FB Twitter

Penjerrick

Penjerrick

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 37 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Escape the mayhem of everyday life to indulge in casual luxury and serene estuary views. A perfect location for your relaxing Cornish getaway. Penjerrick is nestled in an idyllic country hamlet on the shores of the River Fal but just a few miles from the cathedral city of Truro.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5th year in a cottage in Cornwall and we picked this wonderful place. Amazing location in a very quiet part of Cornwall yet still close to Truro and Falmouth if you wanted to shop. Not overlooked and very peaceful. The cottage is in good order, well furnished and had everything the 2 of us needed for our 2 week stay. Having 2 ensuite bathrooms was a real luxury, both with baths and showers. The outdoor space was perfect for just the 2 of us with sun loungers and a large outdoor table and chairs. Lucy was om hand and available if we had needed her (we didn't) but it was good to know. Its difficult to find fault with this place to be honest and if I was being picky I would have liked for a smart tv in the lounge so we could watch netflix etc in the evening and the outhaul mooring could have been a little longer allowing us to get out at low water a little longer - the estuary is tidal and dries out - other than this the cottage was perfect in every way. If you have a small boat, the cottage is perfect as you can launch at mid-high water in the village which is a 2 minute walk from the cottage - avoiding paying launch fees at Loe Beach. We will definitely return.



A week at Penjerrick

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most relaxing week at Penjerrick. The weather was warm and sunny enabling us to make full use of the outdoor facilities. We ate all our meals outside and spent many happy hours relaxing on the terrace overlooking the river watching the tide ebb and flow.

Penjerrick cottage is very well appointed and our stay was delightful. Thank you.




Perfect Easter Break

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Penjerrick is an ideal place to relax and unwind with uninterrupted views of the creek below. We spent an afternoon exploring in one of the rowing boats available to hire from The Reading Room in Coombe.
The cottage was very comfortable and equipped with everything you could possibly need.




Tranquil Penjerrick

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at beautiful Penjerrick - peace & quiet in picturesque surroundings with just the birds and boats as our neighbours. A true slice of heaven & we’re sure to return to our favourite cottage. Thank you.



Faultless week of bliss!!!!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in an amazing quiet location directly on the river fal. Recommend hiring the estates rowing boat to get a different perspective from the river. Rich with wildlife and we were lucky enough to see a seal.
Of an evening we enjoyed bbqs and lit the chimnea and chilled out. We had a week of pure bliss. Highly recommend.

If we were to be really picky there is no village shop or local pub but Truro is only 10 mins drive. There really was no negatives from this holiday.




A wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Penjerrick lies in a beautiful, peaceful setting overlooking a creek on the Fal estuary. For dog owners there are several invigorating walks over fields straight from outside the cottage, but you have to travel some way for dog-friendly beaches. (Also note: for wayward dogs, owners should beware that the garden at Penjerrick is not dog secure.)
The cottage is extremely well furnished and equipped, perhaps excessively so for those who prefer minimalist surroundings. Our only complaint is that I hit my head several times on the low entrance to the bathroom -- it should at least have a rubber strip on it.
All in all it is a wonderful cottage.




Paradise

Review submitted on Thu, 04 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Penjerrick is a small paradise: cosy and comfortable, located in wonderful landscape. Everything was brilliant!



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Penjerrick is in a beautiful peaceful place and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The cottage is comfortable, warm and clean with wonderful dog-walking on the doorstep and surrounded by carpets of primroses, violets and daffodils at this time of year; we loved it!



One week is too short

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderfull stay. Beautifull location, quiet and no traffic. The house and garden was very well taken care off. All high standard. And a nice team taking care of it all. One week is definitely too short.
Cheers.




Quiet and Peaceful

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in this lovely cottage and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The kitchen is a little small but is very well equipped....and I think that's the worst I can say. Penjerrick, like the other Tregothnan cottages, is warm, comfy and so relaxing. I can't wait to go back.



My family and i had the most wonderful stay in the Penjerrick cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and i had the most wonderful stay in the Penjerrick cottage.

After a busy day out, it was lovely to retreat to the peace of the cottage, with all the wonderful sounds of the birds and fabulous views of the Fal Estuary.

