FB Twitter

River View

River View

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.0
Location
4.2
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.5


This is a great location with wonderful views across the river to Flushing and a superb master bedroom with Juliet balcony which really makes the best of the magnificent view. It is a short walk into the vibrant, bustling port of Falmouth which has a wealth of great restaurants, traditional pubs and a huge variety of shops.

Riverview

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is very nice and well equipped, it has an original aga style oven which was amazing and something I have never seen before. The house had lovely views over the estuary. Lots of sleeping space and comfortable beds. We took our bikes and could cycle to Falmouth, the castle, the beach and St Mawes.
The steps to the house are not easy with the bikes and are a consideration before booking. Also no parking was a nightmare when we arrived after 9pm. One end of the road wasn’t very nice at all, so we avoided that end and always went up the road.
Falmouth is really nice with loads to do and see for the family.




Holiday break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have visited Falmouth on a number occasions but this by far and away the best accommation we have had.
The view from the bedroom was amazing.
My only criticisum would be the parking which was down to pot luck.
Having said that I would defininately book it agian if the price was right




Excellent amount of hot water and brilliant view

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loft coversion very nice, remainder rather tired, steps, parking and lots of stairs difficult with young children.




A lovely stay at this property

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at River view. Unbeatable views overlooking the Fal estuary.
The property is well decorated and maintained throughout with excellent facilities. The only drawback was the steps up from the road and the little path leading to the property which had no barrier of any kind at the side on to the road. As it was about 5 feet high we could envisage a problem with small children falling or difficulties for anyone with mobility problems.
The property is about 15 minutes from the shops and centre of Falmouth which is handy but an up hill slog on the way back.
Having said that we would be happy to return.




Joanna Russell replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Bryan, Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Your comments about the path are very valid and we have made requests to Cornwall council to put a railing in place so hopefully this will be addressed before your next visit. With our best wishes, Joanna.

Ideal location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here over New Year. This is a lovely house excellent location about a 10min walk into Falmouth. Lovely views from the top bedroom especially for watching the New Year fireworks. Lovely secure garden for the dogs. House was spotless clean. Parking was road side and was very hit and miss but we did manage to get a space, but I would imagine in the summer months you might struggle. Could do with a decent tv and perhaps sky, WiFi excellent. Shame about all the rubbish on the road due to the bins being ripped open by the seagulls not a good first impression when you arrive at the property.



Jo Russell replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Angela, Happy New Year and thank you for your kind review. I am the owner of Riverview and live overseas, I am sorry about the rubbish on the main road. Unfortunately it is the only collection point for all the cottages, and was probably more than usual due to Christmas excesses, may also not have been collected over Xmas. I do hope you will visit us again, and find it clean and tidy. Best wishes, Jo.

Perfect Autumn break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always go away for a break around November. we'd never been to Falmouth before so we took the plunge.
This house was the prefect choice. Great location, although parking was a challenge until we discovered we could walk into town!
The house is well equipped and very welcoming. The bedrooms and bathrooms, esp. the shower upstairs in the loft bathroom were fab.
The open fire went down a storm with my husband, we lit it every night.
Overall would recommend this house. Thank you for a lovely stay.




Lovely property .

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely property very nice and comfortable inside. Outside needs a paint and a bit of TLC.
Location is great for the view but difficult to park and access with cases etc very difficult.




Joanna Russell replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr Hankins, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and what a shame your visit was not after this coming week, as the painters start work on the outside on the 3rd of Nov. so Riverview will hopefully be bright and white, ready for next year. Most guests make use of the short term parking at the steps by the entrance to the property for unloading/loading luggage , so I am sorry if you found this difficult. We would lose our splendid view if the property was at street level. I hope you enjoyed your stay however, and that you may be able to visit us again sometime. Best wishes, Jo.

Last minute booking

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a week at the last minute and had a very good discount. The position is very good for walking into Falmouth. The property has excellent views and is very well equipped . Really helpful caretaker who quickly fixed a couple of issues for us. Cornwall cottages we're very helpful and efficient to deal with and will use them again. We really enjoyed our week and as usual the time went far too quickly.



River Views

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
River View is great base and a nice cottage. There were however a few things i would say that could do with some improvement...
The whole place could have done with a deep clean. As we had 2 small children(1yr and 3yrs old), w had to give the place a once over...ie the living room... There were dog hairs and whilst the place looked clean, small kids can find (and did!) and pick up everything! The underneath of the child step/stool was particularly filthy!
There is, as others noted a moth problem... Feel that this is easily fixed as you can get things to deter them..
Had to shut the fridge door shut as it doesn't close properly..
Numerous dishes had to be washed again.

So other than the shortcuts, the place is a great Falmouth base and as the name suggests had great river and Cornwall views... Just needed a really good clean to be perfect!




Jo Russell replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Melanie, I really hope you enjoyed your stay at River View. I sincerely apologize that you had some issues with your stay 'just needed a really good clean to be perfect' we have already spoken to our property manager about your concerns, and will address your issues asap. We appreciate your feedback and hope you may stay with us again in the future. With our best wishes.

River View, Falmouth.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was lovely, clean and well equipped (although it may have been a good idea to provide a vacuum cleaner given that we had two dogs with us!) The views were stunning and the location great, just a short walk into Falmouth town and well positioned to travel to lots of nearby attractions.



Jo Russell replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed the cottage, sorry you did not find our Henry Hoover, it lives in the cupboard on the upstairs landing, we shall update our info sheet to inform further guests in future.

A REAL RIVER VIEW

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything's ok.
2 minor points : a lot of clothes moths - and - not enough large dishes : (frying) pan, salad bowl, ...




NO

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Toilet in up bedroom not very clean nice touch's though ie fresh flowers biscuits and fresh milk tea and coffee



Mrs Joanna Russell replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mrs Hillsdon, My name is Jo Russell and I am the owner of 12 Riverview in Falmouth. We live overseas and our cottage is managed by our housekeeping service. I was so sad to see that you were not satisfied with the standard of cleanliness in one of the bathrooms of the cottage as we pride ourselves on having a high standard. Unfortunately our housekeeper was away for the period of your booking and we had a temporary cleaner. I just wanted to inform you that the matter has been acted upon and she will not be cleaning for us again. I do hope this didn't spoil your stay in beautiful Falmouth and that you had a lovely holiday. With our best wishes, Jo and Tom Russell. Sent from my iPad

Lovel house, couldn't be better

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautiful house, really lovely place to stay.

The only thing I would say that needs attention is that I pulled up some of the bind weed in the front garden - someone should dig it up properly, all the new little plants were getting choked. Unless it is looked after the lovely things someone has planted will die.

Please consider putting a new cafe/restaurant in Falmouth in your notes for people renting the house. It is The Kitchen, Cobbled Yard, Falmouth, fabulous food, really nice ambiance, relaxed and inexpensive. You can also sit outside in the quiet cobbled yard in the sun. Ten minutes walk from the house.