FB Twitter

Ferryman's Cottage

Ferryman's Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 59 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.2
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.5


This charming, cosy, 17th century, listed, waterfront fisherman's cottage is situated directly above Mevagissey's inner harbour with unrivalled views of the harbour, village and out to sea. Ferryman’s Cottage is the most delightfully romantic place to spend a peaceful holiday all year round. Ideally suited for a couple.

Another great stay at ferryman's cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second amazing holiday in this house. Best location in Mevagissey!
Views over the harbour from every window! Lovely cosy cottage




Nice cottage let down by cleanliness and customer service

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We rented the Ferryman's Cottage during the August bank holiday. Due to its beautiful location, and the dates we planned on visiting Cornwall, we didn't mind paying a bit extra; however, given the more than 500 pounds paid for a three-night stay we were expecting the place to be spotless. At a first glance the cottage seemed very tidy, but on our first night, when we went to bed, we noticed that the bedding seemed to had been used already -- found a few hairs in the bed -- and the bedding didn't smell fresh; on the Saturday, while opening the curtains of the bedroom, the curtain pole fell off the wall. We then called the phone number we were given in our information pack, only to find out that the person who we were meant to contact didn't work for the owners any more, although she was kind enough to give us the new housekeeper's details. We then called the new housekeeper -- which we tried to call on several occasions only to be hung up on or find that the line was busy. In the end she answered our calls, and when explained what happened her only answer was: "so, what do you want me to do?" -- seeming annoyed about having been contacted as opposed to being apologetic and offering solutions. Other than that, our stay in Mevagissey was lovely. We will be coming back to Mevagissey and Cornwall; however, we will not be coming back to the Ferryman's Cottage.



David Lloyd replied 53 days ago
We were surprised and disappointed to see this review. We had changed housekeeper at the start of this season and sadly it has not worked out. However, since your stay, we have changed back to our previous housekeeper who has provided an excellent service in the past.

Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is an absolutely fantastic cottage to stay in. The location was fantastic, views amazing! And a perfect place to stay for us. The cottage is well laid out, had everything we needed. We couldn't recommend it high enough and are looking forward to booking it again next year.



A quaint cottage, situated in the wonderful village of Mevagissey

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A good place to relax and watch the world go by. Easy access to good Inns, South West Coastpath and tourist attractions.



Ferryman cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent small cottage. Perfect location in the harbour. All mod cons but keeps traditional character.



Cosy cottage for two

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely little cottage perfect for a get away weekend for two. Great views of the working harbour and an excellent location for visits to nearby Charlestown where filming for Poldark takes place and also the Eden project.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Nov 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After initially thinking how small an basic the cottage, we loved it, great location. Only issue was the television and reception which needs sorting out although this did not bother us



Fantastic location in a character cottage with a useful free parking pass.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is well placed with wonderful views of the harbour. Unfortunately the windows in the kitchen and upstairs “ viewing gallery” had to be propped open with available items such as cans and drinks coasters. The downstairs sitting room had instructions for a large humidifier which needed to be left switched on according to a label but was off when we arrived and made a terrible din when plugged in. We therefore switched it off during our stay. The kitchen was a little grubby especially the hob which was rusty and the oven had a badly melted control knob. We didn’t use it at all during our stay. There was also a continual brick dust deposit falling down from the underside of the top kitchen cupboards which was a nuisance as it got on the food and dishes. The bedroom was very claustrophobic a fan to circulate the air would have been useful during the summer months. The bedding was old and of poor quality. Some better quality cotton bedding would greatly improve the comfort of the bed. During our stay the shower never worked so we were only able to use the bath which was irritating. The mixer tap for the shower would supply boiling hot water but would turn off when cold water was mixed so you were either scalded or doused with cold water.
Some complimentary essentials should be provided as we paid nearly a thousand pounds for a week’s stay and there was no hand wash in the bathroom or washing powder for the washing machine. We loved Mevagissey but thought the cottage was very poor value for money and was lacking in comfort in many respects. We travel a lot and can therefore make comparisons with other accommodation we have stayed in and Ferrymans cottage was an underwhelming and sad place to spend any time. Fortunately the weather was good so we could be out and about most of the time.




