FB Twitter

Old School House

Old School House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.8


With stunning views across Gerrans Bay and within a few minutes walk of the villages of both Gerrans & Portscatho, the Old School House has a wonderful position. The property benefits from a modern construction yet has all the character of an older cottage including a cosy open fireplace and is a really comfortable place to stay.

Old School House

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable and well maintained holiday property . Everything from the excellent kitchen equipment to the pristine bed linen made my short stay, at the Old School House , really enjoyable. I would definitely book the house again .
Thank you




A great holiday location whatever the weather

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our cottage did us proud in the sunshine and the wind/rain, the kitchen was superbly equipped and the selection of cookbooks showed the owners have a keen interest in food. The village location is perfect, our dog could be exercised on the green opposite the cottage and it was just a short walk down to restaurants, the quay for crabbing and village shop. There wouldn't have been any need to use the car if we had managed to get all our beach clobber down to the Porthcurnick beach car park by ourselves! Highly recommend the Boathouse restaurant, Taverna wood-fired pizzas and the village shop in Portscatho for all your essentials.



Home from home!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super place to stay. Quiet, very clean, everything there you could need. Ample free car parking. Very convenient for walk down to Portscatho. Will be going there again!



Weekend Break

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old School house was everything that we required for our break. We were very impressed with the facilities. It appeared to have recently been refurbished. I would recommend it to any of my friends looking for a property in that area.



Our Cornwall Break

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in the Old School House on four occasions now and it never disappointed us. From the moment we enter the front door, our spirits lift and we relax. Such a peaceful location and great access onto the numerous coastal paths and walks.The accommodation is warm, cozy and very well equipped. Easy travelling distance to Falmouth, Truro and other popular locations for sightseeing and shopping.

We will be back again to breathe in the fresh Cornwall sea-air and enjoy our family down-time at the relaxing Old School House.




Gerrans with a view

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant cottage with outstanding views and convenient location. Website photos did not really do it justice. Would come again



Nearly excellent.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lack of items in the kitchen ie washup sponges kitchen roll washup liquid etc. Also I think a couple of extra toilet rolls?
A poorly fitted child gate that had to be stepped over at the top of the stairs was dangerous. Also my grandson stubbed his toe on the base. Small items but annoying. We did have an enjoyable stay as this is my favourite part of Cornwall.
As a post script: a few better quality cooking utensils as opposed to cupboards full of unnessary items.




Homy cosy with outstanding location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our Stay in Gerrans. The House is perfect and very comfortable. We had a great holiday.



Short Break

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely few days at The Old School House, it was just the right size for us and our daughter, if not a little long for the bunk bed! The house was lovely and only a short walk from Portscatho Harbour. Our family have been coming to the area for generations as we have family connections here and this was one of the best views of the sea from the house that we've had. It was a nice quiet area and perfect for our cockapoo too. It was windy and cold whilst we were there and we weren't left any logs, kindling or coal for the fire like it had said we would have just for one so we ended up having to turn the heaters up slightly as we were cold. The kitchen tap also leaked the whole time we were there so fixing that would be good as my husband was trying to study whilst listening to it, just small things though that can easily be rectified. Other than that it was perfect. Thank you.



Great house in lovely location.

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House suited our group of adults well. Enough space for the five of us and good selection of kitchen equipment although think a few new saucepans wouldn't go amiss. Very clean and comfortable. Lots of hot water.
Lovely location with sea view across to Dodman point. Garden gets evening sun.




Lovely cottage, superb location.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage had everything we needed for an excellent holiday. Very clean and comfortable with lots of character and with helpful caretakers just down the road. With 2 dogs, we were perfectly situated for walks from the door - along a quiet lane, the coast path or to quiet, dog friendly beaches. We were fortunate to have a hot, sunny week though this did mean the dogs could never be left in the car. However it is a very "dog friendly" area in terms of pubs and gardens etc so not too much of a problem. Portscatho and surrounding villages are full of character but relatively quiet and unspoilt so this cottage is ideally situated to explore the surrounding area.



Pleasant modern property

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Entirely pleasant property, well equipped. Good value for money for our time of stay (May). Only a 5/10 minute walk to Portscatho and the sea and a well stocked shop



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage big enough to sleep 4 - 6 people very comfortably. Good location for walking into the village.
South facing garden which got the sun from morning to early evening. Ideal.




Long time visitors to Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wev being going to Cornwall from Newcastle for 10 years now and stayed in many cottages . This was our first experience of Roseland Peinsula and in February . The cottage was perfect ,beautiful sea views , spotless clean , well equipped except for the lack of a freezer in the house , trotting out to the garage every time you wanted an ice cube is not ideal or storing meat for the week . Perfect place to relax on an evening in front of the fire , loved the touch of finding the old record player and records gave us a great nights entertainment ,after the beautiful walks right on the door step and the shower room down stairs is ideal for wet sandy doggies to get showered. All in all a wonderful week .




