FB Twitter

Lestowder Cottage

Lestowder Cottage

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.3
Condition
3.9
Location
4.6
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


Lestowder Farm Cottage is a rural retreat hidden deep on the Lizard Peninsula. There is a fishing lake and 1/4 acre of private garden and the beach is just a 5 minute walk down the hill. The cottage itself has lots of character features including a wood burning stove and is dog friendly.

A Great Week

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week based at Lestowder. It is right out in the countryside making it peaceful and relaxing.



a quiet hideaway

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Despite this cottage is in the north east part of the Lizard peninsula, the many coves and bays in the west coast are within half an hour driving distance. there are also many lovely places to visit and enjoy in the vicinity eg Helford river area. so in terms of location for 'places to go' is better than 'good'. However, some may not like the narrow and winding farmland dirt roads that this cottage is located. the property is spacious, quiet, well stocked with kitchen necessities. the conditions reflect its age but better than OK. Since we had not been to other places, so it's difficult to compare this cottage with others in Cornwall.



Idyllic setting

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the most tranquil places I have stayed in, this really is a cottage for those who want peace and glorious coastal scenery. The access to the coastal path through a private track makes it very convenient for exploring this part of the coast. The owner is very friendly and helpful in an unobtrusive way. Lovely cream tea on arrival.



Lovely short stay break lots of fresh air and sunshine - just what we needed

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for our family and dog. Lovely location -rural which is what we are used to - large garden and lake for us to play - short walk to the beach and coast walks in both directions with stunning views. House well equipped. Host extremely helpful.



A lovely quiet location

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lestowder cottage lived up to our expectations. It is in a very remote location, which added to its charm for us, but I can see may be an issue if you don't like driving on single track roads. We were blessed with excellent weather and spent most evenings wandering down to the beach or chasing the kingfisher around the pond, although we never managed to get a photo! The interior was clean and welcoming and the beds comfortable. We would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for some peace and quiet in a lovely location.



Very welcoming

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and the cream tea in arrival was a lovely touch. The fishing pond was great a stones throw from the cottage.



Home from Home

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The rural location won’t be everyone’s cup of tea but we’d loved the direct access onto the SW coastal path. The cottage was a lovely, comfortable ‘home from home’



Stay at Lestowder Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This property was in a great location and we had some lovely walks, some of them being circular routes starting from the accomodation and it is well placed for exploring the Helford area and the rest of the Lizard peninsula. The accommodation was looking tired and in need of some improvement (in particular the main bedroom and en suite). Extra time spent on the cleanliness would have made it more pleasant.



Family summer holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mr Martin gave us a lovely warm welcome to Lestowder Cottage on arrival, this included a fantastic fresh cream tea! Loved the cottage, Very comfortable with plenty of space to chill, plus the garden and surrounding grounds to enjoy.
Walking to the beach before breakfast was so enjoyable!
This cottage is a great location to set up base for visiting the surrounding area of south Cornwall.
I would recommend Lestowder Cottage for a family holiday.




Fantastic for a family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic property for a family holiday, in an out of the way spot. Our boys loved everything about it (including the reclining sofas!) and there was so much space and things for them to do. You can walk to the pebbly beach in a few minutes, or walk along the coast path to nearby villages if you are feeling more energetic. The accommodation is not super modern, but it's neat and clean, and has everything you need. The beds are very comfortable and the owner, who lives next door, was friendly and helpful.



Lovely house with an excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
David's house at Lestowder is very comfortable and well-equipped. It is only a short walk to a small beach and to the national coast path. David himself was a very friendly and helpful host. My husband was particularly taken with the wind turbine!"




Lovely holiday cottage in tranquil location.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lestowder Cottage is definitely rural, no doubting that. It is quiet, peaceful and tranquil. David Martin was available when you needed him and left you alone when you didn't. Some people have commented that the decor is dated, but we didn't find it to be the case. It was homely and comfortable, and the grounds surrounding the cottage are huge, with a short woodland walk to a private beach. Our only gripe was the weather - we had barely two days of sunshine, which was disappointing, but that isn't the fault of the location - it is just the way it is. It rains in Britain. With it being so rural, the roads leading to the cottage are very narrow with a good spread of passing points along the way, so if you're not a confident driver, you may get a little nervous, but otherwise, they're country roads - what would you expect? Not only would I recommend the cottage, I would stay again - and again, but for longer than seven days next time. And if you are into looking up at the stars, on a nice night - it is stunning. I was sad to leave the cottage, it felt like home for the short time I was there.



