FB Twitter

Pendeen Cottage

Pendeen Cottage

4.0
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
85% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.9
Comfort
4.2
Condition
3.7
Location
4.2
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
3.9


Pendeen Cottage is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of a collection of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool and large gardens.

MR james

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed are stay ,the exterior of the cottages and swimming pool areas could do with some renovation to make them more attractive.



Lovely relaxing retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely courtyard surrounded by picturesque barns. Very comfortable and clean. The pool was an excellent bonus. We had a really enjoyable stay.



Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review Emma, we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay.

Good with some restrictions

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Beautiful apartment in a nice location. The cleanliness left something to be desired and when the TV was broken, no contact was to be reached.



Cpuntry View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review we don't know what area of cleaning you mean? The TV is working fine and the onsite Manager said he didn't receive any messages of this.

Needs some repair and maintenance

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Taps loose in basin and bath. Kitchen doors not closing correctly. Spots lights out in nearly every room. TV remote batteries had leaked. Tiles missing in the jacuzzi. Not enough cutlery and crockery for 6 people. Too much chlorine in the pool. Games room poorly maintained



wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent two weeks here we were pleasantly surprised at how big the cottage is the photos do not do it justice, we had some small niggles with different things on arrival and Darren the site manager fixed all very promptly and helped us with minor things through out out the stay.

The pool etc. great.

Book with confidence




Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Pendeen we are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and will hopefully welcome you back again one day.

Needs basic maintenance

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Needs basic maintenance throughout site. Bad finishes on decoration and gardening getting overgrown. Poor levels of light in cottage. Dampness in games room. Possible sewage leak in enquire.



Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Simon, Thanks for taking the time to review Pendeen I can confirm there was no sewage leak but a fresh water leak from one of the pipes. We however moved you to another 6 sleeper cottage within the first few hours of arriving so this shouldn't have impacted your 7 day stay at all. We have an onsite manager who you met who is in charge of maintenance and does a good job. We also have gardeners in to take care of the mature gardens which aren't overgrown. Finally a team of housekeepers who clean the place to a higher standard than level 2. Regarding poor light I'm afraid it's a converted barn and therefore doesn't have large windows but does have plenty of lights to switch on. The Director has been down there & paid a visit and everything is as it should be.

Good value for families

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a good property close to Falmouth and other areas in cornwall for a pleasant stay. Good facilities good value for families. The playroom and swimming pool were excellent to keep the children busy.



pendeen cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a wonderful cottage in a quiet location everything you need,washing machine and dishwasher and all the home comforts are there, ideal for exploring south cornwall a visit to rick steins restaurant in falmouth is a must, swimming pool nice and warm in the morning jaccuzi and sauna excellent would highly recommened this for a peaceful holiday would not hesitate in returning for a longer stay



Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks you for taking the time to review Pendeen cottage. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Kind Regards Country View Cottages

Well presented cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage had everything needed for a self catering break, was well presented and very peaceful. A good central base for exploring beautiful south Cornwall.



Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the time to review Pendeen. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Kind Regards Country View Cottages

A good base in a small complex with extra amenities.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Sep 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was spacious and the beds were clean and comfortable. The cottage was poorly lit and would not suit anyone with poor vision. The swimming pool was at a good temperature and the jacuzzi was lovely. We enjoyed the games room but with a little extra expenditure it would have been better. Damaged pool cues, wonky table and table tennis bats plus the air hockey being incomplete detracted.
It was easy to get to Falmouth, The Lizard, Eden Project ( about an hour) and some beautiful coastline.
Be aware that the cottage is very barely equipped, one dishwasher tablet, one piece of foil on the grill etc. Take some bits with you!




Very pleasant location, easy to start sightseing from cottage to city, harbour, bay Falmouth + more

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found Location and Cottage in best condition, supervised, managed and helped by competent friendly Manager; lots to see from starting Point Cottage, bad wheather never lasts whole day. Frred from Bavaria.



Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Pendeen cottage. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Kind Regards Country View Cottages

It was an idilic setting that far exceeded our expectations, which was in a great location.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful setting, Cottage was amazing everything you could want, pool, Jacuzzi sauna. Location was perfect near to Falmouth and beaches we had a fantastic stay and will be back. we took our dog and there were some lovely walks nearby. Onsite help was available and owner very friendly and helpful.



Beautiful cottage complex

Review submitted on Sat, 31 May 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were astounded at how beautiful the whole cottage complex is - really fantastic! It is very secluded and, unfortunately, the lanes leading to and from the cottage are far too dangerous for strolling or cycling. We walked the two miles to the pub one evening but you really take your life in your hands with the narrow roads and some very fast cars.

The standard of equipment was superb, and cooking, microwaving and everything else is a doddle. Bedrooms and bathrooms fully adequate; washing machine, dishwasher, fridge, TV all in excellent order. Plenty of crockery and cutlery available. WiFi or mobile telephone usage won't make it through the granite walls and the bandwidth is, in any case, very restricted. Don't expect that the kids will be able to surf the Internet all day, but a visit to the games room router does enable you to load eMails for the day and send some pics to the folks.

There is room for improvement regarding the seating outside and at the dining room table and we spent as little time as possible there which was a shame - especially the outside "bench" seating with fixed benches attached to a table was a great shame.

You must be aware that the individual cottages aren't separated so the stay in terms of evenings or breakfast on the patio is very dependent on the other guests. No problem whatsoever during our stay but the schhol holidays probably wouldn't be a good time for couples seeking peace and tranquility!

Local shop doesn't really need investigating much but there is an ASDA superstore about 10 minutes drive away which suits more or less all purposes from petrol to beach gear.

The written directions don't match up 100% to the actual signage at the complex and the one which says it's 1 mile before the next village isn't too helpful unless you suddenly arrive in the village and realise you've missed the complex 1 mile back! Once you get there though, it is very easy to access and there is more than ample parking.

All in all, despite some nit-picking above, it was a stay we shall remember with pleasure and which had no glitches or problems. The manager - Darren - is a very pleasant chap as well!




Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Martina, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on Pendeen. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and didn't have any major issues. I've forwarded your comments re outside seating and dining table onto Darren for some feedback on the situation. Reference Wifi we are glad you found it adequate to do the basics which is the reasons why it's provided. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Kind Regards Country View Cottages