The Old school house Gerrans

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was brilliant; warm, astonishingly well equipped with plenty of hot water, and with the dog, excellent to come straight into the utility room from walks.
The location of the cottage meant there was great access to long walks and easy access to the village and pubs/shops.
Very friendly village and local pub.




We could see the sea from our bed

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old School House was spotlessly clean and very pretty. We took our 2 dogs and therefore especially appreciated the utility room and charming garden. We were just 2 people in a cottage for 6 so there was plenty of space. We would suggest that the hot water supply is inadequate for 2 baths, although the shower provided plenty of hot water. A colander would be a useful addition to the kitchen equipment.



Old School House in excellent position

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent Cottage in great position and very clean. Very good for families, could do with larger double bed and new dryer as the one they have is quite old.



Old school house

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage and we enjoyed our stay very much. The location was at the top of a steep hill but that was the only downside to the location. House was beautiful



Ideal Holiday Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, for a quiet holiday. 2 pubs and local shops within easy walk plus lots of good walks. Cottage is nicely decorated/furnished and the wall garden is completely enclosed. Had a really relaxing holiday in a quiet location that was still within easy reach of attractions and retail therapy. Will definitely be back.



Our Third Visit to Old School House

Review submitted on Thu, 21 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We love this cottage and have stayed here a few times before. The recent refurbishment is fantastic and the property is welcoming, cosy, practical and comfortable. The location is easy to get to and in a good position for visiting Cornwall's many attractions.



Cosy Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently booked a long weekend at Old School House for my grown up family. The cottage is very well laid out with an extensively equipped kitchen and spacious utility room for all your outdoor gear. The cosy sitting room was complete with an open fire and a selection of board games so it is perfect for a night in!

Two double bedrooms and a single room with bunk beds enables 6 people to sleep, but more suited to a family with small children.

The cottage is minutes way from the centre of the village with shops, pubs and a restaurant. Coastal walks and a beach on your doorstep provide plenty of outdoor pursuits for all the family.

I would recommend Old School House to anyone looking for a quiet family break away.




Spotlessly clean and very well equipped.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old School House is kept to a very high standard and has everything you could possibly need. The Royal Standard, just down the road serves an excellent Sunday Roast and was very dog friendly. Good walks all around and some beautiful views.



The Old School House - What a lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband, daughter and I thought that the Old School House was a perfect place to stay. It was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and comprehensively equipped. I used to let a cottage for some years through 'English Country Cottages' and this is way up at the top end of the market. The owners have used good quality fittings and equipment and have put a lot of detailed thought into this stylish house; it is pretty and everything is easy, comfortable and it works well.
The Royal Standard pub just down the road by the church provides very good home cooked Sunday lunches. The surrounding coves are unspoilt and are magical places to sit and watch the evening sun go down. The boat trips from St Mawes are well organised and interesting - there is also a water taxi available in case of need or for trips.
We had a wonderful week in the School House. Thank you.




Very clean, comfortable and convenient

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an excellent stay hear, great for walking to the beach, pub n village. Plenty of variations for dog walks too. :-)



Lovely house in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a brilliant week - thanks! The house is really lovely: warm, comfortable, well-equipped and more like staying in someone's home than a holiday cottage. The maps and walking books were particularly welcome.

It is also in a fabulous location, with sea views and easy parking. Everything we needed was in walking distance: the coastal path; beautiful beaches, including dog-friendly ones; a choice of pubs with good food and drink; the village shop.

The Roseland is a real hidden gem - even the weather was kind despite the forecasts that said otherwise.




Every enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Fri, 02 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old School House is a very nice property. Everything one needs is there. The caretakers are very nice and helpful. We would stay there again and can recommend it.



Cornwall holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a great location with everything you could possibly wish for in a holiday cottage! We also had a week of sunshine which was perfect for all the family - We'll be back!



Fabulous holiday home

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most comfortable, clean and warm house we have stayed in. The back garden and tiled utility room fabulous for the dog and coastal path walks amazing. The weather was gorgeous but house so nice we would have been happy just to sit by the open fire and read. Will definitely be back.



Staying in the Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very very clean and tidy with everything that you could possibly want for a holiday. Sadly we didn't manage to find any wine glasses until half an hour before our departure as they were in a cupboard hidden behind the always-kept-open dining room to kitchen door, but that was our fault. Well-equipped cottage, lovely garden in good condition.



Comfy dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property with beautiful coastal walks. Two good dog friendly pubs serving excellent food. Steep hill down to Portscatho but kept us fit. Would visit again.



Fantastic stay in the Old School H Ouse

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it real home from home everything you could possibly need was provided really comfortable clean and just 5 mins away from the best coffee in St, Mawes , We will return as soon as we can,



August 2013

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Delightful house in a quiet location, adjacent to village green where children could play. Good off street parking with more free parking over road. Detached from very busy Porthscatho but convenient for all its holiday amenities with lots of good beaches nearby.