FB Twitter

The York Brew House

The York Brew House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.8


Charming city centre luxury apartment situated in this historic award winning brewery conversion. The wonderful high ceilings and large windows give the apartment a real sense of space and light. The master bedroom has an en-suite shower room, TV and king size bed. The twin bedroom on the mezzanine floor is served by the bathroom in the entrance hallway. A stylish kitchen and dining area leads to the delightful living space with TV, radio /audio system, telephone and ample seating on comfy sofas. With only the shortest of strolls to the Minster, the apartment couldn't be better placed for all the culture, entertainment, museums, restaurants and cafes that York has to offer. There is secure courtyard parking for one car. Complimentary welcome hamper of local produce on arrival.

Short visit to York

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are returning clients, but this was our first visit to York Brew House. As expected the apartment was first class.
Excellent location in York, quiet area but easy access into the centre. We parked the car in the allotted parking spot on site and it remained there until we left.
Highly recommend to anyone wanting to visit York as independent travelers.


David from Malton stayed at The York Brew House for 3 nights in February 2019


Angela replied 8 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed our York apartment as much as our cottages here on the coast.

Superior apartment in a prime location

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first Christmas in York but our third in properties owned by John and Angela. The apartment was as we expected, of a very high standard, comfortable and well equipped. On a par with the excellent High Barn near Sewerby.
The welcome pack was full of high quality goods and the Christmas tree added to the lovely atmosphere. John called us to check all was ok, much appreciated.
The location in the centre of york with parking, which is at a premium in this city, is fantastic for just stepping out and exploring all the sites. I would particularly recommend the brew house to first time visitors. There are a wide variety of restuarants nearby and supermarkets round the corner.
We had a lovely Christmas and would strongly recommend this apartment for a York stay at any time of the year.


Dee from Sheffield stayed at The York Brew House for 4 nights in December 2018


Angela replied 51 days ago
Just delighted you enjoyed yout Christmas stay in York in The Brew House

Great city centre apartment

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our short stay here and would recommend this apartment to our friends and relatives in both England and Canada.

Guest from Bridlington stayed at The York Brew House for 2 nights in November 2018


Angela replied 75 days ago
This review was posted on behalf of Canadian relatives who stayed at the apartment and gave me their comments to post.

Fantastic location in York!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fantastic location right in the centre of York, easy walk to all the shops, restaurants & amenities. Great to have free secure parking, the lift access was useful. The apartment had everything you needed and the welcome pack was very good.

Mal from Lincoln stayed at The York Brew House for 3 nights in October 2018


Angela replied 130 days ago
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our apartment. We did try three times to contact you on the apartment telephone to check that all was well, but we never caught up with you. We slipped up here and should have used your mobile. Apologies.

Enjoyable at York Brew House

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super apartment situated in the heart of York. Comfortable and well equipped. Nice place to chill out.

Dorothy from stayed at The York Brew House for 7 nights in September 2018


A replied 131 days ago
Thank you for your review. Chilling out in the centre of York is what our breaks are all about!

City break

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location, apartment has everything you could want or need for your stay and so close to the city centre, an absolute gem.

Dennis from Preston stayed at The York Brew House for 3 nights in October 2018


The Gold Standard of Self-Catering in York--A Total Winner

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I have stayed in this property each of the last five Septembers, the years before this under different owners. It was fantastic in every respect with them and I am happy to report it is equally fantastic with the Field House Farm folks. This apartment is modern, spacious, with great natural light and ventilation, soaring high ceilings, well appointed and with every appliance you could possibly want. The location is out of this world--inside the York city walls, a two-minute walk from The Minster, all the fun York streets and shops right at hand, and yet on a quiet, residential street. Plus, the wonderful Goji Vegetarian restaurant is a stone's throw away. How you can beat all of that, I know not. The owners, Angela, John and James, were all friendly, extremely helpful and accommodating, and immediately responded to the only problem we encountered during our stay (the internet was balky on our arrival and they had someone out to fix it in the blink of an eye). We have been in York every September since 1996 and have stayed in three or four 5 star self--catering properties over all those years. This one though takes the top prize and we wouldn't even consider looking for something else. As I said in the title of this review--it is a total winner.

Kirk from Atlanta stayed at The York Brew House for 15 nights in September 2018


Angela replied 143 days ago
What can I say? I'm overwhelmed by your ringing endorsement of our apartments . Thank you so much. We look forward to your next stay in September 2019.

Lovely apartment and location

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Brew House. Booking was easy, the owners were friendly and helpful, the apartment was clean, comfortable and stylish, and the location peaceful yet very central (just a stone’s throw from the Minster - maybe that should be a “scone’s throw” - Crumb’s Cupcakery just around the corner has amazing scones!) The welcome hamper was excellent, right down to the milk in the fridge so that the holiday could begin with a good Yorkshire brew! There’s loads to do in York, and all easily accessible on foot from the Brew House. There are also public transport links reasonably nearby. Oh, and I must mention that there were some excellent street performers around the city when we visited in August.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at The York Brew House for 3 nights in August 2018


Angela replied 166 days ago
Have never thought of ourselves as a 'scone's throw' but love the idea! Anything to do with cakes has our family hooked. So glad you enjoyed your stay in The Brew House and hope you will return.

Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at the apartment. Couldn't fault it. Spotless, great location, quiet, comfortable beds, and a lovely welcome hamper. Would definitely return.☺

Hugh from Bellshill stayed at The York Brew House for 3 nights in August 2018


Angela replied 150 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and we very much hope you will return

Fabulous apartment

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Brew House is ideally located close to the Minster and is so peaceful and quiet.
The apartment is spacious and comfortable with everything provided that you would need for a short break. It is exceptionally clean and the owners provide a lovely welcome basket for guests.
We will certainly be returning.


Louise from stayed at The York Brew House for 3 nights in July 2018


Angela replied 201 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We think our three apartments in York are fabulous and it's great to know our guests do too!

A pleasant journey in the middle of York

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartement was very luxurious, we found everything we needed. It was very quiet although it was in the middle of the city. We only can recommend this apartement.

Sabine from Winterthur stayed at The York Brew House for 3 nights in July 2018


Angela replied 207 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us

July 6th to 15th 2018

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really comfortable stay during a busy and very hot week in York. Howm from home on my return from the many concerts I was working at. Thank you, Angela and John!


Anne from Ilkley stayed at The York Brew House for 9 nights in July 2018


Angela replied 220 days ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay Anni. From what you say you had a very busy time. I hope you managed a little rest too.

Midweek city break in the Brewhouse

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a glorious midweek break right in the heart of the City under the Cathedral towers. The apartment is superb in every respect with gated parking and a lift if you don’t fancy the stairs. The location is very peaceful and quiet despite being in the middle of a bustling city. The hospitality and customer service is great and the welcoming box of goodies is a real treat, I am still nibbling away at the peanut butter chocolate shards as I write.I have also stayed in the Malt house and Hop Store and they were superb as well, so I will keep coming back for more. 10/10 Excellent.

Ian from St. Columb stayed at The York Brew House for 4 nights in June 2018


Angela replied 150 days ago
Thank you for giving us 10/10 Excellent. I'm so sorry I have taken so long to reply. I thought I was keeping up with all our reviews, but a quick glance through this morning has shown me I have missed reolying to several like yourself. Apologies.

A liitle more attention detail needed

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
John and Pam from Basingstoke. we have used the flat for several years and have never found any reason to complain about it. It is in a great location,so close to the Minster and centre of the city yet quiet. This time it was not quite up to the standard we have been used to. Thre was a drainy smell which the owners' acknowledge, the ledges were dusty in parts and one of the face cloths was dirty. We raised these points with owners and they promised to deal with them. We expect to return.


Pam and John from Basingstoke stayed at The York Brew House for 7 nights in April 2018


John Foster replied 291 days ago
Dear John and Pam Thanks for posting your valuable feedback after your stay at The Brew House. I'm sorry that, on this occasion,we were found wanting. We are on a bit of a learning curve with the acquisition of a third apartment. We need to learn how much time it takes to turn it around and learn about any unique peculiarities. Thanks to you, we now know that the water barrier in the 'u' bend of the washing machine is prone to evaporate and allow vapours to creep into the hallway. We now put the washing machine on to a rinse cycle when we change the apartment and this should keep the barrier intact. You also found a used flannel after a guest had, rather bizarrely, after using it, rolled it up and placed it back with the clean flannel making them both look unused. Changing all towels regardless is our normal policy but on this particular changeover the girls had left the Brew House until last and, under a lot of time pressure, found that it needed a great deal of work. I suspect that, given that they were running out of time, they left the flannels alone because they looked unused. We now know to allow more time to properly cover that apartment and so if you do, hopefully, return you will find it back to the standard that you expect.

Fabulous weekend stay

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is beautifully decorated and very comfortable with everything you could possibly need for a short break. It is very centrally situated just a few steps from York Minster but is in such a quiet position that a good night's sleep is guaranteed. We loved it and are returning again in July.
We had lovely sunny weather and a recommendation is to enjoy a drink in the garden of Grays Court Hotel which is located just around the corner from The Brew House - also walk the city walls for great views that you wouldn't usually see from strolling the streets.
Sunday lunch at The Guy Fawkes Inn is also recommended.
I can't recommend the apartment more highly - the best that we have stayed in at York.


Louise from stayed at The York Brew House for 3 nights in April 2018


A perfect place

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Brew House is a perfect place for a stay in beautiful York. It is centrally situated, near the Minster, with designated parking space. It’s only a short walk to the shops and many places of interest so the car can stay where it is. The Brew House is extremely comfortable and very well equipped with thoughtful attention to detail. We enjoyed our stay - thank you.

Sue from Exmouth stayed at The York Brew House for 4 nights in April 2018


Angela replied 308 days ago
Thank you for a really lovely review.

Lovely, comfortable flat in a great location.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely flat, very comfy, clean & warm in a great location, with parking. Fantastic welcome pack & very helpful owner.

Nigel from Wymondham stayed at The York Brew House for 4 nights in March 2018


Angela replied 342 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.