FB Twitter

Polhendra Barn

Polhendra Barn

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 48 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.4
Location
4.5
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.5


Just moments from beautiful Porthcurnick Beach and the famous Hidden Hut, Polhendra Barn is a lovely tranquil spot to spend your holiday. Originally part of this smallholding, Polhendra Barn has been sympathetically converted by the Owners to provide an outstanding 2 bedroom holiday home with a large patio area and views over fields from the garden. One of our many dog-friendly holiday cottages in Cornwall.

Perfect for a Roseland Getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed in this property and we came back because we liked what it offered. Firstly it was dog friendly and had a nice garden to let the dog outside in without worries she would hurt herself.
The property has been set up to a good standard and whilst we intended to be out exploring much of the time, when we wanted to sit and relax it was again a safe environment to have the dog, it was warm and comfortable. The kitchen was well appointed and enabled us to prepare the meals we wanted. There were DVDs on offer if you wanted them and space to hang coats in a cupboard in the hall.
If I made any suggestions to improve the property it would be to offer better pillows in the main bedroom.
We liked it here and I suspect we will look to return again for another autumn break.




Lucy replied 27 days ago
Dear Tim, Thanks for your review. I will certainly check the pillows in the main bedroom and replace them. We hope you come and stay again, it is a pleasure having you as guests.

2nd visit to Polhendra Barn - just as good as the first

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Polhendra Barn and it was just as good as the first stay. Excellent location, lovely property with everything we could possibly need. Many Thanks



Great location for walking into Portscatho

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a fantastic holiday here mostly due to the location. The barn was ok but in need of a little tlc especially the kitchen. Also the bed was very uncomfortable. Probably wouldn’t have chosen it if we realised the close proximity of the house behind. This was a problem because several times during our week there, we were woken around 1 in the morning by a car leaving the property very noisily



Nice cottage,but needs refreshing

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Aug 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Enjoyed our stay,the cottage was well equipped with lovely garden. Spacious,and lovely surroundings. Slight issues cooker dials broken,unabke to set temp of oven, settees covered in nylon loose covers,quite unpleasant. Some paintwork needed retouching,in bathroom and on bunk bed. Needs mentioning before booking,the road to othe beach isnt safe for pedestrians, toknarrow and busy. We went round to owners cottage to find way across fields,but noone about. The light fitting was hanging out of ceiling,and outside security light flickered on an off all night. Maybe a curtain over window in door and windows in sitting room would be better. These are all small things,but would change review from ok to excellent.



Lucy replied 90 days ago
Dear Guest, I am sorry that you had some issues whilst staying at Polhendra. We do require sofa covers because we are a dog friendly property and as much as we ask guests not to allow their pooches on the sofas accidents have and do happen. Covers can be cleaned and replaced easily a damaged sofa cannot. I have seen many people walking along the road to the beach, it is of course entirely up to the individual if they choose to do so. This is something to take up with Cornwall Council and there really is nothing I can do about that. I do apologise for not being home at the exact moment you decided to walk across the fields but there is a Public Foothpath sign right inside the gate of the field opposite my home. The security lights are on a switch inside the barn and can be turned on or off by any guest at any time. If we are not at home all of our contact details are in the folder in the barn. A phone call or text message could have alleviated many of these problems. Of course I will look into those issues that relate to the barn. Thanks for your feedback and thanks for staying.

Great stay at Polhendra Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn was perfect for our stay and had everything we needed. The barn is modern but very homely and has a lovely garden area that was much appreciated by our dog Sally.

The Roseland Peninsula is a great are to visit and we would have no hesitation in staying at Polhendra Barn again




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A really lovely small barn in a very peaceful location. Our two dogs loved it too! Spotless and very well appointed.



Pleasant few days.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay at Polhendra cottage, was ok,cottage clean, only thing that we didn't like was the frosted back windows.



