FB Twitter

Brigids Patch

Brigids Patch

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.2
Location
4.6
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.4


A superb holiday home, Brigids Patch is deceptively spacious and has 3 bedrooms, sea views and an extensive south facing private garden with a delightful deck & terrace. It is a wonderful place for a holiday in one of the quieter areas of St Mawes yet within a short walk to the Castle or Harbour.

Brigid's Patch

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House looks 'tired' with chipped paintwork throughout. The stairs to the upstairs are very steep, this was not mentioned in the description and could pose problems for some people. We had to clean the stair rails, they were dirty and sticky. The downstairs shower rooms both smelt musty throughout our stay and one of the toilets flush button was broken. However, the sofas were comfortable in the sitting room and the heating worked well during a very windy and chilly spell. The kitchen was well equipped though there was a problem with the oven fan remaining on after the oven was turned off, which we notified the caretaker about. The bed in the main bedroom was very comfortable with good quality bed-linen and wonderful views. The garden is delightful, a good size with decking and terrace both with good views.
Generally it was 'ok' but not up to the standard of the cottages we usually stay in. It is obviously a much appreciated holiday home from the comments in the Visitors book and we can see why. Now we know what to expect, we would consider staying there again for it's position etc. but it does need a little 'uplift'!




Sarah, Lucy and Annabel replied 22 days ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay in Brigid's Patch. We have taken your comments on board and and are taking steps to rectify any problems. It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with the end of our busiest ever summer season. We do take our guests' comfort and enjoyment at Brigid's Patch very seriously and try to ensure that our guests have everything they need for a wonderful holiday in this beautiful area. We look forwards to welcoming you back again before too long. Sarah, Lucy and Annabel

A Weeks Stay At Brigids Patch

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely stay. Plenty of car parking, house was comfortable and well equipped. Beautiful well kept garden with fantastic views which we all enjoyed, especially our dogs. A lovely walk in to St Mawes but a challenge walking back up the hill for us oldies.



Sarah, Lucy & Annabel replied 40 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is always lovely to hear that our guests enjoy Brigid's Patch and St. Mawes. It also gives future guests a clearer idea of where they are going! We do try to provide a clean comfortable house with everything necessary for a happy stay... Thank you and we hope you will visit us again before too long Sarah, Lucy & Annabel

Peaceful cottage in good location for no-car exploring.

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was found easily and fully accommodated our needs (the dog included). There was ample space and the cottage was cool even on warmer days.
The location is great - a short (but steep) walk into town where you can access ferries for multiple trips around the local area. A fantastic circular walk from St Mawes to St Just is worth undertaking - with a coffee and homemade cake in St Mawes.




Sarah, Lucy and Annabel replied 100 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Brigid's Patch. There are lots of walks available from the cottage and from St Mawes, perfect for guests to explore with dogs... We try to keep the cottage as guest-friendly as possible with well equipped kitchen Etc... Please do come back and visit us again before too long. Sarah, Lucy and Annabel

Brigids Patch

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house was great and very homely. All the facilities were in great order and the garden was really nice to relax in in the evening.
Alot of care taken to provide a nice visit. Based on the house and the comfort, I would be pleased to stay there again. It was a very enjoyable trip with a wonderful place to stay.




Sarah, Lucy & Annabel replied 127 days ago
Thank you for your kind words. We do try to provide everything that our guests would need on their vacation; a "home away from home" experience, and we are always happy to receive positive feedback from contented clients. We look forward to welcoming you back again before too long. Sarah, Lucy and Annabel

St mawes

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at Brigids Patch the house was very well equipped and had everything we needed the garden was fantastic for the dog he loved it .



Sarah, Lucy & Annabel replied 140 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed Brigid's Patch, that you found everything that you needed, and of course that your dog enjoyed the garden! We always appreciate hearing from our guests. We do hope that you will be back to visit again! Many thanks Sarah, Lucy & Annabel

A wonderful week

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, practical house with a great garden and views in a beautiful setting close to St Mawes. Despite the weather being changeable we had a fantastic time and recommend this property highly.



