FB Twitter

Whillan Beck

Whillan Beck

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


A gorgeous little cottage beside the Whillan Beck and quaint 17th Century pack-horse bridge with lovely fell and waterfall views.

Autumn break

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay in this cute cottage....small, but had everything you would need, and in the most delightful setting. In these unprecedented days we are in, the cleanliness and hygiene standard was obviously high and you felt very safe. All in all, we had a most relaxing time and after a days walking, the comfy bed was very welcoming!



Absolute gem in great location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a glorious week in Whillan Beck. Everything was so well thought out to make most of the charming space. All lights, sockets, mirrors in exactly the right places. Well stocked kitchen with plenty of equipment. Lovely to have proper glasses and mugs, as often an afterthought. Very comfortable bed and was bliss to go to sleep with the sound of the beck. Lovely garden to the rear to drink coffee in the morning and drinks in the evening. So many lovely walks direct from the cottage so could be on fells in minutes. Eskdale Mill across the beck is worth a visit. 3 pubs within walking distance all serving lovely food. The Boot Inn especially was very welcoming with lovely sunny garden. We were lucky enough to have sunshine all week but lots to explore locally if weather not so kind. Very tranquil spot in a glorious valley, already plotting our return. Thank you to the team who put so much thought into what people need and want in a stay, it really shows in attention to detail.



Great spot

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved it here very beautiful and calm. Plenty of beautiful countryside to explore. Good place for a couple.



Brilliant week in perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Whillan Beck cottage is in the perfect location for an escape - beautifully situated in Eskdale down a no through road next to a packhorse bridge, waterfall, water wheel and two fine pubs. It’s a stunningly peaceful setting and the private garden next to the stream is an idyllic setting for eating or drinks. The cottage itself is small but perfectly formed with high quality furnishings and bathroom/kitchen. We fell completely in love with it and it was very hard to leave - the best complement for any accommodation! Thanks to Greg for the excellent communication prior to the visit and for sharing this special place.



lovely cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Apr 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for a lovely stay. We had a great time. It was brilliant to be able to have so many beautiful walks from the doorstep. We did not use the car once. The cottage is lovely. We particularly liked the snug lounge area.



We're coming back!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is compact and perfectly equipped, we had a lovely stay, with some wet and windy walks in the hills! The views from the cottage of the Mill were lovely, we'd like to return in the summer



Perfect stay in lovely location

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful little cottage with lots of charm and character very well equipped with everything we needed. Set in an excellent location ideal for walking. Will definitely recommend.



Whillen Beck

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days staying in this charming cottage. Full of character, warm and cosy. Set in a beautiful location. Fantastic.



Such a great location. Boot nestles amidst the fells with excellent walking.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We'd visited Boot a few times before so knew what a fantastic location this was. Remote (no phone signal) with easy access to the fells and the ratty - the train running up and down the valley. This was our public transport at the end of some walks. Just check the times of the trains, we missed the last one once which added a few miles to the end of our walk.
With two pubs in Boot serving great food there's no need to drive anywhere. We cooked our breakfasts and ate on the picnic bench outside our back door beside the beck. Saw a large heron one morning.
The property was always a welcome retreat after our days out walking. Hot water for a bath, warm with all modern facilities, albeit all a bit crammed in. So no luxurious sense of space to spread out in, but we were up and out every day so didn't need it. I mentioned a faulty bedside lamp to the owner by email and Amy came to replace the bulb which was great. So we felt looked after. The cottage was quirky and charming with easy parking, and pitch dark walking to the pub at night. It was great ☺




Cosy little cottage for 2. Great location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good instructions regarding arrival and parking. Note that the village shop shuts at 4pm, so slightly frustrated that I didn't go there immediately and missed getting some milk. (a small amount is provided, but we needed more for breakfast and drinks the next day) Had to drive back down the narrow road 15mins to helpful shopkeeper at Eskdale Green. We needed some means of drying clothes/wetsuits and the information provided stated that their were pegs and an airer in each cottage. We wasted some time searching everywhere but were unable to locate this. We were able to contact staff via email, (no mobile phone signal) who helpfully left us an airer the following day. The cottage is in an ideal spot, comfortable,warm and quiet. The Boot Inn was an ideal spot to finish a walk, and we had 2 excellent meals there.



A pleasant stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great accommodation in a very remote and stunning part of the Lake District. Fantastic location for hiking and close to Hardknott Pass. The only downside is the parking situation if all the cottages are booked. There didn’t seem to be enough spaces to fit medium & big sized cars. By the time we arrived, our car park space had enough room for a bike rather than a car!
Something for the owners to think about, but on the whole a very good experience and I would stay again.




Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Marco, Thank you so much for your kind comments about our beautiful cottages and fantastic location at Bridge End Farm Cottgaes. We are delighted you had a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back to Boot soon. I’m sorry to hear that our other guests had not parked properly, which caused problems during your stay. Each cottage has allocated parking spaces, however, if another guest has not parked correctly, this has a knock on effect on another space. We do ask all guests to take care to park in the centre of their bay and I’m sorry that someone had not done so. We will add a note in our house-book suggesting guests ask one of our team to request the other guests park correctly. We hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best wishes from all the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages.

Lake District Cottage Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our cottage was small but lovely and in a great location, and very quiet. Unfortunately we had a leak from the shower upstairs into the kitchen, otherwise all was OK. A very pleasant stay.



Perfect retreat for two walkers

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage for two. Perfect location for walks, scenery and pubs. Really was a lucky find and we will be back in the different seasons. Would certainly recommend, though bijou, is everything you could want.
Minor issue for those wanting a "lie in" in that the recycling bins are at the end of the cottage below the bedroom window and all of those empty wine and beer bottles can rouse the sleeping.