FB Twitter

The Dairy

The Dairy

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 68 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


The Dairy sleeps two adults and is a light and airy ground level cottage. Lovingly finished with a high level of care it’s a stunning cottage for a lovely Cornish holiday.

Wonderful stay in the Dairy in such a peaceful setting!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really relaxing stay and really appreciated the quality and standard of the accommodation and thought it was excellent value for money. We had everything we needed and used some of the guides available as did a lot of walking and visiting the local area. It's in a great location to access everything in the peninsula.

It certainly lived up to our expectations, which is not always the case with some of the cottages we have stayed in. We hope to be back if we stay in the area again, and would certainly recommend to friends and family - Not something we would normally do!


Su from Farnham stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in July 2019


Roundhouse Barns

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay. It was a perfect set up for a couple with great facilities in the cottage. The location was well placed and close to St Mawes. The owners were very welcoming too and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely return as we have family close by. It was great to have the King Harry Ferry close by too.

Lisa from Eastbourne stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in July 2019


Another terrific stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a delightful stay in the Dairy, a well equipped, beautifully designed cottage. It is situated in gardens with 2 other cottages. The hosts, Barbara and Mark, are freindly and helpful. St Mawes is 4 miles away and many attractions are easily reached.

Walter from Benfleet stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in June 2019


A lovely location and excellent cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful part of Cornwall with lots to do. The Dairy was very comfortable and clean and surrounded by lovely gardens.”

Colin from Portsmouth stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in June 2019


A very pleasant stay in a beautiful peaceful location.

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed the cottage which was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The gardens were delightful. The large roll-top bath and spacious shower were definitely a plus factor. The cottages were in a very tranquil setting, but well situated for exploring the Roseland peninsula. We enjoyed visits to St. Mawes, St. Just in Roseland, Portscatho, St. Anthony's Head, Trelissick Gardens and The Eden Project. We would certainly consider a second visit.



Denise from Carnforth stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in May 2019


A lovely holiday cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable cottage finished to a high specification with everything you could possibly need. Welcoming and helpful owners and a lovely setting and garden. We enjoyed our week here and we liked St. Mawes and the beaches in the area.

Richard from Chesterfield stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in May 2019


Roundhouse Barns Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd successive spring holiday in the cottages. Flowers and shrubs are at their best in Cornwall at this time of the of time of the year which is why we go in the spring. As always Barbara deals with any problems immediately although her presence is unobtrusive. Cannot recommend too highly.

Guest from Woodford Green stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in April 2019


Perfect location for a stay in the Roseland peninsula

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the best self catering holidays we have ever had, and outstanding value for money. The Dairy has been carefully renovated to an outstanding level. Everything is extremely comfortable and all facilities are of a high standard and work faultlessly. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The location is tranquil and convenient for the coastal path and attractions such as the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and the cream tea was delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for Barbara and Mark. We are intending to return.

William from Hitchin stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in March 2019


A excellent, high specification, self catering accommodation.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Dairy is the highest spec self catering accommodation we have stayed in. Can really recommend it, you will not be disappointed. Absolutely everything you need was provided. The Dairy was lovely and warm, very welcoming and we felt immediately at home, a really comfortable bed, we had a great 7 night's sleep. It really was " home from home " and we felt really relaxed there. We'll be back. Barbara and Mark were excellent hosts, the cream tea on arrival was delicious and most welcome after a 5 and 1/2 hour drive. The fresh flowers in the kitchen and sitting room were a lovely touch and very thoughtful.

Michael from Cranleigh stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in March 2019


Review of holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have just spent another week at the Dairy which we thoroughly enjoyed despite storm Freya!Looking forward to returning in November.Barbara and Mark are wonderful hosts and Lucia and Max their lovely dogs gave us a great welcome.

Angela from Swansea stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in March 2019


Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you yet again for another wonderful short break in the Dairy. Mark’s scones were most welcome. Once again everything was spotless and comfortable. We are beginning to consider Roundhouse Barns as our second home in Cornwall.

Ian from Cardiff stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in January 2019


Barbara & Mark replied 191 days ago
Dear Ian You are most welcome. thank you for your kind words.

