FB Twitter

The Owl House

The Owl House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


The Owl House at High Barn offers the height of luxury in a tranquil, secluded setting. With two delightful en-suite bedrooms on the first floor, you'll have lovely views over fields, meadows and farmland. The kitchen dining room is equipped to the highest standard and the separate living room, with floor to ceiling windows is bright and airy, whilst being warm and cosy, with the benefit of a log burning stove. Spacious, modern, totally comfortable - a super cottage to return home to.

New Year Break

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From our arrival to departure we couldn't have had a better experience! A beautiful property, well maintained and had everything we needed. The welcome pack was a lovely treat. Being able to watch the live feed from the barn owl box was amazing, one of the reasons we picked the owl house.



Angela. replied 7 days ago
We're delighted your stay in the Owl House was a total success.

Lovely place

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn was immaculate and very warm and welcoming. John met us and was very friendly. The owl cam was amazing being able to watch the owls whenever you wanted to. Started off with 1 owl then one eve had surprise when 2 were in there.
Everything you needed and more was supplied.




Angela replied 77 days ago
We're so pleased The Owl House lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the owl cam.

5* plus!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything here is 5* plus, and I mean everything. Comfy beds lovely linen, beautiful bathrooms, amazing welcome pack, great location, a truly relaxing experience.



A very inmpressive cottage. One of the best if not the best we have stayed in.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There is little to add beyond the comments made so far. The cottage had all the best qualities to accommodate us with the impressive use of environmentally friendly living.



Angela. replied 100 days ago
Thank you for your very kind review

Fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic, we are looking forward to returning! A very comfortable, quiet and relaxing stay. The accommodation is of a very high standard.



Angela replied 131 days ago
Thank you for a lovely review. We look forward to having you stay again.

Beautiful accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time staying in The Owl House. A luxurious cosy cottage, very comfortable and highly appointed. The welcome hamper was a real treat. There were lovely views of the wildflower meadow and moorhens on the pond. A very tranquil, relaxing location to get away from it all. Thank you.



Angela replied 174 days ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Owl House. Hopefully, you might decide to come again.

Amazing place

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stay at Owl house was perfect in every way. Beautiful, relaxing surroundings with easy reach to Beaches, Cliff walking, birds watching, good restaurants etc. The Owl cam was icing on the cake, which we spend hours watching. We can not wait to go back.



Angela replied 200 days ago
To have a stay in The Owl House as 'perfect in every way' is deeply pleasing to both us as owners and all our fantastic housekeeping and maintenance team. Thank you.

Perfect Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Owl House was just perfect. It was very clean and had everything we needed. Best welcome hamper we have every had. Ideal location for touring the East Coast. Did not want to come home !! This was our first visit but will not be our last.



Angela replied 214 days ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to The Owl House. We hope to see you again.

A great cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third property we have stayed at under the Field Farm House 'umbrella' and once again we were not disappointed. The property is first class and had the added attraction of the web cam operating on the Owl Box. Better than watching the TV.!
Thanks again Angela, John, and James.




Angela replied 228 days ago
We're delighted to have you back and hope to see you again.

A very enjoyable few days

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a most comfortable stay in a well equipped 'Owl House' with an excellent 'welcome' basket'.
It was lovely to look out onto the wildflower meadow and to watch the antics of the barn owl family on the webcam.
High Barn Cottages iare situated most conveniently for exploring this area of Yorkshire and we were thrilled to see puffins at Bempton Cliffs.




Angela replied 231 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Owl House , watching the growing owl family on webcam and mum hunting over the wildflower meadow.

Superb Accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our second stay at The Owl House and it was just as good as the first visit five years ago. The property is very well equipped and furnished, comfortable and relaxing. The location is excellent, particularly for Bempton Cliffs only a six minute drive away. So much wildlife literally on the doorstep, including Barn Owls nesting in the roof, so captivating being able to watch them in their nest on the TV. The warm welcome from John and the generous hamper were much appreciated. Definitely a place to revisit again in the near future.



Angela replied 255 days ago
It's great to have returning guests and your review of The Owl House 5 years down the line was lovely. Our aim is to keep our cottages in pristine condition, so that they are 'as new' to every new and returning guest. We hope to see you again in the future.

Well equipped cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well equipped, cosy accommodation. Good sized rooms for 4 adults. Good quality fixtures and fittings. Near to coast and coastal towns.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Owl House.

A fabulous place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Visiting the area for the first time as an adult, it was wonderful to find such a nice place to stay for our family break. Beautifully restored barns with clean, modern furnishings/kitchen and lovely to come back to after a day's sightseeing. The location was perfect for getting out and about to lots of places of interest by car and the hamper on arrival was filled with lots of delicious goodies, particularly the muesli and the farm's own organic apple juice. The owl-cam was fantastic and mesmerising! Highly recommended.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're always delighted when visitors come for the first time and enjoy the cottages, the location and the wonderful owl-cam. Six baby owlets this year is a record and they are all thriving.

Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in . Great peaceful location , surrounded by fields and wildlife, loved the owl cam ! Lovely hamper on arrival , could not ask for more



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Owl House and hope to see you again in the future

A short break with friends to catch up and relax

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Owl House. For 2 couples it was ideal with 2 double rooms each with en-suite facilities. The apartment is beautifully furnished and equipped and has a clean modern feel but is also very comfortable. The kitchen is spacious and great for cooking and eating in. The large hamper of mainly local produce that was waiting for us on our arrival was a real treat, including wine, beer, apple juice, biscuits, marmalade, to name just a few items.
We enjoyed exploring the surrounding area. Coastal walking was lovely; Sewerby Hall (within walking distance) was well worth the visit and Bridlington Old Town was interesting to see (used for filming of the recent Dad's Army film).
We also enjoyed keeping an eye on the videocam linked to the owls nesting above the apartment. With 6 owlets in the nest we anxiously counted for 6 pairs of eyes in the white huddle we could see each day! We watched as mum flew off at dusk each evening returning frequently with tasty treats for her young! It would be lovely if all 6 survive to fledge.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for troubling to write such a positive and comprehensive review. We really appreciate that. I'm glad you enjoyed your recent stay and found the six! baby owls as fascinating as we do. Hopefully, they will all fledge and add to the local thriving Barn Owl population.

We were b OWL ed over ......

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first visit to High Barn Cottages and the Owl House... We were immediately welcomed by Fiona and our first impression of the cottage was that it was very high spec, spacious and created a warm feeling. The cottage has everything you need and caters for all age groups - we had each end of the spectrum and our little one in particular fully enjoyed making friends and running in the open crop fields at the back of the cottage ( all very safe) looking for the wildlife that surrounds the cottages. We were lucky enough to share our cottage with the resident owls in the roof and the webcam which is installed to watch their progress is a really unique touch and had my nature loving husband spellbound for the three days!

The cottage is extremely well kept and offered everything we needed with a great location between the towns on the Yorkshire East Coast so we would not hesitate for one minute in recommending the cottages to others and we will definitely be re-booking soon. We really loved the little community feel the other visitors created which made all the difference. Thank you very much for a lovely stay and well done on the individuality you have created in all of the barns.

Gail Weathers




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed staying at High Barn in The Owl House and that you are happy to recommend us to family and friends. We hope to see you again in the future.

A wonderful spot!

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a return visit for us. (Something we don't often do.) We find the accommodation to be of a high standard, it is well located for visiting locations on the coast and the small complex itself is a little countryside oasis. There are lots of wildlife spotting opportunities on the doorstep. The camera for the barn owls is a true joy. We got to see chicks hatch and begin to grow in our week plus see "dad" deliver "take out" for the mother on her eggs and owlets. The welcome hamper is filled with good quality local produce and has what you need for that immediate collapse after arriving. Now that our children are getting too old to share we will be considering the larger property in the owners other location.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. The Barn Owl webcam is always at its most interesting when baby owlets appear. They have quite a long growing season, so should stay put and give pleasure to our visitors for the rest of the summer.

Excellent weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location, and the property itself, are superb. Every bit as good as we had expected from the website pictures and descriptions, and thoroughly recommended! Very very comfortable, very peaceful, and very well appointed. The OwlCam is a nice touch too! We loved it...thanks!!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
High Barn works well for a weekend break - just getting away from noise and bustle is a tonic. We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and hope you will return. Thank-you for your lovely comments.

Short stay for wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at High Barn and Field House before and the cottages are always in pristine condition, spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. The location is great, being only a few minutes drive from the North Beach. Lovely holiday choice!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're always delighted to have you return to our cottages. We hope to see you again in the future and thank-you for your kind review.

Owl House Heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our recent stay at the Owl House part of High Barns complex we had a wonderful relaxing break with excellent facilities and standards of accommodation. Everything is well thought out and cannot be faulted. Spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds and every amenity you could wish for. Would certainly thoroughly recommend without hesitation and hope to return again .



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your super review. It's always a great pleasure to welcome returning visitors and we hope very much we will see you in the future.

Faultless.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very high standard in every way. We were surprised that the barn is in its fifth letting year.The condition of the fixtures and fittings indicated that it was in its first or second year. Full marks for that. The "countryside conservation" ethos is a great plus and convinced us to join the RSPB at Bempton!

Bridlington has the now near standard decaying UK resort centre, but Sewerby is enough of a draw with its cliff walks to ensure that we will re book.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your carefully considered review of High Barn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and intend to return. We are lucky to be sited between Bempton and Sewerby, close to the RSPB Reserve and the lovely cliiffs and scenery of Flamborough Head and Sewerby . On a positive note for Bridlington, the town has begun a long-term, long awaited plan of regeneration and has nuggets of gold- The Spa complex, both north and south beaches (long walks, 7 miles of sand) the newly opened East Riding Leisure Centre, The Spotlight Theatre and several excellent cafes, restaurants and bars. We're happy to point you in their direction on a return visit.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm, comfortable and spacious cottage with everything you could need. The quality of everything was first class and the views from all windows help to relax. I found the rookery fascinating and the owl cam addictive! One of the best cottages I have ever stayed in.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for writing such a super review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Owl House and took pleasure in the surrounding wildlife. The rookery at the foot of the paddock is indeed interesting to visitors. We hardly notice it, as it has been there as long as anyone can remember! The Barn owl webcam is a special favourite, especially when her chicks arrive.

