FB Twitter

Riverside Cottage

Riverside Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


This idyllic stone cottage lying right beside the creek in the beautiful hamlet of Coombe is a serene place to visit. It is a superbly refurbished traditional luxury cottage providing a totally relaxing escape yet in a wonderfully central location only a few miles from the Cathedral city of Truro. You can wander the footpaths along the river through the unique Kea plum orchards or relax in the cosy living room around the warming wood burning stove. Dog friendly.

A peaceful, cozy place

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The area is a lovely place to stay for a holiday. A beautiful countryside where you can walk, do water sports or visit typical fishing villages. The Riverside Cottage terrace faces a tiny little dead end where cars usually turn around or people walk by. You can nicely make contact there or you choose one of the other nice cottages nearby.



Escape at its best

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverside is a lovely cottage in a superb location ideal if you truely want to escape from the stresses of everyday life.Had a great week cottage was spotless from top to bottom,have stayed here before but great to see the outside wall has been lowered to take in the wonderful views ,very peaceful with everything you could want from a holiday.A big thank you to Lucy and team we will definately return



Brilliant waterside location.Very quiet.Lovely for two .

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall we were very happy with the cottage .We were lucky to have one of the best weeks of summer ,probably the best weather we've ever had in all our visits to Cornwall . As it was very warm our big fluffy dog appreciated the cool slate flooring!



Holiday home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful find Riverside Cottage was, although we had stayed in Falmouth and St Mawes on previous trips, the village of Coombe remained undiscovered to us - and long may it be so. Riverside Cottage is beautifully appointed with all of the amenities that you could possibly want for a weeks holiday. The front garden area was ideal as it meant our terrier could run around with no fear of him getting out.

Thank you to Lucy and her team for making this such a great week, we hope to be back in the not too distant future.




Second visit

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Riverside cottage ( previous stay in August ). Returned for a winter break in February and it was just as lovely as before - will definitely return. Brilliant pet friendly accommodation. Lovely setting and cottage is gorgeous.



Stunning cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful cottage, full of lovely little touches....such as the lovely bunch of flowers, tasty biscuits and quality tea.
The bath was my favourite....
Plus the fact I could bring my dog make it perfect!




Our week at Riverside

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely autumnal week at this very cosy and comfortable cottage on the very edge of the creek watching the tide come and go in the light of the moon. We walked the wooded banks of the creek and onto the River and enjoyed a great paddle in our canoe out onto the river and down to the sea. We enjoyed the grounds, cafe and the galleries at nearby Tresillick and ease of access to the King Harry Ferry to reach the Roseland Peninsula with it's beautiful coastline and sandy beaches. We highly recommend....



Amazing Riverside Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent 7 nights at the Riverside Cottage in coombe and it was amazing...the location is out of this world...fantastic views and walks and the Cottage was gorgeous and spacious...with a fabulous spacious terrace...and for the 3rd week in October the weather was glorious.
It was central to all the places we wanted to visit too.
I would definitely recommend it.




Cornwall at it's best.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a beautiful location (despite the turn of events). THANK YOU to all at Coombe and Tregothan.









August 2016

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful peaceful location. Beautiful cottage and extremely well equipped, great attention to detail. Ideal location for exploring river Fal. Trellisick Gardens have stunning views of river and Fal estuary. Lovely small beaches at Helford Passage with great pub, Durgan beach. Recommend Kings Head at Ruan Lanihorne (of the beaten track but worth it), punch bowl and Ladle at Penelley? Near Cowlands, nearest pub to Coombe (approx 40 mins walk). Disappointing evening meal at Heron Inn Malpas. Beautiful beach at Holywell Bay on north coast dog friendly, half hour drive from Coombe.




Riverside cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A haven away from everyday life. Stillness, calm, comfort, peacefulness, clear skies to see the stars- the perfect place to return to at the end of a day exploring this beautiful area of Cornwall.



Stunning location, great cottage … shame about the builders!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage forms part of the Tregothnan Tea estate and there are several at this location.
This includes a cottage behind Riverside that is currently undergoing building works to refurbish
Access to this is via a narrow lane beside Riverside or along the waters edge
This resulted in delivery trucks unloading 2 days in succession from 0730 / 0800 outside the front of Riverside cottage
In addition, various contractors wanted to park their vans outside the cottage, for most of the days of our weeks stay
Not ideal if you wanted to sit outside - front garden only - to have breakfast or whatever
To compound, one day there was 2 trucks from the local electricity company also parked all day and along side the vans and building materials trucks … needed someone to direct the traffic!!
After complaining to the estate management, they tried to sort it, but by then the holiday was in part spoilt!
I understand this work is going on until October for anyone thinking of booking
The estate and cottage company should at least put a warning on the web site, so you have a choice when spending this sum of money for a quiet location
Otherwise a great cottage, everything you could want, in a stunning location, which i am sure in other times would be very isolated ...