Home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can only find positive thoughts and memories of our stay, at Roundhouse Barns. If you seek exceptional hosts and tranquility, alongside first class accommodation; then look no further. The accommodation is set in beauteous remote location, which adds to the unique allure, that further ensures you will always want to return.

Keith from Bourne End stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in December 2018


Roundhouse

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay, very clean, with lovely touches like cream tea, Cornish pasties & fresh flowers. Lovely walks. Would definitely stay again.

Andrew from Bristol stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in November 2018


Setting a new standard

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Magnificent. Travelled to the beautifully unspoilt Roseland peninsula on many occasions the dairy at round barns is an exceptional base. The accommodation is outstanding on all levels. The professional standards are unsurpassed.

David from Broadway stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in December 2018


Review of recent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed another week in the Dairy,so clean and comfortable in a beautiful location.Barbara and Mark are wonderful hosts and their cream tea is to die for.Best scones on the Roseland.We met Max the new puppy who is so cute and a lovely companion for Lucia.We look forward to returning in the Spring.

Bryan from Swansea stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in November 2018


Lovely autumn break in a fabulous part of Cornwall

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again had a lovely relaxing stay at Roundhouse Barns. The weather in November was very mild and sunny. Had lunch outside on several days followed by walks along the beaches nearby.
The location, standard of accommodation and lovely hosts, Barbara and Mark, is what brings us back to this part of Cornwall.
Looking forward to our return in early spring 2019.


Philip from Wigan stayed at The Dairy for 6 nights in November 2018


Wonderful

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The attention to detail and cleanliness were outstanding - we have never stayed in a self catering cottage that has been so well maintained and our three night break was a joy.

Sandra from Marlow Bottom stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in October 2018


A Perfect Place in the Country.

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at the Roundhouse Barns for many years I can highly recommend this location for anyone who loves the peace and tranquility of the countryside. The coastal walks and nearby villages and towns provide plenty of interest for those who like to walk and water with abundance of Pubs Tearooms on route, not to mention National Trust Gardens.
The accommodation is absolutely superb in every detail and more than justify's the many competition awards it has received over the years.
The proprietors Barbra and Mark are delightful, with at least one on hand to guide and help as required.

An Excellent Place to Stay


Graham from Wells stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in October 2018


Another fab stay at Roundhouse Barns

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been return customers since Barbara and Mark purchased the property and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. They are perfect hosts and the cottages are of very high standard, very clean, comfortable and well equipped. I'm very fusy where I stay but know I can relax at Roundhouse Barns.

Jo from Rainham stayed at The Dairy for 14 nights in September 2018


A home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well thought out and equipped holiday home that we could have happily lived in. An excellent location.

Guest from Luton stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in July 2018


Rural peace and quiet with a Mediterranean feel!

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really cannot fault our stay at The Dairy - we arrived to a cream tea, strawberries and champagne and soon began to unwind in the cool, calm surroundings. There were so many little extra touches like the welcome card and pack of postcards and the luxurious bath salts. The cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped but my favourite part was the garden with its Mediterranean feel where we were able to sit out in the sun for coffee and long into the evening with wine. A truly relaxing break!

Debbie from Epping stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in July 2018


A lovely break on the beautiful Roseland peninsula

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week in May at the Dairy. The property is beautifully furnished and comfortable. A wonderfully equipped kitchen, a very glamorous bathroom and a cosy lounge. All set in a very pretty garden. Barbara and Mark were extremely good hosts, providing us with a welcome of homemade scones, jam and clotted cream., and on departure some Cornish biscuits. The property is very conveniently placed near to many places of beauty and interest, including the King Harry ferry. All in all, a wonderful week in a beautiful part of the world!

Jeanne from Chipping Norton stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in May 2018


Barbara and Mark Sadler replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review, we also love The Dairy bathroom, we wish ours was that big! So glad you had a lovely time exploring Cornwall, we hope to see you again soon.

From Winter to Summer in a Spring stay at Dairy.