Sarah, Lucy & Annabel replied 158 days ago
Thank you for taking time to write a review and your recommendation. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed both Brigid's Patch and St Mawes, (despite the changeable weather)... We look forwards to welcoming you again one day! Sarah, Lucy and Annabel

Great Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good accommodation excellent views.
Lovely place to relax and enjoy Cornwall, home from home.
One of the most well equipped cottages that we have stayed in.




Sarah, Lucy & Annabel replied 168 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Brigid's Patch and found everything that you needed... We do try and make the cottage feel like "home". We look forwards to welcoming you back again! Sarah, Lucy and Annabel

Fabulous Views!

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really happy with all aspects of the property, especially its garden and location. The views were fabulous!



Sarah, Lucy & Annabel replied 168 days ago
Thank you for your glowing review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Brigid's Patch. We agree, the location is beautiful and we do try and keep the garden so that the views are not obstructed at all. It is wonderful to hear that our guests enjoy it as much as we do! We look forwards to welcoming you back before too long... Sarah, Lucy and Annabel

Comfy and homely

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely home with a fabulously stocked kitchen and a gorgeous garden. A very relaxing stay for our family.



Sarah, Lucy and Annabel replied 168 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to get feedback from our guests as we do try to make the cottage as relaxing for our visitors as possible, with a fully equipped kitchen! We hope you will visit again! Sarah, Lucy and Annabel

"Brigits Patch Holiday review"

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay at the house. The views from the conservatory were lovely, and we enjoyed having our breakfast looking at the small boats moored in the harbour in the early morning light. The kitchen is well equipped and attached in the front is a newly added, bright dinning room with seating for eight people! We both liked this room and it was great when cooking to be able to carry the food on to the table straight off the cooker. The bedrooms were clean and bright and there is ample parking space. A coal fire was laid out for us when we arrived for our use and the house has central heating.
We would certainly consider this house again. For anyone looking for a peace and quiet, to relax and chill out, you probably could not find a more suitable property. And with the nice views across a long garden you can loose yourself in a book or just watch the boats go by over a coffee.
Bridget and Dennis Grange.




Sarah, Lucy and Annabel replied 207 days ago
Thank you for your kind words, a review is always helpful for for future guests to read. We sisters have spent many holidays in Brigid's Patch over the years and love St. Mawes and surrounding area. We would like all our guests to enjoy Brigid's Patch as much as we do.

Wonderful views and comfy house

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first stay in st.mawes and it was very nice. The house itself is lovely with excellent views, all beds were very comfy and all the rooms were very clean. We thought the issue of the downstairs toilet might be issue but actually it was fine. I thought the location was further down when I originally booked it, so it was a very steep walk to get home from the main village which may not suit everyone. Not really any negatives though but they could do with somewhere to hang coats in the hallway and there is only comfy seating for 4 people in the lounge although it sleeps 6.



Sarah, Lucy and Annabel replied 228 days ago
Thank you for your kind words and we so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Brigid's Patch. We love the house and try to make sure our guests have the best time. We have taken your comments onboard and have already installed coat hooks in the hall, supplied a larger toaster and will look into extra seating in the living room. We look forwards to welcoming you back to Brigid's Patch again before too long. Sarah, Lucy and Annabel

Good central place to stay for walking the South West Coast Path

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
If with a family a loo upstairs for the two bedrooms would I think be an advantage as the stairs are a bit steep.
Ground floor bed was not very comfortable.
Nice place with good atmosphere and garden dog friendly.




Sarah, Lucy & Anna replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have looked into every way to include a toilet upstairs and expand the staircase, but unfortunately the design and configuration around the chimney stack makes it impossible... We do hope that you will visit again

Charming house

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 2 weeks stay in a charming house - lovely quite area......................................................................................................



Sarah, Lucy & Anna replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is a great help for future guests. Having had Brigid's Patch in our family for over 50 years, we love to hear of our guests enjoying both the cottage and the surrounding area as much as we do! We are so happy that you had a wonderful 2 weeks and we hope that you come back to stay again some time.

