FB Twitter

Little Carwinnick

Little Carwinnick

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
89% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


This beautifully converted barn is in lovely countryside north of Tregony at the gateway to the Roseland Peninsula. A truly superb place to stay, this conversion is centrally heated and double glazed, yet retains its undoubted character, with oak timber floors, exposed stonework, a newly fitted kitchen and bathrooms.

Ideal cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The grounds are well keeped the barn was warm well equipt ideal for surrounding area. Good base for a busy or chilled hols



Accommodation review

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location was lovely and upstairs living area was very comfortable. Downstairs bedrooms felt and smelled a bit damp and bathroom could do with updating.



Nigel Clements replied 64 days ago
I’m sorry you were disappointed with the property. I appreciate you had a child and a baby. You used the outside rotary airer on the first day only. We assume that for the rest of your holiday you dried all your washing inside, despite the weather being good, this would account for the property smelling damp.

Excellent all round

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Pam and Nigel were excellent hosts, ensuring you had everything you required for a great holiday, really friendly and very welcoming. The cottage is in a lovely rural area, central for north or south coasts, nice and quiet for relaxing after a day of exploring Cornwall. Would definitely be going back to this place in the future.



A wonderfully relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great holiday let. It is the most relaxing holiday that my wife and I have had. Nigel and Pam were brilliant.



A perfect little cottage in the middle of Cornwall for your holidays

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage provides everything you need for your holidays in Cornwall. It is a perfect getaway to see all the interesting spots in middle and south Cornwall. A nice little terrace with a set of garden furniture gives you the opportunity to enjoy some time near the cottage as well.
Our hosts Nigel and Pam have been very welcoming, we got a welcome package by mail right after our booking and even have received some messages via cellular phone closer to our arrival with very helpful information like how to get to the cottage.
We can recommend this cottage to every party of up to 4 people without any reservations.




Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In our opinion this is a very lovely cottage in a very pretty location, very central for getting to Truro, falmouth, newquay, its not even very far to places like lands end so excellant location for us. The cottage is very clean, tidy, provides everything as per website, wifi is a little tempremental but this is to be expected out in the country, the property is warm and cosy, me and my partner stayed for the week and i can honestly say its one of the best holidays we've ever had and one of the best cottages we have stayed in. Pam and Nigel are lovely people in our opinion and sent us tons of info prior to going and they were very lovely when meeting them, we like to be left to our own devices on holiday, they done precisely this and we cant thank them enough but they wouldve been there had we needed anything and nothing was too much trouble this was very clear. There is a lovely set of table and chairs out the back of the cottage and we sat there one nice sunny afternoon with a bottle of wine and couldnt have imagined anywhere more perfect. All in all i cant recommend this cottage enough, unfortunately we dont travel down to cornwall very often as its a 6 hour trip for us but will hopefully be able to come down again soon and we would not hesitate to come back to this cottage



review

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very comfortable and the owners were very welcoming. We appreciated the automatic heating system as we were unlucky enough to have a day of gales and horizontal rain. Excellent location for the Eden Project and Gardens of Heligan and also within easy distance of the Roseland and the North coast beaches.



Great find

Review submitted on Thu, 18 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved staying at this cottage. Was perfect for exploring the area.
The hosts made us feel very welcome - the accommodation was just as we expected.




Highly recommended - the best we've stayed in!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Little Carwinnick is slightly off the beaten track, but not by much! The location is quiet but very well-placed for conveniently-accessing the best bits (town and country) of Cornwall. We were met by the owners, who showed us around the cottage/barn and gave helpful information to help ensure an enjoyable stay. The accommodation was clean, bright and well-furnished; modern washing machine, dishwasher and fridge were included. It was a pleasant surprise to find that cleaning materials (and washing-up, dishwasher and washing machine detergent) had been provided by the owners. Crisp bedlinen, loads of hot water, all very pleasant indeed. We enjoyed a week of dry, sunny weather and even managed a few glasses of wine on the patio at sunset. We hope to visit again.



A wonderful holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at Little Carwinnick. Excellent accommodation with everything you could possibly need. Well placed for travelling to both North and South coasts. A lovely and very comfortable place to come back to after a days exploring around many places of interest in Cornwall. Nigel and Pam were very friendly and welcoming. We only wish that we could have stayed longer!



Carwinnick

Review submitted on Sun, 17 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great accommodation Tranquil, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Did plenty of walks on the Roseland Peninsula and had perfect weather which was a bonus



Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful week in Little Carwinnick. The location is excellent for visiting Cornwall, the barn is very cosy, well equipped, and in excellent condition. Together with the other cottages on the premises, you get the feeling of living in a tiny village surrounded by ample grounds. The owners are very friendly and provided helpful tips for walks throughout the area.



Great location, disappointing cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Aug 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was quite basic with little storage in the bedrooms and what was available was had a strong smell of damp. In addition we felt the level of cleanliness was inadeguate. It's a shame as the location and setting were great!



Nigel & Pam replied more than 1 year ago
So sorry you had a disappointing experience at Carwinnick. We are really surprised that you found a smell of damp, bearing in mind that Cornwall has just experience its warmest 4 weeks since we converted the barn in 2007 and we are open all the year with numerous winter bookings. No one has ever complained before either on Upfront reviews or TripAvisor. I won't respond to your comments on cleanliness, except we re-cleaned within 24 hours of your arrival and you were still dissatisfied.

Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent hosts who accepted a last minute booking. Great property, lovely grounds. Would thoroughly recommend staying at Little Carwinnick, especially if you like the countryside.



The best place to stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to relax and getaway in Cornwall. The singing of birds, the rustle of trees, peace, tranquility, nature ... We recommend to all! Nice and helpful owners. The house features the highest level.



Little Carwinnick

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really freindly welcome and very helpful owners on site - local knowledge is a real bonus!! Very quiet and peaceful yet within easy reach by car of all the places you want to go.



Fab home from home holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb accommodation in a beautiful area of Cornwall, fabulous guidance and recommendations given by owners, highly recommend a stay at Lt Carwinnick!



Family's return to cornwall after 10 years

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2013
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely settings down a narrowed lane, hidden away in the greens of cornwall. LOcation was although hidden, easy to find because of the very good information provided before arrival. I used a pinpoint map location on my satnav. The owners went out of their way to accomodate our family , even provided us as exceptionwith a first day morning breakfast assortment. Even if we were earlier than breakfast in a hurry to go and enjoy cornwall, we did appreciate the warm wellcome. The owners were a bit suprised , when we thought breakfast could be ordered as no one every did ( and there is normally no need , except..), as we believed and read from the informations presented on website and pdfs.
Properties are very cosy, cornish rural stylish but very modern and equipped with all facilities. Ideal was the sun daywarmed livingspace with kitchen upstairs and the summer cooled bedrooms downstairs. If just to mention 1 minus point: for a family of 4 , 2 adults and 2 almost adult children, just 1 toilet facility integrated in the badroom, left us with long waiting times in the morning and evenings . A second seperate toilet would be a perfect upgrade !
Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay over very much , enjoying as we did 10 years ago, when children were still much younger and we as well !