FB Twitter

Greenaway Lodge

Greenaway Lodge

3.9
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
76% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.8
Comfort
3.8
Condition
3.7
Location
3.9
Value
3.7
Customer
Service
4.2


Greenaway is a comfortable 3 bedroom lodge on the idyllic Trewince Manor Estate. This beautiful estate has a creek on one side and the stunning Roseland coastline within easy walk of the other. There is a luxury indoor heated swimming pool, jacuzzi & sauna to use on the estate and extensive grounds. The harbour village of Portscatho is nearby and there are superb beaches within a short drive.

If you want peace

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s was very nice to stay here... it’s just way too isolated from everything.
You have to drive everywhere. There are no shops or even a little bar nearby.
We had our dog with us which was fabulous that we could take her but again because of the location of the lodge we had to walk her on the narrow road that sometimes got tricky because of the traffic.
Other then that it was ok over all.




Owner replied 64 days ago
Thankyou for taking the time to review Greenaway. Yes it is in a very quiet, peaceful and tucked away part of the Roseland - it’s just over a miles to Portscatho village Where there is a well stocked shop and two lovely pubs and a restaurant. There are loads of walks on the estate itself and whilst the roads around are traditional narrow country lanes - there is easy access to the south west coast path and lovely off road footpaths also.

Cleanliness of lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cleanliness of the lodge was very poor The living room area was very shabby and poor Kitchen okay



Katie Kent replied 127 days ago
We are really disappointed to read this review after such positive feedback this season - June our housekeeper cleans to very high standards and this week was no different. June met you all at the lodge with the welcome pack and no mention was made of any problems. She was also on hand all week to deal with any concerns you might have had and would have been delighted to assist with any issues in order that you had a happy and comfortable holiday. We strongly feel that at less than £30 per night per person this week (to include the stay of your dog, full use of the hot tub pool and all the leisure facilities in Trewince) that Greenaway offers excellent value for money.

A Cornish Delight

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This comfortable and spacious lodge is part of the Trewince Esate, on the delightful Roseland Peninsula, that despite its popularity, still manages not to feel too crowded. The lodge offered two of us plenty of room and everything we could want. The estate is very pleasant with a swimming pool, and a wooded area to walk in towards a headland. You can walk to the nearest beach at Towan but need to be fit as there is steep hill to walk back up!! There is a good general shop and excellent butchers in Portscatho a small drive away. Overall we enjoyed just sitting and reading in the lodge, especially on the upstairs balcony with sea views. There is adequate Wi-fi for emails etc. but slow for downloading ‘papers’ - we gather Fibre will arrive in August.



Greenaway Lodge, Trewince - August 2018

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The site facilities - swimming pool, recepton services were very good, staff were very friendly and helpful. The lodge itself was disappointing, it smelled musty in all bedrooms and living spaces, there were a lot of cobwebs around the patio area/balcomy, the picnic table on the patio had a large burn mark, there was only one recliner sun chair. The lounge windows were very smeared and the sofas were not very comfortble or well covered. The light in the top hallway didn't work There was no house information booklet.

Overall, I feel that the care and upkeep of the property for letting purposes was half hearted. The property itself was a good size and the washing machine/ dryer was very good.




katie, owner replied 230 days ago
I am sorry that Greenaway wasnt up to standard. We live abroad so rely heavily on our housekeepers to keep the place spotless and inform us if anything needs replacing. We now have a new, fantastic and passionate housekeeping/management team in place (June & Ted) who have spent the winter deep cleaning Greenaway and giving it a thorough make over. They are contactable throughout your stay if you have any concerns or questions. All the comments have been taken on board and everything has been given a thorough overhaul. We are confident Greenaway is now a comfortable, clean and cosy retreat and has all the elements in place for a wonderful holiday.