Lucy Simpson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure meeting you both. We were sorry that you experienced an increase in foreshore traffic during your stay – this was highly unusual and really not normal for Coombe. In addition there were works from the electricity company going on in the area that thankfully were quickly completed. The cottage being worked on is several orchards and cottages away from Riverside and completely out of sight. It is such a shame that the vehicles parked on the foreshore on those two days and we have asked all drivers to not park on this spot in future. Riverside is such an idyllic place and we have taken note of your comments to reduce all traffic in the area even further. We hope to welcome you back very soon to continue to enjoy our special area of Cornwall here in Coombe.

Eine tolle Wohnung, um Cornwall zu entdecken!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Die Wohnung ist hell, großzügig geschnitten, sehr gut ausgestattet. Freundlicher Empfang und netter Staff. Schöner Außenbereich. Ein sehr guter Startplatz für Ausflüge in alle Richtungen. Wir haben uns sehr wohlgefühlt.



Riverside...a dream

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just had a wonderful stay for 2 weeks at Riverside, Coombe ...the booking communication couldn't have been easier and we were greeted with a lovely welcome tray and flowers to boot. The cottage is everything and much more than you could imagine from a holiday let and everything is top quality. The cleanliness gave you more of a 5 star hotel feeling, everywhere was gleaming.. thankyou to the cleaners you did a great job. If there are any negatives and of course you cant please all of the people all of the time, we would have preferred a 'normal' double/kingsize bed instead of the two zipped together and the sofas were very low to the floor... but without doubt we'd recommend Tregothnan & Cornwall Cottages, in fact we've only been back 2 days and have already done so...



Perfect Cottage in Idyllic Location

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You get exactly what it says in the description and more with Riverside Cottage. A wonderful location with lovely views and the best equipped and comfortable cottage we've ever stayed in. After a day touring and walking around the wonderful Cornish landscape it was lovely to return to the cottage each evening and sit on the terrace with a glass of wine watching the sun reflecting off the water, the boats bobbing on the creek and the many birds, including a pair of swallows nesting in the Reading Room opposite. Even the dog loved it and got very excited each evening as we turned into the parking area. If you need anything Lucy from Tregothnan estate is available most days and nothing is too much trouble.
A truly wonderful cottage, we are already planning our next visit.




October 2015

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Administration and booking straightforward and efficient. Cottage location was outstanding. Perfect place to stay with dogs and the stone floors downstairs were easy to keep clean with the dogs in and out. Riverside cottage is without doubt the best equipped holiday cottage we have stayed in. Every possibility cooking and cleaning wise has been catered for and everything is top quality. Loved the concept of the honesty system for logs and kindling and some local produce. what a good idea. We will definitely book again. Thanks for looking after us.



RIVERSIDE

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real home from home. A lovely cottage in a beautiful location, just the place to totally relax and unwind. Thank you to all for making our stay really enjoyable.






A gem of a cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idyllic and convenient location on the Cowland Creek with relaxing walks right from the front gate. Truro is less than ten minutes drive away yet you feel worlds away in a beautiful cocoon. The cottage is equipped very well with both a bath and separate walk-in shower. For two people this is a comfortable place and having a separate utility room is a real bonus. We will be booking again in the future.



Ein schönes Cottage in einem der schönsten Teile Cornwalls

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Das Quartier ist liebevoll und stilvoll eingerichtet.
Zur Begrüßung fanden wir einen wunderschönen Blumenstrauß, sowie excellenten Tee und Kekse aus der Region vor.
Es fehlte an nichts, denn es wurde an viele individuelle Dinge gedacht (beispielsweise Gummistiefel. Nähzeug,Feuerholz, diverse Back- und Kochutensilien, eine Reihe von Büchern für Männer und Frauen usw ).
Das Cottage hat einen direkten Zugang zur Natur.

Das Haus neigt aufgrund der sonst so schönen Lage zum Wasser zu Feuchtigkeit und Schimmelbildung - deshalb herrscht ein muffiger Geruch.
Die Sofas waren aus gesessen. Leider fühlt man sich auf dem WC von aussen beobachtet - auch wenn dies nicht möglich ist. Eine kleine Abtrennung würde Abhilfe schaffen.





Riverside Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a perfect location. The cottage was immaculate, beautifully restored and the ideal place to unwind. Our first trip to Cornwall and we will certainly return. Highly recommended.



Peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really restful week at Riverside Cottage. The house itself was amazing, everything had been thought of for guests and there were fantastic views across the creek. There are lots of walking opportunities straight from the house itself. We are already planning a return trip.



A riverside gem

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super little cottage, very comfortable and of course, great position close to the creek. Hot water could have been a lot hotter for me but Health & Safety regs might be a factor here.



riverside cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to riverside perfect little cottage with a fantastic location.could be a little cheaper out of season. .sofas are looking a bit shabby.but overall perfick/my ansomes .




idylic getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely cottage with everything you need in a wonderful peaceful location. quality furnishings throughout which could be further enhanced by a proper king size bed( ditch the 2 singles pushed together) and a slightly larger television. Otherwise this superior cottage has all you need. We were lucky to have great weather too which resulted in many breakfasts alfresco and late glasses of wine Sat out marvelling at the super starry skies and milky way . Just fantastic .