Superb holiday house

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A friendly welcome with delicious cream teas waiting for my family & I. Lestowder Cottage is a great size and had everything we needed. The beds were very comfy, area was so secluded and peaceful. We enjoyed the Garden & BBQ, when the weather permitted. We all enjoyed the short walk to an almost private beach & had great fun swimming when the tide was out. Had two great weeks exploring Cornwall. Would definitely recommend staying here and hope to return again.




Lovely cottage close to the beach

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was very pleasant and we enjoyed our time in the cottage. It's brilliantly located for anyone looking to be close to the beach, who also wants a proper countryside break away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It's a lovely place and I'd highly recommend it.




Lestowder Cottage, end section of a farmhouse in need of modernisation

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The photograph of the "cottage" is not a true representation of the end section of a farmhouse that looks like it was converted some 20 years ago and has had nothing done to it since then. Our week stay was in March, the cottage had electric heaters that were adequate for the daytime and a wood burner with enough wood for only one evening! The down stairs bathroom, upstairs shower room and kitchen were very dated and in need of a good clean. The french doors to the overgrown garden would not lock. The main bedroom had an interestingly old four poster bed, but sadly the metres felt as thou it was the one that came with this bed, also foam filled pillows are not good. The location was good.



David Martin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to give a review. I am sorry you were disappointed with the accommodation. I endeavour to provide a comfortable relaxing holiday in an environment that is in keeping with a cottage in the countryside. You seem to be under the impression that very little had been done to the cottage for 20 years, when in fact the kitchen was a brand new kitchen with wood laminate flooring installed 5 years ago and the log burner was installed 3 years ago. The faux leather suite with recliners is approximately 4 years old. I'm sorry this was not to your taste. Curtains, linen and general décor are replaced on a timely basis. Wood for the log burner is provided, as advertised (for one evening only). We appreciate the feedback about the bathrooms and these have now been refurbished. The French doors do actually lock, although a little stiff. There are a variety of pillows provided, as we acknowledge different people have different tastes. Cleanliness is a top priority, there is an understanding that guests departing leave the property as they found it, however we always do a thorough inspection and clean, where necessary, to meet our required standard. With regards, David

Christmas Break

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for some peace and quiet, then this is perfect. We spent our first Christmas away from it all and was stress free. The owner Mr Martin greeted us and he was really helpful. The reclining sofas were a real surprise. Kitchen was well equipped and the open plan is very nice. The walk with the dogs was lovely, this lead to the beach and was great. The mild weather was a bonus too.This is another holiday cottage we will add to our list.



Peaceful

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
If you need peace and quiet, this is the place to go !
Located on a farm - David
( owner of cottage) was very helpful if you needed anything.
Lovely location - no traffic- short walk down the track to beach. Perfect for dogs. Pretty coastal walks.
Yes, driving these lanes are challenging, but, you're out in the country, so expect this.
Pool table and table tennis in the garage was great for the kids.
This really is the place to get away from it all, so, if you want everything at your door step, this will not be suitable for you.






The most relaxing holiday you could ask for

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lestowder is a beautiful and magical place. The setting is idyllic, with open space in which to wander and the added bonus of private access to a secluded beach. Although set on a working farm, its owner David is so easy going and accommodating that you are made not to feel restricted in any way, although of course fully respecting the farm's needs and routines, including those of its very fine livestock. The cottage is comfort itself. I have seen previous reviews that are slightly critical of its condition. Whilst it's true to say the fittings aren't the most modern, it is all in keeping with the pace of life and the surroundings. Everything works, it's supremely comfortable and relaxing - and we'll be going back very soon, because it's just a lovely, friendly place to be



Cornish holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely and quiet a good rest wonderful private beach great for the dogs, the house was large and comfortable but the standard of cleanliness was not great it needs a refurbishment and some of the furniture is old and a little tatty, the host is a lovely man and very helpful





We had a lovely stay at Lestowder Cottage, the Owner's are very friendly!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely and quiet, you can walk to a secluded cove in minutes. We enjoyed our stay but Lestowder Cottage would benefit from some TLC in places. Thank you for the cream tea on arrival...very nice touch!