A Nice house in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is located near portscatho. A lovely village with a beach, several restaurants (reservation is required!) and a little supermarket with every day freshly baked bread.
The house itself is simple but spacious and neat. The terrace is very nice.
It would be Nice if there’s a guide from the house, we didn’t know how the shower worked.
A parasol would be Nice For the terrace. The sunbathing bed was broken, it has to be replaced.





A disappointing stay at Greenaway

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Greenaway Lodge appears to be uncared for.
The double bed upstairs has seen better days and is very uncomfortable. It is impossible to get a good nights sleep in this bed. On arrival the headboard needed reattaching.
The wall clock had been taken off the wall downstairs and left discarded on the sideboard.
There are chips on the rims of some of the plates. The white plates have numerous grey marks on them and although are clean, are unpleasant to eat off.
On windy days, the lodge is cold as the windows allow drafts through. We ended up stuffing kitchen roll in the window cracks to keep warm.
There are gaps in the grout between the kitchen floor tiles.
The cupboard where the washing machine is was messy and the floor wasn't clean.
I'm afraid it was a disappointing stay and not good value for money. With some TLC and attention to detail, this could be a wonderful place to stay.




Owner replied more than 1 year ago
We are very sad to hear your stay wasnt as comfortable as expected. We are grateful for your helpful feedback. We have reviewed and addressed all the issues you have raised. We have now replaced the upstairs mattress with a high quality Silent Night mattress. The headboards have all been checked and tightened. The plates and mugs have all been replaced. Kitchen and bathroom items have been renewed. There are 5 new windows being installed in the lodge next week. The grout has been redone, the woodwork sanded and sealed and our cleaning team have done a thorough deep clean.

A perfect week in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant week at Greenaway lodge ,the weather was excellent ,because it was so hot having French doors and decking was a real plus ,the lodge was comfortable and meet all our needs ,would definitely visit again



A lovely holiday with a few downsides!

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Overall we had a lovely holiday. The log cabin was comfortable. However, things to note are that there is around 20 minutes of unavoidable, very windy roads to reach the cabin. No welcome pack/ visitors guide is left by the owners which is disappointing. The cabin was also not the cleanest but this didn't impact much on our stay. Having the pool and beaches so close made for a very relaxing holiday. The Plume of Feathers was a lovely pub to eat in. One final comment was that the owners would be wise to add a mattress topper or change the mattress in the double room, as the springs are very uncomfortable.



Our recent holiday May 2017

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location was poor especially if you like to travel around Cornwall. Extremely quiet which was nice.



Excellent quite get away

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place, had everything we could have wanted other than a small fee for wifi.
Pool facilities were excellent and was only an hours drive away from St.Ives.
Great value!




A short break

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was all that we expected. It is well located in that it is near to Beaches, shops and parks etc. It was a quiet location with a reasonable size swimming pool. All out party young and mature enjoyed ourselves.



Family holiday July 2016

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
On arrival to Greenaway we found that the property had been cleaned but not to a good standard. Lots of dust and cobwebs. Kitchen/oven clean though. Shower head broke and they replaced the following day. Pool facilities excellent. Good location. We enjoyed our stay!



Lovely Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge was all we hoped for and more. A well appointed accommodation in a lovely location, with excellent facilities. We will be very happy to book again.



Lovely stay at Trewince

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Greenaway lodge ,the lodge was very clean and equipped to a high standard ,we had our cocker spaniel with us and the walks around the estate was superb, The swimming pool was easy to get into as was the jacuzzi,the changing rooms were large and clean , we would definitely visit again



Good times

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was comfortable and functional.
The manors pool, spa and sauna was excellent.
Beautiful weather and nearby beaches combined with good restaurants resulted in a good times.




Review

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall the property was in good condition and was in a nice location but needed more to do on site we felt. Couple bits were disappointing(duvet condition under the cover was in poor state for example)



a good place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The light in the bathrooms was to low especially upstaiers.
The corridor light has got a breakdown.
Inside the house was a bit bad smell.