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We timed our stay to correspond with the plant displays in the gardens across Cornwall. In this we certainly were not disappointed, except perhaps not having time to see them all.

We certainly appreciated returning to the Dairy in the evening knowing that what ever the weather we would be warm and cosy.

We stayed in two nights enjoying local food and ventured out on the other nights, not to be disappointed with the food where ever we went.

The Dairy is just ideal in a wonderful location and we will certainly return.

Par anD Roger Williams.


Roger from Solihull stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in April 2018


Roundhouse barns

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another wonderful holiday at the Dairy despite having snow.It didn't last long and was very pretty. The cottage was warm and cosy.We are looking forward to returning in November.

Bryan from Swansea stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in March 2018


Another lovely stay at RHB - The Dairy

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third trip to Roundhouse Barns and second stay in the Dairy was every bit as lovely as we hoped it would be. Our arrival was delayed due to the dreadful snow , but when we finally arrived we settled straight back in and felt immediately at home! We received a warm welcome from Barbara and Lucia, the lovely black Labrador and enjoyed Mark’s scones! We love the location of the cottages, it is so peaceful at night and there are lots of places to visit within an easy driving distance. There are also great walks on the doorstep, in particular down the lane to Turnaware point, which is a great end of the day or early morning walk.
We find there is everything we need in the kitchen and it is also lovely to have the sheltered outdoor space for unexpected warm afternoons (in March!)
We also loved Cockle cottage but somehow the Dairy has become our favourite!
We look forward to returning soon.


Alison from Kidderminster stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in March 2018


A truly relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for a truly relaxing break in a beautiful location. The views at the top of the drive are amazing.
We stayed in The Dairy, and we couldn't fault the accommodation. We had everything that we needed .
Cream tea when we arrived and all the home comforts with comfy sofas and big fluffy towels.
Thank you do much, we hope to return soon.


Anne from Gunnislake stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in February 2018


A beautiful cottage with peace and tranquility.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect cottage for a peaceful break. The Diary is warm and cosy and beautifully decorated, furnished and equipped to a high standard. The bed is superbly comfortable and the bathroom is high grade. The kitchen/diner is spacious and has everything you need. The lounge is very attractive. Barbara and Mark are very friendly and helpful. Two minutes or so gets you to the delightful King Harry ferry across to the outskirts of Truro or you can explore the stunning Roseland peninsula. Don't miss the truly lovely church at St. Just. Excellent.

Tina from Bognor Regis stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in February 2018


Barbara Sadler replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay in The Dairy. Everyone loves the Super King bed, which is a Hypnos and lovely and comfortable - just what you need after a day out and about on the Roseland. We love the h church and gardens at St Just as well, beautiful and so peaceful. Hope to see you back again.

Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation can’t find fault always consistent when paying a return visit look forward to next visit

Frank from Sidmouth stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in December 2017


Another wonderful holiday staying at the Dairy

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Dairy is a wonderful place to stay,it really is home from home.We have stayed here several times,have just spent another week and looking forward to our return in march.Barbara and Mark are so welcoming and the cream tea on arrival is the best we've tasted on the Roseland.

Bryan from Swansea stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in November 2017


A return visit to the Dairy

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is my 4th visit to the dairy so it was nice to see the changes.
A peaceful and restful stay with plenty of walking and relaxation.


Peter from Sandbach stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in September 2017


Week at Roundhouse Barn - The Dairy

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really great spot. Great for access to St Mawes, Falmouth, Truro and further a field. Cottage was a delight - a very comfortable home from home. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Michael from London stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in July 2017


A wonderful cottage in a superb part of Cornwall

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Dairy at Roundhouse Barns offers accommodation of the highest standard set in a peaceful, picturesque part of the Roseland Peninsula. The Dairy is a spacious, extremely comfortable cottage which fully deserves its 5 star rating. The cottage door opens onto to a delightful private garden. Within easy driving distance are many National Trust coastlines and gardens, including St Anthony Head and Trelissick, both of which can also be accessed by short ferry crossings, the stunning St Just in Roseland Church and St Mawes with its ever changing harbour and Henry VIII castle. A 20 minute passenger ferry crossing takes you to bustling Falmouth and its many attractions and then on the return crossing wonderful views of St Mawes. Also easily accessible are superb beaches at Towan, Porthcurnick and Pendower/Carne,

Douglas Michael from Stourbridge stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in July 2017


Roundhouse Barn Holiday (The Dairy)

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great two weeks staying in The Dairy.

