FB Twitter

Fields

Fields

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
89% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.3
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Nestled on the Roseland Peninsula between the quaint village of Veryan with its historic round houses and the picturesque traditional fishing port of Portloe this delightful, detached bungalow has ample accommodation and space for a family of four with far reaching sea and rural views across this area of outstanding natural beauty.

Week stay at Fields

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleased with our stay at Fields, it had everything we needed, very comfortable bed, lovely open aspect with views to the sea around Portloe area and towards Nare Head. Plenty of interesting local walks, especially along the coastal path of the Roseland Peninsula



Jane Maher replied 55 days ago
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Fields. The Roseland Peninsular is perfect for walking and it is good to know you found the bungalow comfortable! Thank you for taking the time to review Fields, and we hope you may decide to visit us again.

A welcome break

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is 2nd year that we have stayed at Fields and we are contemplating going again next year. There are so many places to visit within reasonable travel distance. The location is excellant.



Jane Maher replied 59 days ago
Thank you so much for visiting a second time! We are very glad you all had another lovely holiday, and hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Accommodation good.

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the first time that I have booked a holiday through this company and while the accommodation was comfortable and had everything that was needed I feel that the arrival time of 4pm is extremely late in the day and you feel as if you have lost a day of your holiday. Other holiday companies that I have used allow access to the accommodation from 2pm.



Jane Maher replied 97 days ago
Hello, thank you very much for taking the time to review Fields. We use 10am for guests leaving, and 4pm as our arrival time (as standard for Cornwall's Cottages) to allow our housekeeper enough time to do a thorough job cleaning and making sure the bungalow is ready for new guests. If in future you or other guests would like to arrive a little earlier we will work with our housekeeper to try and achieve this - please do not hesitate to ask.

Clean, Quiet but Basic

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location is very out of the way which meane it is a very quiet spot. You have about 6 neighbours who you dont see or hear. Bliss.

Everything was very clean, though a few cobwebs were found over the stay. No big deal

Resdung the comments book did show that there are a few ongoing issues. Toilet seat was loose and had been on a number of occassions in the past. Heating system isnt veey good, even though it was mid June it was cold and the heaters did little to take the edge off when you needed it. Found an old wool blanket in the back of a wardrobe. Basic kitchen that is in need of some tumbler sized glases, again has been in comments book a few times too. Drinking orange juice from a wine glass.just feels weird.

Overall basic, not expensive but the heating issue would be an issue in the winter.




Jane Maher replied 97 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Fields, your feedback has helped us improve the holiday experience for other guests. We are so sorry you stayed over such an unseasonably cold week in June. Our radiators were set on a summer setting which is normally very comfortable. We have invested in a new portable heater and some snug throws to provide extra warmth if needed. We apologise for the cobwebs, it is extremely unusual to find any in our bungalow. Please rest assured our toilet seat is checked regularly to ensure it is safe and secure for all guests. We have also purchased some glass tumblers ideal for drinking juice (in addition to the beakers which on reflection are perhaps better suited to children). I am pleased you enjoyed our very peaceful and beautiful location despite the weather.

Up to expectations or better!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice Location half way between Veryan and Portloe in an elevated position with views to the coast

The enclosed Garden is great for dogs, mine loved it!

Off road parking is also a nice feature

Internally, facilities are fine

A well equipped kitchen and nice comfortable front room with views and sliding door to raised patio

Nice bedrooms, with good storage slept well, the area is quiet with nice neighbours

The Bathroom could perhaps do with an update ,but everything worked fine and was clean on arrival

For families the rather small fridge freezer and lack of DVD player could be issues

Helpful Housekeeper just across the lane

I would happily stay again only hoping for less easterly wind next time!




Jane Maher replied 97 days ago
Thank you very much for your feedback on Fields. We are glad you enjoyed your stay despite the wind. We are updating the bungalow all the time. A larger fridge freezer is definitely on our list for 2020 and we hope our unlimited Wifi and smart TV with Netflix was some compensation for the lack of a DVD player.

Spring holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with good views and easy access to walks. Weather not especially good, so it was good to have a good feel of "home comforts" when we got back.



Wonderful relaxing break..

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was not disappointed at all with Fields. Ticked all the boxes for our stay in October with our two dogs. The views are worth every penny. The house is cosy and comfortable.



A wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Fields, particularly the dog who loved the wrap around garden. The cottage is located in a lovely part of Cornwall with lots to see and visit.
The cottage itself is well fitted out and is very comfortable.
We have already booked to go back next year.




Stunning location and really relaxing!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay. Fields is in a wonderful location and has a real charm about the place. It is peaceful and perfect for a retreat into the Cornish countryside. By day the garden is a great place to stay and play, and at night you can sit and see bats go about their nightly feeding frenzy out the large lounge window. We even say a tawny owl fly past! Easy access to Carne Beach and other beautiful Roseland beaches such as Towan. The beds were really comfy and the kitchen was basic but clean and served us really well. The children really loved this place, and we were all sad to leave. We will certainly be looking to rebook.




Jane Maher replied 97 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Fields. We are delighted your family had such a lovely holiday, and we hope we can welcome you again in the future.