All the facilities in the cottage were of a high standard; Lucy who managed the local cottages in Coombe was very welcoming and helpful.

We would most definitely recommend the guided tour of the amazing Tregothnan gardens which included afternoon cream tea.




Where two weeks feel like two months

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Are you under the impression, that there are a lot of gushing reviews about Penjerrick? There are not enough.
We decided to go for a more pricey stay this time in Cornwall, after all, a poor accomodation can really sour your holiday while a great place can make all the difference. This location was worth every Pound.
Penjerrick is wonderful in many ways. The location is quiet and peaceful, the views of the river are a beauty to behold, be it low or high tide. There are plenty of walks around the area, suitable for children as well.
The house itself is tastefully, carefully and subliminally luxuriously renovated, the bathrooms deserve a special mention as does the kitchen which has almost everything (the toaster alone is superior to whole kitchenettes in other holiday-appartments).
The only real gripe were the very soft and dented mattresses, they somehow stand in contrast to the overall well-kept state of the house.

Our caretaker Lucy deserves a special mention, she was always reachable, helpful in every way we needed and made us feel very welcome indeed.




Penjerrick

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful and quiet location, probably not for everyone, but this to us was wonderful. Cottage nicely equipped and comfortable. we enjoyed our week there.



Tranquil Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage is in an excellent location. Right on the creek, excellent for canoeing. So peaceful and quiet. Will definitely be back. Only gripe wifi is not usable.



Beautiful house & location

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location suitable to our needs. Excellent property would love to visit again.
Beds excellent and bedding we all slept like logs. Plenty of towels excellent sizes.
Fully equipped throughout the property. Not a thing was missing.




Fantastic location

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a very peaceful,tranquil location. Superb views and lovely walks around Coombe.Short trip into Truro for shopping and restaurants. This is our 3rd visit to Coombe, staying in Bethel and Pencreek cottages previously and all highly recommended.



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful, comfortable, well-equipped cottage, wonderful views and idyllic location. The customer service and care from Lucy and the cleaners is exceptional. We did not want to go home and a third week would have been perfect! We definitely hope to return.





just what we needed

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly relaxing cottage, perfect location, and everything you could need in the cottage and more.
Lucy is Tregothans treasure. We were blessed with some lovely weather and the cottage setting made you want to just laze around Coombe. Hope to return again
One sour note - on leaving the eager cleaning crew were actually waiting prior to 10 am which I found rather rude.




Perfect r&r location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Penjerrick is a beautiful cottage in a perfect, tranquil location. The views from the house are stunning and we really enjoyed sitting in the front garden overlooking the water. We were fortunate to have warm, sunny days to enjoy the outdoors and chilly evenings to enjoy the log fire.
A beautiful, comfy cottage for us, our 4 month old and our westie! Thanks for a great stay!




Amazing cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd time staying at the cottage and still amazes us with how beautiful the cottage and surroundings are. Perfect for dogs as the walks on the doorstep are amazing. 8 month old baby joined us for his first cornwall holiday, the only problem we found was the concrete floor isn't baby friendly so take a cushioned playmat and the high chair provided wasn't that good.



Peaceful place

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazingly peaceful location with great outside seating in the sun. Easy access to the river and walks. No detail inside or outside the cottage is missed. First time we've returned to a cottage - not disappointed.



Great cottage, incredible views

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a real character cottage which could accommodate two couples quite comfortably. The cottage also enjoys the most beautiful views of the creek.



Beautiful and Peaceful

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Bethel Cottage two years ago and thought that couldn't be beaten, but Penjerrick certainly did! It was a perfect size for three adults and two dogs, the two en suites were a real bonus. The location was beautiful and tranquil, hard to believe his little piece of heaven is five minutes from Truro!

I will never book another cottage anywhere else, both Penjerrick and Bethel were equally high standards and can not wait to book my next retreat with Lucy.

Thank you so much!

Zoë, Jeff and Graham (and Lilly and Fergus)





perfect relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage real home from home with the extra luxury's, brilliant location with great walks for the dogs. Can not wait to return such a peaceful and relaxing holiday.



