FB Twitter

Helford Cottage

Helford Cottage

3.9
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
75% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
3.9
Condition
4.1
Location
3.8
Value
3.8
Customer
Service
3.9


Helford Cottage has been built for couples with a modern and romantic design. Located on the beautiful South Cornish coast, it is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of a collection of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna and large gardens. Up to 2 dogs are welcome at no additional charge.

Stunning secret hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our first time visiting Cornwall for many years, but could not speak highly enough of Tresooth Cottages. Probably 2 or 3 miles from the local pub and supermarket but such a brilliant hideaway. Make sure to cvisit Argal Reservoir for some fishing, Swan pool beath for kayaking and remember plenty of change for pay and display car parks



Functional accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Helford Cottage is one of a row of holiday properties created from the conversion of some farm buildings. If you are looking for a cosy, traditional, quaint Cornish cottage, move on: this is not the place for you. The front wall is fully glazed, top to bottom, while the interior decor (any colour you like so long as it is white) is definitely minimalist. However, if you don't mind the somewhat industrial ambience, then the cottage is a good, well-located place for exploring central Cornwall.

The kitchen is well-equipped (the white units co-ordinating nicely with the rest of the decor). The bathroom has plenty of space, with an electric shower. The bedroom, which is upstairs on a kind of mezzanine floor, is also very spacious, and the bed itself is probably the most comfortable that we have ever experienced in holiday cottages around the country. In keeping with the decor, furnishing is also minimalist; a single, low-level settee, a circular table and three dining chairs, and a TV downstairs, and a wardrobe, dressing table and bedside cabinets upstairs.

We found Helford Cottage fine as a base for travelling out each day. It helped that the weather was excellent for the whole time that we were there. Internet access is patchy unless you go down to the games room at the end of the row of cottages. We did not make use of the pool (still being filled after the winter), but could see that that would be a good attraction during the summer. To summarise: it served our needs perfectly well for a week away, with the proviso that its appearance and decor may not be to everyone's taste.




Week in Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Helford cottage was lovely. We had an issue with the hot tub which was fixed immediately. It was a relaxing cottage. Good location to get around Cornwall, however, you do need a car to get to shops and pubs (at night).



Ideal for taking a dog

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Mar 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable and clean property. Ideal for the 2 of us and our dog. So nice to have such comfort where dogs are welcome. The only negative point was the scalding hot water from the tap in kitchen and bathroom. This was reported at the end of our stay to the booking company. I would recommend this property to other people and their dog.



Lovely accommodation slightly spoilt by the dogs next door being left in all day barkink!!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Would definitely return if the Manager of the site did ensure that other people abided by the rules and did not leave dogs unattended in the accommodation barking all day



Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review Mousehole I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay and I'm sorry about the dogs barking sadly there are some irresponsible owners.

20160826-helford

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage good. Kitchen equipment good. Brand new shower mat and clean shower curtain. Excellent base for travelling around Cornwall. Phone signal dreadful and no internet either. Overall I love the cottages. This is our second visit. Better value and freedom than a hotel or B&B.



Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review Caroline. We are pleased you had another enjoyable stay. We do provide internet in the communal games room but signal can be intermittent. We will hopefully welcome you back again next year too. Many thanks

great area, great cottage loved Cornwall & the people

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
cottage was in a great area, found it difficult to keep the dogs from going upstairs as the open plan makes this difficult ended up putting the chairs at the stairs. Did find it surprising only i hand/bath towel for a week i know when we asked we were advised the washing machine was there and the dryers were at the outside of the cottage but when your on your holidays its the only escape i get from not washing. overall loved cornwall but found it frustrating with all the beach bans for the dogs that was a challenge. Cornwall people are amazing friendly and could not do enough for you we loved speaking to all the people we met.



Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jan, Thanks for taking the time to review one of our properties. As far as I'm aware one towel PP for a week is standard practice in self catering accommodation. If you needed more Darren the onsite manager would have been happy to provide them, you just needed to ask. We can also provide stairgates if needed for dogs and children. I'm sorry about the beach bans but for future reference there are numerous websites where you can get all dog info around areas and beaches etc. We have 2 sites and the one near Newquay doesn't have as many bans on beaches. Thanks

good let in a terrible location

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was clean and well equipped, although would have been more relaxing with blackout blinds to bedroom window. The manager took the trouble to introduce himself on arrival and was helpful throughout our stay. It was impossible to enjoy the surrounding area on foot making it essential to always travel by car to access the river or beaches. In a nutshell, good accommodation in an inaccessible, remote location



Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Helford Jean. We are glad you had a nice stay but sorry you found the location remote. It's clearly shown on the map where it is and in the description on the listing. Most guests love being a 5/10 min drive from the River Helford and out in the peace and quiet.

disappointingly average

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
we booked this holiday for our 10th Wedding Anniversary as it has a hot tub/jacuzzi and king size beds . the accommodation was clean and tidy and was spacious . the accommodation lacked in a few basic areas . the shower was old and the extractor was full of dust and cobwebs , the bathroom smelled of damp for the whole of our stay despite leaving the extractor on . The shower had no shelf of area to put toiletries for use in the shower , and the temperature control had 2 settings cold or tepid. The shower was exceedingly slow to drain , so if you were in there for longer than 30 seconds the tray filled with water . Suggestion for future renovation - make this a wet room with a power shower and decent extraction. The kitchen : the extractor seemed to pull the smoke and steam from the cooker straight up on to the smoke detector , resulting in us setting of the alarms The pots and pans are very cheap and basic , neither of the grill pan handles actually fit the grill pan ! the torch didnt work when i went to use it . washer dryer had a notice informing us that due to a design fault the tumble dryer function was near useless , so an alternative tumble dryer was available across the car park . that said the kitchen was clean and useable . The lounge area was pleasant and clean and the tv etc all worked fine . there were pet stains upstairs on the carpet and some kind of cosmetic stains on the dressing table and curtains . the bed was a super king , but is old and has seen better days , because of this my husband has had to find a chiropractor whilst we were away to try and help with the back pain it caused .
the swimming pool had quite a lot of dead leaves in it and you were required to remove the pool cover yourself to use it , then put it back on afterwards , whilst i appreciate the environmental aspect of this rule , it was not easy to do this alone .
the sauna was adequate and functioned ok , but you had to put it on a few times in quick succession to get it up to temperature . the spa pool/jacuzzi has a bubble cut off time of 9pm , which isn't mentioned in the literature , we didn't realise this until it wouldn't work when we tried to use it at 9.30pm .




Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jill, Thanks for taking the time to review one of our properties and I'm sorry you had an average time. It's a shame some of these issues weren't raised when you were there with the onsite manager as we could have got some of these rectified for you. I can confirm the extractor fan has been replaced and that the shower runs freely. Grill pan handles fit fine and we have put a new torch in. We can't see a problem with the bed . In my experience Combi washer/dryers are never that effective which is why we provide a separate tumble dryer to use. The location of the pool is around trees so I'm afraid leaves do enter and are removed daily. This is another reason we leave the cover on to try and stop some of this happening and to keep it nice and warm. Due to noise for properties surrounding the pool this area is closed at night and not available 24 hours. Thanks

Comfort

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Nov 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Would b nice with another sofa and black out curtains. Would b nice to return in the summer to get the benefits in using outdoor pool & jacuzzi as didn't say on original advert they closed in September . Thanks



Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review one of our properties, as they only sleep 2 people there is only one sofa put in. I will make a note about black out curtains as a possible addition next season. I'm not sure if you missed it but the advert has always stated the pool is only open from April 1st - 30th Sep. Hopefully we will welcome you back again in the season so you can try it out. Kind Regards

Great place to stay to explore this corner of Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable with lots of space although the clean, modern style inside might surprise some.
More storage would perhaps be useful eg small bookcase downstairs for maps, books etc that we brought, extra shelf in the bathroom for all my wife's cosmetics + more drawer space upstairs for clothes. Kitchen is better equipped than many cottages we have stayed in. The dog walking field was very useful + much enjoyed by Oscar.




Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review one of our properties we are glad you enjoyed it. I've made a note of the extra storage suggestion and will add it to the file for improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Thanks

.,june holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was the second time of visiting,and enjoyed our stay this time as well as the first,this time we took a 10month old puppy,with us after the first couple of days he'd learn;t the rules,& mixing with other dog's.the whole of the accommodation was first class,nice and informal.all being well we hope to return next year.



Country View Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Helford Cottage. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and that your 4 legged friend also had a nice time. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Kind Regards Jodie

Great holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 25 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage and setting very comfortable. The only criticism was that the curtains were too thin especially as bedroom faced east and we were woken up at 6am each morning. Staff were very friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location close to Falmouth, we will be back, dog enjoyed it too.



Nice stay, car needed

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2013
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in good condition. The architecture is good for holidays but I don´t want to live there. It´s an open room and when you cook it smells. The white carpet is a problem when you walked on a rainy day. The equipment works but it´s the cheapest and there are only 4 spoons etc. Due to the location you need a car. I would come back again.



CornwallsCottages.co.uk on behalf of the Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review our property, we are sorry you experienced a few minor issues. I’m afraid as they are open plan for light there can be some smells from cooking. As these properties are set up for 2 people leaving 4 items of cutlery is more than enough we feel for 2 people and with regards to furnishing and appliances they weren’t the cheapest, we thought that would be problematic through the amount of usage the cottages get. We are glad you would come again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Helford Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2013
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Firstly, the cottage was clean and the kitchen well equipped. The owners have tried to ensure guests have to a good range of facilities in the pool and sauna (although we didn't use them). Having said that, there were some niggles which made our stay less than comfortable. The front of the cottage was largely glass but only one small window opened upstairs and there were no opening windows downstairs. The week we stayed at Helford cottage was hot in the daytime and humid in the evenings. The cottage was very uncomfortable as the only way to let in any air was to have the door open allowing slugs and snails from the patio come inside! The cottage was dog friendly and we looked forward to taking our dog on the 'woodland walk'. This in fact turned out to be a short path around a tiny wooded area behind the row of cottages which took about 2 minutes to walk. There was no plug point near a mirror in the bedroom, difficult for ladies to style their hair. This was mentioned several times in the visitors book by previous guests but obviously not acknowledged nor acted upon (we had to buy an extension lead).
The location was disappointing, we expected to be able to walk into a village but as it was the complex of cottages was quite isolated.
The cottage was advertised with a very professional and tempting online video tour and I think we may have had high expectations, the reality being somewhat disappointing.




CornwallsCottages.co.uk on behalf of the Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Helford. Firstly we are glad you found the cottage well equipped and clean with good facilities. With regards to the Helford being hot and not being able to open windows. This is something we’ve been made aware of recently due to it being a very warm August and have now purchased some fans which will be distributed in the barns. This is as much as we can do obviously as the windows have already been fitted we can’t gain any more openers in them now. The final issue you raised of “woodland walk” someone else made this point so we changed the description to say “Small rural path to walk the dog with white dove house” a few weeks ago. I’ve forwarded the comments of plug to the manager down there and told him to purchase an extension lead. I hope the above issue didn’t put too much of a dampener on your holiday and you still enjoyed the peace and quiet that we offer. Thanks, Country View Cottages

Great property, not so great property management...

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2013
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Helford, a lovely set up in a great location. Our main source of negative feedback is the upkeep and cleanliness of the property.

The property manager lives next door and he was very friendly and open, however, the property had merely been left tidy, but was not "cleaned". The hob, work surface and floors were dirty, there were cobwebs in every corner with spiders, the windows were fithy and there were dead moths and flies by the windows to vacuum up too.

I did clean the property with my own wipes and detergents, but the small patio area and garden tubs were also out of repair. I asked for my own yard brush to sweep all the dead leaves and rubbish up, to prevent us from constantly walking it into the barn. I think the property manager felt guilty as he came to prune some of the bushes whilst I was cleaning the patio.

The glossy pictures on your website are definitely NOT a true reflection of the current upkeep of these properties. A good spring clean, and tidy of the gardens and grounds is long overdue.

We did not let this have a negative impact on our holiday, but I feel the owner of the complex should either do some work to bring them back up to spec, or update your website with the "more mature" photos of how it is today.

Kind Regards


Sharon & Steve Yapp