FB Twitter

Pelyn

Pelyn

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 41 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.4


A lovely apartment overlooking the Percuil River in St Mawes. Ideal for those wanting great value accommodation for a couple in St Mawes. Can be combined with Polmaro to provide accommodation for up to 4 adults.

Great place

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I really enjoyed my stay at pelyn. I found the boat yard fascinating.it was so peaceful and quiet.lovely time.



Happy Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was very peaceful,relaxing,and an extremely lovely place to stay,Would go back.It was lovely and clean,and a lovely area to stay.



August 2019

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious flat, clean and well equipped with fab views of the river and wonderful walks on the doorstep.



Lovely location

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartment is situated behind a boatyard overlooking the Percuil River with lovely views. It is very peaceful in the evenings and early morning. The apartment was very clean and provided everything we needed for our weeks stay. You can walk straight from the apartment following a footpath along the river to St Just in Roseland church and then into St Mawes with great views over the Carrick Roads.




Brilliant for price

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had everything could possibly need, from iron& board, both dustpan& brush and broom, and tupperware. Great amount of light, both natural and artificial. Not noisy at all at any time of day. Good amount of storage for clothes. But I wish there was another mirror, for example in the main room. However one major drawback is that the blinds are not blackout, therefore the light can wake you up in morning.

Suggestion - due to the size of the flat it would benefit from the sofa being a sofa bed as there is enough space for there to be more than 2 people staying (e.g. could be perfect place for family of 4, 2 children and 2 adults).




My stay at Pelyn

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a little difficult to find using the satellite navigation system, because the system doesn’t recognise the post code, and when we eventually found the road, the sign at the top of the road was a bit vague. An arrow pointing to the property would help. A refuse bin close to the property would be nice, having to climb that hill to deposit the rubbish into a trailer at my age was a bit challenging. Apart from that it was really lovely.



Mark replied 121 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again in the future. We do appreciate all feedback and take on board suggestions. We are at present considering other alternatives for the rubbish in the hope to make the stay in the properties as hassle free as possible. Thank you also for the suggestion of an arrow pointing to the properties and we will take this under advisement. Kindest regards - Mark

Lovely Cornwall break in clean and comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This apartment was clean, homely and had everything needed for a comfortable stay in St Mawes. Fantastic location, just a short walk from the harbour area which had a selection of bars and restaurants. Would definitely recommend for travellers who want a quiet get away with beautiful views.



Cornwall at it best

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant stay in Pelyn, comfortable,spotless with all you need for a great holiday. View wonderful, river, boats, sunrise and quiet. Lovely owners. St Mawes and Falmouth to visit and the Roseland to explore. What more could you want!




Great Little Flat

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once you have found this little gem, you can do nothing but relax. The flat is well equipped with everything you could possibly want in the kitchen. The only criticism is that there was no hair dryer or full length mirror.

The village of St Mawes is a pleasant 15 minute stroll along the coast road. Whilst there are limited facilities in the village; co-op, couple of pubs and gift shops, most needs are met.

A quick 20 munites ferry ride across to Falmouth is a must.

This is certainly a very pleasant base to explore the surrounding countryside and coastal villages. Hope to return.




Everything we needed

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pelyn provides a great base for St Mawes. We had everything we needed and really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast on the balcony, overlooking the boats in the yard and the wide river views was a particular joy. The bustle of the boatyard was no problem and there was no one around outside of the working day anyway. Walk to the village centre is very pleasant, either along the road around the waterfront, or over the more direct paths over the top of the village. Lovely base to explore the area, including the Roseland Peninsula, or taking the ferries from St Mawes Harbour.



Ref: Pelyn, Freshwater Boatyard, St.Mawes, TR2 5AR

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Looking for an opportunity of seeking a 'top-up' of sea air before winter sets in we considered ourselves fortunate in finding Pelyn available at very short notice. With my wife being a devotee of all things nautical, finding herself up and close with the activities of a working boat yard was ideal!
A recurring comment in the visitors book was the level of cleanliness apparent upon our arrival. Happily, just prior to our departure, I was able to congratulate the lady responsible in person.
A very minor irritation that should perhaps be mentioned was the fact that the heat level figures on the control dials of the oven have virtually worn away, leaving occupants with something of a guessing game when using it for the time.! Also, in an otherwise almost pristine presentation of the apartment, the rusty door stop in the WC/Shower Room would appear to be a minor problem that could easily be remedied.