Greenaway Lodge June 2015

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jul 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Double bed was uncomfortable to sleep in and we had problems with the downstairs shower which was repaired during our stay.
The site was good and we enjoyed using the swimming pool and sauna.
The lodge was well equipped with everything we needed for our stay. However we had to drive some distance to the nearest supermarket.
There were quite a few dog friendly beaches nearby but we had to keep on the lead when onsite outside of the lodge and were disappointed that dogs were not permitted to walk down to the quay although there is a dog walking area on the site.




good

Review submitted on Mon, 25 May 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and modern lodge. Only small things letting it down such as wooden tables marked and oven wasnt working properly. Bit of a drive out to get to places too not much to do around, but lodge is lovely.



Very nice accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the recently refurbished house with spacious living / kitchen area and a nice big bathroom upstairs.
Very fair price, too.
Weather was better than expected, so we were able to spend most time outside as planned.
Since we had little kids with us we had to take the car wherever we wanted to go, but without kids you could just start walking straight from the house.




Tranquil retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Apr 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was lovely, well laid out and very comfortable.
The grounds were lovely and the small pool was excellent for occupying the kids for a while.
The balcony and deck were great for sitting out and enjoying the views albeit some of the chairs were broken - which we reported.
If you want peace and quiet with great walks i would imagine this would be an ideal place.
For getting about in the car it was a bit out of the way.
Overall though i would totally recommend it we had a fab holiday and we loved the lodge itself.




In need of some attention

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2013
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The terrible damp smell in the ground floor bedrooms was not pleasant at all & led us to leave a day early.

The beds were vey hard & uncomfortable - another reason to return home early.

The gutter was overflowing with leaves etc & as we had 2 big storms blow through we had a huge puddle outside the door which caused such a mess getting in & out of the house.

It just felt very tired & in need of a really good clean. Such a shame because it had such potential.

Sorry, just not up to the standard we expected given the amount it cost.




Owner replied more than 1 year ago
I am deeply sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your stay at Greenaway. We always try and ensure the lodge is very comfortable, cosy and spotlessly clean. We have a management team on call 24/7 who will quickly deal with any issues at all. Unfortunately over the xmas period there were severe storms throughout the uk and in the southwest causing extensive flooding and damage. As Greenaway is surrounded by trees this may go some way to explain the leaves in the guttering and the puddle outside the door. The grounds and the lodge exterior are serviced regularly and I understand there are additional checks taking place after the unprecedented weather. We stayed at Greenaway in November and there was no damp smell noted then however in view of your comments I have asked a plumber to inspect the downstairs shower room thoroughly. We have new mattresses in all four downstairs single beds which are top end hotel standard. They are firm as this was the only option available to us, when we purchased them, to ensure they complied to all regulation standards including fire for commercial lettings. We have covered them with luxury supersoft mattress toppers for those people who prefer a softer sleep. Greenaway is having a full exterior renovation over the next couple of months. The lovely slate floor is having a face lift. We have a brand new dishwasher in place in reponse to previous comments. We are looking forward to sharing our home in this beautiful part of the country in 2014.

Autumn break

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location and cosy lodge.
It was a shame the dishwasher wasn't working and that no washing up liquid was supplied so that we had to go out specifically to buy some.
Also, although occupants should bring swimming towels, I am surprised that towels are not supplied as standard.




CornwallsCottages.co.uk on behalf of the Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your feedback, although the property is self catering And this does include cleaning products - we have spoken to our housekeepers regarding providing some essential provisions for the first couple We will be providing towels for lodge use next year but swimming And beach towels will still need to be brought with you.

Great lodge in a beautiful peaceful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week at Greenaway lodge. The lodge provided everything we needed. We made use of the swimming pool which was lovely and clean. We can't wait to return!



Greenaway Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2013
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great time and great location. Attention to detail in lodge needs looking at. Dishwasher not working on arrival, no dishwasher tablets anyway and no washing up liquid for back up. You are asked to leave lodge as you would like to find it but cleaning products to minimum many light bulbs not working and no spares you really do need to take the kitchen sink with you!