Cornwall Cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been using Cornwall Cottages for a few years now and have made several return visits to our favoured location. The service we have received has always been wonderful, the staff are helpful, the property is well equipped and also spotless on our arrival. We will continue to use Cornwall Cottages and have already booked our next stay.
PS: The only reason I've not mentioned where we stay is because I don't want anyone else booking it and us missing out! :)




Polhendra Barn September 2017

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I enjoyed our near 2-week stay at Polhendra Barn in early September 2017. The cottage is comfortable with all required facilities and is in a very pleasant rural location in the Roseland Peninsula close to Gerrans/Portscatho. It suited our 2 dogs well. The owners were very responsive to any questions that we raised, and they had provided a useful comprehensive guide to the area before we arrived. At the moment broadband availability is somewhat intermittent, but this will hopefully be addressed in the near future through the national programme being rolled out to rural areas.



Excellent retreat within reach of everything

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely property in a quiet location but within easy reach of everything.
The cottage has all a family would need, including an outside BBQ area for those, barmy night cookouts.
Very clean and well presented with plenty of room, an all round excellent property for a family wishing to enjoy the delights of Cornwall.




Not quite what we needed

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We spent just under a week at Polhendra Barn with our 5 and 1 year old and if I am honest it was suitable for our family, or more specifically our 1 (almost 2) year old. There was not a enough space for them to play and as the raised bed, probably a good 4 foot plus in places, had no fencing around it was a constant worry that he was going to fall off when chasing his football. That and the fact that by using the garden he was able to bypass the gate and get out to the main road meant we were always on a constant state or alert.

The barn it itself was Ok but could do with some modernizing / repair work. The electricals although working could do with replacement as could some of the light fittings, especially in the bathroom. The whole place could do with some modernizing.

Would we go back. Probably not but if I think if our kids had been older it may of been a different holiday. I couldn't recommend to anyone who has small children/toddlers.

The Value for Money is not purely directed at Polhendra Barn. We know from many previous holidays to Cornwall that we could of got a similar property for 1/2 to 2/3 of the price a few weeks before.




Richard (Owner) replied more than 1 year ago
I am sorry you did not enjoy Polhendra Barn, contrary to what many of our previous guests have reported. In terms of the garden, we do clearly show photographs of the raised lawn area so you would have clearly seen that the property had this situation before booking so it really is not the case of a problem with the property, more the problem of which property you booked as suitable for your family. In terms of the repair work - the property is in an excellent state of repair and we regularly check for problems. The whole property was redecorated last year and the barn itself is only 9 years old. The light fittings you mention in the bathroom are all recessed ceiling spotlights and are all in good condition, so we really are very confused over your review in this circumstance. In terms of the price - this is a very fair market price for this time of year which is a school holiday week. Of course you could have got a property cheaper a few weeks before - Polhendra included - because it was not school holidays. In conclusion, I would advise possible guests reading this review to thoroughly check the photos before booking to see if the property is suitable, don't book it if the property is over your budget, don't let a 1 (almost 2 year old) loose in any garden by themselves unattended and if you are able to, book outside the school holidays you will get a much better deal!

We very much enjoyed our stay at the barn and would definately return.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The barn is a bit remote but walkable to it's nearest village. Very comfortable and good location for activities and sights.



May half-term stay

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed during May half-term at Polhendra barn. It is located in quite area. We had fairly good weather so we could enjoy outdoors as well. Our children loved running around and chasing on grass area. Cottage itself was lovely and everything was provided even stuff I did not expect (e.g. cleaning products). Our son was over the moon when he saw a full box of cars. It was nice that there were dvds, books, games and toys available. Everything was in working condition and did not have any issues. As someone mentioned in previous reviews when you run water it is quite noisy in a smaller bedroom but we could manage. Kids enjoyed bunk bed. We enjoyed our stay. I would book again.



A quiet and relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Polhendra, and we have found it just as enjoyable as our first visit.
We had a very peaceful and relaxing holiday even thought the weather was somewhat varied.
We shall not hesitate to book again if circumstances allow, and good weather would be. A bonus.
Peter and Muriel Page.




First family break away

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our first family break away with our 4.5 month old son and Labrador. Polhendra Barn was a really pleasant place to stay being convenient to a number of places close by where we could walk our dog and get our son out in either a sling or buggy. The Barn was clean and in excellent condition - the perfect size for our family. The garden was lovely although we didn't get to use it much as the weather turned cold in the evening!



