FB Twitter

Holt Farm House

Holt Farm House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


  • Character farmhouse with all modern conveniences
  • Kitchen/dining room with table to seat up to 12 guests
  • Sitting room with wood-burner, 3 large sofas (1 is a sofa-bed)
  • All linen and towels included
  • Central heating throughout
  • Phone, free WiFi, stereo, ipod dock, DVD player, 42" television
  • Great walks from the door, pub 1 mile
  • Outdoor Hot Tub

Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all 4 barns for a stag weekend. Despite heavy snow we had a fantastic time. Lovely place. The owners could not have been more helpful and the set up and quality of the accommodation exceeded expectations.



A wonderful weekend with family and friends in a perfect setting with excellent facilities.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the whole place out for our family Christmas and my parents joint 60th birthday party. It was perfect. There was lots of space for cooking and entertaining and the standard of the accommodation throughout was excellent. It snowed very heavily when we were there which added to the fun. But the hosts were very helpful and attentive making sure that we could get towed out by local farmers and delivering essentials like milk as we couldn't get out to drive the the shop. A memorable weekend and one we would love to repeat every year.



Hen weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked th Barn and the farmhouse for my best friends hen weekend. The location was a surprise to all of the girls and they were all amazed by how beautiful it was when they arrived. Both houses had everything we could possibly need and were perfect for a large group for the weekend. Communication during the booking process/during and afterwards was excellent and we could not have been made to feel more welcome. I would highly recommend these to anyone and am already trying to think of a reason to go back!



Really great!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Holy farm is a great place to stay - it was perfect for our group and Ruth was really helpful and welcoming.



A group of properties for all the family

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had the barn and stable, the barn for a long weekend and the stable for a week.
Both properties were extremely well equipped with furniture, ( the stable's sofas were truly enviable), crockery and electrical equipment ( enormous TV's). Everything was well thought out. The properties are set out in lawned and lovely flowerbeds, ideally for young children to run around. The hot tub I am told was great, unfortunately when I was tempted by the nicer weather to try one, we were next door in the stable without access.
The area around the cottages is beautiful, we went everywhere. The Wye forest visitor centre was ideal for little ones following the Gruffalo trail. The Brecon beacon visitors centre is in an idyllic setting. Hay on Wye and Hereford ideal for shoppers etc.
My one reservation with the week , is due to health reasons my mobility is a little unbalanced and the staircases in both cottages were challenging, but I made it!




Quality

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always a warm welcome, well equipped,comfortable ,clean and visually pleasing. Gardens pretty and well kept.



Title

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real delight and we hope to come back. Well done & thank you. Jane Gray

(why do I have to enter 27 more characters???!!!)




Fantastic Hen Weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and a group of my best friends stayed here for my hen weekend and it was quite possibly the best weekend of my life! This beautiful cottage is in the middle of the stunning countryside and it was so quiet and peaceful. Although it feels like you're in the middle of nowhere there's lots to do around Herefordshire. We went canoeing and paintballing, into Hay on Wye and Hereford and bimbled around the countryside. After every long day of exciting activities and breathtaking scenery we returned to the cottage to soak in the hot tub and relax. We spent a very pleasant evening in the cottage having dinner and drinks and it was wonderful. Every morning we woke up and had a lovely breakfast and enjoyed mingling in the enormous kitchen and drinking coffee in the living room. There was more than enough social space and plenty of privacy and no queues for the bathrooms which is quite a feat considering we were 8 girls! We were greeted on the first day by the lovely owner who made us feel very welcome and she was very helpful. It was absolutely perfect. We'll definitely be returning.... my 30th is coming up!



Beautiful

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay. Loved every minute. Ruth met us and was lovely!! Thanks to the Christopher's for a wonderful stay



Fantastic Easter away.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I went with 12 friends to stay at holt farm barn and house and we loved it. Ruth was very helpful and we were close to lots of activities. The house was excellent. I really recommend!



Lovely building full of history

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is stunning and really takes you back to another time. Well appointed large kitchen/dining room and even a bread oven in the wall. The lounge area is large with comfortable sofas and a beautiful feature woodburner. The bedrooms upstairs are all individual and quirky. Comfortable beds and the ceiling/doorway height was fine for myself at 5'5". The middle bedroom is confined between the other two so just need to think about who to put in there if all beds will be used, probably not the person who needs to get up through the night! The hot tub at the side of the property is always on and very inviting, be sure to give it a go.
If you are interested in the buildings past be sure to ask Ruth.




birthday break

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The farm was in the village where my dad was born and was perfect for his 80 th birthday gathering. The underfloor heating kept us cosy and the farm house kitchen an excellent space for entertaining. We had a brilliant week and the weather was good for February my daughter even tried the hot tub! ! Great walks right from the door.



A great weekend away

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic weekend at Holt Farm. The location is beautiful and the cottage matches. All very high quality including the lovely relaxing hot tub.