David & Isobel Lloyd replied more than 1 year ago
We are sorry that the guests were disappointed with Ferrymans. We do take all comments and feedback seriously and deal with issues as they arise.However Ferrymans is an old character cottage and must be taken as such.Yes the window does have to be propped open. It is an old fashioned sash window and it has always been like that. We stayed ourselves at the end of August and it definitely was not damp. We did not use the dehumidifier. We will change the note saying it should be left on, so people use it when they want. The mattress has been replaced since these guests visited. We inspected the linen and are happy it is in good condition. The hob has been scrubbed since this visit. The knobs are not perfect and do not all have the calibration marks on them. The cooker is perfectly functional and has been used like this by all other guests. Our housekeeper and a plumber have inspected the shower and report it is working properly. We have noticed the brick dust before, it is very minor in one small spot in the kitchen. It is an old cottage.

Ferryman cottage Megavissey

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was excellent. We will book it again and strongly recommend it to others. But please don’t book it for the period when we would like to stay again!



Quaint cottage but parking can be awkward

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped cosy and comfortable cottage. Lovely views of the harbour from all Windows. Lovely log burner which had a lot of use during our stay. Plentiful hot water large bathroom



Fantasic location, very cute cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Dec 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
What a lovely cottage. Fireplace in the living room, all the modern conveniences you need, including a washing machine. Thick walls meant we hardly noticed the storm that blew in and raged all night. Location is perfect, close to all the pubs and village centre, I think we probably visited every single pub in the 4 days we were there. I suspect this picturesque village gets very busy in summer, I would suggest winter, it's cold but cosy and very peaceful.

We didn't have a car, and travelled from London to St Austell (a 4h journey), and then a cab for about £15 to Mevagissey.

My only complaint might be that I didn't realise there were no coffee/milk so had to get dressed at 8am to run to the local shop (less than 5min walk away) on the first morning.

Definitely some place I would like to visit again, maybe in summer, I can try the tiny beach over the hill.




A good stay in an excellent location

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed before & the location never lets you down even on a wet october evening can recomend it to anyone



Great location

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Brilliant location and a cosy cottage in beautiful Mevagissey. The bed was very comfortable, clean and lots of wardrobe and drawer space. Can be a little noisy in the early morning due to the fishing boats returning but all part of the experience. Loved it!



Cornwall break

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Booked this cottage at short notice to use as a base for touring Cornwall, we were not disappointed as the location was excellent overlooking the harbour. The cottage is small but very quaint and big enough for two. Megavissy is very picturesque and has a number of restaurants and pubs, it is a popular place and can be busy at peak times. Lovely village and would recommend.



Ferryman's Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location and views, clean and tidy, well equipped. Close to some very beautiful gardens and Eden Project.



Lovely area for a holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely area to stay in Mevagissy, as you're right on the harbour. Very good that there is a parking permit provided. We spent a week at the cottage, and found it comfortable and everything was provided (except for baking trays). Would recommend.



A lovely Location

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage, cooking equipment was lacking, no essential items such as washing up liquid. Fantastic location would book again



Coay

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Dec 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely small cottage ideal for a romantic break for two. Real fire that we had roaring each night and it was magical to be warm inside the cottage in late Nov watching the waves crash over the harbour wall. We stayed for 3 nights and apart from the one night the weather was bright blue winter skies with a real chil in the air, ideal for walking then popping in to a local pub to warm by the fire and have a drink and a meal. If you want a romantic out of season break this is ideal. I would imagine that the small village, with its very narrow streets, may be very busy in the summer but which ever you choose you can't fault this great little cottage.



short cornish break

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location and really quaint cottage with a very comfortable bed and large bath. Views over the harbour and a very short walk to tge delights of Mevagissey.



Cosy harbour cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideally located on Mevagisseys inner harbour, excellent views of the fishing boats and surrounding area. Small but cosy and well appointed, close to all the facilities such as pubs,restaurants and shops. We were here a week but should have stayed longer.