I have shown the location as " Good" only because there wasn't a Very Good option. The Roseland Peninsula is beautiful and if your intention is to stay in this vicinity the it is an excellent location. But if you are looking to travel to other parts of Cornwall then it can be a bit of a drive.

BUT this would not stop us from visiting this area again and definitely choosing at Roundhouse Barns.

Without doubt the best cottage we have stayed in.






Philip from Pudsey stayed at The Dairy for 14 nights in June 2017


What more could we want from a holiday!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just wanted a quite relaxing week in comfort and that's exactly what we got. Beautiful cottage with everything provided - didn't feel tiny like some '2 people' cottages do. Bedroom & bathroom were excellent, Kitchen was well equipped and lovely to sit with door opening on to the garden. Sitting room was spacious and comfortable to relax in after returning from sampling another place off the recommended pubs/restaurants list. Had some lovely meals and plenty of variety. When you first arrive you think how far away everything is but within a day you are nipping along the roads and into to St Mawes in 7 minutes! A beautiful location and interesting history down the lane at Turnabout Point & the D-Day preparations. Barbara & Mark were full of helpful advice which we appreciated. We were fortunate that the weather was perfect but we always know if there was a bad day we could snuggle down in our comfortable cottage and still enjoy ourselves. Plenty of attractions in the area, pity we missed the flowers at their best but we'll just have to come earlier next year. Have always enjoyed this area since visiting as a child and so glad we have found a good retreat to return to. Thanks again for a wonderful holiday - and pet therapy thrown in - what more could you ask!!

Linda from Swadlincote stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in May 2017


Loved The Dairy

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Roundhouse Barn Holidays. We loved Cockle Cottage but it was unavailable and so booked he Dairy. We loved it as much, if not more. We arrived early in the day to a hamper of items enabling us to cook breakfast, unpack and set straight off for a lovely afternoon walk, before returning to enjoy freshly baked scones! . This set the scene for a fabulous week. we walked miles, cooked lovely meals in the well equipped kitchen and slept soundly in the comfy super king sized bed! The cottage also has plenty of storage space, a cosy lounge, with sky tv and music system, and a large bathroom with separate shower Barbara and Mark are around but not intrusive and Lucia, the dog, is great entertainment but well controlled. We can't wait to return.

Alison from Kidderminster stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in February 2017


February sunshine!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were blessed with sunshine during our February stay at The Diary and were as delighted with our accommodation as we were the weather. Our very late arrival was no problem and our hosts were more than accommodating throughout the week. Their attention to details is refreshing and we had no questions or issues of any kind. Our accommodation was of high quality, beautifully clean and well kitted with all the essentials. We would definitely recommend this little gem and will definitely be returning.

Matthew from Cheltenham stayed at The Dairy for 6 nights in February 2017


Very relaxing accommodation and location

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit, which in itself is saying something as I don’t recall us ever going to the same place twice, (due to one of us being extremely fussy). The dairy has everything you need for your stay with the exception of food, although you are even given a head-start with that with the provision of 4 lovely scones, jam and clotted cream – the perfect accompaniment to a cup of tea immediately following the unpacking. The house is warm and comfortable. The location is very quiet day and night and is dark at night, (which you may appreciate if you live in an urban environment and are used to constant sodium light pollution). The owners are really nice, as are the 2 dogs who are the first to greet you upon arrival. To summarise: I arrived, relaxed for 4 days, left 6 pounds heavier.

Alex from Trowbridge stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in November 2016


Short stay at The Dairy

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful cottage which has been fitted out to a exceptionally high standard. A wonderful home made cream tea welcomed us on our arrival which was a lovely touch. Lots of literature to browse if you are new to the area including places to eat, whether it is fine dining or just a pint at the local pub, which is so helpful. Just a short walk down the drive to a breathtaking view with wonderful walks. Looking forward to staying here or one of the other two properties in the Spring.

