FB Twitter

Pencreek Cottage

Pencreek Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 52 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.8


Pencreek is one of Cornwall's really magical creekside (riverside) cottages. Nestled amongst the beautiful Kea plum orchards of the Tregothnan Estate in this unspoilt part of Cornwall, this romantic cottage offers a luxurious wild escape with serene water views. The quintessential escape, yet only 10 minutes drive from Truro with its superb shops & restaurants. One of our luxury, dog friendly holiday cottages in Cornwall.

Perfectly picturesque location.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Feb 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfectly picturesque location where our day revolved around the comings and goings of the tide. We learned to paddle board here in these shallow waters, enjoying the sun on our faces and the wildlife for company. Lucy could not have done more to make us feel looked after and welcome and any problems were resolved promptly. The cottage was cosy, comfortable and perfectly equipped for a week away from home.
We very much hope to return one day.




Peaceful and relaxing in style

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned for our eighth visit to Pencreek and we're not disappointed. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life a week at Pecreek is just what the doctor ordered. A warm welcome awaited us with fresh flowers and tea and biscuits. The rhythm of the tide sets the pace of the holiday and the hours slowly pass as you watch the wildlife on the river and in the surrounding gardens. We spent a large part of the day paddling up the river in our kayaks and the evenings reading and sipping a gin and tonic in the beautiful bath overlooking the river. Bliss.



A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Pencreek. The cottage had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We were very impressed with the location which offered us total privacy and the views over the water were outstanding. A very enjoyable stay was had by all.



Winter haven

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved coming back to this amazing cottage and location. Everything is provided and the cottage proved to be a brilliant bolt hole when the snow came. Thank you to Lucy who made sure that we were Ok! We still did lots of walking around the local area. We loved watching the tides and bird life on the creek as well as the birds coming to feed from the garden. The snow showed the tracks of rabbits and deer; unfortunately we missed these visitors. The cottage is so comfortable and we had a very relaxing time - a real opportunity to relax. We look forward to another return visit.



Lovely location

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Long weekend away in the cottage. Great location on the water and also for visiting Cornwall. Well equipped kitchen.



Perfect cottage in a perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect cottage in a perfect location. Spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. Well equipped and organised ,with everything you could need. We took our own canoe, so it had the added bonus for us of providing a launching area just from the door- almost! There is also lots to do in the area. We note from the visitors book that many return, and we can see why. We'd love another holiday here.



Cottage in Tranquil Creekside Setting

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great creekside position.. prettier when the tide is in
Tranquil setting and terrace lets you enjoy the abundant wildlife
Cottage v.comfortable - light and airy kitchen - lounge comfortable but not so light
Cottage (especially kitchen) is very well equippped




Pencreek Apr 17

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view is what hits you when you first arrive, the cottage is lovely and has everything you need. The peacefulness is relaxing with lots going on with the wildlife above and on the water. You are ideally situated to travel to most of the tourist attractions in Cornwall with the busy beaches in the north or the more secluded in the south. One of the best holidays we have had.



Great cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic cottage in a great location. Such a quiet place, lots of walks and wildlife. Pubs a bit far away but you can always get supplies in. Highly recommended...



Great cottage and location, marred by incessant chain-sawing.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and location were superb. The cleanliness, maintenance and facilities in the cottage were also excellent. The lack of a toilet door is a problem; even people who are very close sometimes prefer a degree of privacy. Nevertheless this is a minor point in an otherwise wonderful cottage.

However, the constant chain-sawing all day every day from nearby fields was a considerable problem for us. It meant it was impossible for us to sit outside during the day, and even inside the noise was an irritant. We would have liked to spend more time during the day at the cottage, but instead needed to get out to escape the invasive noise. Since the nearby land is, we understand, part of the estate which also owns the cottage, we would have thought this could have been avoided. If intensive tree felling is intended, then the cottage should not, in our opinion, be let at that time. We appreciate that this may not happen more than a few weeks each year (?); but nevertheless, this was our only week in a spot which would otherwise have been tranquil.