Cornwall at its best

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverside is in a beautiful cottage in an amazing location; off the main road but still close enough for Truro and other smaller towns and villages; lots of local produce is available (including Kea Plums) and you are made to feel very welcome by everyone in Coombe and the local area.

The Shepherd's hut is stunning and should be enjoyed by anyone who likes glamping and who wants to welcome a few more guests - it's very warm and cosy in the hut although it is a little distance from the hut to the house - some might like this but you will still need to walk to the house for the essential facilities!

An ideal house for those wanting it get away from it all - be aware that the mobile and wi-fi are not as fast or as strong as you might be used to and the nearest shop (Spar) is a good ten minute drive (but some food and drink deliveries can be organised and supermarkets can be found in Truro). We found the best pubs and restaurants in Truro, Flushing and Mylor - there is also an excellent tea room a short walk away from the cottage and if in Truro we would recommend a visit it The Baking Bird which does fab coffee and cakes! The local farm butcher is also excellent!

Enjoy!




Fabulous cottage in an idyllic peaceful location

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed in Riverside Cottage, Coombe, for the last week of June 2014. Fabulous cottage in an idyllic location. The cottage was very clean, very comfortable, stylishly decorated and excellently equipped. Its location is fabulous if you want a beautiful, peaceful, river side location. We would recommend this cottage to anyone and plan to return in the not too distant future.



fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was fantastic. The cottage location although slightly remote was beautifully situated on the river fal. We had a wonderful holiday and would recommend it to friends and family.



A little treasure

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At arrival in Coombe, we had a heartwarming welcome from Lucy and the staff. The cottage is really pretty and nicely furnished. Despite the quiet location of the cottage, Truro is just a few miles away.
The bathroom and the shower are large and we were particularly pleased to find a kingsize bed in the bedroom. The kitchen is equipped very well, even for baking.
We had a wonderful week and definitely will book the Riverside Cottage again.




A truly dog friendly holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It goes without saying that the location of the cottage is idyllic. We found the cottage to be comfortable and equipped to a high standard. The fact that the property, and surrounding area, is not only dog friendly but dog USER friendly made the
holiday extra special and stress free.




Riverside Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is well appointed and in a very quiet location, which suits us down to the ground. Nothing is too much trouble for Lucy and her team. We will definitely be returning.



A piece if heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is truly idilic. We never wanted to leave. Highly recommended for a romantic get away where you can really relax. would go back in a beat



Perfect Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Mar 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very well presented and equipped with a lot of attention paid to detail which was much appreciated. Nearly everything had been thought of and provided. The only extras that we felt we could have used we're bath robes and a curtain to pull over the glass in the front door. The crockery and fridge were not as clean as they could have been when we arrived but everything else was superb. Wonderful cottage, beautiful location, lovely people = perfect holiday. We will be back!



Beautiful Cottage, Superb Location

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful cottage set in a very superb, quiet and tranquil location. The cottage was very clean, comfortable with plenty of walks to hand if you so wished. Although the weather was dreadful, the purpose for me was to have a break and to have a "get away from it all" type break but within reaching distance of places nearby, and Riverside was just that. Riverside is a good location as a base for venturing out to different places. Would recommend this cottage to anyone and will come back again.



Riverside cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2013
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The stay was good - the fireplace was very cosy but was disappointed to find out that you had to pay for logs (only the first packs were complimentary). The cottage was fitted with modern amenities but there was no basic staples in the cottage eg. bread, jams in the kitchen, or shampoos, conditioners in the bathroom so was not too inviting, and luckily we brought these things with us.
Bedroom had very nice sheets and the owner made sure that any issues were resolved quickly (eg. we had no hot water in the first day).




Very happy customers

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A first class property in excellent condition in a beautiful, quiet spot. Expertly and efficiently marketed and managed. We recommend unconditionally.



The gorgeous Riverside Cottage at Coombe

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant week at Riverside Cottage. Helpful staff, friendly neighbours, lovely location, brilliant weather. EVERYTHING had been thought of. Flowers, biccies, tea, a welcoming light. We definitely hope to return, just like the other visitors who have put their comments in the Visitors Book in the cottage. We are having severe withdrawal symptoms. Thankyou so much for all your efforts. Lin and Jeff.



Superb!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Impossible to fault this beautiful cottage. Very well furnished and decorated and spotlessly clean. We had a wonderful stay, and enjoyed sheltering from the storms in front of the log burning stove.



Fantastic cottage and location!

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic cottage, in a beautiful location, with everything you could need for a relaxing holiday. Did not want to leave! It was so peaceful. Just perfect.