Syd from Liverpool stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in November 2016


A place to Unwind

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely peaceful place to stay. The accommodation is excellent with everything you could want and more. Lovely walks from the cottage and plenty of places to visit with only a short drive. Barbara and Mark have created an idyllic place to unwind. We would thoroughly recommend these cottages.

Richard from Bury St. Edmunds stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in July 2016


A week in the Dairy

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was lovely, a very high standard of cleanliness and comfort and we would definitely go again and not hesitate to recommend it. Lots to do and see in this part of Cornwall even in October,

Eileen from Barnet stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in October 2016


Regular Visitor

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regular visitors to Roundhouse Barns and have been since Barbara and Mark first took over. We love Cornwall and since we first stayed at Roundhouse we have never considered staying anywhere else. Why would we when we have everything we need there. Its a true home from come, comfy bed, sofas, stunning bathroom and kitchen with high end appliances etc. But most of all our hosts are so friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

Jo from Rainham stayed at The Dairy for 14 nights in September 2016


An excellent location for walking & exploring

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a first-class week at Roundhouse Barns, even walking into St. Mawes via St. Just.& back.Otherwise it is very convenient to get into St. Mawes for the various ferries and also to get to Portscatho for some excellent walking on that coast and great fish & chips from the Atlantic Fryer mobile van.

The property is extremely comfortable with the bonus of WiFi & Sky as well as seating outside for apero time....

On the Facebook page a guest mentioned Mark's amazing scones in the lovely cream-tea welcome., probably the best we have tasted.

We hope to return....


Wyn from Winchester stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in August 2016


A great place for two.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent place to stay, with a great location with lots to do in the area, ando plenty of places to eat if you don't feel like cooking. Would happily return in the future.



Graham from Northampton stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in September 2016


The Dairy - Roundhouse Barns

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One word sums up The Dairy - FAULTLESS. It was so well presented everything appeared brand new!
Barbara was an excellent host, providing help and advice when required. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Mark.
We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary during our stay and the gift of a bottle of champagne was thoughtful and well received, a nice touch. The cottage was well placed to explore Cornwall and the local pubs were excellent for food and to sample the local real ales(special mention for the Roseland Inn & Kings Head).
St Mawes is a beautiful harbour just a few miles away and we spent a number of hours there just relaxing and watching the world go by!
All in all a great holiday and I'm sure we'll be back in the near future.


John from Sunderland stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in July 2016


DElightful cottage in lovely area

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was exceptionally well equipped and had quite recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Barbara and Mark were friendly and helpful hosts and kept the surrounding gardens beautiful. Although the property is away from built up areas, reaching west Cornwall sites is quick and easy. St Mawes is 5 miles away and both Fowey and St Ives can be reached in under an hour. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to go back next year.

Walter from Essex stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in May 2016


A perfect holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our accommodation had everything that we required to ensure a great self catering holiday. A well equipped kitchen and the accommodation itself was tastefully furnished with all mod cons. There was also a lot of information re the local attractions as well as further afield. We'll be back.

Guest from Ross-on-wye stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in May 2016


Happy Stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We combined Dairy with The Suite for two days when we had a great friend to visit.Worked very well as we had extremely comfortable accom.with great help from Barbara/Mark enabling this reunion.Fine surroundings in pleasing countryside.Thank you very much.N/P/R.

Paul from Maresfield stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in April 2016


Always Top Notch

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed many times at Roundhouse Barns, both B&B and self catering. It's like returning to your very own holiday home with a wonderful warm welcome and a cosy beautiful cottage to relax in. The Dairy has to be one of my favourite. It is well laid out, spacious, luxurious and Barbara and Mark have provided every piece of equipment you may need in the kitchen, with games, videos, books, music etc in the lounge. Incredible attention to detail and we had the most wonderful stay, so much so, we extended our time! Thank you again for a special holiday and lovely company, until next time.