A magical hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pencreek is a very secret place, a magical experience, it was a privilege living with unspoilt nature. We did not want to leave.
The silence, the wading birds, the owls, rabbits, long tailed tits, jays and many more birds, plus a curlew. A hidden gem.
Would return again and again if the loo had a door.




A most wonderful stay again

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit. I would recommend to anyone if you want peace and quiet beautiful scenery and comfort. This is the place for you.



Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at Pencreek. The cottage was lovely and its setting is amazing. We loved watching the birds feeding on the water and from the feeders just outside the cottage window. Best of all was the access to the creek itself - we took our kayak with us and were able to get out on the water and see Coombe from a different perspective. We had a very relaxing week - lots of walks but lots of cozying down by the fire. A really enjoyable holiday.

The only issue we had was that there was nowhere to hang any clothing up or any drawer space. Whilst this wasn't a huge problem it did mean that we were literally living out of suitcases for the week.

We are definitely planning a return visit.




Lucy Simpson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - just a note to add for your next trip, there is a built in wardrobe with lots of hanging space and hangers in the bedroom, you just press the door to open!! We look forward to welcoming you back soon...

Total rest in idyllic setting

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed at this very cosy cottage once before but stayed in other cottages owned by the family many times. They're all of the same high standard. Pencreek is secluded with many great walks. There's lots of local wildlife too. Everything you can possibly need is here including games, DVDs, coffee machine, even washing powder! Nothing's too much trouble and the family are only too happy to help with anything. I'll be back there next year for sure!!



Another lovely week!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another great week at Pencreek Cottage, well equipped, in a stunning and totally private location. If you are looking for total peace and relaxation look no further.



Amazing!!

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third time back and we have booked next year already! Absolutely amazing place to stay. Our dogs are welcome too. So wonderfully quiet and cozy. Thank you!



Cornwall's Hidden gem

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Have stayed at Pencreek twice now, & will definately return again. Beautiful cottage in perfect tranquil spot. Wakeing up to the view of the creek each morning is wonderful. Everything you could possibly need is there for all weather conditions... Thoroughly enjoyed lazing in the hammock surrounded by birds singing & bees buzzing.
Although the cottage is lovely & secluded, its only minutes away from Truro & shops, & ideal for visiting any coast .
Truly a Cornish gem!!




Excellent cottage, stunning location.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful holiday cottage, perhaps a little pricey. However would be happy to revisit and maybe try one of the other properties on offer in Coombe. The location of the cottage with the changing views due to the differing tides was special.



The Best Place in the World

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a place. One of the best holidays we have ever had. If we could have stayed forever we would have. The location was awesome and the local area had everything you could want. Will be going back.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An ideal holiday location, very quiet and peaceful. Lots of lovely walks and villages nearby. Very good central location in Cornwall for exploring the county. The cottage was immaculate. Very comfortable. A bumpy track down to the cottage from the farm - but totally worth it!
It was like going from home to home! Lovely seating area outside of cottage which we found ideal for breakfast. We also particularly loved the hammock for relaxing. Good location near to Truro eg for getting to shops etc.




like it

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
what more can we say, it was wonderful and the rest we needed. we where addicted to the fire took us back to our youth. we will be back later on in the year to get more. we would recommend but on the other hand want to keep this place a secret.



Wonderful New Year Country Escape!

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week here over New Year and it was exactly what we hoped for. The cottage at the end of a track right by the water's edge felt miles away from the rest of the world, and yet was easy reach to all the amenities of Truro. We thoroughly enjoyed cooking every night using the large well equipped kitchen, and made it cosy with a warm log fire despite the wind and lashing rain outside. The cottage had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay and given the time of year and weather we spent much time inside! We could tell that it would also be lovely in the summer with the patio to enjoy being outside and some great sounding walks from the doorstep - we'd love to return. The one and only downside was that the only toilet in the cottage is in the open plan bathroom attached to the bedroom upstairs - but given how great it was in every other way this was a very small price to pay. Thank you to the team looking after Pencreek Cottage!