A great stay in a beautiful area.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our two weeks in this super cottage. It was comfortable and it provided all we could need. The garden is lovely - the children loved playing in the evening after a busy day on the beach. There is ample parking too. Thanks!



Sarah, Lucy and Anna replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words, we are so very happy that you and your family enjoyed Brigid's Patch and the garden as well as exploring the beaches in the area. We aim to upgrade our property every year to improve our guests' overall enjoyment and comfort. Please do come again!

A lovely cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time in St Mawes at Brigid's Patch. It is a lovely house with a beautiful garden which the children loved playing in, in the evening.



Sarah, Lucy and Annabel replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind review, we love hearing that our guests have had a great holiday. We have tried to keep the garden so that it can be enjoyed by guests, children and dogs equally, without detracting from the wonderful view. We hope you will come again. Sarah, Lucy and Annabel

Ideal for us

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our third visit to Brigid's Patch,it fulfilled the criteria we have;dog friendly,car parking space and enclosed garden.The property is cleaned to a high standard,is well equipped with white goods which are new and have the necessary leaflets on how they work,some properties are lacking in these.
We love the area and consider Brigid's Patch is an ideal place to stop for us.




Sarah, Lucy and Annabel replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. We are ourselves dog lovers and have tried to make Brigid's Patch a clean, dog friendly, welcoming place to stay in such a beautiful part of Cornwall. We are so pleased that you enjoyed Brogid's Patch enough to return three times. We hope to see you again! Best regards Sarah, Lucy and Annabel

Great for dog owners

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location is quite remote so excellent if you want to get away from it all. Beautiful views but not suitable for anyone with animal allergies.



Sarah, Lucy and Anna replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you found the cleanliness and condition of Brigid's Patch unsatisfactory. Brigid's Patch was deep cleaned in February including having all carpets professionally cleaned. We care deeply about the standard of our property, the comfort of our guests and have taken your comments onboard.

Comfortable and spacious holiday space

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely garden plenty of parking space clean and spacios inside and very well equipped with all we needed without being cluttered. We love st Mawes.
Very happy time.




Everything we hoped for

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage had everything we wanted: nice harbor view, plenty of parking and an easy walk into town. All appliances including fireplace worked just fine. The one time we needed the housekeeper's assistance she was at the cottage within 30 minutes. The caterer that Cornwall Cottages recommended was fantastic.



SAFETY

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The stairs were very steep and also had a 90 degree turn which narrows the tread.There was only a part balustrade on one side to hold onto.As a retired schools Heath & Safety Officer I would say that in its present state the property is not safe,certainly for elderly people and young children.

You need to have a hand rail fitted to the wall on the left side for the full length of the stairs ( looking up on the left side.)The side with the part balustrade also needs a hand rail extension.

A notice needs to be displayed near the stairs advising there is a hazard and care is needed.

If there was an accident the owners could be judged as responsible and may have problems with insurance.




Sarah, Lucy & Annabel replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very helpful review. We have taken your comments on board and will be acting on them with a sign and a handrail as soon as possible. Your expertise, concern and constructive criticism has been much appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Brigids Patch and St Mawes. With thanks, Sarah, Lucy & Anna

My holiday in st maws

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely house beautiful views needs a bit of tlc down stairs bedroom needs some attention would recommend it family and friends the cleaner was lovely and very helpful



Nice cottage plus see view

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice location, see view, nice garden
We 3 couples enjoyed very much...
We cooked, had drinks, had some good time near in beach..
We certainly recommend this place....




Brigid's Patch short review

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Brigids Patch, the cottage is in a stunning location with beautiful sea views, the cottage itself is very cosy and beautifully presented with St Mawes Village being only a short walk away. The gardens are also beautifully and immaculately cared for which our American Akita Phoenix thoroughly enjoyed, the only issue that we had during the week was that Phoenix almost escaped from the rear corner of the garden, we used a beach wind break to temporarily secure the garden, a better fence would be recommended to make the cottage truly dog friendly. I would thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone.



