FB Twitter

Gribbas Cottage

Gribbas Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.5


A delightful one bedroom cottage in the little village of Stithians. With thick granite stone walls and heavily beamed ceilings, this is a really proper little Cornish cottage. Ideally placed for exploring the Lizard, yet close to Falmouth and the north Helford area and within easy reach of the north coast. Great cycling can be had nearby on the Bissoe Trail, the old mining tramway that runs from south to north coasts. Dog friendly with enclosed garden.

WONDERFUL HOLIDAY COTTAGE

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a charming, well equipped cottage and my second stay. It is perfectly placed for visiting both the North and South Cornish coasts and nestles in the friendly village of Stithians . I'm sure I will be back in the near future.



Mr DM Halpin

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A neat and well presented cottage, ideal for a couple to explore the local area.
Difficult to locate initially due to the Cornish tradition of building cottages in tight spaces..




Wonderful access,narrow roads, comfortable cottage, great sleep.Excellent overall.A great holiday.

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is excellent for seeing Cornwall and although access roads are narrow they grow on you.



Lovely Holiday at Gribbas Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had lovely holiday at Gribbas Cottage. Its a lovely property and extremely well equipped with everything you could need. Lovely & clean & tidy ,& the milk & cookies on arrival were very welcome. Our Collie dog thoroughly enjoyed the walks in the nearby half moon wood. Definitely reccomend.



90%

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed our stay in well equipped and comfortable cottage. Met all our needs. Handy location for both coasts.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for access to north and south coasts. Cottage was very well equipped and had everything we needed for our stay. Would definitely recommend and return for another holiday. Thank you.



Great Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage is very well situated for exploring the cornish coastal paths and beaches, there is a very pleasant dog walk in a nature reserve minutes down the road, local convenience store and pub 5 minutes walk - highly recommended



Fabulous Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really enjoyed my stay at Gribbas Cottage in Stithians. As I grew up in the area I found it a good central base for myself to visit and catch up with friends that I went to school with, we had a brilliant reunion. The amenities were good and I didn't need for anything! Very clean and there was milk and tea bags for a brew when I got there. Loved it and would recommend to everyone and hope to go back regularly.



gribbas cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location to explore Cornwall. It was in the little village of stithians where my grandfather lived before moving to Canada. The only issue was that there was no internet even though it was available in the village.





Review submitted on Tue, 23 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very impressed how well the cottage was managed, we need not have carried half the equipment we took with us. We had a very enjoyable week despite the weather, having visited many of the old haunts etc, having been stationed at Culdrose during my service with the Fleet Air Arm.Yes , many thanks for a most enjoyable week.

Sincerely

Tom and Margaret Blair




Lovely little cottage. Brilliant central location for visiting all around.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great base for visiting lots of the beautiful beaches on this coastline. Village pub minutes away which sells food and is dog friendly. Quiz held on a Sunday night!

Cottage was very clean and had a little front garden. It had all you need for an excellent base for two people and your furry friend.

We ended up extending our stay and would certainly go back there.

Staff at Cornwall Cottages were brilliant to deal with being able to talk to "real" people!! Rare these days.

Thanks to all.

One negative, no wifi.




A lovely, cosy cottage in a great location for exploring Cornwall!

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely few days at Gribbas Cottage. Very quiet and picturesque location. Vey friendly and welcoming neighbours!

A short stroll to the village pub which was also very warm and welcoming with a great atmosphere and served lovely food.

Wish we could have stayed longer, would definitely go back again.




A chilled week.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
gribbas Cottage . was ideal for us as it was away from the main tourist areas , but close enough for visits , the seven stars and golden lion both served good food locally, the seven stars is close enough to reach easily by foot. the only down side was we didn't take sun loungers for the front garden.



Gribbas Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked last minute great find.
Very central to everywhere local pub within walking distance serving great food.
Cottage extremely well stocked with everything you needed tea,coffee,milk,and cleaning products all provided.also maps & lots of local info.
Very clean tidy and uncluttered.
Off street parking big enough for Range Rover sport.Could not fault at all.
Would highly recommend and would stay again.




Some observations

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The holiday was very enjoyable and overall the village is a good location with friendly local facilities, but there were some oddities:-

Why are there over 20 mugs? Fewer mugs and a coffee cafétiere would be good.
The eating space in the kitchen is small. Is there any way in which the table could be in the main living room?
Some TV functions don't work and the picture is unstable, switching between zoom settings of its own accord.
Car space was not suitable for anything other than a small car.

The pub offers good food and beer at a reasonable price, but booking would be recommended.




Rose Gutteridge replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our cottage and giving a positive score. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the lovely village . In response to your oddities I have never counted the mugs in the cottage , sorry if it was a problem. We could put a cafetiere in but I've never been asked for one before and we don't personally use one but food for thought! Regarding the TV you are the first person to bring this to our attention so we have asked our caretaker to check this . The TV was only replaced in April of this year, sorry it was of any inconvenience. Yes the kitchen is small where the table is situated but I feel if it was moved into the lounge area it would only make the space in the lounge smaller. In reply to the car parking space it is advertised for an average sized car. My car is a Mazda CX5 4x4 of which I park there without blocking the steps off. Also a past guest did park a Range Rover Evoque in the cottage s parking spot. Again sorry if this caused you any inconvenience . Thank you for choosing to stay at our cottage and I am glad you had an enjoyable holiday.

Stay at Gribbas Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We experienced a very pleasant week at this cottage. It is centrally located and very comfortable. The neighbours were friendly and welcoming. Great dog walking in the vicinity.



