FB Twitter

Church Close Cottage

Church Close Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.6
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


A quite superb restoration of this 100 year old stone barn has resulted in an enchanting 3 bedroom holiday home in the peaceful hamlet of Cusgarne. Located within easy reach of not only Falmouth, and the Carrick Roads, but also the striking Lizard Peninsula and the beaches of the north coast. Just 7 miles away from the golden sand and crashing surf at Porthtowan!

A home from home, a lovely getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just looking for somewhere pleasant for the family to get away from it all, relax, and enjoy life for a week - and this more than fitted the bill. Owners were pleasant and very helpful, the cottage was wonderful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, exactly what we needed. The peace and solitude wouldn't be to everyone's taste, but suited us just fine - exactly what we wanted. Within an easy drive of several great things to do and see, but then to return to the cottage and just chill.



A great base for exploring the south and south west coasts of Cornwall

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant week at this beautiful barn in a lovely secluded location. When we booked we hadn't realised there was another cottage in the grounds, but this wasn't a problem. Everything up to six adults require for a comfortable holiday was in the barn conversion. There's a decent organic farm shop across the road and a proper village pub about half a mile away serving very nice food



An enjoyable wet week in Cornwall

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a well appointed cottage which is comfortable and clean in a quiet rural location. It is 10 minutes walk from the Pub in Frogpool which serves large portions of good pub grub. The cottage's central location is a good jumping off point for visiting the many attractions in the area.



Review

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage with very friendly owners. Some aspects of the cottage need updating such as the sofas and the locks. It's a great location and convenient to go to different areas.



Our stay at Church cottages was an enjoyable one with a good central location.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Had an enjoyable stay at a great location. The third bedroom was rather small however, and the provision of hand towels would have been good. Would definitely stay again though.



Ideal location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely property in a great location. It it perfect for exploring Cornwall North, South, East or West, most places being only 45 mins away at most, many being much closer. It is quiet and peaceful and well maintained. We only had two minor criticisms, the beds needed summer weight duvets as the 13.5 tog ones provided are too much for the warm summer nights. Also the Wi-Fi has an Alcohol blocking filter on it so if you search for a pub to go to to spend and evening and have a meal it is blocked because of this filter. Theses did not mar a very enjoyable two weeks at the property and the info provided at the property was invaluable, including details of pubs worth a visit. Certainly the Cornish Arms, a brisk 1/2 mile walk away, which we used twice, is very convenient, with very good food and good value for money.I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a base to explore Cornwall and the downstairs bedroom and bathroom, which includes a bath and a shower, is very useful if anyone in the party has restricted mobility.



Terry and Alex Monks replied more than 1 year ago
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Church Close Cottage. We are sorry that you had difficulty with the Wi Fi. We have logged in today using the visitor's system but have been unable to replicate the issue you encountered. We can assure you that there is no blocking filter as we were successful in searching, through Google, for pubs and restaurants. We always welcome comments and it was unfortunate that you did not tell us of the difficulties you were encountering during your stay as we would have been delighted to help you.

Location/value/great owners/beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time at church close it was a great location as you got peace and tranquility being inland but didn't miss out as it was only a short drive to major towns or to Cornwall's 2 major highways. The cottage was beautiful and clean when we arrived. Our dog loved it and settled in straight away. We found the local organic farm shop just 2 minutes away to be excellent as well as the local pub who's service and food was 10/10. Was a great holiday for a great price and we are already thinking of going back next year.



Easter in Cusgarne

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here with our 9 year old Grandson and found Church Close Cottage a splendid situation for us all. Cottage is light with both comfortable beds and chairs. The front of the house provides a wind free Sun trap from morning 'til evening and we had our first outdoor meals of the year. We will return.



Wonderful cottage!

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and the other buildings are lovely rebuild / well-kept by the owners under great respect for the surroundings. The old farm is very neat with huge trees, flowers and a lot of space for the visitors. The house also has a lot of space. We visited it with two families (4 adults and two smaller children). It is well equipped and we found everything we needed (even fresh herbs for the guests are growing beneath the patio!).

The cottage is situated at a central, but very quiet location. We needed only a 20 minutes drive both to the north coast as to the south coast.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. They gave us a lot of tips to beautiful places.

We had a perfect stay at this cottage. If we visit Cornwall again, we will definitely come back to Cusgarne House!