FB Twitter

High Barn: The Cake House

High Barn: The Cake House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 46 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


The Cake House at High Barn offers the height of luxury in a tranquil, secluded setting, sleeping up to four in two en-suite bedrooms. The Cake House is a ground floor cottage. One of the en-suites is a wet room and is suitable for those with somewhat limited mobility. Spacious, modern, totally comfortable and appointed to the highest standard, Generous complementary Yorkshire Produce hamper showcasing the best of our local food producers
Lovely, open views.

Second stay - and it did not disappoint

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at the Cake House and it was as lovely as we remembered it to be! The standards are still excellent, customer service is second to none and the Welcome Hamper is always a treat to explore. So often we have found when we return to other places that standards have slipped or the accommodation has become tardy. Not so at all here.

The wet room accessibility is ideal for my elderly parents and the quietness of the location really does add to the whole ambience of the place. It feels like a real home from home too.

More explorations of the East Coast and the Wolds and we hope very much to return again next year!

Thanks for excellent comfort, hospitality and service!


Fiona from Sutton-in-ashfield stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in July 2018


A lovely relaxing short break

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A excellent place to chill out and relax whilst handy for walking,especially the cliff tops and also beaches quite close.We loved staying there again

Geoff from Barnoldswick stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 3 nights in June 2018


Angela replied 19 days ago
Very good to have you back and we hope to see you again.

Fabulous as always!!!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic break at The Cake House yet again, idyllic location with excellent accommodation. Thank you

Deborah from Mansfield stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in June 2018


xxx

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Most enjoyable only opportunity for improvement would be to replace 1 settee with 2 comfortable armchairs

Peter from Ilkley stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in June 2018


Angela replied 31 days ago
We're very pleased you enjoyed another stay with us and are looking forward to your next one this coming September

Excellent wheelchair accessible cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days last November in the cake house. Highly recommended and excellent for a wheelchair user. The owners were really helpful providing a plastic chair to use in the wet room, all the facilities were top quality and, although not specifically adapted, were all easy to use. The location was so peaceful and we loved watching the owl come and go on his evening flights. We hope to be back again at some point. Definitely one of the best places we have stayed (and we have travelled a fair bit). Many thanks for everything (and apologies for taking so long to write this review!), Helen and Kevin

Helen from Halifax stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 3 nights in November 2017


Angela replied 52 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. We do hope you will visit us again.

Shhhh don’t tell everybody

Review submitted on Sun, 13 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a ideal bolt hole for exploring the East Coast or for just putting your feet up and relaxing. It’s a home from home. Excellent for me with mobility problems with the wet room. The owners are such wonderful helpful and friendly people. 5 plus stars all round.

C from Rotherham stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 5 nights in May 2018


Angela replied 65 days ago
Such a lovely review- we're delighted The Cake House suits you.

Excellent Holiday Accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cake House is a wonderful cottage to enjoy a break. The cottage itself had everything provided with the hamper of local produce a welcome addition. A luxurious base to come back to after exploring the local area.

Jean from Nantwich stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 3 nights in May 2018


Angela replied 68 days ago
Thank you for troubling to post a review. We're delighed ou enjoyed your stay at High Barn.

Location, Location, Location...

Review submitted on Thu, 03 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a returner to High Barn Cottages and in particular the Cake House we knew what to expect and the standards of cleaniliness, the quality of the furnishings and the high standards around the grounds, did not disappoint. We chose the Cake House for the Accessibility factor, as at 85 Mum has some mobility issues. She feels confident and able to potter around the cottage, take a shower, with the aid of a shower stool and generally go about her daily routine, without feeling compromised. There's so much to see and do, within easy driving distance and despite a cool wind we managed to get out every day. There was an issue with the internet, which was out of everyone's hands, though the owner worked hard over the weekend to try and rectify matters. We have met a number of the High Bar 'Team' and everyone always has time for a chat and ready advice if needed.
The cottages are extremely well fitted out and very comfortable. There was the option for a 'High chair, with arms' on the booking form this year and we did request it, as Mum finds the settees a little low and struggles to get out. The chair was a carver dining chair, which was a little disappointing. We appreciate that it would be difficult to change the furniture around too much, but an upholstered chair would be lovely if it could be provided. No criticism, more of an observation Thank You


Judi from Ripley stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in April 2018


Angela replied 72 days ago
Thank you for our very comprehensive and positive review.