Lovely Position Overlooking the Inner Harbour

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Although it would not suit everyone due to it's small size & very narrow staircase Ferryman's Cottage has a lot of character & my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

For us the highlight was the lovely views of the inner and outer harbour together with views of the sea as well. We were fascinated watching the fishing boats coming & going and had the good fortune to have a seal appear right in front of the cottage. There is a good selection of pubs in which to eat and drink.

We hope to return there in the future.




great location

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quite small but big enough for two. Well equipped, comfortable. bit of a clime but worth it for the fantastic view and great location right in the centre. Parking on the other side of harbour but able to park close to unload. loved it would definitely recommend



Great cottage, well equipped, central to all amenities, nothing not to like about this place.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was exactly as described and better equipped that we thought it would be, possibly because previous occupants had left a jar of coffee, tea bags etc which were helpful for day one. The owners are very kind and helpful. They gave completely perfect parking instructions for us, but unfortunately the wording on the parking pass is different to the wording they used (theirs was correct - parking pass inaccurate). We had to ring them for clarification and they were eager to help. The cottage itself is charming and the views are just the best. You can look out from the bed with a mug of tea and see the harbour at work. And parking is provided in the car park which you can also see from your bedroom window so you can check your car is still there from your bed! There's an old local fisherman living next door down the hill and he loves a chat and is full of information about where to fish etc. We didn't realise there was a washing machine cum tumble drier and that was fab too because it enabled us to launder our clothes and go home without the usual round of washing the holiday stuff. As for Mevagissey itself, it's a wonderful little village and we would recommend having the afternoon tea at the teashop one street behind the front. Because she bakes her own scones and cakes and serves it in vintage shabby chic tea cups and saucers. But it's great value we couldn't eat all we got and she wrapped all the remains so we could take it home so we had it next day for lunch. £22.50 for 2 folk (enough for 4 though). Lots of other places do afternoon teas but I like to support those who bake their own and most don't. Pubs wise, mostly the white wine is poor (usual) pub quality except for the sharksfin restaurant on the front. But poor pub wine is something I've come to expect from a British pub. On a Monday night at the Fountain Inn (the best pub) the local Mevagissey male voice choir come in and the landlord provides free supper then they sing for their supper. Be there at 9.45pm to hear them. 3 restaurants which are more than just pub food we would recommend too. Those are Salamander, Roovrays (husband cooking and wife front of house) and the Portuguese one on the harbour front named something like Albeida, again a husband and wife team. It is open in the evening but their signage led me to believe it wasn't so just in case it fools you too I'm putting this is info .Please be aware that there is no cash machine whatsoever in the village and you have to go to ASDA is St. Austell to find one. The fountain will give you cashback if you spend a certain amount as will the general store but you can only get £50. Best stock up before you arrive. One other tip. We didn't find it difficult to get a space at the main harbour car park at all. We were worried if we took the car out on a trip that if we arrived back around 3pm the park would be heaving, but there were always spaces. I think it's because the visitors don't realise there is anywhere else they can park and are reluctant to drive through the very very narrow streets, possibly having to turn their cars around in such a narrow space that they just park in the big central car park. Only those in the know use the harbour one, so don't be scared to take your car out.



Quaint & Querky

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing week in a comfy well equipped quaint and querky cottage, with a few cobwebs, and wonderful views. Mevagissey is a great base for visiting the local area.



Prime location with stunning views

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is right above the harbour with superb views out over the harbour. Inside it is quaint and quirky - exactly what you would want for a holiday cottage in this location but there is plenty of room for two to live in. There are all the appliances you could even need, even down to a garlic press !! Everything you need in the village is a short walk away. The parking permit was a bonus although it doesn't guarantee you a space - others would have to advise how busy it gets peak season - probably only a problem if you get back early in the afternoon before the day trippers leave. We would thoroughly recommend the cottage.



A super getaway cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Ferryman's Cottage. The owners were meticulous in their instructions and directions, particularly useful as you need to unload and then drive to parking space round the harbour. This was no problem. The cottage is warm and the bed extremely comfortable. Facilities are good and the kitchen well equipped.
It is beautifully situated to walk straight out on to the coastal path, or roll the other way down to The Fountain Inn, where the food is fantastic and the welcome warm and friendly! (Salamander restaurant is outstanding also!)
The owners made a point of phoning us to check all was well the first evening and again after a day or so.
I can highly recommend this cottage.