Just A Suggestion

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All good at the apartment.
The only comment I would like to make is that the metal poles (maybe props for the boats or scaffolding?) were placed right up against the wall outside the patio doors. Appreciate that it is a working boatyard but if they could be relocated away from such a superb view I'm sure other visitors would enjoy the uncluttered view and their stay even more.




Mark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your suggestion Phil. Unfortunately due to space and of course, as you mentioned a working boatyard, we are limited to where we can place items/boats within the yard. This time of year is especially difficult due to the volume of boats that have to be launched and retrieved on a daily basis. Also from the end of this month the yard will start to fill up with the larger boats coming in for their winter storage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will keep your suggestion in mind. We are always happy to have suggestions and where possible we try to implement change. Hope to see you again.

Excellent Location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable accommodation for 2 people. Loved the location overlooking a working boatyard and estuary - idyllic views. Only 10 minute walk into St Mawes for pubs and places to eat. Very handy for footpaths to explore the Roseland peninusla.



Room with a view

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful and beautiful location but only a 15 minute walk into St Mawes. So much to do either on foot or by boat. Communication a bit difficult as no phone signal and they are having problems with wi fi but all available a short distance away



A very relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pelyn is a lovely property, spacious, light, and. very comfortable. The view across the water is beautiful and watching the boats coming and going is very relaxing.



Nice view very quiet in the evenings

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What I particularly liked was the view over the boatyard towards the water. During the day you can watch boats being put in and out of the water. The balcony is rather "slim" but sufficient. The cottage is a little out of the way in beautiful walking countryside. Of you want to visit sights you need a car or much time for public transport.

Good value for money though and if we come to Cornwall again it will definitely be an option. But it is quite a drive from Vienna, Austria...




Mark Humphrey replied more than 1 year ago
It was a pleasure to meet you and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Pity we were not able to supply the sunshine though. We hope you can visit again in the future.

Pelyn

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It would have been nice if loo paper and washing up liquid was provided and the heating turned on. Otherwise a very comfortable stay and well organised.



Mark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and apologise for lack of toilet paper. Not sure why that had been missed and will try to ensure it does not happen again. We appreciate all feedback as this helps us to improve the facilities we can offer. Hope to see you in the future.

Our stay just outside ST. Mawes

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment had everything we needed, was spacious comfortable and clean, the bed was wonderful, it was great to have a parking space and the location quiet and peaceful and not too far a walk from St. Mawes - thank you.



Mark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Pelyn and have already booked for next year.
To have the use of a telephone for emergency use only would be very useful.











Mark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Look forward to seeing you next year. Regarding the emergency telephone, due to lack of mobile signal in St Mawes we realise it can be inconvenient. We do like people to know that in an emergency, the office is manned Monday - Friday and people are welcome to pop in and use the phone if there is an emergency. Unfortunately we realise this does not help in the evenings or weekends, but we are doing trying to improve the WIFI signal to aid with this problem. Hopefully you will notice a difference with the signal when you come again. Look forward to seeing you.

Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at Pelyn great location , very very clean so comfortable everything we needed , bed so comfortable , loved our stay , parking so easy , loved our walk into St Maws along the river



Beautiful location, spacious apartment with balcony and really interesting boatyard

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We really appreciated the spaciousness of the apartment and the bed was incredibly comfortable - the balcony was great, too, to sit and watch the comings and goings on the boatyard. It was very peaceful and lovely - with a great walk into St Mawes. It was also well equipped - although the sofa seemed a little old - a colander and hairdryer would make a useful addition!

However, the cleanliness of the property was not really of the highest standard and I had to clean some of it myself (the booking did say to speak to the owners if there was a problem but I didn't want to cause any issues and bad feeling at the time as we were living in very close proximity to the boatyard itself).

Very good value for money though as we had a late booking discount. Fabulous location!






Lovely view over the river

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice flat, very comfortable and well equipt . As I was on my own, I did feel a little isolated, having no phone signal, it would have been very nice to have had access to wifi to have enabled me contact with family via WhatsApp.



Mark replied more than 1 year ago
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we do have problems with internet/mobile phone signal in St Mawes, but hope to remedy this in the near future.

Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation good standard in a unique location, 10 minute walk to centre. Beautiful view from apartment and very quiet. No wifi but local pubs provided free access. Accommodation well equipped but hairdryer would have been a useful addition. Parking spot very convenient - close to property. Very comfortable and a very enjoyable holiday, visited a number of places within a 40 mile radius.



All good. Peaceful place and well equipped

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Not the easiest place to find but once found it was fine. On a boatyard so not a super great view but this was always clear in the seller's description, so it was as we had expected and the boatyard wasn't a disturbance. As a place to eat and sleep this was absolutely fine and good value overall.
The flat was well equipped and comfortable, the only thing I'd add would be a pair of tongs in the kitchen.
It wasn't an issue for us, quite the contrary, but there seems to be no mobile signal in the area (certainly not EE) and the flat has no internet connectivity.
St Mawes is very pretty and a short coastal walk or 5 minute drive away, and has a number of options for food at drink to suit all budgets, as well as a small supermarket, so you can be as self contained as you wish when you elect to stay at Pelyn.




Mark replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately St Mawes is renowned for lack of good mobile signal but we are looking into trying to come up with some form of remedy regarding internet etc. Thank you for your comments and we will endeavour to improve the facilities. Hope to see you again in the future.

Last minute choice that really delivered.....

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have scored highly for this property as it really did enable us to have a comfortable,relaxing and interesting holiday.I marked cleanliness as good only because the pan for the grill was not very clean.
We have been staying in St Mawes and the Roseland for almost 50 years and this location gave a new slant to the area with its daily boat yard activity and delightful walks.
Boats in front of the apartment were not a problem.The view was not impaired and they added to the interest.
We will certainly tell our friends about this gem and hope to return fairly soon
Many thanks
Sue and Chris Pegg
Derby.




Mark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We will look into why the grill pan was not up to standard and appreciate your comments. So pleased you enjoyed the location and hope to see you in the future.

Lovely and interesting location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location looking back down the river with the sea just around the corner.
It was interesting to watch the coming and going at the boat yard,but with no noise.
Comfortable Apartment




Mark replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future.

boatyard cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this is a ground floor one bedroom flat that is right on the river. In early May there were some boats between us and the river, but this was not a problem.

excellent facility, a short and easy walk to the village




A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our long weekend away in this little flat. It was clear to see the place had recently been repainted and a real sense of care pervaded the flat - very clean with everything we needed included. The location was fantastic we enjoyed being so close to the water and it was a lovely walk into St Mawes. We do hope to be able to stay again



Mark replied more than 1 year ago
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the positive feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

Great restful break

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The accommodation was great it had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. The accommodation is in a boat yard so that obscures the immediate view, but the living room is still light and airy. Being on the boatyard does not impact on your stay unless you want to sit in and a lot and just look at the view. The location was excellent as you could walk to St Mawes from the accommodation and easily get onto the main road to go out and about. The décor is really good and there is everything you need including excellent information about the property and the local area. When we stayed somebody left some ice cream in the freezer which had a gone a bit smelly, but that was easily rectified. Other than that the property was clean. I would definitely stay there again as it provided an excellent comfortable base for exploring the area and relaxing



Mark replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. So sorry that the ice cream was left in the freezer. Next time we will have to treat you to a fresh double ice cream to make up for it... Hope to see you again in the near future.

Some updating and attention to cleanliness needed, but management are aware of the problems.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Superb position for our holiday during the sunniest week of the year. The property is in need of some updating and the cleaner needs to do a better job.



Mark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Appreciated you coming into the office, pleasure meeting you. The property will be having a refresh and some additional comforts for the new season, so hope to see you again next year.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent base for your holiday, clean and tidy and good value for money. Quiet location and beautiful views. Walks on doorstep. Had a great time would recommend.



Mark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, hope to see you next year.

Great value for money in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Pelyn apartment is a great little escape right on the water - very peaceful and relaxing! We really didn't want to leave! It felt very homely, the apartment was very clean and we settled right in. St Mawes itself is a beautiful little fishing town, everyone is so friendly! A great little escape to refresh and revive from the grind of everyday life.



Mark replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you and hope to see you in the new season.

Our stay in Pelyn

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed in the property 5 years ago, and decided to come back again this year. It's looking a bit 'tired' now, and could do with a bit of a make-over. Also the fridge needs replacing as it was hopeless.



