FB Twitter

Holt Wain House

Holt Wain House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 39 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


  • Spacious country cottage with level floors throughout
  • Lounge with two sofas, 46" television
  • Kitchen/dining room for 4, with all modern amenities
  • Flat-floored wet room
  • Under-floor heating throughout
  • Phone, free WiFi, stereo, ipod dock
  • All linen and towels included
  • Outdoor Hot Tub

Family Anniversary Party

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at in all four properties on four separate occasions and have even booked the whole complex for a family wedding.
Each time everything has been perfect from the well appointed accommodation to the peaceful countryside.

Ruth and Gorden are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them to accommodate special requests.

We would and have recommended Holt Farm Holidays for your special weekend break or if time allows for you to spend more time in the beautiful countryside.




Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Holt Wain as we were going to the Hay literary festival, it’s about a 30 minute drive to Hay. The cottage is in a beautiful location and is extremely well equipped. It was also spotless and the hot tub is a lovely extra. Every need is catered for and the beds are very comfortable. We ordered the breakfast box and the contents were fab and plentiful. The last mile or 2 on single track road was a bit scary for us townies but we got used to it. We have booked it again for next year.



Ruth replied 70 days ago
Thank you Jenny for taking the time to send us a review, and thanks for booking again. We look forward to seeing you both next May.

Phenomenal All Round!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Holt Farm which proves how much we love this place. As soon as you walk in through the door you can feel your muscles and mind unwinding. The beds and sofas are super comfy, everything you could possibly need is there and the hot tub is a dream come true. Ruth and Gordon are outstanding hosts, you could not wish for better service or genuine care about your holiday. If only everyone was like them! We will be back - again!



Ruth replied 70 days ago
Thanks Emma and family for your review, it was lovely to see you again, best wishes, Ruth and Gordon

Great place

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we needed and our hosts were very helpful, but not intrusive.
Hot tub was great, just what we needed with cooler weather.




Thoroughly enjoyable weekend away.

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend. We arrived to the lovely warm and welcoming Holt Wain House and felt at home straight away. Ruth was on hand to help with anything and made us very welcome. The hot tub was wonderful and it was lovely to enjoy being outside lovely and warm in England even in April ! .
Wouldn’t hesitate staying here again. Great place for families getting together where you could hire all the barns together and truly relax.




Perfect getaway!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very lucky to have won the free visit earlier in the year. Couldn’t have come at a better time for us and we thoroughly enjoyed our three day getaway to the beautiful countryside and hot tub at holt farm.
We got engaged there August 2018 so it was really special for us to go back this year.
Already planning our next trip x




Hen do

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely amazing place for a large group. If you have a family gathering or hen/stag do then I'd absolutely recommend!



Weekend stay with friends

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just returned from a weekend away with a group of friends staying in 2 of the properties. What a lovely find, both cottages had hot tubs, so relaxing sitting and looking at the lovely surroundings. Both cottages were clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend.



40th Birthday with friends and family

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was just perfect. Warm, clean and above all a home from home. The hot tub and fabulous



Family get away

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage to get away from it all and spend time as a family. Fantastic walking in amazing scenery with the Jacuzzi as an added bonus..



Great Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Holt Wain Cottages, Hiked through the Brecons and walked around the amazing book shops of Hay-on-Wye after a lovely lunch at the nearby pub. Thoroughly recommended for quiet weekend away!



Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all 4 barns for a stag weekend. Despite heavy snow we had a fantastic time. Lovely place. The owners could not have been more helpful and the set up and quality of the accommodation exceeded expectations.



A wonderful weekend with family and friends in a perfect setting with excellent facilities.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the whole place out for our family Christmas and my parents joint 60th birthday party. It was perfect. There was lots of space for cooking and entertaining and the standard of the accommodation throughout was excellent. It snowed very heavily when we were there which added to the fun. But the hosts were very helpful and attentive making sure that we could get towed out by local farmers and delivering essentials like milk as we couldn't get out to drive the the shop. A memorable weekend and one we would love to repeat every year.



Short Break

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ruth went to a lot of trouble to meet our needs with a disabled person. Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances the telephone was out of use So we were unable to contact her during the week.
Very well adapted for disabled people Lots of attention to the little details which make life easier





Annual Cricket Tour to Hay on Wye

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to Hay on Wye for a cricket tour for the last 20 years and when The Holt Farm establishment opened up it became an even more attractive and comfortable stay!
Ruth and her team are very proud of Holt Farm and set high standards for their customers. The farm houses are extremely well presented and comfortable. Couple with being situated in some of the most stunning rural scenery in the west country the long weekend is a fantastic break for all of us
Unfortunately it makes the drive back to London on the Sunday night feel an eternity!
Thanks again




Lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired The Stable and Holt Wain - on arrival we were immediately impressed with the quality of the fixtures and fittings, and the effort taken with the decor. Ruth was fantastic, providing us with all the information we needed for a great stay. The surrounding area is stunning - we highly recommend the walks (as detailed in the brochures) - although a Herefordshire mile seems longer than a Berkshire mile! We loved our stay - we loved the hot tub - and the little patio off the bedroom. Than you.



family weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful family weekend in both the wain house and The Barn. The hot tub was a great favourite as was the space outside . The accommodation works very well to get her with The Barn. .



Accessibiltu

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely warm welcome from the owners who respond quickly to any problems thst arise. The bedroom was prepared ....furniture moved to make it totally accessible for a wheelchair. Additional equipment was provided for the shower and loo. All adds up to a comfortable holiday. And the design of the cottage is perfect for a wheelchair user.