You wouldn't think you'd find too many undiscovered jewels hidden away in Cornwall, but here's one.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You wouldn't think you'd find too many undiscovered jewels hidden away in Cornwall, but here's one. A stunning location by anybody's standards just a stone's throw from the SW Coastal Path and a private woodland walk down to a delightful beach. The cottage on Lestowder Farm is very comfortable and private, and should you need anything, the owner is extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't go too far because we didn't need to; we had everything we could want with the local walks to Gillan and Porthallow, the coast and the views. A true hideaway.



Stay at Lestowder August 2015

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location, warm welcome, good facilities though some areas good be updated. The use of a games room and being able to borrow the owner's canoe to take down to the beach was a bonus.



Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Off the beaten track idyllic location - wonderful to see the stars so clearly with no light pollution. Great walks, pubs and beaches close enough to walk and lots further afield would recommend Eden project and Minack theatre. Mr Martin and his daughter were perfect hosts helping out if needed. Would absolutely recommend for a family holiday.



Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Off the beaten track idyllic location - wonderful to see the stars so clearly with no light pollution. Great walks, pubs and beaches close enough to walk and lots further afield would recommend Eden project and Minack theatre. Mr Martin and his daughter were perfect hosts helping out if needed. Would absolutely recommend for a family holiday.



Lestowder Cottage - A Brief Review

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A good property, well equipped, situated and with very pleasant family running it. Our family of three generations enjoyed
it immensely and hope to return. The grounds and the access to a virtually private beach are absolutely splendid.
High tide gives a bit of beach whilst low tide provides rock pools. The walking opportunities on the coast path and around the area are very good indeed. The Cornish lanes make driving around "interesting".




Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was lovely, very well equipped, we were working the week so great to have everything to hand, loved the beds, what every holiday place should have, so comfy and good quality. The children loved the large garden and we all loved the private beach.
All in all one of the best places we have stayed in




Lestowder Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lestowder Cottage represented excellent value for money in an enviable location, once you find it you realise how great the location is for peace and quiet. The sea is so close and the private gates down to the beach is a great find, for adults and families alike. It is a great area for walking,and the cottage always had plenty of hot water for baths on our return and a handy outside hose to wash the dog down with.
The interior was plain and simple with great reclining sofa's and a lovely big kitchen with chairs and tables for sitting down for supper altogether.
The bedrooms were lovely with views over the countryside and plenty of towels provided, the master suite with the four poster bed and matching furniture is quite unique.
David was very welcoming and provided a lovely cream tea on arrival, whilst we were there the entire coast were under flood warnings and on occasion we lost electricity, David checked we were ok and brought us more logs for the wood burner so we could keep warm, it made the stay a bit of an adventure and we loved it.
I can't think of anywhere nicer for families who value getting away from it all and spending quality time with family.




Great Christmas

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thank you for great service i had no problems at all booking my stay at Lestowder Cottage and i wanted to take an extra dog no problem, the cottage for us was in an ideal position short walk to a rocky beach very nice and also no noise great our christmas break went so well, the cottage is in good order there were a few small problems with the plumbing in the master bedroom shower either burt you or froze you but we got over that and the taps in the sink didnt work the rest very good.
If i was going to be very picky i would say both bathrooms need refurbing overal a great stay recomend it and nice owners could do with a little more logs for fire if you got a wood burner in winter we used it run out of wood first day so then had to go hunting for logs for the rest of our stay.
Colin Sara Read.




Lestowder cottage November 2013

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Nov 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very welcoming owners, lovely situation with access to small cove through the woods which the dog loved.

Beds very comfortable, bedding very good indeed, as was the lounge suite.

Downstairs bathroom dated but perectly functional. Upstairs en-suite a real boon. Kitchen excellent.

Very much enjoyed and highly recommended for particularly people with dogs.

NB Pasties from bakery in St Keverne to die for (owned by a frenchman would you believe!!?)