Enjoyed our stay and would use again.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great property. We hired with the Barn as a group of 11 people & had a great time. The amount of kitchen equipment (pots, pans, plates cutlery etc) was fantastic. Only problem was that I did not realise that one of the 3 bedrooms could only be accessed through one of the other 2 bedrooms & so privacy was an issue. However the owner came to the rescue & helped set up a double bed (sofa bed) in the lounge with extra matrass and bedding etc. The Hot tub was fantastic, especially at night with all the stars out!
The area is so remote that there is very little light pollution, so viewing the stars was a real pleasure. This was a great location for this type of group get together, with some good pubs in the area, -- but you will need to drive there or use a mini bus as we did.




Ruth Christopher replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Steve for choosing Holt Farm for your gathering with friends, thanks for your review, many guests enjoy our rural situation and Hot Tubs under the stars. Thanks for mentioning the triple bedroom with its shared access, we will make it clearer on our first contact with guests. The Farm House is very ancient and this is one of original features, ideal for families with children.

Lovely relaxing break with a great hot tub

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Holt Farm with one problem - it wasn't long enough! The cottage itself reminded us of the one from The Holiday (quirky and cosy) and the area was idyllic in Autumn time for walks.

The highlight for us was the hot tub in the evenings and star gazing!

Ruth was lovely and the whole place was remarkable!




A lovely weekend getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful, quiet location. Perfect for our hen party weekend. the farm house was a perfect size to fit all 12 of us around the table which was excellent for our breakfast! Beds were extremely comfortable and hot tubs were just magnificent! We booked a mini bus into Hereford on the Sat night- which was a lovely night out! Will be back!



Wonderful retreat!

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time that we have been to Holt Farm for the Hay Festival and the second time was just as perfect as the first. We rented out the Holt Farm and Barn and both were beautifully decorated, the beds were comfortable and dining/living areas were ideal for the large group it was accommodating for. Ruth and Christopher are wonderful hosts, very attentive, very flexible with check-in times and on the whole, lovely people!

We enjoyed our time thoroughly and hope to return next year!




Perfect for Hay

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages are in a beautiful and peaceful setting with wonderful vistas as you descend to Hay on Wye. Our cottage - Holt Farm House - had been sympathetically restored to a very high standard and provided comfortable accommodation for my friends and family to relax. Hay is a short drive away and allowed us to enjoy the Hay festival but also to retreat to the calm of the cottage.

We very much enjoyed our stay, Holt Farm house is certainly very well equipped and I would recommend without hesitation.




Beautiful accommodation in picturesque surroundings

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barns are absolutely beautiful! Furnished, decorated and kitted out to a really high standard. Making for a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
Thank you for having us!




Excellent stay for a large group of pension-age walkers.

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the whole complex, which provides excellent accommodation for a large group. a particular feature is the barn, which can accommodate over 16 for dinner, meals etc. The standard of equipment and fittings is exceptional. The only issue for some i that the stairs in the Farmhouse may be difficult for the disabled or infirm to negotiate.



Hen do - the best ever

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would recommend these cottages for a hen do to anyone. The hen was so overwhelmed and the place was so conducive to our needs, we even had a PA system and were able to make as much noise as we wanted! The hot tubs were amazing and generally we had the best weekend ever! A definitely cheaper option that going out all weekend, and we didn't ever want to leave.



Excellent Place to Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of us took over the whole complex. The accommodation is excellent. Location is good fro walking and there are plenty of places to visit, and good places to eat and drink.



A great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property in a brilliant location. Wonderful owners who are really friendly and helpful and bent over backwards to accommodate all our needs. Great pub called 'the bridge' just two miles away. A fantastic weekend and a well equipped, very well resourced set of barns. Would go back in a heartbeat!



A recommended place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location, surroundings and people, fully recommended to anyone considering it. Very pleasant, warm and comfortable. The countryside is beautiful and there is so much to do in the area.



Ruth Christopher replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much, it was lovely to meet you and we know you are already booked to come and stay again soon!

Cosy and comfortable in a lovely location

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all the properties for our three generation family get together. The two families that stayed here were very comfortable and enjoyed all the facilities. The hot tub was a great hit and sitting in it whilst it was snowing was great fun!



Ruth replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks and yes its spectacular to see the snow falling while you are in the Hot Tub!

Fabulous home from home in peaceful surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property, lovingly decorated and maintained. In peaceful and beautiful surroundings.
The owners were very welcoming and incredibly helpful.

Great walking country and a short distance from Hay-on-wye. We throughly enjoyed the hot tub after a days walk!




Ruth Christopher replied more than 1 year ago
It will be nice to see you at Holt Farm again soon, thanks for your review.

Holt Farm

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely comfortable accommodation, loved wood burning stove, comfortable beds, hot tub. Everything we needed. Enjoyed great walks and food in Bridge Inn. Location remote which was great for party who wanted to spend time together. Within comfortable distance of Hereford( Cathedal, Magna Carta and Map of Mundi) and Hay on Wye (walk along river, lovely book shops and café) Would highly recommend Holt Farm

Jane Nolan




Ruth Christopher replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks, the Bridge Inn at Michaelchurch is a favourite with many of our guests, we're glad you had time to explore Hay-on-Wye ( history, books, boutiques, cafes!) and Hereford ( even more history, river-side walks, boutiques and cafes!)

Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to have a holiday. A glorious setting on the border between England and Wales with numerous walks and cycles just outside the door.
Would definitely go again!




Ruth replied more than 1 year ago
We look forward to seeing you here again soon!