Clean, comfortable and good locstion

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perhaps too close to the owners property so frosted glass for privacy needed felt unable to open windows other than that lovely nice walk to the creek and close to beach dogs loved it



Polhendra Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable barn situated in a great location to access all the fabulous beaches and coves in the area. Need a larger dishwasher and a clothes line that actually works



Lucy (Owner) replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Gus, the washing line works perfectly well. It is a standard rotary line. If you had a problem with the line, all you had to do was let us know and we would have sorted this out for you. In addition we have an indoor clothes line which was available for your use. The size of the barn does not lend itself to a full size dishwasher, but we are more than happy for you to run the dishwasher as frequently as needed.

Polyhedral Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The barn was a little tired and could do with an update. We were a little surprised to find nothing in the form of a welcome pack in the kitchen after a long hot drive milk would have been a nice touch but the fridge was totally empty.
As previous reviewer wrote the shower is very noisy and the kitchen needs redoing, a note telling you the dishwasher works but falls off and dipping tap. The settees have covers that do not fit at all and are not inviting to sit on. The double bed had a very small fitted sheet on it and for the hottest week of the year a 13 tog quilt was the only one available.
The weather made our holiday and we enjoyed the area but might have felt differently had the weather not been as good as it was.




Lucy (Owner) replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately Richard and I were away when you stayed with us. We were however available at the end of a telephone. We do have a summer duvet which is stored in the second bedroom of the barn. Had I known that you would have preferred this option, I would have been able to let you know where to locate it. We have had the shower and dripping tap checked over by a plumber and this has been sorted out. We would have appreciated it enormously if you had informed us whilst you were staying and we would have had these minor problems fixed immediately.

Lovely barn in our perfect place

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family has been coming to this area for a long time and sometimes we stay in a house and sometimes we camp. Due to rain in past years we decided to stay here near to Portscatho where we love. It's a lovely tranquil setting and our dog didn't venture too far but the garden isn't enclosed. The owners are next door which helped for us as the washing machine needed repairing from a previous customer but the owner sorted this out quickly for us and was really lovely. The shower was fantastic and powerful but there was a noise when you turned it on like there was air in the pipes. The only other thing that was a slight annoyance when the weather was warm was the patio was full of flies. The patio fence has some rubbish on the other side which may or may not contribute to the mass of flies but it did stop me from sitting outside. Apart from that it was a lovely stay and we would probably use it again. Thank you to Lucy as well for the use of her wheels for our kayak, it helped enormously.



Relaxing holiday with all home comforts

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable accommodation with all facilities provided. Owners really helpful and informative. Our 2 springer spaniels also enjoyed their stay with lovely (if a little challenging) walks nearby.



Polhendra Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first experience of renting a holiday cottage, which turned out to be highly successful in all aspects.
The barn conversion by Richard and Lucy Beaman has been very tastefully carried out, and we enjoyed a comfortable, relaxing week in tranquil surroundings. We were also able to take our newly acquired Whippet who I am sure enjoyed the holiday as much as we did. We are certainly considering coming back next year.




Richard Beaman replied more than 1 year ago
Peter thank you so much for staying at Polhendra and thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to our small bit of paradise next year!

A lovely place to stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay and felt Polhendra Barn suited us perfectly. It was wonderfully warm and well-equipped. The owners were very accommodating and allowed us to bring our dogs. We loved the proximity to the beach and enjoyed some lovely walks. It is perfectly situated for visits to St Mawes, the Eden Project, Trellisick, Truro and many other places of interest.
I would highly recommend it.




Cosy cottage in lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Polhendra Barn is ideally situated for exploring the local area of Portscatho and beyond around the gorgeous Roseland Peninsula. We enjoyed a super week in the barn which is spacious inside and out (even for a family of five), and which met with expectations for privacy, comfort and cleanliness. A really super cosy cottage that we would definitely visit again.



