service
4.2


Located directly above Tavern Beach with views out to the Lizard peninsula, Seacliffe Warren is full of character. This quaint thatched ivy covered cottage is cosy for a couple yet sleeps 7 or up to 9 with the use of the small double sofa bed. Ideal for beach, boating and walking holidays, it is just a short stroll along the front from the centre of St Mawes.The property has a large garden with wonderful sea views, great for barbecues. Private parking for two cars is available 100 yards from the house and well behaved dogs are welcome.

Beautiful old cottage full of character

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great house in a fantastic location with lots of bathrooms and an amazing garden. Very warm as it has an ever hot in the kitchen, well equipped and lots of sitting areas, beautiful views of the sea and St Mawes, we would love to stay again. Only criticism would be the shower which isn’t very powerful, other than that it’s a great place to stay.

Samantha from West Wickham stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 10 nights in March 2019


A great new year stay

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jan 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We loved this place. In need of some renovation in places eg utility room cupboards coming off hinges. The agar oven was a challenge! There were some cleaning issues, the hot plate which we did not use was dirty and the wet room had not been cleaned.
Parking was difficult at garage we could park on the road as it was low season.
These are minor points. The garden was great so long as children and dogs are closely supervised due to high ledges.
This is not a good place if you are looking for an upmarket place with full en-suite. For us the place was great we loved the history the views and all loved our stay.


Helen from Telford stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 3 nights in December 2018


Lovely Position in St Mawes.

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely situation in St Mawes, right by Tavern Beach, with fantastic views. You might want to be wary if you have small children as the door opens onto the main road, although there is a little iron baby gate.

Stay marred by Aga not functioning - wouldn't even melt cheese... so we ate a lot of microwaved soup. Obviously Aga service repair don't happen overnight but a back-up hob would not go amiss. We had to chop up our fine haunch of venison (meant for roasting) and slow cook it in a stew for an entire day.

Note that they do not supply any logs, just kindling, which is a disappointment after driving for five or so hours in the sleet. Not a long walk to the Co-op though.

I'd book again, but be more prepared for Aga horror and log situation.


Guest from Bristol stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 4 nights in October 2018


leach family replied 225 days ago
We are sorry to hear of your problem with the Aga. This has now been fixed and the first time this has occurred since we started letting in 2011. It is good to hear you would come again.

A lovely cottage, but in need of TLC

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of three generations and a dog has stayed at Seacliffe Warren on several occasions in the past few years, and we keep returning because we love the cottage and its location above Tavern Beach, a short walk from the centre of St Mawes. We have our favourite walks, boat trips, pubs and pasties. Autumn isn't complete without a stay at Seacliffe Warren. However it has to be said that the house is in need of some TLC. The owners need to address a rather long list of overdue repairs and maintenance. Their rental income is certainly high enough to cover the costs. We have already booked our
holiday next year, and hope that by then, the niggling problems will be resolved.


Guest from Huntingdon stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in October 2018


leach family replied 243 days ago
Despite the niggles we are pleased to hear that you have booked again for next year. We will contact you directly for your suggestions for future improvements. Thank you for your feedback.

Great location but rather dark and warm.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location and a fabulous garden at the back which is wonderful for evening drinks etc. Sadly the house is very dark especially on poor days. Also it does get quite warm with the aga going all the time meaning one has to have the windows open at the front bedrooms which is noisy at night.
Remarkably clean given that dogs are allowed.


Nigel from London stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 4 nights in September 2018


Well located, very clean property

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well equipped property within easy reach of all the amenities, particularly the Rising Sun and Tresanton. We loved the AGA and the rear garden provided an added bonus, not just for our dog, but for us as a very pleasant place to relax and enjoy the views over to St Anthony's Head.

The only negative is that the property suffered from weak flow from the showers, Power showers would elevate this property from excellent to outstanding.


Ronald from Midhurst stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in August 2018


Excellent location with fantastic views from the cottage. Beautiful garden.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely thatched cottage in an excellent location. The property has a wonderful garden with superb views. The cottage is so close to the sea, you can hear the sea lapping on the shore at night time. It was Very well equipped kitchen complete with AGA. We were a family of 5 with 3 dogs and we all had a wonderful time. Beds were very comfortable. The cottage is a little dated (I know its very old) but we just felt that perhaps the price is a little expensive for the condition of the cottage.

Linda from Uckfield stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in August 2018


Most things fine

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We always enjoy our time at sea cliffs.
In need of attention summer house equipment very poor , no sun shade shed collapsing .
The garage entrance is so narrow it’s a hazard to most vehicles , it wouldn’t take much to enlarge the entrance without
Having to enlarge the structure..
Everything else ok.


Guest from Chipping Campden stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in June 2018


Weekend break on the seafront

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regular visitors to St Mawes and this was a weekend break with family. The location is excellent at the top of Tavern beach. The house is cottage-style with plenty of history. Only criticism would be that the kitchen is a little awkward to work in. Certainly a great place to stay though.

Tim from Bromsgrove stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 3 nights in October 2017


Nice cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good location right on the beach and with beautiful sea views. Only a 3 minute stroll down the road to the pub/supermarket etc. Clean and tidy with comfy beds. All in all very happy.

