FB Twitter

Rymore Wood Lodge

Rymore Wood Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Secluded detatched house in own woodland. Sleeps 8, 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms

Great family holiday with the dogs

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful homely and spacious house in a fantastic location. Brilliant for dogs. Only thing was we felt there should have been a shower over the bath in the ensuite.

Linda from Albourne stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in November 2018


Another peaceful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to the lodge, and again we enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing stay.
We will return next year.


Martin from Edinburgh stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in November 2018


Holiday Home in stunning setting

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rymore Lodge sits on the middle of a secluded forest in the beautiful Cairngorms. Just a few miles away from the nearest town, it's the perfect place to unwind and explore this beautiful area from.

The house has four very comfortable bedrooms (two double, two twin) as well as a large but cosy living room and a large, well equipped kitchen/dining room, with great views onto the garden. There is a terrace with a barbeque. The setting is incredibly peaceful.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the house is very warmly recommended!


Guest from stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 4 nights in July 2018


home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you can say a house has emotions then Rymore has. Welcoming, relaxing, warming and peaceful even with 3 children and 4 dogs running around and enjoying the surroundings. Perfect place to stay for a larger group and so well supplied with everything you need. We had the best family holiday ever and returning to Rymore after all our trips out was the icing on the cake. Thank you

Joan from Sunderland stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in August 2018


Wonderful holiday.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rymore Wood Lodge was an Ideal house for our family holiday.We loved the large kitchen/ dining area with plenty of room for everyone to sit at the table together, although with a week of glorious weather most of our meals were outside on the patio area. The feeding station just outside provided endless entertainment all day and, with the light nights, well into the evening.

The location was ideal for walking and cycling from the house and the woods as part of the garden were an added bonus.Our grandchildren loved the garden with its swing and plenty of room to run around in.

Thank you Gerard for a fantastic holiday. We would love to come back.



Guest from Aberdour stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Superb!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Rymore. It is a fantastic house, in a wonderful woodland setting. Lots of wildlife to see, and lots of great things to do close by.

Mark from Edinburgh stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 5 nights in May 2018


Fantastic cottage in a wonderfully peaceful location

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need for a home from home, and its peaceful location is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in April 2018


Winter Wonderland

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had an amazing Christmas at Rymore Lodge. It ticked all the boxes for a snowy family Christmas. The grandchildren got the opportunity to build a snowman. We enjoyed watching the birds and red squirrels feeding just outside the kitchen window
The kitchen was so well equipped. The log fire was very welcome after a day out exploring the local area.
We all slept well in the comfy beds
The reindeer experience was enjoyed by us all. The walk from the visitor centre to Loch Morlich was amazing.
I would definitely recommend both the lodge and location.


Trevor from Bridgwater stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in December 2017


Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you love rare birds and and wild life , and getting away from the cares of the world , then this is the place to be. Lovely warm confortable house .

Many Thanks for our stay
Hazel


Hazel from Ellesmere Port stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in October 2017


Rymore stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A bird watchers dream , in the middle of a wood adjoining Abernathy Forest . Very peaceful with a delightful bird feeding station , we enjoyed breakfast whilst watching red squirrels, crested tits and woodpeckers all a few metres away . A walking paradise with many activities around Aviemore nearby . Zip Trek was awesome . Highly recommend Rymore .

Jenny from Chippenham stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in October 2017


An idyllic forest retreat ... yet so easy to reach nearby attractions

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just beyond Loch Garten in a part of the ancient Caledonian forest you will find Rymore Wood Lodge. It is an extremely well appointed and spacious modern family house built in a contemporary style and is an ideal place for a family gathering which was the reason for our week's stay there.

Our house party spanned three generations and there was something for everyone! The spacious kitchen enabled us all to sit down for our family meals and the comfortable sitting room was a relaxing space for reading, playing board games and for the very youngest watching CBBC on tv!

Beyond the house we went for forest trails, running to Loch Garten, riding the steam railway from Boat of Garten and taking the funicular up Cairngorm. The weather enabled beach time at Loch Morlich and misty views of the island castle at Loch an Eilein.