Mark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We have pleasure in confirming that we have replaced the fridge and also refreshed both the flats. There are also a couple of additional comforts added to make everyone's stay more of a home from home stay. Hope we see you in the near future.

Pelyn, St. Mawes

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Generally the accommodation was ok, but the cooker and shower area was not very clean. The view from the patio /balcony was obstructed by several boats out of the water within the boat yard. We were advised in the description of the property that the view would be obstructed until sometime in May



Mark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your views. We will be refreshing the flats ready for the new season. Regarding the boats obstructing the view, as it is a working boat yard, we cannot guarantee that at some point in anyone's stay there will not be boats in the yard, however we do try to keep the views of the river clear when possible for the guests and hope that guests find it interesting to see the activity in the boat yard. There is certainly never a dull moment.

REALLY comfortable bed and sofas

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in Pelyn for a long weekend. The location was quite quirky but interesting, with boats sitting right outside our living room window awaiting maintenance or repair. We stayed Friday until Tuesday morning. During this time we didn't get any disturbance from the boat yard. The apartment is 10 minutes walk from town, as long as you work out where the footpath is and don't take the much longer route along the road.

The living room is light and airy, and the two sofas were particularly comfortable (compared to other places we've stayed in over the years). I'm not sure if the fridge was working properly, as it didn't seem that cold; but we managed ok. Unfortunately there was no sign of the DVD player (which is included in the advert) and the TV screen is pretty small for the size of the room (it's like a portable TV). The bed was fantastic! It's the most comfortable bed we've slept in whilst on holiday..... which can really make or break your holiday.

We'd certainly return to Pelyn if we come back to the area.




Mark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next season.

Excellent value and stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pelyn is modern, well equipped and very good value. It's location on a working boat yard provided an ever changing scene and lots of interest. Very peaceful in the evenings with just the sounds if the river lapping against the pontoon and the occasional breeze ringing around the masts if the yachts. Stunning region of Cornwall with so much to explore. Loved St Mawes, and The little church at St. Just in Roseland. Beautiful walks everywhere and lovely beaches.



although in a boatyard, just the ticket

Review submitted on Sun, 10 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We would certainly consider staying here again, and enjoyed the area greatly. we caught the small ferry across to Falmouth, wnich was very convenient.



Room with a view

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have stayed at both Polmoro and Pelyn a number of times, as the setting is ideal and the accommodation always good value. Having said that, we have a small number of gripes regarding our recent visit to Pelyn: the refrigerator may well be on its last legs, failing to keep food fresh for more than a day or two; for a summer stay, the douvet is far too heavy; flushing the toilet results in a tremendous squelching noise and, finally, it's a challenge to control the electric shower's water temperature. Our understanding is that the shower is due for replacement in the foreseeable future.

However, I would always recommend a stay at either Pelyn (my personal preference) or Polmoro and, for those who have not yet visited, St Mawes.




Pelyn freshwater boat yard

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place for 2 to stay, very comfortable, easy walking distance to St Mawes. Would love to come back in the near future. We were able to do all we wanted to do. Have recommended Pelyn already to family and friends.



As comfortable as being at home

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at Pelyn was great, a home from home. We were comfortable, didn't use all the facilities as we ate out every evening, and although there were washing and drying facilities, we decided not to let little things like that get in the way of our holiday.
The view from the veranda was lovely, had a couple of glasses in the evening just sitting there.
One comment, not really a downside, but one we laughed at a few times was the noisy plumbing, always when you flushed the loo, and occasionally for no apparent reason, but it is a minor point, and should not be looked at as a criticism.
As was pointed out in the visitors book, no mobile or phone signal which was a welcome break.
The guide we were sent for the Roseland was excellent, and we used it well. Some of the pubs we ate in were superb, and for a big anniversary meal, the Idle Rocks hotel was just the ticket. Expensive, yes but well worth it
St Mawes and the surrounding areas were beautiful, Yes, St. Mawes was commercial, but you have to expect that, it didn't take away from the beauty of the place.
Depending on what the future holds, we would definitely come to Pelyn again
Our thanks
Ken and Pat Bovington




Pelyn holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a lovely holiday at Pelyn.Pretty views, lovely walks, comfortable accomodation and easy access to the harbour.
I had some difficulty finding it without sat nav.