James from Bromley stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 8 nights in September 2017


This fantastic big cottage was perfect for our large family

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent location with superb facilities makes this cottage one of the best we have ever stayed in . Despite some modernisation it retained bundles of character and charm that we love . Low ceilings in places meant some bumped heads and a new fridge is needed soon we think .

Graham from Kingston Upon Thames stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in August 2017


Seacliffe warren

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week in seacliffe warren. The location is perfect, the front door practically opens on to tavern beach. The garden is fabulous for evening drinks/BBQ s. The decor is slightly dated and kitchen not very spacious, but this would not stop me booking again

Guest from Guildford stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in August 2017


St Mawes in a rainy Spring

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A few problems with window fastenings. An excellent
Location and lovely cottage and garden. Would stay again. Loved the Aga


Roger from Nottingham stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in June 2017


leach family replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lovely cottage and garden, despite apparently a rainy week? We have done some major refurbishment on the house since the last review and the very ancient front windows and their fittings remain on our 'to do' list, to be done during vacant weeks.

Not worth the money

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the 7th year we have stayed in St Mawes for the October half term and were delighted to have secured Seacliffe Warren to stay in but all in all it was a disappointment. It is by far the most expensive property we have stayed in (£1300 for a week) but the accommodation just does not match up to it - showers are dribbly, beds are doubles (not kings) and we'd expected feather duvets etc but all felt a little tired. What it does have going for it is location, location, location but this comes at a cost in that everyone walking past peers into the sitting room.

Simon from Cheltenham stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in October 2015


A very nice place to stay with fabulous sea views.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Seacliffe Warren is a lovely comfortable cottage. It is in a great location with easy access to Tavern Beach. You can literally lie in bed and watch the yachts from 2 of the bedrooms. The aga makes it cosy for an Autumn stay. In parts it is a little tired but then it is very old. We would certainly come again, lovely stay.

Guest from Broadway stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 5 nights in September 2015


Great location

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great week at Seacliffe Warren, Very spacious, perfect location, with the added benefit of its own garage and parking area, the garden is a fantastic place to spend the sunny afternoons having a BBQ and watching the boats go past.

Guest from Liphook stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in May 2015


Great Location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jan 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect spot in St Mawes with a lovely view and a short walk to the harbour and shops.
The cottage is comfortable without being luxurious and all needs are catered for.


Guest from Penn stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in December 2014


*****

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Aug 2014
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was charming but is in need of some TLC, mainly the cleanliness.

The lay out did not work too well for a large party i.e seating/dining.

But in all, we had a lovely holiday and will be returning to Cornwall and will look at accommodation via Cornwall Cottages.


Guest from Edwinstowe stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in August 2014


Location, Location, Location

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Apr 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The village of St Mawes is beautiful and this cottage is the backdrop to most people's Selfies when they walk past! Add to that the fact that it is on the seafront overlooking a superb bay and you realise that this is a fantastic location for a holiday. The cottage is well equipped and sleeps 6 people very adequately. A really relaxing stay.

Guest from Nottingham stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in April 2014


Cosy week in lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely week in a pretty cottage, well stocked and cosy with aga and real fire!
Some minor Changes could make it even better;
Downstairs shower dirty (hairs)
Lack of good sized settee in front lounge, TV would also be better in front lounge rather than dining area as seating not comfortable in dining area ( to relax and watch TV)
Desperately needs proper sized bath towels please!
Disappointed with kitchen / layout - impossible to access garden/ fridge etc whilst someone is loading dishwasher and that area of the "kitchen" is more like a "utility" room than a kitchen! Having said that, we were impressed with the excellent range of utensils, crockery and dishes!
Felt a bit like being in a fish-bowl - people staring in through windows! Glad we went April and not busy summer months!


Guest from Broadway stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in March 2014


We had a good time, but...

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice cottage to spend a few days in, but I was pleased there were only 2 of us. I was thinking of booking a further week in the summer for 7 including 3 children, but I am afraid that the kitchen arrangement is not good enough. The bed linen was too small for the two linked beds and the bedroom window sills were awash after heavy rain. The garden was lovely but not at all practical for a Labrador pup. The weather was appalling and we left a day early so that we were able to pack up the car at our leisure and when it wasn't raining. Having said all that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in St Mawes and the dog loved the beach.

Guest from Northampton stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in February 2014


lovely seafront cottage, cosy and great for short breaks

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
this is an idyllic sea front cottage with wood burner and Aga and makes a great holiday for families
My only comment to increase the comfort further would be that the sitting room armchairs are not particularly comfortable and quite small which is a shame as the woodburner is so cosy to sit in front of!

the garden is lovely too and we took our dog and all enjoyed the stay


Guest from Cheltenham stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in February 2014


A wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class holiday in a cottage that we never thought would be for renting, so many times we have admired this cottage on other holidays, now we have had one too. We gave out your details to other admirers too, so many people told us they loved 'our cottage', will be in contact again for another holiday soon.

Guest from Scunthorpe stayed at Seacliffe Warren for 7 nights in September 2013