FB Twitter

Ardevora an Gylen

Ardevora an Gylen

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.4
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Converted from a barn, this light and spacious cottage is perfect for those looking for peace & tranquility, yet near to sandy beaches, coastal paths and the local villages of St Mawes & Portscatho. Regret no dogs.

Holidaying with family or friends? this property can be combined (by way of an internal connecting door) with Crowjy Ardevora which sleeps a further 5 persons. Ardevora Vean, across the courtyard, is also available and this cottage sleeps 2 (Friday changeover).

peaceful location

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommadation, comfortable and cosy. We loved the peaceful ,countryside vistas. A lovely place to unwind and relax.



Teri replied 27 days ago
Always nice to have happy guests and a good review - thanks.

A beautiful place

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
everyone was very friendly to us. The Cottage is connected to the amazing nature, and it was very clean. We loved it there.



Teri replied 29 days ago
Thanks for this great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed staying with us and would love you to recommend our cottages to your friends.

Off the beaten track

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week in Ardevora an Gylen,a really cosy cottage,away from it all in a beautiful location. The cottage contained all you could want. The owners Teri and Andrew were friendly and hospitable. Would recommend this venue to friends.



Teri replied 150 days ago
Thanks for this lovely review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Short Stay at Ardevora

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Accomodation and facilities were very good.
Only issue we had was the lengthy approach 'track' to the cottage which was very bumpy and extremely dusty and not great for the car.
Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the cottage.




Teri replied 150 days ago
Thanks for your comments. We are pleased you found our cottage very good and that the dusty track has not put you off recommending us.

Cornwall at its best

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed good warm weather which helped us enjoy both the cottage and the various attractions we visited in Cornwall.
The converted barn was very comfortable with all modern conveniences and the beds were very comfortable ~ just right for us. We enjoyed the walk down to the River Fal at low and high tide ~ just right at the end of the day before relaxing in the lounge with a glass of wine.




Teri replied 150 days ago
We are really happy that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Our first visit to Cornwall

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ardevora an Gylen. The accommodation was excellent and proved to be a very good base from which to explore The Roseland Peninsula. We were given a very warm welcome by Teri, who also provided us with a welcome pack.



Teri replied 200 days ago
Thanks for this 5* review. It's always nice to have happy guests and know you are doing things right. You're welcome back any time.

Peaceful haven, surrounded by wildlife

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great holiday, owners very friendly and helpful made you welcome from the start. Accommodation was spotless and everything you could think off was provided. The location was at the end of a long bumpy lane but was well worth the effort to get there. very peaceful, full of wildlife and only a short drive to the beaches. would fully recommend it and will be returning next year.



Teri replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks very much for this 5* review - we seem to be getting things right as this is our third 5* this summer which is fab. Looking forward to seeing you both next year and we're so pleased you loved it here.

PEACE, QUIET, COMFORT IN CORNWALL

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was terrific. Serene, beautiful and close to a gorgeous tidal river. Worth every one of the 3 minute driveway!

The hosts were most cordial and helpful. Loads of information provided.

The nicest place we have ever stayed and we have been all over England and parts of the world.




Teri replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for this tremendous review - our 2nd 5/5 review this year - Wow!! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Cornwall and found our cottage to be the best ever! We hope to see you both again sometime.

Great holiday at Ardevora again

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardevora met our every need in holiday accommodation peace and quiet and everything anyone could need in a
holiday cottage we have not stayed anywhere that was more clean and well equipped as this is,we have been before
and will be returning again




Teri replied more than 1 year ago
Good to see you again and we are so pleased you had another good stay. Thanks for this great review!

A Great escape

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location in the 'real' Cornwall, away from the bustle of the north coast this is a great location for exploring the smaller, lesser known bays, beaches and the stunning estuary of the Fal. Ardevora an Gylen is hidden away down a long and sometimes bumpy track but its location off one of the Fal creeks is worth the journey. The owners are really friendly and full of ideas and tips to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. We did make the mistake of booking as a family of four not realising this involved a sofa bed for the two children (but they loved it!). Next time we'll be booking the owners larger cottage next door.



Teri replied more than 1 year ago
It's always nice to get reviews from our guests, so thank you. We're glad the kids enjoyed the sofa bed and it all worked out OK for you in Ardevora an Gylen. Hopefully we will see in you Crowjy Ardevora next summer!

2 glorious weeks in Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at our holiday let at Ardevora Milll Cottages, we were soon greeted by Teri who was so very helpful and friendly. The place was immaculate, spacious, comfortable and above all so peaceful and tranquil.
The cottage had everything we could possible need, plus more. We loved eating meals on the patio in the very large garden.

We visited The Kings Head which was very nice and friendly too, on the seafood extravaganza night.

The Hidden Hut was great for lunch, and we went with some friends we met whilst down here to the Sharks Fin which was a great night out too.

We cooked quite a bit in the cottage, caught fish and seafood while out on our boat and came back to cook it. Bliss

We have stayed in some beautiful places and travel regularly, we rarely stay at the same place twice. We both agreed are ready to book Ardevora Mill Cottage again for next year it was so amazing.

A perfect place in a perfect location, need to make issue of the kayaks on site when we come again next year, just not enough time to do everything we wanted to do.

10/10 for everything.




