FB Twitter

Quince Cottage

Quince Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
4.1
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.4


Quince Cottage is a superb barn conversion set in a courtyard of 5 other cottages, 2 of which are also available to let. This beautiful rural spot nestled in the Ruthern Valley is less than 10 miles away from the stunning north coast of Cornwall and a short drive from Bodmin Moor. There are plenty of walks meandering through the Cornish countryside or with stunning views from the coastal footpath of glistening, sandy beaches or coves tucked in against dramatic cliffs ravaged by the Atlantic rollers.

Excellent Accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An exceptionally spacious and comfortable stay at Quince cottage in December.
the cottage was very deceptive and the bedrooms were very spacious and comfortable
The property easily accommodated 6 people and the kitchen area was well equipped with every thing we needed to have our meals there.
The lanes are very narrow if you're not used to that type of road but the area is very quiet but central to access all areas of Cornwall
The PERFECT place to relax and would recommend this as a base for any holiday




Jane Threlfall replied 315 days ago
We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Quince. Thank you for commenting on the "well-equipped" kitchen area; we feel this is particularly important for guests who enjoy taking their meals in the cottage.

Great stay at Quince cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cycled Camel Trail from start to finish, visited many beeches and had a great day at Lanhydreck National Trust House. Found the cottage very comfortable and in a good location for both south (Fowey) and north coast (Polzeath) of Cornwall. Courtyard also gave the children a play area and with the other cottages on site potential for interaction with other families.



Quince Cottage, Withiel - a perfect base for walking the Saints Way

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quince Cottage provided us with very clean and comfortable accommodation whilst on a walking holiday in Cornwall. Although the location felt quite remote, it's actually only a short drive from both Bodmin and Wadebridge (lanes are very narrow in places, though we are used to this so it wasn't a problem). Access to the beautiful coast of North Cornwall is good, with Padstow, Port Issac and Nequay all being in easy reach. Would recommend as a good base for walking the Saints Way, particularly if you have two cars available and plan to walk the trail over three days.



Jane Threlfall replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Quince Cottage; it is, indeed, well placed for accessing different parts of Cornwall. We were, however, somewhat disappointed by your rating of 4 for "Service" as we aim to do our best for our guests and so would genuinely welcome your feedback to let us know how we could improve this area. As a further note for readers of this review, the bathroom will be replaced in November 2018.

Lovely cottage in Cornwall

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely converted farm buildings in a peaceful setting. One of 7 cottages Quince cottage is very spacious and very comfortable. Three good sized bedrooms, the master bedroom had an ensuite bathroom. Well equiped kitchen with all home comforts including dishwasher, washing machine and tumble drier. I had a very good deal as I made a late booking in June. Location was rural but a short distance to north and south coasts of Cornwall and the delightful beaches and fishing villages. Delightful I would definiely stay there again.



comfort, warmth and welcome

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Quince Cottage a little treasure. It was clean, warm and felt very comfortable. There was everything one could need to make our stay just like a home from home. We would most certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a central location in Cornwall. A sat-nav is required to get there though!



Lovely comfortable cottage with everything you need .

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely cottage , contained everything we needed for a very comfortable stay over Christmas including a perfect log fire ! Owners couldn’t have been more helpful and kind preparing the cottage for us.
The layout of the cottage was ideal , 3 good sized bedrooms that you could shut off from the kitchen / lounge area which is perfect in evenings if you’ve got children in bed. The kitchen was recently refurbished and very well equipped . I don’t normally like electric ovens but this one was brilliant !
Location is great for access to both coasts and some lovely beaches, plenty of places to visit nearby including Eden project , lanhydrock National trust, lost Gardens of Heligan to name a few. Be prepared for very narrow Cornish lanes though !!
Would thoroughly recommend this cottage .




Picturesque Cornwall cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tucked away down narrow green walled country lanes; Quince cottage is in a delightful horseshoe of terraced stone cottages surrounding a pretty little private green. All mod cons provided, including a barbecue and outside seating. A perfect place to hide away in the Cornish countryside, and a short distance from the coast and several of Cornwall's beautiful gardens, including the Eden Project. The owners were extremely helpful with initial directions, instructions and welcome goodies on our arrival. We would highly recommend a stay here.



Quince Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Four of us stayed at Quince Cottage and had an excellent time. Cottage is delightful and quite well placed for seeing Cornwall.

Please be aware of the very narrow roads....... not advisable when the 'Cornwall Show was on' thankfully at the end of our stay.

A very enjoyable holiday, despite the sometimes unseasonable weather !




Relaxing and out of the way.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was very comfortable and the locals are very friendly. I had some problems with the country lanes as unnamed and difficult to navigate. The cottage itself is a little out of the way but has great facilities.