Lovely cottage in splendid isolation

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Nov 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pencreek is located at the end of a long track and is right on the estuary. The cottage has been tastefully refurbished with the bedroom and bathroom taking up the first floor and lounge/dining area and separate kitchen downstairs, plenty of room for two people. There's a tv (free view), DVD player, radio, dvd's, books and games, so plenty to do. There are central heating radiators and a log burner, a basket of logs is provided (extra bags available on an honour system @£5 per bag). We had the fire going in the evening on our 5 night stay and used an additional 6 bags so the ambience isn't cheap! Bed comfort is always down to personal preference, I found the mattress firm but comfortable.
If you're up for a bit of isolation this cottage is for you, there are nearby cottages but you have plenty of privacy. It would be lovely sitting outside on a summer evening watching the tide come in, very peaceful and quiet.
The kitchen is well equipped with all the cooking utensils you will need. Some places we've stayed at in the past provide various levels of consumables and whilst laundry and dishwasher tablets, cloths, tea, milk and biscuits are provided you'll need to bring your own soap, shampoo, toilet rolls, sugar, coffee, cooking oil, salt and pepper with you. Not a problem when you know in advance and Truro is only about 5 miles away.
Worth knowing that our mobile phones couldn't get any reception (O2) and the wifi signal is very poor (0.25 mbs for the tech nerds). But hey, you're here to get away from the world hey?
This is a lovely cottage in a beautiful location, we hope to return again.




Stunning location & beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Pencreek cottage was fantastic. The cottage is beautiful and better equipped than any other I have stayed in before - like a home from home. The location is absolutely stunning - peaceful, ever changing with the tides and private. It truly is a perfect escape - and yet only 5 to 10 minutes by car to Truro.

You will struggle to find a more idyllic property in a more idyllic location in Cornwall, I am sure.




Pencreek cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in turnapenny cottage 2013 , we were pleased to find pencreek cottage just as lovely .
Inside and outside fantastic , spotlessly clean , exceptionlally well equipped and maintained , lucy was very helpfull and thoughtfull again ,, will definatley return again.
* Brilliant *.
Steve & Necia '




Beautiful Bolthole

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jun 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable well equipped cottage in a beautiful peaceful location. I stayed in the Spring when carpets of wild primroses were in bloom and the trees full of blossom. Breathtakingly sublime.



Relaxing 10 days

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Mar 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to relax then this is a great place to do it. Such a peaceful location. Cottage was comfortable and the kitchen had every thing you need. Bed was comfortable and big, bathroom was nice.
Some great walks on your doorstep, good for us as we have dogs. Garden not secure so if you have a dog that wanders off you need to beware. Would stay again as we loved the location so much. Lucy rang on the Sunday morning to check everything was ok, I thought that was a really nice touch.




Winter Getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would highly recommend this lovely cottage. Waking up every morning with that wonderful river view was such a treat. Pretty walks straight from the cottage. Real peace and quiet. Left feeling truly relaxed.



Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was excellent, very cosy, a real hidden gem,
The location of the property was stunning and a real fantastic place to relax,
i would recommend this place for couples looking for somewhere to get away from it all.




Perfect Hideaway

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second Autumn visit and not disappointed again.

Perfect hideaway, luxury retreat for two plus dog. Never ending changing vista of the tidal creek with its wildlife, sounds and smells (nice ones!).

Every aspect thought through with great care to provide a perfect cottage and even improvements on last year.

Highly recommended.




Perfect place to unwind!!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect place to leave behind the stresses and strains of every day life! We had a perfect week in this Cosy, comfortable and well equipped cottage. Great walks, beautiful countryside and helpful owners! Will be back!!



Quite

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quite. Well equipped, lovely location, great views, walks from cottage . Stayed at Bethal cottage last year, both lovely cottages hard to choose which one to stay at next time we stay in Cornwall.



somewhere we would consider rebooking

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't think of anything that the cottage didn't provide. Clean, well organized, quiet peaceful location but within easy reach of towns and beaches.