A nice barn conversion with good facilities in a quiet location

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in October, Property was as described with a nice decor and had everything we needed for visit with good wi fi connection, Not relevant given time of year but convenient to beach and a good starting point for various walks. Roseland is a good location for coastal walks and local villages, about 30 mins from Truro or St Austell in car.




Roseland Peninsula, Barn near Portscatho

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Good accommodation well located on The Roseland Peninsula.
Property accommodating & willing to take our dogs with additional cost. Garden reasonably enclosed for well behaved dog's.
Only gripe was comfort & size of bed in main bedroom
Overall good facilities & yes the shower belts out a good jet of water
Would be happy to return in the future




Polyhedral barn review

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Choice made because it looked clean and fresh and it took dogs. It didn't dissapoint and we will use again. Shower great although noisy at start. Great holiday had.



Didn't disappoint!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I had a lovely stay with our 6 month child. The barn was clean and comfortable, the location was excellent with fantastic sunsets over beautiful countryside views.



Wonderful Week

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for a wonderful week. The barn was perfect for our family holiday. Everything we needed was taken care of. A great holiday - we will be back!

G




An enjoyable and comfortable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an enjoyable stay at Polendra . We know the area well and found it to be a good location for accessing the Roseland. We had a small dog with us who also enjoyed his stay however thankfully he is not too adventurous as the garden was not enclosed. If I had been visiting with young children I would have been a bit concerned with the height of the garden and the possibility of falls . We would however like to spend another week there in the future. On arrival the owner made himself known to us and assured us of his help if and when needed.



Polhendra paradise

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we enjoyed a fantastic week in this peaceful and tastefully renovated barn. The location was perfect for walks on the coast path and across country. The heated floor in the bathroom was particularly lovely!
our only suggestion for improvement was that the gutter above the door needs attention, as it leaks onto the patio, making the threshold wet as you step out.
I would recommend this barn very highly, and will visit again.




great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Last week we had a great stay and we even managed to have our pre-arranged friends with child and dog over for a weekend.The barn is right in the middle of The Roseland Peninsula, which help with exploring its varied landscapes and villages.



Polhendra Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had great week at this cottage with our 2 dogs would definitely recommend it to friends and also we hope to make a return visit . All though the weather wasn't great we found lots of beautiful places to visit and a lovely place to eat called The Plumes .



A beautiful barn in a secluded location a great cornish gettaway.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Polhendra Barn for 5 nights over the Christmas holidays as it was conveniently located for visiting our relatives who live locally. We had a long drive to get there which was made more stressful by 3 tired and bored kids in the back of the car. As soon as we arrived all stresses disappeared. The barn was immaculately clean and very welcoming. 2 large sofas and a large kitchen dining table were perfect to seat our family comfortably. Great range of kitchen utensils and crocks in the kitchen, dishwasher and washing machine (all a mum dreams of for a holiday!). The bedrooms were clean and fresh, plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space for even the most fussy 7 year old fashionista! Plenty of hot water for all of us and a great powerful shower. Outside the garden was lovely, beautiful veiws and because of the barn's secluded location, it was SO peaceful. We had a lovely stay and cant think of a single negative, it was just fabulous.



Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely property in a lovely place. It fitted perfectly with what we wanted to do and provided an ideal location from which to explore the Roseland.



A Late Summer Break

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Oct 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We returned to Polhendra after an enjoyable week earlier in the year. It was lovely to return although we were a little disappointed on our arrival as we felt there were areas that had not been cleaned very well including collections of spiders webs and spiders in the corners of the room and in the beams and also foot prints still on the floor. We also felt the need to wash the china before we used it - it just had that end of summer season feeling. Having said that, this remain a very comfortable base, the rooms are well furnished and the shower is fantastic with lashings of hot water. Sadly we had to cut short our holiday for family reasons so we didn't really get the full benefit of the lovely location and fantastic walks.