John from Worcester stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in April 2016


Peaceful and relaxing

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed twice at Roundhouse and it is the perfect place for a peaceful and relaxing break. Very quiet and no light pollution. Lovely scenery in the area and lots to do.

Nicholas from Farnborough stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in March 2016


A wonderful place to relax completely

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at The Dairy. We had previously stayed in the bed and breakfast accomodation and always been amazed by the gorgeous rooms and Barbara and Mark's hospitality. Needless to say The Dairy was up the same high standards and the welcome as warm as ever. We will be back as soon as we can!

Neil Sayer from Calne stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in February 2016


Peaceful

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet again another peaceful and relaxing time spent at Roundhouse Barns the accommodation was excellent and up to high standards we have always been used too.
I love Cornwall in the winter looking towards our next visit thank Mark and Barbara


Ian from Cardiff stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in January 2016


Grand holiday at the Dairy.

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As former members of the Holiday Property Bond we found that the Dairy was better in every respect than comparable cottages provided by the Bond.An outstanding facility. Well done Barbara and Mark.

Ron from Penzance stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in January 2016


A Cornish CHristmas

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual Barbara & Mark had done all the little things & more to make our stay memorable. Mark's scones were scrumptious as usual & the personal welcome plus other gifts were really appreciated.
This was our first Christmas in Britain for 32 years so we wanted it to be special & so it was,
This was the third time we have stayed at Roundhouse Barns & we would sincerely recommend it to couples who want luxury & a special location.
Cornwall is fantastic but the Roseland is idyllic no matter what time of the year.
Oh, we forgot about Barney. He usually pops round each day to say hello & see if he can scrounge some tidbits.
Many thanks. Looking forward to our next stay.
Peggy & Martyn Platt
Margaret River. Western Australia.


Martyn from Perth stayed at The Dairy for 9 nights in December 2015


An ideal cottage for an 'away from it all' break in one of the most wonderful areas in the country.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What better way is there to start a holiday in Cornwall than arriving to find fresh scones, Cornish clotted cream, and fresh jam on the kitchen table!

Bill from Chorley stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in September 2015


The Dairy Round House Cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booking was well managed and easy. We were sent details of everything that was included and good directions. The Dairy is very attractive and well furnished. Excellent bed and quality linen. Well equipped bathroom and kitchen. Arm chairs and Sofa very soft, which would be fine for some people.
We were warmly welcomed by Barbara and Mark and found fresh flowers, scones, clotted cream and jam awaiting our arrival.
The gardens surrounding the cottages is well designed to afford a little privacy for each cottage. Full of colour and well maintained. Being well away from the road and just a mile from the sea it is very quiet and peaceful. Pleasant walks from the cottages.
The reason I rated cleanliness as good was that the some of the glass surfaces were slightly tacky and there were smears and crumbs under the glass on the kitchen table. I know why as it was very heavy to move and having done so we had to prop it so it could dry. Far to heavy to lift off the table. (This sounds rather petty and I am probably over particular)
We were holidaying with our daughter and Grand children and it was the perfect retreat at the end of a tiring day. Would love to stay there again.


Roberta from South Newington stayed at The Dairy for 5 nights in August 2015


Very relaxing stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very relaxing stay in The Dairy at Roundhouse Barns. The accommodation is of a very high standard with a large kitchen with built in appliances, a living room with comfortable seating and a large TV (with sky) DVD player with a selection of films, small Hi Fi and an ipod stereo, bathroom with large shower and roll top bath and a bedroom with the most comfortable bed that we have ever slept in away from home.
The location is a very good one for south Cornwall, but most places are a good drive away, so for sightseeing be prepared for a car journey to get there .
Cannot fault this stay, however if you need to be constantly connected to the modern world, Wi Fi is hit and miss and you may have to walk to the top of the drive for a phone signal - but that's Cornwall!!


Guest from Bognor Regis stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in August 2015


Barbara replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sorry about the WiFi - we have been trialling satellite broadband - but sadly it has proved to be worse than what we had before! We have disconnected it now and gone back to BT and will keep pushing to get Superfast Broadband here. In the meantime we are back to a connection that will let you email, surf the web and stream music - but is not fast enough to stream videos or films. As you say one of the joys of living in a rural area!