A lovely fortnight.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a lovely two weeks in a comfortable and well-appointed house. It was clean and warm and the facilities were excellent. We will come back!



Holiday at Brigids Patch

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our holiday at Brigids Patch: From our point of view the position was excellent, plenty of room to park the car and good access from the road and being on the flat meant that the clutch didn't suffer as much as other holidays in Cornwall.The fact that the key was on the premises was also an added bonus as were the explitit details of how to reach the property.
The welcome pack was also good no wondering how equipment worked!

We had 2 dogs with us and the garden was enclosed although we were worried about the smaller one getting through the gate and blocked of the front garden using garden chairs of which there were plenty.

We played Scrabble first time for many years and would put in a plea for new box of Dominoes.

It didn't bother us but I can see that the stairs are a bit steep and also that there is no upstairs bathroom although I can see why!

Perhaps I should finish by saying we are thinking of making a return visit next year.




our wonderful stay at Brigids Patch.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay the house was clean a d welcoming on our arrival with beds immaculately made up and plenty of towels, a comfortable house in lovely location we would certainly return. May I suggest some comfortable lounger type chairs for the garden and a bit more storage in the shape of a larger chest of drawers in the bedrooms, these are I know minor things but thought you might like to know. Thank you for the opportunity of being able to use this comfy house.



Fantastic views great place to stay if visiting the local area.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Nov 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very clean and comfortable property. If you want a property with great character and modern facilities I would highly recommend. Heating and hot water system is first class. We loved the summer room and its great views overlooking St Mawes estuary. Six of us stayed and the down stairs space suited us well as we were not on top of each other.



Great Views - House a Little Tired - Very Steep Stairs - No Bathrooms/Toilets Upstairs

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Sep 2014
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location of the house is wonderful as are the views. For the price paid house could do with some t.l.c. and cleaning in the corners! Very comfortable beds. Kitchen well equipped but cupboards and utensil drawers need sorting. Found very old beyond mouldy chocolate cake in a container in kitchen cupboard! Can't have been checked for months. Lots of tables and chairs. Very steep and slightly alarming stairs leading down from bedrooms, not suitable for the elderly and should be noted on the description, made worse as all bathrooms and toilets on ground floor only, which should also be noted more clearly on the description. Lovely garden. Would recommend this property to others only for the location and views, which are wonderful.



A fantastic week!

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an excellent week...the cottage was fantastic. The children loved it, especially the garden. Would definitely recommend the cottage to anyone considering staying there.



Brigid's Patch.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay in a lovely house with beautiful views. The family enjoyed the garden and patio too. The facilities were excellent and it was good to have useful parking space.



Amazing location but property needs updating

Review submitted on Sun, 18 May 2014
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location was amazing as is St Mawes. The property itself feels tired and dated and could do with modernising and a deep clean as there is a lingering smell of damp/mould/dust.



a perfect holiday retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is just beautiful and is cosy but with plenty of space for the 5 of us and our dogs. Everything we could need was provided. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. The gardens and views fantastic. Bigds patch sets the bar in holiday homes. We had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. Many thanks



Pleasant place to stay with one or two comments

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Dec 2013
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed our few days in the cottage with one or two comments: No folder of information was left out for us, we had to look for it and found it in the desk in sitting room. No 'basket of coal' as detailed in folder was left for us ( although a quick phone call to Maria rectified this ) We found the stairs steep but gradually got used to them! Sofa badly in need of attention as the right side has completely 'collapsed'. Carpet in sitting room tired and badly stained in places. Good points : warm and cosy, good range of kitchen utensils and very good cooker. Wonderful garden which must be great in the summer , fantastic views especially from upstairs, good private parking area too. As there were only two of us, Brigid's Patch may not be the most economical place to stay. I also question the £25 charge for each dog and wonder how this can be justified as it certainly does not cost an extra £75 ( in our case) to return the house to cleanliness, especially since two of my tiny dogs are non moulting !