FB Twitter

Roof Tops

Roof Tops

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


A stunning, newly completed barn conversion in a quiet location at the edge of the village of Stratton, just outside the popular town of Bude. Plenty of beaches within a short drive and spectacular coast and countryside to explore.

Restful stay at Rooftops

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Last minute booking made online. The customer service was excellent from time of booking to final day of the holiday.
Would recommend Roof tops- the barn has been renovated to a really good standard and has everything you need for self-catering holiday with a shop and two pubs a short stroll away.
Bude and supermarkets were both 5/10 minute drive.
Bude was really nice, beach and canal side and for good selection of independent shops, bakeries and cafes.
Tamar Otters are short drive and worth a visit- talks interesting and good cafe.
Would definitely visit again. Owners were very welcoming and live in the adjoining property- scones and milk etc were a nice touch and the eggs we purchased were lovely.
The weather could have been better but it didn’t affect us too much and it was lovely restful stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. Pretty easy to get out and about but where it is situated you could leave the car and catch a bus from the village. Best of both worlds in the countryside but close to everything.




Great cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage had everything you needed plus extra ,Vicky & Jason was always on hand if needed .Great location to get about cornwall & Devon .



WOW what a place, best we have stayed in.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage, the most comfortable we have stayed in and been holidaying in Cornwall for the last 7 years. The owners have done a great job renovating it. There wasn’t anything we needed that wasn’t already there, beds so comfortable. Cottage is in a superb location, Stratton is a lovely village with a shop and 2 local pubs within a couple of minutes walk and Bude and the beaches only 5 minute drive. The grounds are very dog friendly, safe and secure so our bulldog Cooper loved it! The owners are very friendly and couldn’t do enough, offering extra bedding etc. The coffee machine and walk in shower make mornings very relaxing. We’ll definitely be going back.



Delightful barn conversion,super open plan and decor.Would recommend to anybody

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owners were very nice but not intrusive even though lived next door.Barn conversion done to a high standard,bit annoying that you had to go downstairs to the toilet but managed.Lovely village with two pubs and supermarkets close by.Nice view from barn and to hear church bells every day.Lovely enclosed garden for our cocker spaniel.Would like to go back there like so many people have.Enjoyed watching the chickens in their garden,bought some eggs to take home.Nice to be so near to Bude.



One of the very best !

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many cottages, barn conversions, farmhouses etc.....and this is seriously one of the best. .....great location in a friendly village with two pubs and a small convenience store within easy walking distance.
Warm welcome (the scones were yummy ! )..... exceptionally clean and well furnished....comfortable bedding and clean useable cooking utensils and equipment. Small but well thought out garden and outdoor seating area. We so often have found holiday rentals sadly lacking .....not this one !! Although we weren’t blessed with the best weather...it didn’t spoil our enjoyment....Thankyou !!!




Great stay, would definitely stay again

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay, good location. We were very lucky with the weather and dog was happy as larry here. Would stay again



One of The Best

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have holidayed in Cornwall many times but Rooftops is probably one of the best places we have stayed in.
Our host was friendly and welcoming when we arrived and provided us with a complimentary cream tea which was very welcome after our long journey.
The accommodation on two levels was spotless and suited our needs perfectly.
The garden is well maintained, private, safe and secure with a patio which catches the afternoon sun.
The village of Stratton, where Rooftops is located, is delightful with two good local pubs in walking distance provided excellent food and drink and there is also a local village shop which stocks most essentials.
We picked up a leaflet which had a walking tour of the village and it’s historical highlights which only took a couple of hours but was fascinating.
Bude is about 10 minutes away by car and other beaches along the north coast are easily accessible.
Overall a great holiday let in a great location.
Highly recommended.




Home from home,great kitchen fantastic shower,

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean and nice location short distance to Bude, loved the upside property, finished to a high standard,will be returning



as you can see from the details below we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at rooftops. fully recommended

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
good central base to visit other locations
very relaxing and chilled out time
well equipped kitchen
in the country location




Way beyond expectations

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Roof tops has been converted to an extremely high standard, everything for a relaxing getaway is on hand from the property to the location. We could not have asked for more but if required all we had to do was ask.



Excellent barn conversion

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a super place to stay. It was so clean and fresh. We found it to be lovely and warm, with a fabulous log effect fire that was easily lit.

Really good kitchen appliances which made cooking in, a pleasure. It was just a shame that we never got to sit outside on the lovely patio, as the weather didn’t let us.

Super views across open fields and very peaceful.





Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rooftops is well situated in a quiet small village just outside Bude, excellent facilities and the best shower we have ever had.
Hosts were on hand to meet and great and we were treated to scones with local cream and jam.
Undisturbed sleep with lists of local walks.




First class

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our stay at Roof Tops and we couldn't of asked for more.
It was clean, tidy, comfortable and very well equipped, Cream on arrival was a great touch.
Credit to Vicky and Jason for converting Roof Tops into a first class holiday accommodation.




Rooftop

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at rooftops for 10nights it is beautiful, the views are amazing. The rooftop has everything you need for a perfect break, microwave, cooker,toaster, kettle, TV in bedrooms aswell as the living room. Your own en- suite, the beds are comfortable, also a hairdryer.The village is 5 minutes away which had a small shop post office, there's 2 bar's there which do lovely food. Vicky the owner of rooftops is a lovely lady & very helpful, on arrival there was scones, Jam & cream in the fridge. Which is a lovely thing to do.I will be going back and would highly recommend rooftops.



Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Loraine, Thank you for the great feedback. I hope you had a good journey home and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Vicky

A fantastic holiday home

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay at Roof Tops. Has everything you need and is a real home from home. The barn is spotlessly clean and the cream tea on arrival with home made jam is an added bonus. Vicky and Jason are on hand to deal with any issues promptly ( the only issue being tripped electric ). Will definitely be returning.



Rooftops

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rooftops is a fantastic holiday destination. It is spotlessly clean and has everything you need. Vicky and Jason are a lovely couple and very helpful.



Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4 of us stayed for the weekend we had a lovely time. The log burner and comfort of the house made the weekend very cosy. The hosts we very good if we needed anything.



Idyllic location and property

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A totally lovely barn conversion with plenty of space, well designed rooms and top spec furnishings. The garden was secluded and so peaceful to sit in albeit the sun was only in the garden for around 4 hours per day, partly due to the very large trees at the bottom of the garden but mainly, I suspect, due to the time of year we visited & this did not stop me sitting there when I got up with my coffee to listen the the beautiful bird song.
The bathroom of the master suite was fabulous with the spacious shower and it's rainforest head, amazing the amount of water that descended - one of my favourite experiences!
The only slight downside for us, again because of the time of year we visited, was that there was no tumble dryer and I do like to take clean clothes home with me!
It was also very nice to have a television in the bedrooms, albeit rather small!
The area was excellent for us with quick easy access onto the Atlantic Highway, our favourite location to visit is Widemouth Beach and from Stratton this took no time at all; also good for getting to the supermarket which was just a couple of miles down the road - there is also a local village store just a couple of minutes walk from the property which is open from 8-6 seven days a week.
Vicky and Jason were the perfect hosts - friendly & welcoming without being obtrusive and the cream tea waiting for us on arrival hit the spot!




Cream teas and stunning scenery

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage and location. Really enjoyed our stay. Owners very welcoming. Stunning Sandymouth beach not far away and if the tide is out you can walk along the beach to Bude. National trust cream tea at Sandymouth and a barista coffee in Bude made for a great circular walk.



Snap shot of Cornwall

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rooftops is an excellent place to stay. The accommodation is great and well thought out, in an ideal place for reaching all the beaches & attractions. We will stay again. Thanks.



Roof tops

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property, wonderful location. Vicki and Jason very helpful and hot crossed buns on arrival was a lovely surprise. Roof tops was clean and had everything you would ever need. Quite location and near to local amenities. Would highly recommend and hope to be back soon.



Highly recommendable

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful converted barn done to a really high standard. The owners are very welcoming and helpful. We took our 12 year old dog and although access to the garden for dogs is outside and down some steps she managed very well and again would recommend to people with dogs. The location is also excellent about 10 mins to Black Rock dog friendly beach.





New year at Roof Tops

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in several cottages around Cornwall but Roof Tops was by far the best. The barn refurbishment is excellent, would definitely recommend.



A stunning barn conversion

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful converted barn, finished and furnished to a very high standard. I would like to say that it is a home from home, but it's better than our home!!

Vicky was extremely welcoming and the cream tea waiting for us was delicious. all the little things were taken care of: washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, handwash, loo roll and milk etc, meaning we didn't have to rush out to buy these things straight away.

Stratton is a lovely village and the two pubs serve excellent local real ale. Bude has stunning walks and the pasties are very tasty!

We were only there for two nights, but would highly recommend Rooftops and this area to our family and friends




Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation with good facilities and attention to detail. Very well equipped and lovely welcome with Cornish tea. Owners very friendly but not intrusive. Garden and barbecue a bonus.



Excellent place to stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Roof Tops for 2 weeks and we could not have wished for a better place. Roof Tops is a great base to explore Cornwall from. We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family.



A great barn conversion done to a high spec

Review submitted on Sun, 11 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property that met all are needs. Great location that provided good access to both Devon and Cornwall. Owners were very helpful and provided good recommendations on places to visit!



Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place to relax and chill out We took our 5 year old granddaughter with us Everything was up to a remarkable standard -very clean bright and comfortable The owners Vicky & Jason were very helpful and friendly - cream tea left for us on arrival + milk + tea bags was very thoughtful
We ate at both pubs in village food +service was excellent We did go to The Bank a Tapas bar but I felt they were not children friendly It was advertised they had a children's menu but they did not Was not impressed with the food We also ate at Life's a Beach fantastic food service and children's menu Nothing was to much trouble You need to book well in advance in the busy season
This is the best self catering place we have ever stayed in Can't wait to go back




New Years break

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Roof Tops provided us with a comfortable,clean and warm place to retreat after long walks in the cold. The owners live next door they were not intrusive at all but were readily available if required. The kitchen was fully equipped and all facilities had instructions on how to use. The showers are powerful which was a pleasant surprise as other visits to Cornwall this has not been the case in other properties. This property is in a lovely village with a pub serving home-cooked food and a friendly welcome and a small village shop on the doorstep while Bude was within easy reach. The one thing that would be nice and is only relevant in the winter and if you had a dog, is in the back garden a light would be beneficial.



Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at Roof Tops. The accommodation is first class and we will not hesitate to stay here again. There are several beaches close by and this is an excellent base for your holiday.




Roof Tops Stratton Bude

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Roof Tops is a recent new build, barn conversion, finished to a very high standard with quality fixtures and furnishings, with plenty of attention to detail, very clean, immaculate, impressive shower, quiet location. friendly owner, would highly recommend. 5 out of 5



Just perfect.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Rooftops could not have been better.
Fantastic accommodation; pristinely kept; help always on hand; short trip to many sights. Stunning.