Great Location

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Mar 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, lovely cottage, perfect weather and we enjoyed a great holiday.
Off-season, but plenty going on - and with views from the window constantly changing no need to go out at all.




Lovely

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at ferrymans cottage Monday to Friday mid February. We were really lucky with the weather - blue skies and sunshine all week. The cottage is idyllic - really comfortable, amazing location. It was a bit cold on this first night but once we got the fire roaring the whole cottage warmed up. Will definitely return. We can also highly recommend the Fountain pub, lovely food and a really welcoming atmosphere.



Too short stay at this Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in this quirky cottage for two nights , it is small but well laid out, The bed was comfortable, the upstairs landing/dressing room area was lovely to sit and watch the harbour from.

The owners sent us a text to say it was ready a bit earlier than we had expected so we were able to get in a little earlier which was great, overall it is a lovely cottage and we would certainly recommend it to others.




Great stay in Mevagissey

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jan 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely old cottage with everything you need for a short stay.

Highlights for us were watching the fishermen from the first floor window and walking to the lost gardens of heligan (if it has been raining choose the cycle path not the footpath, the cycle path also has better signage, if you use the footpath turn right up the hill on the road when the signs disappear, you then walk alongside heligan (on your right) for about half a mile.

The cottage is not suitable if you are unsteady on your feet, the path outside is on a steep hill and the stairs inside are narrow and steep, it is absolutely fine if you are fit and healthy!




Convenient, brilliant views, a lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage sits in an ideal place on the harbour, it's takes no longer than 60seconds to wander over to the pubs, restaurants and shops. From the cottage you have fantastic views of the harbour and you can look out across the sea (providing it's not too foggy). Everything inside the cottage is clean and easy to use, and ideal for a couple to relax and enjoy their stay. The one thing it lacked was Internet access(wifi), however that was not a major issue as the local pubs did provide free wifi. Would definitely recommend the cottage it was wonderful to stay there



What a great position!

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed a week at Ferrymans Cottage ... and we loved everything about it.

With mixed weather and the Rugby World Cup it was so good to stay in by the fire, having first nipped down the hill to the excellent chippy.

Then of course, there's the Fountain pub, not to be missed. By the end of the week we felt like locals. Go on an evening when the local male voice choir pop in. A great night.

Our hosts were very prompt to help when we had a slight glitch with the tv on our first evening (Rugby again) offering to replace it the next morning. As it was we sorted it out, but good to know that help is at hand if needed.

There is really nothing to complain about with Ferrymans, it's just delightful and in such a fabulous position overlooking the harbour where there is always something to watch.

We'll be back definitely.




Week stay at Ferryman's Cottage, Mevagessey.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ferryman's Cottage is ideally situated for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. The cottage directly overlooks the pretty fishing port with wonderful views. Although rather a small cottage with space somewhat limited, thought has been given to best use of space for a comfortable stay. Some modernisations to decor are planned by the owners which I'm sure will maximise future holidaymakers enjoyment of the property. Free parking is provided, although a five minute walk away.



Iconic Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay in this tiny but quaint cottage right by the harbour in Mevagissey. In fact the cottage was in such a prime location and was so picturesque it featured in almost every picture and painting we saw of Mevagissey! Although the cottage was well equipped and comfortable it did not have any Wi-Fi which we felt in this day and age and for the amount we were paying should have been included.



Great little cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean with a great location, only a short walk to the pubs, shops etc. ideal for a couple, cosy lounge, seating area and table for meals, well equipped kitchen, loved the stable door. Great having separate bedroom and dressing area. Fantastic views of the harbour even when weather not very good. Parking a bonus but driving down the streets of Mevagissey a little hair raising. Really enjoyed our week there.



