FB Twitter

Holt Stable

Holt Stable

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


  • A generous holiday cottage with all modern amenities.
  • Lounge/diner with 2 sofas, separate spacious kitchen,
  • All linen and towels supplied
  • Central heating throughout
  • Phone, free WiFi, stereo, ipod dock, 46" television
  • Countryside views, walks from the door, pub 1 1/4 mile

Another lovely week at Holt Farm...

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our 3rd visit to Holt Farm cottages having had a very relaxing week. There are walks in the beautiful countryside from the doorstep and the hospitality and kindness of Ruth and Gordon is second to none. The cottages are spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated....with everything thought of for a very comfortable stay. I'm pleased to say that this will not be our last visit! Thank you Ruth & Gordon




Perfect place for a quiet weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't have asked for a better place for a quiet weekend. The accommodation and facilities were perfect for our booking.



A relaxing long weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having received a lovely warm welcome from Ruth, we enjoyed a long weekend at Holt Farm. Location was quiet, cottage was fully equipped and cosy, especially on the rainy Sunday!!! Plenty of places to visit nearby and pub along the road was really good. A very relaxing stay and would recommend.



Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn’t have been more comfortable. Ruth has thought of everything. Excellence accommodation for a romantic getaway. Highly recommend.



Holt Stable - amazing

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful homely accommodation which was very spacious, could easily move in and never leave. If you want peace and tranquility with fabulous countryside and views all around this is the place to me.



Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all 4 barns for a stag weekend. Despite heavy snow we had a fantastic time. Lovely place. The owners could not have been more helpful and the set up and quality of the accommodation exceeded expectations.



A wonderful weekend with family and friends in a perfect setting with excellent facilities.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the whole place out for our family Christmas and my parents joint 60th birthday party. It was perfect. There was lots of space for cooking and entertaining and the standard of the accommodation throughout was excellent. It snowed very heavily when we were there which added to the fun. But the hosts were very helpful and attentive making sure that we could get towed out by local farmers and delivering essentials like milk as we couldn't get out to drive to the shop. A memorable weekend and one we would love to repeat every year.



A relaxing break in the Herefordshire countryside

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at Holt stable. It was warm and comfortable with very attractive furnishings. We walked the countryside in the mornings and visited local towns in the afternoon. Pub visits in the evening. It's very tempting to return soon.



A perfect quit place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderfull week in The Stable. The directions to the place were excellent and Ruth is a perfect host. A bedroom with a perfect bed and ensuite showerroom. Good chair and sofa's and a well equipped kitchen. If there is a point of recommandation: other chairs outside. But nevertheless - we can recommand this place to everybody!



Title

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real delight and we hope to come back. Well done & thank you. Jane Gray

(why do I have to enter 27 more characters???!!!)




holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage and the bed was so comfy, it was so good we ordered the same mattress to have at home staircase was a little difficult for a couple of oldens but we manage



Fab

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab weekend at Holt Farm. We had a wonderful weekend for the hen. All cottages are extremely well stocked with all the utensils, cookware, anything you should need and the place is beautiful. I would definitely stay here again!!



A home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
So often, when you travel, you stay in places which are pleasant enough but its clear that the cheapest materials have been used to maximise the profitability for the owner and minimise the replacement cost in the case of damage. Not so, at Holt. Everything from the mattress to the furniture to the underfloor heating has been prepared and provided to give you exactly the kind of quality you would expect at home. On so many occasions during my stay, I would look at an item or the way the restoration and adaptation had been carried out and I'd think - that's exactly what I'd have done if I were doing my own home.
I really can't think of higher praise. A home from home.




Excellent in every way

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked at the last minute for a weekend away for my wife and I, directions given were easy to follow. It was in a lovely secluded location with the other 3 cottages. We found it clean, well equipped and in excellent condition. Decorated in what i would describe as a traditional style. Bed was very comfortable, we had a great night sleep (must be the country air).
Recommend the pub in Longtown, excellent meal.




Absolutely perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a long weekend in the Stable and it was absolutely wonderful. It is no exaggeration to say that this was the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in. The kitchen is well equipped, the bedding is beautiful and the towels large and fluffy. If you are looking to stay somewhere remote for peace and quiet, this is the perfect place. Ruth and Gordon were fabulous hosts, even coming out late one night to sort a smoke detector battery! Nothing was too much trouble. We have booked those whole complex for a family weekend next year and are really looking forward to it.



visit friends

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay .Made to feel very welcome The use of the house phone was most helpful. Very interesting places to find around the area. TOP MARKS.



Holy Farm - Tranquil

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If u would like to get away from it all and head out to a beautiful quiet spot in a tranquil location Holt Farm is the place! Very comfortable homely feel, beautiful walks on the doorstep, fabulous chilled time.....Thanks!!