Gribbas Cottage in Stithians

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gribbas Cottage was very comfortable and quaint just right for two people. The location in Stithians was excellent for trips out in all directions and the village itself was very pleasant. The Seven Stars Inn just a walk away was very friendly and the food was wonderful. We had a very enjoyable holiday and would certainly return in the future.



A delightful country cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable cottage in a friendly village . New 2 piece suite is a good improvement. Close to all amenities. We will definitely be booking again next year.



Lovely central cottage for a week's holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculately clean cottage which was well equipped. A good location for visiting North and South coasts.
Stithians itself has a great pub only a short walk from the cottage.




Stay at Gribbas cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage very good everything we required to make our stay enjoyable.One draw back bed not very comfortable,but would still
recommend it to family and friends




Gribbas Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a comfortable, clean and extremely well-equipped cottage. Centrally located for both coasts and for nearby Falmouth and Cornwall. Would definitely stay here again if visiting the area and pleased to recommend to friends.



gribbas cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A delightful cottage with everything we needed. A very friendly village with a great pub, some great walks for the dog, a local shop that sells everything we needed, good base for any cornwall attraction.



A Wonderful Sunny Cornish Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed with Gribbas Cottage, it is beautifully furnished, was spotless, very comfortable & we found the owners to be very helpful when we had a bit of trouble operating the DVD! Everything you need is provided (except towels, just bring your own), we would definitely book this charming cottage again. It is in the perfect location to explore all of Cornwall & Stithians village has a friendly pub with great food & the local Spar shop is very well stocked. Thoroughly recommend staying in this gorgeous little home, a holiday to remember - thankyou.



Gribbas cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jul 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was well equipped, and a good location for our days out. The only down side was that the cottage on arrival had the smell of wet dog which as non animals owner was not pleasant.



Rose Gutteridge replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at a Gribbas Cottage. I am pleased that you found the Cottage comfortable and in a good location. I am sorry that upon your arrival you detected a smell in the cottage. There had been no lettings with any dogs prior to your stay for 6 weeks. Our caretaker did detect a slight smell and thought it was coming from the fridge and cleaned it thoroughly. We have since found a fault with the fridge which has been resolved (18.7.14) Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you .

A great week in Gribbas Cottage, Stithians

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Gribbas Cottage is a lovely little house in a nice village setting. Getting to it through the maze of lanes which joins Stithians to the "outside world" can be a bit daunting especially when it is on the tatty join of two pages in your roadmap..! Satnav soon sorted that problem.

The cottage is beautifully appointed, with a neat kitchen with all necessary equipment - though we only used it for breakfast and evening drinks. The lounge is comfortably furnished. The bedroom and bathroom are both generously sized. A perfect holiday hideaway for two. Village pub is very friendly with good pub food at reasonable prices, and popular with the locals which is the best recommendation. There is information in the cottage with some comments from guests, on other good pubs and restaurants in the area.

Stithians is a good centre for exploring West Cornwall. With a week of glorious weather, what more could one ask?
The OK rating for service and staff reflects the fact that we didn't see anyone in a self-catering cottage (but didn't expect to).




Gorgeous cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 04 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is super cute, the village was great and the position is perfect to explore all of west Cornwall. The owners seemed very thoughtful and there wasn't anything that wasn't explained or taken care of. Darcy, our Labrador cross Springer Spaniel really enjoyed it too.



Our stay at Gribbas Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely little cottage in a delightful village. Perfect for us and the dog. We used this as a base to visit old friends in and around this area. The local pub was very friendly and does nice food. We enjoyed it so much that if we visit Cornwall again we would like to book the cottage if it is available at the time.



Gorgeous cottage in a lovely village

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved out stay at Gribbas cottage it was clean and had everything we needed . Stithians is a lovely little village too ! Look forward to staying there again .



Lovely comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A Lovely, warm and well kept cottage. A lot of thoughtful touches. Had everything we needed. Cornwalls Cottages were very helpful and lovely to deal with. We were all very comfortable there.



great value for money

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week at Gribbas Cottage the accommodation was excellent, very comfy and warm. Didnt need to want for anything. The bed was comfortable almost hotel boutique to look at, infact the decor was gorgeous and I wanted to bring it all home. The bathroom was very clean and a good size as I am disabled that was a good point. The kitchen had more than enough equipment and lovely to find milk and cornish biscuits left for us to have a drink after travelling. The lounge was comforable and we didnt need to use the fire or heating as we were lucky and had a lovely warm week for the end of September. Maisie our dog thoroughly enjoyed her stay too and the garden was big enough for her to enjoy but she is now sulking at home as she loved being walked to the Woodlands Trust down the lane from the cottage. The local pub was warm and inviting and the meals were value for money in size aswell as taste. We will definitely be back and recomend to friends and family. Altogether a lovely holiday had by all.



Very nice cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent small cottage in a friendly village with a great pub.
The cottage is very comfortable with all home comforts the only thing that could improve it is wifi.




Wonderful Cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been most impressed with Gribbas Cottage - it was very pretty cottage, clean and comfortable and warm. It felt extremely homely and catered for all our needs, the one and only down side was that it did not have a shaver point in the bathroom, which necessitated buying an adaptor!

The cottage was very central for getting to North and South coasts and was most welcoming after a busy day!

However, we were very frustrated with the ban on taking dogs on beaches in Cornwall between Easter and October (which of course is not your fault!!)

We would definitely book this cottage again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends and family.





Good location for discovering Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Situated near the centre of a small village with a good Spar shop and local pub which served good food with friendly staff.

Good location for venturing all directions so went north, south and west to various locations.

Nice dog walk just down the road in woodland park - kept our dog happy.

Cottage was very clean and had everything you need and advantage of own parking space right outside.