Owl House

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage, very welcome food hamper, beautiful surroundings. Had a problem with heating and hot water but John arrived promptly and fixed it. Thank you



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your positive review. We hope to see you again.

Fantastic cottage in a lovely location for a perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed in many holiday cottages but rarely have we found a cottage so faultless as the Owl House. We were able to relax from the first second we arrived and we stayed that way until we left.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay this February at High Barn in The Owl House. Our intention has been to make them as welcoming a place to stay in winter as in summer and hopefully we have succeeded in doing so.

The Owl House

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation at The Owl House, everything was catered for from the very generous hamper of local goodies to the most comfy beds, peaceful location, well equiped kitchen and a resident owl! What more could you want? We would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your holiday in The Owl House. The Barn Owl is a big attraction at High Barn and she seems very happy there in her nest box. She's interesting to watch on the webcam. we hope we might have the pleasure of meeting you again.

Extremely high spec!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl House cottage is extremely clean and comfortable, very warm, well set out in a private and sympathetic way. The fixtures and furnishings are of a very high specification and everything you need is provided. There is even a welcome basket with things you might not have brought with you. There are fresh flowers in the hallway. Little touches that make you feel at home!

The gardens are well stocked and look very beautiful. The car park has plenty of room for everyone staying. There are walks straight from the cottage in the beautiful surroundings. You always get a warm welcome from Angela and John.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted your stay in The Owl House proved successful and that you enjoyed the surroundings and the comfort of the cottage. It pleases us greatly to have happy, contented guests . Thank-you for your lovely comments.

Fabulous time at Owl House

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at Owl House. A party of 4 (mum, dad and 2 daughters), we spent such a lovely time at High Barn.
The cottage was excellent, very comfortable and everything that you could need. Good location, easy access into Bridlington.
Angela and John were very welcoming and very helpful. It was a wonderful week and we hope to return.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We are glad you enjoyed your time in The Owl House. We were grateful you pointed out a couple of housekeeping slip-ups. this helps us keep on top of our game.

Luxury Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second time at the The Owl House and it never fails to deliver. It is very cosy, but with all the luxuries. We have had a very relaxing, comfortable stay. The luxury hamper with the milk and butter was a big plus, as we forgot to bring a couple of staples. It is has been very quiet and the weather has been kind to us too. We will recommend this cottage to all our friends and family



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm glad you liked The Owl House enough to return a second time. I think it is cosy too. Thank-you for recommending to family and friends - much appreciated.

The best ever!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best cottage we have ever stayed in. The wildlife was amazing and it was ideal having 2 bathrooms and two kingsize rooms. Maybe 1 dog in 1 cottage?



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I think to receive the accolade of 'the best ever' is incredibly heartening to ourselves and our very loyal staff. We have thought long and hard over the subject of dogs and have decided to keep High Barn dog free. The surroundings have a very healthy wildlife population, which we like to encourage and which, we think, would be deterred by the presence visitors' dogs.

A great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a lovely location. The owl webcam was an added bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be recommending High Barn Cottages to friends.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you, Susan for your very positive recommendation of The Owl House. I'm glad you liked the cottage and its location. Our Barn Owl webcam is of great interest to most visitors. No eggs that hatched this year, but she is still in residence, so if she finds a new partner, we have high hopes for 2016. The baby owls are a joy to watch.

Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our first stay here. Like the indulgence of a luxury hotel combined with the space, convenience and independence of self catering. Loved the wild flowers from the front door; the owl on the webcam; the well stocked kitchen; the tasteful decor; and high quality over all. A lovely stretch of coast on the doorstep that we hadn't explored below. The relaxing break that we needed.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Although it was posted some time ago, I would like ( belatedly) to thank-you for your lovely comments about The Owl House. We hope our cottages are restful and rejuvenating, providing a perfect place for a getaway.

Heaven!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent, homely, comfortable property set in a beautiful and peaceful location which lived up to all our expectations. The fixtures,fittings,furnishings, bedding and kitchen equipment were all to a very high standard and we received a lovely welcome pack, the bread was fantastic! We had a lovely relaxing break which we all thoroughly enjoyed and we will return in the future as this fabulous East Yorkshire Coast is the best place in the world! The only disappointment was that we did not get to see any Owl chicks, due, unfortunately, to 'Mother Nature' not the owners!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Your review was most kind and wholly appreciated. We too think the East Yorkshire Coast is truly spectacular and is special whatever the season.

An enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Owl House very much indeed and found our hosts to be helpful in every way. We would certainly recommend High Barn Cottages and very much hope to enjoy more time there in the future.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
A long overdue reply, but no less heartfelt for that. Thank-you for your kind review and we'll be delighted to see you if you can return in the future.