FB Twitter

One Old School Cottages

One Old School Cottages

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.6
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.4


This brilliant cottage is situated close to the Gerrans village green and with an easy walk to the local pub, this is a modern property built in traditional style. The village of Portscatho with its sandy beach is just a 5 minute walk away. One of our many dog friendly cottages.

Cosy "home from home"

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One Old School Cottages is a warm and cosy "home from home" with everything supplied you could possibly need and everything beautifully clean. We were a party of 3 adults and a dog and the accommodation suited our needs perfectly, with plenty of room to spread out.

We walked down the hill into Portscatho every morning and along the coast path to Porthcurnick beach so that our dog could have a swim (at the dog friendly beach all year round) which she thoroughly enjoyed.

Plenty to do and see in the area, we particularly enjoyed Mevagissey and the short trip across the creek on the King Harry Ferry to Trelissick Gardens.

Shop in Portscatho very well stocked and The Boathouse and Tatems provided us with takeaway pizzas and burgers.




FEEDBACK ON HOLIDAY COTTAGE

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A VERY CLEAN COMFORTABLE COTTAGE, WELL EQUIPPED WITH EVERYTHING NEEDED. BEDS COMFORTBLE AND VERY IMPRRESSED WITH MATTRESS/PILLOW PROTECTORS PROVIDED.



Simple property in a great location.

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The property was ideal for the family but I think that bath towels would have been better as the ones provided were too small, especially for my husband. I also think that dishwasher tablets should be provided within the cost. Also there was not really enough hot water for a family of five. On numerous occasions I had to boil the kettle in order to wash up.



Douglas replied 91 days ago
Glad you thought the cottage ideal for the family and thank you for your comments. My apologies that there were insufficient dishwasher tablets. You should have been supplied with more than enough for the week and we have reported this to the managing agent. Also very disappointed to hear about insufficient hot water. The managing agent is based just yards away and if notified would have been able to deal that problem.

Lovely house in quiet location near delightful beaches

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A nice house of good size in a pleasant village on the Roseland. Plenty of room for six people and a nice garden which is enclosed by walls so that our little dog couldn't escape.



Comfy cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
we had a lovely stay. Not allowed on near beach with dogs , but walked 10 minutes and found one that allowed them. A few nice little pubs. The cottage was comfortable and the garden was small but ok for our needs. When we arrived late evening the house was cold,storage heaters need to be put on the night before guests arrive. As they heat up overnight.



Douglas replied 202 days ago
Glad you had a lovely time. The beach in Portscatho does not allow dogs from Easter until September but fortunately it is the only beach on the Roseland where there are any such restrictions re dogs. Apologies that the heating had not been turned on prior to your arrival, it certainly should have been.

Lovely house in quiet location near delightful beaches

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A first class house that we have stayed in before. Plenty of room with drawing room, dining room, kitchen, utility room, two bathrooms, three bedrooms and a conservatory. A lovely location near St. Mawes and with nice beaches within walking distance, if up a steep hill. Also the house is very near The Royal Standard pub which is dog friendly and has a nice garden. Overall there is nothing you can say bad about this delightful house.



holiday in gerrans at one old school cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the cottage and village very handy for st mawes. but found the locals in portscatho stores and pub very unfriendly i have travelled to many parts of cornwall and devon and have never encountered this hostility before..



Home from Home

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One Old School Cottages provided us with everything we needed for a week away. The house was clean, cosy and comfortable and was a real 'home from home'. We were greeted with milk, biscuits and wine upon arrival which were very welcome, together with contact details for the caretaker. The kitchen was very well equipped with pots, pans and other dishes, as well as lots of cutlery. How lovely too to have a plentiful supply of dishwasher tablets and clothes washing capsules, rather than a token one or two. The bathrooms were clean and the bedrooms nicely presented. Although the weather was not conducive to sitting outside, our dog welcomed a safe space to wander in. We will certainly be back!



Home from Home

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely Cottage - Better than expectations - It was a home from home experience with cosy and comfortable furnishings - Close to Coastal paths ideal for walking with 2 Pubs very close and a few more within driving distance. Lovely part of Cornwall - Unspoilt and quiet - Would recommend this Property.



Another excellent week at Portscatho

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our 4th visit to One Old School Cottages in the last six years; the house is in an ideal location for the local beaches and Portscatho. We had a great week exploring the beaches and local sights.





Lovely property in great location

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was lovely with loads of room for 6 adults and exceptionally well equipped. (Conservatory was a great extra space when we all needed some space!) It was very comfortable and well furnished. Nothing seemed to have been forgotten. The location was superb - a 10 minute walk to the sea in the lovely village of Portscatho (though the pull on the way back up may have been too much for some!), but far enough out to be very quiet.

In summary a superb property that I would definitely recommend.




Very comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One Old School house is a lovely cottage, extremely comfortable. We were 4 adults one small baby and the accommodation was very well suited to us. Beautifully clean, lovely garden, well equipped kitchen. Not every one wants to eat out every night and with a small baby we were able to cater for ourselves with no equipment problems. The caretakers were very friendly and helpful. All in all we would recommend this cottage.