The week flew by and at the end of our stay none of us wanted to leave this lovely forest retreat with its stunning close up views of red squirrels, siskins, crested tits and the occasional red deer ghosting through the ageless pines.


Nigel from stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Perfect accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean cosy excellent accommodation with close location to all amenities. A great place, would recommend it to anyone !

Małgorzata from NIP 7792419355 stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 22 nights in June 2017


Haven for birds & people

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family & I had a wonderful stay at Rymore Wood Lodge. As we are all active birders, the birds coming to the feeders kept us fascinated, as did the birds using the nest boxes. One night, we were treated by a badger sighting, and the following morning, a pine marten appeared. The red squirrels were a delight to watch, too. What a great location in the middle of a forest, yet only 10 minutes or so from the nearest towns.

The kitchen was well-suited to our needs, with plenty of dishes and cookware. The bedrooms were a good size and the beds comfortable. The living room provided a wealth of information with all the maps and guide books, and at least one nap was taken on a couch in there. Everything was clean and it was easy to make ourselves at home. We feel fortunate to have found Rymore Wood Lodge and would eagerly return.


Tanya from Woodinville stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in May 2017


A Fantastic Place to Unwind.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great well equipped house in a lovely quiet location. An ideal place to relax get away from it all.

Martin from Portsmouth stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 14 nights in April 2017


Awesome location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were blessed with good weather albeit cold. We intend to return at some stage.

John from Tamworth stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in April 2017


Wonderful Family Break

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for a family break. Gerard met us upon arrival and was very helpful and informative. There were 9 of us aged from 1 to 68 and the house was perfect for our group with a large sitting room and open fire. The beds were all new and very comfortable. The three bathrooms were ideal for our group size. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need if you choose to eat in. We had a Tesco delivery which set us up perfectly for the week but if you need to shop there is a Spar in Nethy Bridge and a Tesco in Aviemore. The area is truly beautiful and so peaceful. We had an abundance of wildlife right outside the back door and we all agreed that we had not found somewhere like this before. We hope to return.

Anita from stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 4 nights in January 2017


Perfect Christmas!

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What more can we say. The house was welcoming and extremely comfortable and in a fantastic location. Gerard, the owner, greeted us after a very long drive and was very helpful and wanted to ensure we had everything we needed. He had even provided a real Christmas Tree for us, along with a lovely box of crackers and a bottle of fizz! Relaxed days spent watching the wildlife and walking in the forest, the week went far too quickly. We must say that the kitchen was very well equipped with everything you required to cook Christmas Lunch. We will definitely return. Thank you for a fantastic week.

Joanne from West Byfleet stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in December 2016


Great woodland experience

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful week over new year. The house is very comfortable and heats up quickly due to being a modern design. The highlight for us was the location being deep in the woods with no neighbours within eyesight. The upside of this was the wildlife which Gerard encourages thanks to lots of bird feeders. everyday we saw dozens of birds and 2 or 3 red squirrels feeding at the kitchen windows. Great log fires in kitchen and living room made for cosy nights in a special location. Highly recommend.

thanks


Jason from Aberdeen stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in December 2016


A wonderfully quiet and secluded house, where birds and red squirrels abound. Well equipped, warm.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at this beautiful house, with its wildlife feeding station - even Crested Tits!

Mary from Chepstow stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in November 2016


Excellent holiday experience

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always our holiday experience was great. Gerard is always very helpful and goes out of his way to accommodate.

Another week of relaxation and comfort! The added bonus is the rare birds and red squirrels.

We will be back, thanks!


B from Strensall stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in October 2016


I have booked a lot of houses for holidy in my life, but this was the best one!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived we were amazed! It was such a lovely house. The kitchen, the living room, the bedrooms... were excelent. We didn't miss anything! The owner was so helpful to find the place. He came to the house, when we arrived at night and gave us useful information. He was very polite. If we had a question we could ask him and he tryed to help us.
If I ever visit Scotland again, I will try to stay at the Rymore Wood Lodge.



Joerg-andreas from Dornhan stayed at Rymore Wood Lodge for 7 nights in August 2016