Pencreek cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage. Amazing location. Enjoyed every minute. The whole area is very dog friendly. I would definitely recommend this cottage to others. A brilliant place.





relaxation

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location, lovely cottage. a very relaxing holiday.Some lovely walks our dog had a real holiday she loved the seclusion as much as us. It just may have helped having a small gate each side to keep her in and away from eating the plums.
Otherwise a perfect place, hope e can find time to go back soon.




Relax and dream

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Aug 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
a place where we could relax immediately and have left the everyday behind us.
The surrounding area with its many gardens, the beautiful beaches and the nice tea garden have made the holiday perfect




Perfect Pencreek

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The simple addition of a food processor ( the only thing that was missing) would probably result in me moving in permanently and forcing the estate to evict me and my husband failing to recover from the humiliation of this making the the front page of The Western Morning News.
Our 3rd trip to this idyllic spot - 10 minutes to Truro and 10 minutes walk to what must be England's smallest village green at Cowlands. Take a walk further up the hill from there and turn left onto an unmarked road and find yourself the opposite side of the creek looking back from Roundwood Quay. Perfect dog walking and fishing and possible to walk to the gardens at Trelissick .
A wonderful uncluttered corner of Cornwall marvellously served by these beautifully appointed cottages. I would personally have added a downstairs loo. A true loo with a view upstairs but less open plan please. Binoculars would be a thoughtful addition for potential twitchers. I would happily write more but really don't want to encourage more bookings and restrict my inevitable return.




Peaceful haven

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely spot to unwind and relax away from the hussle and bussel of touristy Cornwall, but the one is only 10 minutes from a major town; ideal. Some lovely walks and wildlife on offer.



Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is the perfect get away for anyone, the lovely tranquil surroundings made our stay so much more relaxing enjoying the wildlife such as rabbits and birds of pray. Idea for the dogs too....they loved it.



our stay at Pencreek june '14

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jun 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful cottage lovely decor perfect setting...everything you could possibly need was there.The garden was lovely, enjoyed watching the rabbits playing .perfect for the dog too...she enjoyed her stay too. Will def be coming back.



A glorious relaxing stay at Pencreek cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 19 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great getaway location
Hidden away down a little farm track and located on the edge ( yes - the edge of the estuary )
Secure gate to keep little explorers and dogs (X2) out of the water at high tide and to keep the visiting swan out of the garden each day
Cottage has all you need for a relaxing stay and please be warned - there is no noise at night, other than the owls and bats flying around and no light pollution
Estuary is fully lit up if you arrive on a full moon and clear skies
Definitely one downside is that when you return home you won't be able to lye on you pillow and look out on the estuary as the sun rises !
Pls note that the cottage comes with a real warning that "you may not want to go home at the end of your stay"
What a place, location and thanks Pencreek for a great week
I am sure that our little baby girl ( 26weeks old ) will definitely remember this week away for ever ( we will ask her in a few years ? )
Mike, Sue, Alex and Springers Toby & Sam




Away from it all

Review submitted on Mon, 05 May 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
a perfect location for a quiet week's holiday in a beautiful location - every changing as the tide came in and went out.
every mod con in the kitchen provided.




Second visit to this location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
13 months between stays at this wonderful cottage is far too long. However, we returned and for one week we truly believe that this is our own home from home. It is in the most amazing location settled amongst Kea plum trees and only 10 feet from the waters edge. To sit in the bath and watch the tide ebb and flo is unique!



A little piece of Heaven x

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage with wonderful ever-changing views of the creek ,quiet and remote. Excellent condition and attention to detail from Lucy and her team. We have just returned from our second honeymoon and want to go back again straight away! would highly recommend and will defiantly like to go spend another week in this little piece of Heaven x Thank you



A great cottage with some lovely touches

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Mar 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a wonderful location by the side of a creek and offers privacy and peace. Everything is thought of and it is good to know that there is help and support if needed - this is not always the case.



A great week in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Mar 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Pencreek by accident but are very glad we did.
Very comfortable and well specified cottage in an idyllic location. Lucy, owners representative, helpful and attentive.
Lots of walks in easy reach particularly liked the walk to Trelissick and to the ferry through the National Trust woods. We purchased a Mussel Card for public transport and did not use the car all week, though it is a walk to any form of public transport!.
Punchbowl and Ladle in Penlewey a nice pub with good food and service as well as being dog friendly.
Sat in London writing this and wish I was back in front of the cottage sat watching the creek!
We will hopefully be returning in the future.