Countryside Comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Oct 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Polhendra Barn is a perfect dog friendly country retreat, close to the beautiful seaside village of Portscatho. We were delighted with the standard of accommodation, the barn has all the mod cons in a lovely rural setting. It is bright and spacious, the sofas and beds are very comfy, and the shower is possibly the best that we have ever enjoyed. This is a really great place to get away from it all, and to relax and soak up the beauty of the roseland peninsula. Sea Shanties with fish and chips at the boathouse brilliant, freshly cooked food at the Plume of Feathers superb. Sky Sports at the Harbour Club fantastic, with views to die for over Gerrans Bay. We look forward to our return to Polhendra Barn in the future.



Lovely property, great location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our best trip to Cornwall so far, ideal location for beach and facilities in Portscatho. Comfortable and nicely furnished, excellent shower and well equipped kitchen. We will be back!



Polhendra Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at this property before , hence it was our choice for this year . We love it at Polhendra it is home from home to us with high standards through out , it's tucked away but near to all we want , beach , walks .Would I recommend it definitely , but if I do we might not get in .



Richard (Owner) replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for staying at Polhendra and for your lovely review. We are so glad you love staying here as much as we love living here!

Ticked all our boxes for a great week's holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked our week at very short notice but were delighted with the choice we made. Light, comfortable and well equipped cottage in a peaceful location and so close to great dog friendly beaches and coastal walks. Perfect for us and our 7 month old black lab who was in canine heaven! Already looking at dates for another week in late summer/autumn so that probably says it all!



Richard (Owner) replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your brilliant review Ken, we look forward to seeing you at Polhendra again soon!

#1

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is everything in a place but tastes vary. Peaceful and extremely rural with a nice lane walk down to the estuary and farm fields which have footpaths. It is possible to walk to the beach but if you walk on the lanes take care, they are very narrow down on the Roseland and you need to be alert. A walk to the beach is only OK for older children.

Our kids are young and were fine in the 3-up room, some might find it a bit cramped but there is an OK amount of cupboard space. The shower is wonderful! outside there is a great area for sitting but not great for playing due to split level onto the step/gravel drive. Great spot for barbecue and eating outside and trapping the sun, but not a spectacular view. The house has a wonderful double-height, vaulted Barn ceiling with one all-in living and eating area was great for us, but that means everything from TV to games is all in one room. DVD collection and lego etc was very helpful to pass a few hours!

The owners live next door and were wonderfully helpful, they didn't intrude at ALL but we met them from time to time at the beach etc and were wonderful. Very friendly and great to chat to about the local area and on hand for any problems (which there were none).




holiday review

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My stay at the Polhendra was outstanding in all ways. I was on a walking holiday with my Spaniel, Charlie. Not only is Polhendra the perfect base with many spectacular coastal walks in easy reach, but the accommodation was impeccable in every way. The double bed was very comfortable, with very hot water available at all times, and a wonderful power shower and bath, which were all very welcome after a long day's walk. As the weather was particularly sunny and warm for the time of year, this made the week even more enjoyable. I could not believe the quality of the Barn, with a good sized fridge/freezer and all the necessary kitchen utensils on hand, along with comfortable sofas, and an excellent TV and DVD player. Charlie, is a well behaved dog, and had a great time exploring both the large patio area and the rustic garden. It was a perfect week away, with all the rural trimmings found in the countryside. I also want to thank the owners, for being flexible to allow me to extend my time at Polhendra. I felt at home immediately and enjoyed my 8 day stay in the wonderful coastal village of Portscatho. Thanks



Richard (Owner) replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your lovely review of your stay at Polhendra! We are sorry we were on holiday ourselves during your stay, although we do hope to see you again if you return!

A few niggles ....

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Polhendra Barn is a very comfortable and well located holiday home - ideal for 2, fine foe 4, but not really set up for 5 other than for a long weekend.
There are some issues however:-
1. The hot water tank is not larger enough even for 2 people. After a load of washing/dishwasher and a shower, the water was consistently cold within a couple of minutes of starting a second shower. For 4, as we were for part of our stay, it is quite inadequate and we were constantly boosting it.
2. Given the garden is pleasant, we were amazed to find the grass had not been cut. At the start of our week it was very long and by the end it was a real mess. Why it had not been cut is a mystery - even in Yorkshire we have cut our lawn with ease.
3.Whilst we were told the garden was not enclosed, frankly it should be. It would be a very simple and cheap job to erect a fence on the inside of the "spinney" to enclose the actual garden and it would then be safer for children and more convenient for dogs.
4. Whilst we understand the reason for the obscure glazing to the rear of the property, we were surprised to notice that in the Living Area, no attempt had been made to improve the look of the rear window. A cheap (maybe timber to match the table etc) would be an effective means of softening the appearance of this area.

