FB Twitter

Ty Gwyn

Ty Gwyn

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 4 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.3
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.5


Portscatho

In a good setting for the village and Porthcurnick Beach, this cottage for six has a lovely outside courtyard as well as two sitting rooms. Nicely renovated, it is a traditional Cornish cottage only seconds from the village square.

One double bedroom and two twin bedrooms

Lovely cottage only let down slightly by under-equipped kitchenware

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a lovey holiday at Tyg Wyn and there are some fantastic aspects to the house including the beautiful bathrooms, comfortable bedrooms and big kitchen. However, we struggled to find enough sensible sized glasses, plates that weren't chipped or plastic, and decent mugs. This is so easy to get right with a trip to Ikea and some fresh glasses etc but felt that the collection of garage sherry glasses, some disposable plastic ones and a couple of pint glasses from the local pub let the place down a bit. We loved the homely feel to the place with nice furniture, paintings on the walls, jigsaws and books on shelves and the children enjoyed the enormous TV. We took our own beach towels but would have appreciated beach towels being provided too. Again this is is cheap and easy to get right. There were some beach looking towels in the bathroom cupboard but not very nice ones and we didn't like to help ourselves. The white bath towels and bed linen were appreciated. All that being said, we had a great time and would definitely recommend to others and stay there again. Thank you.

Guest from Marlborough stayed at Ty Gwyn for 7 nights in July 2018


Beverley replied 97 days ago
Thank you for highlighting that the glassware was not adequate, a message from the owner: You're 100% right on the glasses! We now have two pretty new matching sets, so all guests at Ty Gwyn can enjoy them. Many thanks for the really helpful feedback. Beach towels are not provided in any of the self catering accommodation. I am glad that you enjoyed Portscatho and would like to return.

Lovely cottage in village location, some road noise

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really enjoyed staying at Ty Gwyn. We had amazing weather and it was a great base from which to explore the Roseland Peninsular and a lovely village to return to with a very convenient and well stocked local store close by. The one small drawback is that the cottage is very close to the road which provides access to the village square and it was therefore noticeable that there was traffic noise especially in the early morning.

Guest from Bedford stayed at Ty Gwyn for 7 nights in June 2018


Beverley replied 131 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. The house is very central and allows you to enjoy the village life and have access to the coastal paths.

Very Pleasant stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely week. A very well situated property . One minute's walk to the excellent pub and very well stocked little supermarket and butchers shop. The property is spacious with well equipped kitchen, 3 decent sized bedrooms and 2 good size bathrooms. Lots of games, books etc if you wanted them and super little outside area for meals and bbq. Overall a very good property.

Stephen from Wirral stayed at Ty Gwyn for 7 nights in June 2018


Great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Ty Gwyn. The weather was mixed but the house is great - very warm and comfortable and when the sun did come out the courtyard garden is a sun trap.


Fiona from Petersfield stayed at Ty Gwyn for 7 nights in March 2018