Pencreek winter bliss.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jan 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pencreek cottage is an ideal spot for relaxing and getting away from the rest of the world. Very snug even in the strongest of storms. Hearing the sound of curlews and owls every evening was a delight. We liked the cottage very much as it was the perfect location for us. The location was as private as you can get I imagine.
But in the interest of a complete review, here are some suggestions for improvements that would make it even better in the future. First of all, please get rid of the chrome and glass furniture. All of it please. Not only is it totally without charm and doesn't match the Cornish character of the cottage. Even putting a cup of coffee on the table can produce a jarring sound. Wooden tables would be so much better. I liked the location of this cottage better than Bethel or Turnapenny but that would put us off from renting this particular cottage again unless it is changed. The mirrors are also not very nice. One full length one would work.
A small desk would be ideal because I found myself wanting to write after a few days there and it was either sit at the aforementioned chrome table or on the couch to do it. Since the cottage is supposed to only be for two persons that shouldn't be so difficult to arrange.
The kitchen door appears to be waterlogged and is a bit of a tight fit. The mattress was sagging in the middle (once again also do not like a chrome bed) and should be replaced. Otherwise everything in the cottage was just right and with just a few changes we would stay there again. Or we might try another cottage just for variety.




Lucy Simpson replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr Brown, Thank you for your review-we welcome all feedback and ideas as this ensures we continue to keep our service and facilities continually at a high standard. We will of course investigate and hope to welcome you back to Wild Escapes in the future. Many thanks once again. Kind regards, Lucy

Loved it

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Dec 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Riverside in June and Pencreek last weekend both lovely in different ways.
I find it hard to say anything negative as they are the best cottages we have ever stayed in, Lucy does an amazing job.
This long weekend booking was just perfect. If you wanted a tiny bit of input then the flowers and milk were very welcome but considering how isolated the property is to a local shop we would have been grateful for a few tea bags for our arrival drink.
We will be booking again next year.
Thank you




Perfect Relaxation

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Nov 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Did a lot of research to find somewhere where we could feel 'away from it all' with no one else near, fantastic location and a little bit special to feel pampered and Pencreek Cottage didn't fail to deliver.
Ridiculously beautiful location, but actually not too isolated as Truro only 15 minutes drive away. The tidal creek provided a continuously changing, idyllic landscape. Found minutes slipped away just gazing out from the cottage. Didn't close the curtains once, waking with dawn (right time of year for that at 7am!) and going to bed after a luxurious foamy bath soak and glowing log fire.
Perfect for our dog too -easy to keep clean floors and kitchen for him to sleep snugly in at night.
We walked locally and around the Fal estuary and Roseland peninsula every day with stunning scenery and lovely villages, ferries and places to eat. Of course, the beaches of North Cornwall only half hour away too.
We ordered the Tregothnan Estate hamper which arrived at the cottage a few days late due to some items being in short supply, but was worth the wait.
All in all, a perfect, tranquil, relaxing cottage and location. Highly recommended.




Our stay at Pencreek

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Oct 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay very much,although we felt more could be made of the outside space,if you sat at the table and chairs you
could not see the river which defeated the object really. We really enjoyed our tour of the gardens at Tregothan,it was a shame the tide was against us, so we could not go by boat.




An enchanting little cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2013
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An absolutely charming little cottage in a super position overlooking the creek.

More suited to a younger couple due to hairy private access road, gradient on the car parking area and stepped loose gravel footpath and rather open toilet facilities! Very well equipped kitchen, although the work surfaces are not very practical being lightly stained natural wood (- do not put hot plates on these as we did as it will leave a mark)!

Unfortunately, the quality of the TV and audio equipment does not match that of the cottage but on the whole, a very pleasant stay.




Tucked Away

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Pencreek for its quiet location by the river, very secluded and peaceful. The cottage was very comfortable and well appointed and lovely attention to detail. We have booked next year!