Possibly one of the best creek side cottages available on the Fal

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Oct 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We spotted Penjerrick last year when we were staying at Holly Cottage and wanted to go there this year because of its superior position. It did not disappoint and our discerning friends were well impressed. Just a couple of niggles: i) the courtesy lights from the parking space to the house didn't work - necessary on dark October evenings. Reported to Lucy but not fixed during our stay. ii) heating very complicated to control. Our bathroom radiator could not be turned off. Maybe it's a sauna....... iii) light in bathrooms poor for wet shavers iv) bit mean supplying only 1 bin bag, no spare toilet rolls and just 4 dishwasher tablets.
However, one can forgive all that when a place is so perfect.




Heaven on the river

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautifully done, perhaps a little less furniture in the lounge would improve but other than that it was delightfully laid out and furnished.

The cottage was clean and had all we needed to cook and relax. The bathrooms were luxurious and the beds comfortable . Slept so well and left feeling very relaxed

The outside views and the location were so perfect , the cottage is near enough to other places go out for day , but then felt isolated and in our own little bubble when we were at the cottage watching the wildlife and tides , this is a hard combination to find.

Loved the walks , wildlife, watching the tides, local tea and jam. It was a little slice of old fashioned peaceful heaven , never to be forgotten. Wouldn't hesitate to return again





Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic holiday cottage, this was our second time at Penjjerick and we will be booking our third visit for next year soon. The cottage room layout was different than last time but was much better for family use.



Our week at Penjerrick in Coombe

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Penjerrick is a little slice of heaven situated on the picturesque River Fal and my family and I had a truly wonderful week sailing our dinghy off the jetty alongside the boat we hired and enjoying the comforts of the lovely furnished cottage. Certainly a week to treasure & we hope to return next year!



Gorgeous cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely week and will definitely go back - what a perfect place! Really private and a great view of the creek. The beds and the bathrooms are particularly luxurious.



Penjerrick Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


My every need was caterd for.
The sun shone on the cottage from morning until night.
Mooring for the boat is on your doorstep.
Perfect Thank you !!!




Penjerrick ' Paradise '

Review submitted on Sun, 25 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do i start.Penjerrick is the best cottage we have stayed in,and we have stayed in quite a few around the country.The location is simply idilic.If you want peace and quite,with total relaxation guaranteed,then Penjerrick is the place for you.We were also very lucky to have a week of fantastic weather,who needs to go abroad.
The cottage was very well equipped to a high standard.The setting,over looking the river Fal was top draw.We were lucky enough to take advantage of the BBQ,cooking our tea on 2 occasions and also having breakfast on the fantastic patio area.I feel the pictures on the web site dont do the cottage or its location justice,even though these pictures helped make our choice.We will be back to Penjerrick,thats a promise.




A beautiful house and location.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Coombe is a little hamlet where it feels like time has stood still. We hope that it does not become over developed as a holiday destination in the future and retains it's local community feel. The near by tea rooms are excellent with the best cakes and views you could wish for. Penjerrick has been beautifully renovated and furnished and commands lovely views over the creek. We do agree with previous reviews about too much furniture and the fact that wi-fi is not great. Don't rely on it.



A stunning cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Apr 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage, well maintained in a stunning setting beside the creek. Well equipped, maybe a little too much furniture in the lounge. Will return.



Penjerrick

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Mar 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent position, neat, clean, warm cottage. Great for two adults and two children. Too crowded and cramped for 4 adults.
A good time was had by all.




Piece of heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an absolutely amazing cottage ,have stayed in 2 other cottages on the estate - all are without doubt first class , I would recommend this holiday to anyone , a truly wonderful escape from the world ,so happy :)



Stunning cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage in a magical place.criticisms?Well yes,small ones.Tho small this site has too few characters to describe them...but they are v tiny so no



A little piece of heaven.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Your best cottage yet. We have stayed in two of your other cottages previously and thought they could not be bettered, penjerrick proved otherwise. Beautiful views, lovely decor, very comfortable huge bed. To warm for the wood burner but maybe next time. Dogs loved the garden and the local walks. Well equiped, put the tele in the main lounge with the wood burner would be good. Can't wait to return.