Just like being a Fisher Man!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful week at this delightful cottage above Mevagissy harbour. Very close to the Coastal Path, but we spent hours watching the people, tides and ever shifting boats, it was amazing! The cottage itself is very well equipped and perfect for a stay at any time of the year, with woodburner stove, DVD's and lots of books to browse. The beds and furniture comfortable and lots of storage, and kitchen really fully equipped. Restaurants are within easy walking distance (do try Salamander!) and free wifi available at the pub. We walked to the Lost Gardens of Heligan, and there is a very good bus service now running every 30 minutes from Main Car Park to St Austell Station where you can get trains and connecting buses to many attractions. We used public transport to get to Ferrymans Cottage and managed well. No need for a car at all!



A fantastic time

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at ferrymans cottage once again we had a fantastic time.A perfect location with wonderful harbour views from every window the only downside was our stay was to short.



Excellent repeat stay

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Both the cottage and Mevagissy were as lovely as we remembered them from a previous stay 3 or 4 years ago. The cottage has everything you need plus a few extras like the heated towel rail and bathroom floor. The views from the cottage are amazing and provided you aren't a nervous driver the included parking is a real bonus.



A cottage with a view

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
If you want a cornish experience with fabulous wiews over the Mevagissey harbour then this cottage is for you.
The Gardens of Heligan are well worth the mile and three quarter walk through serene countryside.




Ferryman's Cottage Mevagissey

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Feb 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ferryman's cottage is a very cosy cottage in a harbour town. The cottage has all things that you would expect for your stay whether it being a short break. It overlooks the harbour which is also ideal for photography.
Mevagissey is a ideal location as a base for touring around Cornwall, the people of Mevagissey are very friendly and polite making our stay more welcoming.




Brilliant

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Dec 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a wonderful cottage full of character and decorated and furnished in keeping with its history and location. All the facilities you could need. We loved our long weekend there and would highly recommend.



Ferryman's Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Nov 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week in a fantastic location, enjoying the views from the cottage. We found the pubs and restaurants very welcoming with good food. The cottage was very clean, and well kept, the only small downfall we found was maybe it could do with another heater for the colder months and the settee was getting a little tired, but overall it was a beautiful place to stay and I would love to return one day.



John Wood replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Ferryman's Cottage. Several people have commented on our sofa so we have replaced both sofa and chair in the sitting room. We have also left an extra electric heater in the cottage in case of very cold weather and renewed the fridge which now has a small ice compartment. All set for 2015!

Ferryman's Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stress free holiday in a perfect location. Everything you could need is provided.



Ferryman's Cottage you couldn't ask for more

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time in this lovely little cottage just perfect for two very comfortable and the view are great always something to see and someone to talk to. No need to get in a car all week as it has everything you could need with great little shops and lots of restaurants to choose from, one in particular is very good and that's The Salamander lovely food and always a warm welcome 5*. You will not be disappointed with Ferryman's Cottage or Mevagissey they both have so much to offer.



Lovely little cottage in beautiful harbour town

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfectly situated over-looking Mevagissey harbour, this cottage was a stones throw from the town yet felt set back from the busy crowds. Cute, clean interior. Tasteful decor. We had a wonderful stay.



Ferrymans cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jul 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we could not have chosen a better place to stay.it was very quaint and picturesque in a perfect position.Only small thing letting it down was furniture in lounge a bit dated.owners very accommodating We would recommend cottage to anyone.



my stay in ferryman's cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
cottage was great.location great.good to have a parking pass.lovely views.good price.will hopefully book again next year.very clean.had everythink we needed.



Great base to explore.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 May 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ferryman's Cottage is an ideal base to explore Cornwall. The cottage itself is cute with fantastic harbour views. The parking would be a tad inconvenient (being the other side of the harbour) for older or less mobile people. Inside the cottage it is cosy and well equipped. The furnishings (sofa in particular) could do with updating. However this is a minor criticism and in general the cottage had everything we required. The owners made contact with us twice during our stay. The first was to confirm everything was in order, the second to inform us we had left our camera behind. We were asked about the cottage and we remarked on the sofa and this we were assured would be taken care of (and they would post the camera to us).

A special mention to the Salamander restaurant (fantastic food), The Ship Inn and the Fountain Inn (again great food with social landlord/ladies and locals).