LOVELY WEEK IN THE OLD SCHOOL COTTAGE.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing week in the cottage. It was so comfortable I even enjoyed cooking the odd meal....We are so busy working that is a real treat to just relax together and enjoy nice food and each others company.
The cottage is gorgeous and I could move in. The information you left for your visitors was extremely helpful and the ferry was handy. Cornwall is beautiful and we will happily come again it was a lovely holiday, Thank you for all the care and attention you have put into making our stay great.




Roseland Peninsula

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A nicy cottage.with a great location.A nice bottle of wine.biscuits with milk in the fridge on our location.we would like to come back to the area as very nice,



A great find!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking to book a late break in Cornwall and stumbled across this gem. The location is excellent as a base camp for exploring the Roseland area. The cottage itself is comfortable and clean with the added bonus of off-street parking. To be honest, we were rattling around a bit as it was only me, my other half and our two Cavalier King Charlies.
The two local pubs are friendly enough and serve good size meal portions, although I would recommend that you book in advance if you intend to dine at the Plume of Feathers in Portscatho. I would also recommend trying the takeaway Pizza's from Tatams Coffee shop, although this is a just a Thurs-Sat evening service only.
The local beaches are superb and the majority are Dog friendly all year round. Our favourite was Towan Beach about a mile south from the cottage. We had to drag our woofers off the beach when we left. I would also recommend visiting the Hidden Hut which is just up the coast from Portscatho.
On one of the days we took the King Harry Ferry to Trelissick Gardens. The woodland walks there are beautiful as you often break out onto the shoreline of picturesque creeks. The castle at St Mawes is also worth a visit as is St Mawes itself.
We had a wonderful week and would definately book this cottage again. In fact we have had family and friends already asking about the cottage after seeing our photos on FB.




A great week in an excellent location

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cottage in an excellent location with easy access to a multitude of great walks and beaches.Very quiet and peaceful, and the perfect situation for a late summer break when its quieter but with basically good weather. Would definitely recommend it to others.



A lovely cottage in a great location for exploring the beautiful Roseland peninsula

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a super holiday staying in One Old School cottage. It was clean, bright and airy, well-equipped and with plenty of space for our family of two adults and three children under 10. The welcome gifts of wine and biscuits were very much appreciated and we used the maps, walking guides, jigsaws and books provided. The location was also great; easy walking distance to pubs, restaurants and shops in Gerrans and Portscatho. The beach at Portscatho was a short walk away, with the lovely Porthcurnick beach (and fabulous Hidden Hut café) being just a little further. We also enjoyed walking from the cottage to Towan beach a couple of times; about a 2 mile walk along a relatively gentle stretch of coast path with glorious views. We love the Roseland peninsula as it is a relatively unspoilt part of Cornwall and would recommend this cottage as a great base for a holiday on the Roseland.



One Old School Cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely new build cottage with flourishes of old style charm. The location is good for a local pub (of which the landlord was a little abrupt), but the school next door is full of screeching kids at break times (not a problem if you're expecting this) and the local beach is 500-600m down a very steep path. The garden is quite small (as is the norm with new style houses these days).

Ok, that's the main negatives. The good bits are as follows...

The cottage is in very good comdition and is very well equipped - the wifi is good as well which is important as mobile signals are poor in the local area. There is a free car park nearby if you have a second car with you just 50m away. The pub is 100m away and serves large protiins for Cornwall prices. The local shop/ (at the bottom of the hill) have just about everything you need - as is a second pub and also an excellent coffee bar with take-away stone baked pizzas. The village of Gerrans blurs into Portscatho and there are some lovely local beaches with a swimming platform out to sea. The villages are pretty much unspoilt with no major tourist developments - perfect! St Mawes is 10 minutes drive away with a foot ferry to Falmouth. The local coastal walks are lovely and unspoilt.

Would I stay there again? Absolutely!




A super cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are very familiar with the area and enjoy returning every year as it is so beautiful . The cottage is brilliant it was clean comfortable and well appointed. The caretakers were on the spot and very friendly and helpful.



idealic

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect cottage in a great location. we also loved Portscatho - very cosy and friendly village providing everything we wanted for a great weeks holiday.



Excellent house in nice village close to pub

Review submitted on Sun, 29 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One Old School cottages is a modern three bedroomed house built on the site of the old village school that was burnt down in 1982. There are also two bathrooms, a lounge, a dining room, a utility room, a good sized kitchen and a conservatory, plus a small garden. As there were only two of us and a small dog we had plenty of room, but the house is really large enough for six people without the feeling that you are tripping over each other. The village of Gerrans is very nice as this is our second visit in under a year and the local pub, The Royal Standard, is very handy for drinks and meals AND you can take the dog in.
On the whole an excellent holiday house in a lovely area.




50th Birthday Celebration Family Weekend in Gerrans

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A thoroughly enjoyable birthday family weekend. The cottage was well equipped, comfortable, clean and lovely. Great sea views and in a great location. Thank you.



A lovely comfortable well keep cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0


This is not a negative comment but the gas fire in the lounge would not light up, yet you could smell gas when you turned in on. The gas fire is a must in the colder months as the cottage only has night storage heaters and can be a little on the cold side





Douglas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for letting us know about the gas fire, which has only recently been serviced. We will get it checked to make sure it is working properly. The property managers are just a few minutes walk away and can deal with such issues very promptly. Glad to hear you found the cottage comfortable and well kept.