Lovely cottage with everything you need

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was clean, tidy and had all the facilities we could have needed for a week away. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything you could need. The bedrooms were comfortable with a selection of bedding available. We chose tthe cottage for it's central location so we could travel to various areas in the Cornwall & Devon area which worked well for us - especially as everything in Cornwall is spread out! There were lots of leaflets for things to do & a file of information in the cottage which was really useful.

The only downside to the cottage was the slight damp in the main bedroom & ensuite. The extract fan doesn't work that well so the bathroom floor gets damp after a shower & the bedding felt very slightly damp upon getting in it.




Quince Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location is quiet but not too far from the coast, Camel Trail, Bodmin and Wadebridge. Had a nice time and found the cottage fine for our needs really enjoyed the peace.



A modern, comfortable and best cottage in Cornwall

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage. Kept extremely clean. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the owner via phone even though they were not in the cottage and asked to call them anytime if we need help. Rooms are comfortable and very well equipped, beautiful kitchen and living area. Most importantly the open fire in the living area was awesome. Woods were kept enough for fire. Supermarket is within 6-7 min drive distance. Would definitely recommend to everybody! It's a true sample of excellent hospitality. Thank you again to the owner for going just that little step extra for their guests!!!



Short last minute break with family.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very clean, compact and comfortable barn conversion with those lovely thick walls and log fire. Quiet and sufficient space for six (or 5 and a dog in our case). Dog friendly - great! Located sufficiently far down narrow lanes to feel remote but close enough to the main roads to have easy access to the rest of Cornwall. Several pleasant river access areas for hours of play for the kids and dog within easy walking distance. Everything was laid on and well presented. Very warm. You know electric showers are a design disaster, requiring subtle control, but there is also a bath fed by an immersion heater. We appreciated all of the many little items that revealed how the owners cared about our stay. Reading one of the other reviews regarding the creaking ceiling - well this is slight and just adds to the character. It's not intrusive.



We had a really nice short break at Quince Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quince Cottage occupies part of one side of what was, presumably, a square farmyard. It's 100 yards or so off a little-used country lane, so it's beautifully quiet. The nights were cloudy while we were there, but I imagine you'd get a great view of the stars. It's nicely furnished, very comfortable, lovely and warm. We really enjoyed our stay.



Jane Threlfall replied more than 1 year ago
We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Quince Cottage. You are right - the view of the stars is great on clear nights!

Lovely time but BAD plumbing.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Unfortunately, we had to cut our stay at Quince Cottage short. Our dog was taken ill the day after we arrived and we had to return home. My sister and her husband stayed on and had a very enjoyable time at the cottage. The plumbing was very poor though as regards the shower in the bathroom, it kept alternately between scalding hot and cold without any warning and the wobbly toilet seat in the ensuite was never rectified. My sister tried the contact numbers to get in touch with the owners of the property but to no avail. Something seemed to be wrong with both email and telephone numbers. Unfortunately, she did not try to get in touch with Cornwalls Cottages for their help.

Because there was only one complete bathroom, this property is only suitable for one couple and so I can`t recommend it for anyone but a family sharing, otherwise it is a lovely place to stay in Cornwall.




Jane Threlfall replied more than 1 year ago
We are pleased your sister and her husband enjoyed their stay at the cottage, but apologise for their experience with the plumbing. As I mentioned when I emailed our Quince Cottage Information File to you before your stay, as new owners of the cottage we are pleased to learn of any improvements we could easily make. My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay in the cottage; in order to test out the shower in the bathroom, we used it exclusively. Although we found it works well, we concluded that the dual controls can make successful use tricky. As a result, we shall now add usage instructions to our Information File. If all else fails, there is also an additional shower in the bathroom which runs from the bath taps. We are sorry, but somewhat surprised that your sister could not contact us, since at least one of us was at home throughout almost all of your stay. Both email and phone were working, but there were no messages on either. Thank you once again for your comments.

A Quick Get away with the Children

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was back in the UK for a short while and we needed a holiday with plenty of options for grown up kids and Adults, we had a wonderful time exploring the North Cornish cost and a few old favourites, The Cottage was very well presented and well appointed for our needs, TV, WiFi, Cooking, Walking and relaxing, good for all weathers



Relaxing out-of-the-way location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is tucked away in the country-side and is reasonably well equipped. The main bedroom is actually part of the neighbouring two-storey building which means there can be some noise from the floor above - a little disconcerting. Ventilation has obviously been a problem in the cottage and there is an air of mustiness but the property is clean, tidy and comfortable.



Jane Threlfall replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. We are new owners (early 2015) and are gradually updating the cottage. Of particular note is the new heating system throughout the cottage, and the installation of Broadband.

Quince Cottage Withiel

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable cottage in a lovely quiet setting. A perfect place to relax and unwind! Lovely views of the surrounding countryside and easy access to both north and south Cornish coasts.