FB Twitter

Rock Cottage

Rock Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Rock Cottage is a beautiful, traditional cottage in an amazing location perched on the rocks above Portmellon beach, at high tide the water laps around the property but recedes to expose a lovely expanse of sand and a plethora of rock pools. You won't find a property in Cornwall closer to the water without getting wet!

Spotlessly clean cottage with peerless prospect of the sea

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lovely cottage, literally built on a rock, offers the very essence of Cornwall: a beautiful south-facing view of the sea, easy access to the coastal paths, a sandy beach, atmospheric coves a fishing villages nearby, and the friendliest pub you could wish for. I doubt you could find a better cottage by the sea anywhere on the Roseland Peninsula, certainly not one nearer.



A fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely Cornish cottage with beautiful views and you could not get closer to the sea! Everything you need,home from home.
Fresh eggs and cake welcomed us and a visit from Stuart the owner telling us where to visit etc.a perfect stay in a beautiful cottage will be back for sure.




Stuart Douglas replied 29 days ago
Many thanks for your very kind review, especially that you found the cottage a home from home. We try and equip the cottage so you can cook in or go out to visit with the 'beach bag'. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Fanstatic cottage in a fanstatic location

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage boasts a little courtyard which can be like a sun trap in the sunshine. You can laze away the days watching the sea and the world go by. The cottage is very well equipped every little detail thought about. Enjoyed our stay. Stuart was welcoming and ensured we had everything we needed.



Stuart Douglas replied 29 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. I often suggest lots to do in the area, but many of our guests just like to sit and watch the sea go by - I know I do! So pleased you had everything you needed. We try to think what we would like to find on holiday, but are happy to add anything we may have missed.

Memorable Seaside break

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rock Cottage is without doubt the best located cottage we've stayed in.
As well as being very well equipped, comfortable and welcoming, it's proximity to the sea puts it in a class of its own,
Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the waves was a really joy, the freedom of the kids playing on "their" beach and how well they slept was worth every penny.
The cottage is also less than 15mins walk to mevagissy, which is lovely to potter about, crab and eat lunch in. We also had the opportunity to hear the choir which added to the experience.
The cottage and it's location has made for a special holiday with memories we will treasure.




Stuart Douglas replied 77 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review! We like to think we have made Rock Cottage the place we would like to visit, and try to create a home from home where you can relax, cook, or even take the beach bag to the beach.

Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in Rock Cottage and fell in love with Cornwall. We will sure come back one day!



Stuart Douglas replied 103 days ago
You travelled a very long way to visit, so we are pleased the whole family found the trip worthwhile. Look forward to your next visit!!

July 2019

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely relaxing place to stay
Wont hesitate to stay again
Very easy to walk to mevagissey
Didnt really need to use to car




Stuart Douglas replied 103 days ago
We never drive into Mevagissey in the summer and enjoy the short walk over the hill. Looking forward to seeing you again, that is the best recommendation we can have.

Perfect week away in a stunning cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in Rock Cottage. Stuart was a great host, we were welcomed with milk, fresh eggs, homemade cake and treats for the dog. The cottage itself is wonderful, perfect for us and the dog. Really cosy with stunning views from every window. The outside space was great to have, could have sat there all day watching the world go by.

Location is perfect, we didn’t have to use the car everyday as there were some beautiful walks close by. Stuart was really helpful in giving us advice about where to go as well. Highly recommend a walk to Vault Beach and Charlestown.

Will definitely be coming back to Rock Cottage




Stuart Douglas replied 103 days ago
Some of our guests love to travel about all week. Others just sit on the patio and catch the sun. It sounds as if you got the balance just right. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Rock cottage portmellon

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay owner met us on arrival with cake fresh eggs and milk even made us a cuppa. loved it location perfect and such a clean cottage views were amazing



Stuart Douglas replied 159 days ago
We try and make the cottage as we would like to find it if we were on holiday. As cleaner as well as tea maker I am delighted the cottage was clean as well as welcoming. Many thanks for your review.

Perfect Place to Relax

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Rock Cottage with another couple and our dog - all of us enjoyed our visit very much, the Cottage was clean and well equipped - had some very pleasant evenings sitting by the log burner on the comfy sofas. We really appreciated the cake, milk and eggs left by the owners. Stuart met us when we arrived, and gave us a great tip about the walk from Fowey to Polruan, which is well worth doing. It was amazing to go to sleep to the sound of the waves- like being on a boat without the seasickness! The little patio area is also lovely to use - its close to the road, but the wall keeps it secluded enough. No problem with noise from the pub opposite, and it's worth a visit for a quiet drink if you can't be bothered to walk to the popular pubs in Mevagissey. Meva is an easy walk anyway, with some great places to eat and drink. All in all a perfect holiday.



Stuart Douglas replied 159 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review. I think your write up is better than ours!!

Rock Cottage ,Portmellon Amazing Holiday Experience

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rock Cottage a wonderful Cornish cottage filled with everything and we mean everything you could possibly need.
The owners had left fresh eggs from their own chickens and homemade cake.
Milk, coffee, tea and sugar also supplied so wonderful after a long journey to just sit and make a drink.
Biscuits and blanket left for our little puppy.
The cottage was beautifully clean, tidy and in the most fantastic location.
A beach bag filled with towels and picnic equipment what a great idea was also left for us to use.
The owner was so friendly and helpful, a pleasure to meet.
If you are thinking of staying in Portmellon try and book Rock Cottage you won't be dissappointed.
A big Thank You for letting us stay in such a wonderful holiday home.





Stuart Douglas replied more than 1 year ago
WOW! Thank you so much for your lovely comments. A pleasure to meet you and hope to see you again soon.

Perfection

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
location, relaxing on terrace, local people, beach, host Stuart, welcome pack (especially homemade cake from Mel), facilities, local pub (great meals), everything you need inside property, waking up to sound of sea lapping around you. PERFECTION. Book this wonderful gem now. You wont be disappointed.



Stuart Douglas replied more than 1 year ago
It is so great when our guests enjoy their stay. Thank you so much for such a brilliant review

Beautiful Cottage with AMAZING Sea Views!

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to be close to the sea, Rock cottage is for you! Portmellon is ideal for a quiet relaxing holiday but not too far from the local amenities. The perfect base to explore Cornwall. The cottage itself is beautiful, spotlessly clean and packed with everything you might need on holiday (from beach towels to books to picnic basket!) Would definitely stay again, we are missing the superb sea views out of every window.



Stuart Douglas replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We try to make the cottage as we would like to find it, and equip it to make our guests stay easy and pleasurable. We love living in Portmellon and it is great when our guests enjoy visiting us.

Review of Rock Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 18 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful cottage in a fabulous location, if you like your own personal sun terrace with a sea view this is the place for you!
Lots to do locally, lovely walks along the clifftop & not far from Eden & Heligan. The cottage has all mod cons required to give you that home from home experience, very comfortable & highly recommended.




Stuart Douglas replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your fabulous review. We try and put into the cottage with the things we need when we go on holiday, like a beach bag and a properly equipped kitchen. Pleased you enjoyed the location and hope to see you again soon.