All in all, a great holiday.




sunny cornwall

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was just excellent!!
Two little things:
1. It would be helpful if there is a sieve for spaghetti in the kitchen.
2. The bed is excellent but a bit small. I assume that this cannot be changed. So otherwise it's really "cosy"!!
Thank you for this wonderful place!




lovely cottage, beautiful views, great town and people

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
had a fantastic week in April, cosy comfortable cottage, everything you needed, lovely places to eat, great walks on the doorstep, so didn't need to drive out anywhere. Mevagissey is a fantastic place to be, locals very helpful and friendly.



Cute cottage for two in an amazing location.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Apr 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Character cottage with lovely views but is in need of a bit of TLC to make the whole experience unforgettable for the right reasons. Thoroughly recommend Salamander Restaurant in Mevagissey for an excellent meal.



Lovely cottage, great location

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Feb 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a short break here over a stormy weekend. Great accommodation in a fabulous setting. Good attention to detail, eg.the parking pass, logs for wood burner etc. We'd be very happy to return.



Perfect located holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a lovely cottage to stay in, the location was perfect for watching all the fishing boats. It was very clean and everything you wanted was in the cottage.Definitely stop their again sometime.



Review of Ferryman's Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jan 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really cute, beautiful cottage, well-decorated and very clean. We liked the layout and the view was superb. Only downside was that we struggled with the log burner and found it difficult to keep it alight (unsual for us as we are very much real fire/log burner people) and the consequence was that we were quite cold for much of the time while in the cottage. We ended up using the heaters more than we'd have wished, but it was quite hard to warm the cottage up. We had a lovely time and would thoroughly recommend this cottage. Some info about local restaurants and walks would have been useful and perhaps one more roasting pan, but that's a tiny detail in the scheme of things. It was too wet to use the bench outside, but I'm sure sitting there would be lovely in summer. We also visited Polperro from there which we love. We had a great time and thank you!



views cant be beaten in this cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Dec 2013
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The views make this cottage very special .a few improvements could be made with a new sofa and chair the carpet also needs replacing in the lounge but overall we had a great week and would love to come back oneday. Also the car park was closed for a couple of days so cost us £13 in car park charges .



End of Season Break

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The quaint little cottage is in a superb location enabling you to watch life in the busy habour, even in October, on the eve of a storm! The fishermen, discussing the weather before going out in their boats and later the tourists, with their buckets and lines catching crabs from the harbour wall then taking advantage of the many eateries along the harbour wall or just in Mevagissy village itself. We sampled quiet a few!
The cottage though small had everything. The kitchen contained all the utensils and equipment needed, including a 'teapot and strainer', which we have found lacking in other selfcatering establishments. The attention to detail was excelent throughout the property.
The location of the property enabled us to visit a few of Cornwall's attractions, The Eden Project had to be seen but the best experience for us was just outside Mevagissy,The Lost Gardens of Heligan. The rest of the time was spent exploring the shops and museums in Mevagissy and villages further along the coast returning the cottage for cup of tea and a warming log burning fire.




October Break

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Oct 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great Location, very quaint cottage, excellent value for money

I have stayed in Mevagissey before in the summer which was too busy. Staying for a week outside School holidays is a must if you love Cornwall out of season. A great cottage for a romantic break. 1st Class




Two weeks of bliss at Ferrymans Cottage Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2013
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fab location right on the harbour. Everything you need for a relaxing holiday for two. Just enough space to give room for time apart and together. Excellent bathroon, cottage tastefilly refurbished to keep the history of the place looking good.
Everything worked well. Great having washing machine. TV reception good. Sofa could do with replacing but perhaps that's part of the charm. Bed ensured comfortable sleep. Plenty of walks, restuarants and pubs nearby. We used bus service for going further afield, but ideal base for those who just want to soak up the gloriousness ( is that a wrord? ) of Cornwall.




Lovely location for a relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a perfect location, close to the village centre but not close enough to hear the crowds and smell the fish & chips! The view out over the harbour is lovely. The cottage itself is small but comfortable for 2 people, the equipment provided was fine. The car park being over the other side of the harbour wasn't ideal but we left our car for the week and walked everywhere instead of driving through the crowds.