Tom




Perfect location and property

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic rural location for a relaxing holiday. Stable has everything and more that you need and the warm cupboard is especially useful if you have an active break for drying wet gear. The cottage is spotless and comfortably and attractively furnished Safe storage for bikes is great and the outside private patio table lovely for both breakfast and dinner. Ruth and Gordon are great hosts, very helpful and welcoming. This was our fourth visit and each time we notice another improvement that makes it even better.



fabulous weekend in the countryside

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hello,

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Holt stable. We were well catered for, the welcome pack of teas coffee etc... was a lovely greeting when we arrived. The hosts were very flexible with arrival times and easy to contact via the landline phones. Big garden space and dining table to fit a big party. Lots of steep stairs so I wouldn't recommend to people with walking difficulties but our party was fine. Would love to return!
Thank you

shahini




Stunning properties

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this house for my sisters surprise hen weekend but found I was as surprised when I got there. I knew it look lovely due to the easy to use website, with 360* view option, which made it even easier to plan before hand, but I was still pleasantly surprised at the beauty of the property with its high ceilings and heated stone floors. We hired three of the four properties on sites, with the fourth being empty, and it was nice to know we were surrounded be fields and peace and quiet, other than the odd tractor passing. At the same time the layout was well placed that you could book just one property and be tucked away in your own little bit of privacy. All properties kitchens were full with more than enough crockery and utensils to cook for loads of guests. There were 12 of us and we found this a comfortable number to entertain. The only negative for me was the gorgeous metal stairs in the houses, mainly the reason that, they were uncomfortable to walk on bare foot so would suggest taking slippers or light shoes to wear while staying there. The main thing noticed by all of us was just how clean it was, 'eat off of the floor behind a sofa' kind of clean! In all we were all sold on the place and would go again in a group or just in one of the smaller properties for a short break. Highly recommend!



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were 5 couples staying in the Barn and the Stable. Ruth couldn't have prepared them any better. Wonderfully equipped - pastry brushes and hair dryers - who could ask for more! Very comfortable and she even arranged the weather to be so perfect that breakfasts were outside on the terrace each day. We will be back. Thank you so much.



Holt Farn review

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 19 had a very good break in beautiful surroundings. I have past the details of the accommodation on to friends .It may be worth drawing to peoples attention the circular wrought iron staircases which could create difficulties for the elderly.



Excellent Place to Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of us took over the whole complex. The accommodation is excellent. Location is good fro walking and there are plenty of places to visit, and good places to eat and drink.



Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent..................................................................................................................................................



Cosy and comfortable in a lovely location

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all the cottages for our three generation family get together. The stable was spacious, clean and comfortable. Close to the rest of the family in the other properties.



Ruth Christopher replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, one of the good things about booking a group of cottages is that you can be with all your family but still have some time out in your own little domain when needed!

Holt Farm was a lovely place to stay. We were very comfortable and had everything we needed.

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Holy Farm is a lovely holiday place in a beautiful part of the country. We were very comfortable and had everything we needed - even a dishwasher! It was clean and warm and perfect for our short break away. Being able to order the ingredients for a full breakfast at the time of booking is a great idea, and the Welsh cakes waiting for us when we got there was a really nice touch.



Ruth Christopher replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much, yes we have a great country store at Longtown, great for getting all your all-day breakfast requisitions, or a bottle of wine for the evening in!

Excellent accomdation

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is a bit remote hence you have to drive to get anywhere on narrow country lanes

There is a local pub where the food was quite good, but not cheap.

The owners were very pleasant and helpful




Ruth Christopher replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we do indeed have narrow lanes but great views as you go along, especially on the little road over the hill to Hay-on-Wye, well worth the drive.

Truly exceptionally tranquil setting, rural though not quite remote: delightful!

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The video reviews do not deceive and the "Stable" is a very comfortable home from home. The hosts are good communicators, in no way intrusive but plainly readily available if needed.
Don't expect a 'paper boy', the nearest 'supermarket' is almost a 6 mile run down the hills to Longtown, but provides all you are likely to need. The Crown, just across the road from the shop has the most extensive menu, all reasonably priced, home cooked and served by personable friendly people; great value.
Local lanes are mostly single track, with squeezing or passing places, but a pleasure to drive with generally very good surfaces.
This destination provides the opportunity of a really peaceful holiday, but with access to lots of interesting places and facilities.
One note of caution, do take into account the Spiral staircase access to the bedroom.
Be aware Internet and mobile connections are tenuous.




Ruth Christopher replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for all the info you have put in your review, much appreciated by us at Holt Farm and great for our future guests!

A beautiful getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for peace and quiet away from it all, then this is the place for you. The stable has been beautifully renovated and has everything you need. The owner is very helpful and friendly. The adjourning properties are also fantastic if you are in a larger group. It really is a country retreat that has it all.



Ruth Christopher replied more than 1 year ago
We appreciate your review, thank you. Yes, we can accommodate groups up to 22 guest if you want to book the whole site!