Strongly Recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners made sure that everything was just perfect for us - as it was. They were very keen to know if there was any thing else we required and suggestions for improvements. We didn't need to make any suggestions as everything was of a very high standard, meeting our expectations. Nice touches such as Sky sport and films, use of vegetables from the veggie patch (not that we used any) and scones to welcome you with a large pot of clotted cream that lasted the week! ideally located for coastal walks and a super NT beach (Towen)

Guest from Belfast stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in July 2015


Fantastic Cornish retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic holiday in a wonderful place. Quiet and peaceful location, but central enough for days out in St Ives, Heligan and the Helford Passage.
Delightful walk from St Just (park in church car park) to St Mawes along the cliff path.


Guest from Wirral stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in July 2015


Perfect stay

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the Diary was wonderful. This was our 5th visit to the Roundhouse Barns and we booked our next holiday on the day we were leaving! Always so relaxing, Mark and Barbara are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We are looking forward to many more visits.

Guest from London stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in June 2015


The Dairy

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fantastic cottage in a wonderful location with great views. The Roseland peninsular is such a beautiful part of Cornwall, made it worth the long journey down the M5 and A30

Guest from Louth stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in June 2015


Excellent all round!

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful holiday venue in a beautiful and interesting location. This was our second visit and we've booked again for next year. Need we say more! Really friendly owners.

Guest from Stafford stayed at The Dairy for 14 nights in June 2015


Pleasant and quiet

Review submitted on Mon, 18 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time staying at a holiday cottage and were very pleasantly surprised! Everything was very well thought out, very clean & comfortable - couldn't have asked for more - just better weather but, that's England. All the little treats made it even more special. Thank you?

Guest from Ventnor stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in May 2015


Perfect property - peaceful, restful and tranquil.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A property of a very high standard with emphasised green credentials. Numerous walks and places to visit. An idyllic Roseland holiday destination.

Guest from Telford stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in April 2015


Fifth visit to the wonderful Roundhouse Barns

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Roundhouse Barns never fail to impress. They have the "wow" factor and we have now stayed in all three of the self-catering cottages; each having its own unique character but all consistanly presented to the same very high professional standard as well as being comfortable and well equiped . It is an added bonus that the friendly owners are on site and always ready to provide help and advice, not to mention their personal welcome (and good bye).

The location may at first appear to be out in the sticks a bit but the King Harry ferry, St. Just in Roseland and St. Mawes are a short drive away and in terms of sight-seeing the Barns are actually well located for visits to the many English Heritage and National Trust properties and gardens and other similar attractions found in West Cornwall. Most places are within an hour or so drive or you can forget the car and enjoy lovely walks along the River Fal or simply relax in the pretty manicured gardens - it's what ever you want.

In our opinion, the Barns really do take some beating and owners never appear to sit on their laurels and do pay a lot of attention to detail.

Julie and Tim







Guest from High Wycombe stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in April 2015


Excellent short break in Dairy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage with everything thought of. Nice additional touches such as flowers and a cream tea. Very clean and bed was very comfortable. Would stay again.

Guest from Cheltenham stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in March 2015


Fantastic holiday spot

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed at roundhouse and it's perfect for what we need. In an ideal world we would be somewhere with a view of the sea, but I can't fault the property and would happily go back again. It is incredibly comfortable, clean and warm. The owners have thought of everything (perhaps dressing gowns would be a nice addition!)

Laura from Wandsworth stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in March 2015


February half term break

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellently equipped, modern decor and facilities. Close to a number of scenic and coastal walks. St Mawes and Falmouth via walks and ferries close at hand. Two lovely pubs within decent walking distance, others by car.
The local ferry to get you off the Roseland Peninsula good value for money and close by.


Guest from Chippenham stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in February 2015


The dairy

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely weekend in Cornwall again.the Dairy is far more than home from home. Ideally place near the King Harry Ferry, Rick Steins in Falmouth was a must. The Dairy is a wonderful find

Ian from Cardiff stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in January 2015