Hen party weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 20 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired this property along with the wain house for 11 ladies for a hen party. We spent the Friday evening at this property in the hot tub which was excellent. We cooked on both days and the facilities were excellent would definitely recommend



Incredible

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place! Thank you Ruth and Gordon!! Beautiful house, beautiful location, wonderful atmosphere!!



Stunning property and lovely owners!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Holt Wain House is a beautiful property maintained and fitted out to the highest level. The wonderful hot tub is the icing on the cake. The owners are so helpful and accommodating and the whole place is just amazing. We spent Easter weekend there (4 nights) and were able to completely relax. We highly recommend Holt Farm and will definitely be back!



Idyllic place for a relaxed hen weekend away with the girls

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Holt Farm, really comfortable rooms with enough space and storage. Kitchen was fitted out for all our needs and the living room was a lovely chilled out space to relax in. We loved the hot tub!! A peaceful setting to really feel like we got away from it all. We enjoyed a walk around the local area and to the local pub for dinner from here which was great too. Would recommend to people for sure!



Great weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Holiday cottage was fabulous.we had a great weekend .would definitely stay again , hope sometime soon .



Rural relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay in a very rural location. Cottage had thought of everything. Comfortable bedrooms and lovely hot tub. Our children had a great time too!



Idyllic break

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most incredible 2 nights in The Wain House. Our trip was very last minute & we couldn't have asked for better service from Ruth. The cottage & its grounds are delightful. The hot tub is fabulous. There's not a thing that hasn't been thought of. Clean, comfortable & relaxing retreat in idyllic surroundings. I have talked to all about this beautiful part of the world & would definitely look to book again. A fabulous stay. Thank you.



Holt Wain House - Holt Farm Holiday Cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for peace and quite and just somewhere to escape,then these holiday cottages are perfect.Ruth and Gordon were perfect hosts and they were very welcoming.The hot tub was great and plenty of beautiful countryside to have a great walk.I would definitely recommend the cottages and Hay on Wye (about 10 miles away) is a lovely little town, with lots of shops and great Pubs, serving lovely food.



Wain House

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wain House is an excellent property. it is very well equipped and is very comfortable and warm. The bedding is of a high quality.The owners Ruth and Gordon could not have been more helpful.



Accessibility provision

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accessibility and bathroom provision for a wheelchair user is excellent. Owner, Ruth could not be more helpful. Makes such a difference. The standard of Accomodation and provision generally is excellent. We love it!



Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A brilliant place to stay - peaceful and easy to get to Hay. All the family enjoyed the hottub and we will be returning next year. Ruth was friendly and approachable



The Perfect 80th Birthday Party

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A weekend of surprise after surprise for my father. But that aside, What a fabulous place to stay. A highly appointed, tranquil retreat. Can't wait to go back. And that is not a threat, It is s promise. See you soon Holt Farm Holidays. Thank you for a perfect experience



A Great Stay for Family and Friends

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time, a great location and superb buildings, all kitted out well and very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the hot tub in the rain!



Excellent Place to Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of us took over the whole complex. The accommodation is excellent. Location is good fro walking and there are plenty of places to visit, and good places to eat and drink.



Outstanding property in rural loaction

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4 of us stayed in the Wain House in Feb. Although the weather wasn't great, the comfort and warmth of the property did not dampen our spirits. Sitting in the hot tub on a cold rainy night is probably more relaxing than a summers day.
Ruth could not have be more welcoming on arrival and we loved the home comforts of the barn. I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a quiet retreat in the country. A must for food is the Bridge Inn which is scrummy, we ate twice there is the space of a weekend..






Cosy and comfortable in a lovely location.

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in all the properties for a three generation family get together. The family members that stayed in this spacious property were very comfortable .



Wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First family get together in 5 years , we all loved it absolutely perfect for such a large group . The kids loved the hot tubs
And the walk to the local pub. Would definitely stay again.




A comfortable rural retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Holt Wain House is a very well appointed holiday let In a quiet and peaceful rural location.
My wife has limited mobility and the cottage was entirely suitable for her use.
The owners were attentive and helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and had everything that we needed. The cottage comes with it's own hot tub and this provides an unusual an enjoyable and unusual way to relax even on a cool evening. The location is very rural, which makes it very peacsful and unspoilt.





A wonderful relaxing stay

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we enjoyed our stay very much and felt refreshed at the end of it. Wonderful location surrounded by beautiful countryside.Car essential. Hot tub was bliss after our energetic days kayaking,walking,cycling etc. Plenty to do in the area within a short distance.



Very peaceful place

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at the Wain House Holt Farm; so obviously we like it very much. If you are looking for peace and quiet deep in the Herefordshire the countryside close to the Welsh Border- this is the place to be. The Wain House is beautifully appointed, all on one level with everything you could need in a home away from home. There is a lovely private patio which is great for reading and gazing out over the countryside. This year the hot tub added to our relaxing week's holiday. Wi Fi and VOIP phone are provided so you can connect with the outside world if you so wish and supermarkets will deliver to your door.



All we needed

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The wain house provides excellent Accomodation for a wheelchair user. When the person with the disability can function happily and independently then the carer too is happy. Love the location of the property, very peaceful and with walks from the front door. The hot tub is a great addition! The owners are delightful and happy to oblige to meet visitors needs. A great stay and we hope to return.