Despite the above, we really enjoyed our stay and will certainly consider PB when we are next on The Roseland.




Richard (Owner) replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review, although we are somewhat surprised by your comments. We would respond as follows: 1. We have never had a complaint about the hot water before. In fact, we lived in the barn ourselves for 12 months and never had a problem with the water and we are a family of 4. The dishwasher and washing machine do not draw hot water from the tank, they heat it internally, so we really are not sure what you were doing to run out of water so quickly. The tank is designed for a 3 bed house. 2. We are sorry about the grass. We have been away for the Easter holidays and we were not anticipating the grass to grow so quickly. We would normally cut this every week. 3. Frankly, NO! We are not going to enclose the garden which would ruin the rural feel of the property. If you have dogs or children that stray, please don't come to Polhendra!! But if you want to enjoy the peaceful surroundings and rural outlook, you are most welcome! 4. Again, NO! But we do have a curtain that we have made that we are going to put up shortly. The orientation of the property is completely towards the terrace side and really we would hope this should not detract. We have never had comments about this before. Thanks again for your comments, but I am afraid we do disagree a little with your opinions. Please, please do refer to our other reviews for a fair view of Polhendra!

Polehendra

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked for a long weekend to celebrate mums birthday and mothers day. The cottage was cute, well equipped and warm.
The hosts were really kind and helpful. We love this part of Cornwall and would have no hesitation in rebooking on another occasion. Thank you




simply wonderful

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent on all points. Highly recommended. A quality place to stay, well situated for places to visit although place so nice, we did not want to leave



Wind and rain but grand

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Feb 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice accommodation, slept five but ideal for two and our two dogs. Would have preferred a bigger bed, but appreciate it would have been a squeeze in the smallish bedroom.

Very comfortable stay however, enjoyed the morning beach walk (after ten min drive) at Carne beach. Headed off in the afternoon with many places accessible within an hour.

Only criticisms would be that 'dog friendly' didn't extend to leaving the dogs at home when we were, say, eating out. Would have been helpful to make that clear in the advertising stuff. Equally, the advertised wifi was pretty hopeless and no phone signal (on O2 at least).

But these are minor criticisms and didn't detract from an appealing little property and a nice stay.




Richard Beaman replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, despite the atrocious weather! It is a shame that you didn't let us know about the WiFi. We only live next door and it is normally a simple case of just moving the router a little to ensure the signal is good. Perhaps the weather affected things a little? We have a normal speed of 6-7mb at Polhendra.

Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely stay we had at Polhendra. The location was so peaceful, the facilities were excellent and the barn had all we needed to make our stay so enjoyable. We would certainly look at staying there again. Thank you.



Richard (Owner) replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your kind review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Polhendra!

Very well catered for

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well appointed property with extremely pleasant owners who were there to help if required. Nice touches we found on arrival - pint of milk, tea bags and sugar all available for our use. Luxurious white fluffy towels with shower gel and soap added to the "hotel-type" treatment which was really appreciated.

Would love to be able to stay at Polhendra Barn again in the future.





Richard (Owner) replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your great review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

June'13 Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed our stay at Polhendra Barn, location was ideal for us as we have dogs so a nice 10-15 min walk into the village in the evenings.
Ideal patio that gets the sun almost all day and well into the evening.
Very clean and well equiped, the only issue we had was that the garden was not totally secure, that meant we could not let the dogs off lead even when having a BBQ, a bit of a pain when a property is dog friendly. Either a stair gate or a small bit of fencing would have made our stay a bit more enjoyable.

Steve M