Teri replied more than 1 year ago
What can I say - it was a pleasure having you both to stay and thanks so much for this lovely review. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Home comforts in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardevora an Gylen is 3/4 down a track in the picturesque village of Philliegh. It is in a wonderful position and a short walk away from a beautiful creek. The cottage itself is immaculate and is beautifully light and spacious. You can hire kayaks from the owners and enjoy the beauty of the countryside from another aspect. The owners have provided everything you need within the cottage including lots of information about the surrounding area. This includes info on the Eden Project, various gardens like Trebah, and Heligan, towns like Falmouth, Truro, and St Mawes. There's also details of boat trips and and a tide timetable, useful for knowing when you go for that walk down to the creek. My partner and our son would highly recommend Ardevora an Gylen. Our favourite spots would be Porthcurnick beach, and above it the Hidden Hut for lunch. For the best pasties try Ralph's in Portscatho, for cream teas the Ferryboat Inn at Helford Passage. Porlue, St Mawes, King Harry Ferry, and the beautiful St Just-in-Roseland church are all worth a visit, particularly the church. All in all a splendid week and thanks to the owners Teri and Andrew, oh and not forgetting the extremely friendly family dog,Tizzy.



Teri replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, thanks for this great review - we're so glad you loved it here - come and see us again soon!

Great holiday at Ardevora

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we turned into the long winding lane with views over the fal river creeks we were impressed,
The cottage was immaculately clean and tidy equipped with everything you needed and was so peaceful, there
is a footpath down to the nearby creek which is beautiful, Its situation gives the impression that you are miles
from anywhere yet the beaches, pubs and shops are but ashort drive away.
We hope to return again soon and would not hesitate recommending it to anyone.




Teri Pitman replied more than 1 year ago
What lovely comments, thank you. We are really pleased you had such a great time in our lovely cottage, Ardevora an Gylen and hope to see you again sometime.

Lovely for a getaway.

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2 adults and a child of nearly 10 enjoyed it very much because we like being in the depths of the country and having to chase the pheasants and partridges out of way of the car as we drove up the lane. The owner was helpful and friendly and there were plenty of activities provided in the cottage for a wet day. The instructions on how to get to Ardevora were excellent, particularly the warning about the length of the track: we might have lost heart arriving in the dark without it! Local information provided was excellent, including essential tide tables. We hope to return.



Teri replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the trouble to write a review on your recent stay at Ardevora. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Amazing holiday, beautiful and peaceful cottage!!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a very long 10 hour car journey with a 9 year old and a 1 year old baby we were so relieved when we opened the door to our beautiful, modern, clean and spacious cottage for the week. Our hosts took the time and effort to come up and say hello, making us feel most welcome, and offering us tips of places to visit whilst we were staying there. The children loved petting Tizzy, the friendly family dog that ran over to welcome us each day!
The cottage was very clean, spacious and set in a beautiful and peaceful location off a (very) long drive, which meant all you heard each day was the birds tweeting! The cottage had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable, we didn't seem to not have anything we needed. Just a short stroll along the edge of the neighbouring farmers field was the river Fal and the opportunity to hire the owners' kayak for the week. Our 9 year old and I LOVED our peaceful paddle out on the river each morning before breakfast, a child's real adventure holiday!!
We all loved the area, there were so many places to visit, lovely nearby beaches, quaint little pretty fishing villages, beautiful gardens, decent pubs to eat out at (particularly The Kings Arms, Tregony), and of course the Eden Project. We ran out of time to do all the things we wanted to do so we wouldn't hesitate to return again in the future.
We all had a fabulous holiday, thank you so much for having us!!




Teri replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write us such a great review. We really enjoyed having you to stay and spending some time with you out on the kayaks in the sea at Towan. It was lovely to read about all the things you enjoyed and we hope to see you again in the future.

Ardovera

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
1.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Threequarters of a mile drive along a pitted and rutted unmade track enough to put most people off going again, despite everything else being almost perfect.



Teri replied more than 1 year ago
We were pleased that, whilst here, you seemed to be enjoying your stay at Ardevora very much and that you have given our cottage an excellent rating, however it is great a shame that the track to Ardevora seems to have tarnished your overall opinion resulting in you giving us a location score of just 1/5. Not everyone wants to be so rural, however we do advertise that we are located down a long farm track and that Ardevora is certainly 'off the beaten' track - but equally that is why it's such a stunning, peaceful and idyllic place. It would be lovely to have you come and stay again, but we'll quite understand if would prefer not to.

A lovely cottage in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. The owners were friendly and welcoming. We had a most enjoyable stay. The only things to be aware of are the long farm track - mentioned in the details, which ensures that you feel away from it all but is a bit of a challenge. Also the wifi does not reach the cottage. It is possible to get online but you have to be in the garden or the laundry room.



Teri & Andrew replied more than 1 year ago
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your comments. Unfortunately the thick stone walls of our cottages are not helpful to WiFi signals, but we are looking at ways to improve the signal in this particular cottage. Regarding the track - yes it is long and in places a bit bumpy but us and many of our guests feel it is part of the 'Ardevora' experience and to quote some of our guests 'we are in a spot to die for' and 'it is worth it as the cottage is set in such a tranquil setting'. We do however take on board your comments and will continue to maintain and improve the track.

the best cottage we have ever rented

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent in every aspect the cleanliness was second to none. The fitments provided eg crockery, bedding utensils were all top class and the location of the property is in a spot to die for.



Teri & Andrew replied more than 1 year ago
What a great review, thanks very much.