FB Twitter

Chapel House East

Chapel House East

4.0
out of 5
Ratings from 3 reviews
67% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.3
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.3


St Mawes

A stunning converted chapel with glorious 180 degree sea views over St Mawes. Just metres back from the sea front with easy access to two beaches.

One super king sized bedroom, one double bedroom and one twin bedroom

Disappointing Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Nov 2018
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
My family have, over a number of years, enjoyed staying at Chapel House East in St Mawes. While it always had the mildly damp aroma that is associated with a building of some antiquity it had not put us off returning once again. On this last occasion the location of two dehumidifiers, complete with a hand written request to operate them did not initially ring any alarm bells, however the increasing damp odour quickly became apparent and as requested both dehumidifiers were used. It is not an exaggeration to say that over the fortnight some gallons of water where extracted from the atmosphere within the Chapel. It was not until we returned home that we fully realised that almost all our clothes had an unpleasant damp clinging musty aroma.
I would also add that the lounge furniture is tired and uncomfortable.
These issues have been reported direct to Portscatho Holidays.


Paula from Reading stayed at Chapel House East for 14 nights in October 2018


Beverley replied 6 days ago
Thank you for your feedback and your reports on the property we do value it. Chapel House East is an old property by the sea and as such the dehumidifiers are placed within it to help ventilation. A circulation unit has been installed in the property recently to help ventilate the house. The owners constantly up date the house and renew furniture where they feel it is most appropriate. I am glad you enjoyed the Roseland and the surrounding area.

Very well equipped, except for lack of hairdryers! (at least - we couldn't find any)

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No real problems, apart from comment above.
A very comfortable place to stay and in general,
very well equipped and presented.
One other minor moan - the extractor fan in the main bedroom ensuite remained on all night and was somewhat intrusive when trying to get to sleep, even with the door firmly shut. We could find no switch or isolator ( normal in most homes) to stop it running throughout the night.






John from King's Lynn, stayed at Chapel House East for 7 nights in September 2018


Beverley replied 52 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. There should be two hair dryers in the property, we will double check on our next visit and rectify. I do apologise that they were not there The ensuite is part of the air circulation system so does stay on low. Chapel House East is really well situated in the Village and well presented also it does have wonderful views.

The perfect place for a Spring break

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is 22 years since we had our honey moon in Portloe. Since our 3 children have never had a holiday in Cornwall we wanted to introduce them to the beautiful Roseland Peninsula. The house is lovely with great views out on to the estuary and surrounding coast, fantastic for boat watching, whilst the downstairs master bedroom is very spacious. The upstairs living area is great for a family of 5, we enjoyed playing games on the dinning table. The Kitchen is very well equipped. St Mawes is a beautiful place, a genteel busyness in the day and very quite at night. The only trips out were either on foot or by ferry which we really loved. It was very peaceful despite being surround by lots of other houses, many of these were unoccupied when we visited. We wondered if it might be a bit noisier in Summer? It would be good if the website made it clear that there is not parking or unloading in front of the house but you should not let that put you off. we had no problem 'pulling-up' on the Marine Parade to unload and then leaving our car in the large public car park. It is a very good base for a car free holiday.

Matthew from Birmingham stayed at Chapel House East for 7 nights in April 2018