Cake House

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cake House was an excellent base to explore East and North Yorkshire. The house is very clean with everything you need to enjoy a relaxing break. The added bonus of being able to watch owls is great.

Jackie from Lincoln stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in April 2018


Angela replied 97 days ago
We're really pleased you had a god time in The Cake House. The barn owls seem to be a bit slow in producing their eggs this April - we're waiting in anticipation. Three babies last year and six the year before!

My birthday treat at the cake house

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a lovely week in the cake house, it was spotlessly clean and so comfortable and warm as are all the cottages we have stayed in belonging to field house farm. A big thank you to James for bringing round my birthday surprise.Hope to be back later this year.

Brian from Selby stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in March 2018


angela replied 109 days ago
Once again it was good to have you stay with us.

3 day stay in Feb

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Came over from US and took parents for Brief 3 day trip. The Cake House was warm and inviting given frigid February weather. Cottage has everything you need and more. Everything is great quality. Welcome hamper was a nice touch too. Also really appreciated the heated floors, which are powered my electricity generated by the windmill. Will no doubt go back again. Excellent.

John from Naples stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 2 nights in February 2018


A replied 143 days ago
So glad you enjoyed the warmth of The Cake House when it was so wintry outside. we look forward to your next visit.

We love this place

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about any of these properties is excellent. Watching the barn owl when there is nothing on the tv is a treat. It is always toasty warm. We will be back again in summer.

Frank and Helen from Warrington stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in December 2017


Angela. replied 185 days ago
We're so pleased you find our cottages at High Barn live up to your high expectations.

Another great stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always a great stay, from the marvellous welcome pack to the lovely surroundings.
We will be back again, definitely.
Sadly extremely windy and we had a flapping noise at the kitchen end and the log burner chimney was rattling but hey it’s doubtful anything could be done about that.


Helen from Matlock stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 3 nights in October 2017


Angela. replied 251 days ago
We're delighted to have you stay once more. We will investigate the flapping noises in the kitchen/ log burner - sometimes when the wind really gets up, we have to become detectives!

A good base to explore East Yorkshire from.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The accommodation and situation were great. The 'Owl Cam' a real bonus - if we'd come when they had chicks I doubt we'd have seen any of Yorkshire!

Richard and Mandy from Dorchester stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in October 2017


Angela. replied 255 days ago
We're very pleased your stay in The Cake House was a happy one. We know what you mean about the owl-cam - it is compulsive viewing.

East Riding Luxury

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the standard of the conversion to the soft white bathrobes provided, my wife and I were blown away by the accommodation at the Cake House. As a person of restricted mobility I think Angela and John have thought of virtually everything to make one's stay here as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We might have to take a look at their apartments in York so that we can do some more sightseeing in that remarkable city.

Gary from stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in October 2017


Angela. replied 275 days ago
Just delighted everything was to your pleasing.

Wow! A pure gem

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely luxurious stay in 'The Cake House' a wonderful cottage with everything to hand, home from home.

Deborah from Mansfield stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in October 2017


Angela replied 283 days ago
Thank you. It's very gratifying to know our visitors love our cottages at High Barn.

no comment needed

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
first class in every way to reach absolute perfection add a comfortable armchair and Sky sports xxxxx

Peter from Ilkley stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in September 2017


Angela replied 289 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and have booked to return

Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage ticked all the boxes. Outstanding level of comfort and beautifully presented. I would not hesitate to recommend.

Jean from Southend On Sea stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in September 2017


Angela replied 295 days ago
Getting everything right for our visitors is what we try to do . We're delighted you so enjoyed your stay.

Lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a five day stay at the Cake House - the property has been well thought out and the interior is very much like a home from home. The location is great for visiting the coast or the NY Moors and it is such a peaceful setting. We really enjoyed our stay and it is a pleasure to recommend this to anyone who wishes a little 'home from home' luxury on holiday.

Fiona from Sutton-in-ashfield stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in July 2017


Angela replied 344 days ago
Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at High Barn.

Lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Top quality accommodation, very clean and comfy beds. We went with 2 under 5's and it was ideal. Good facilities and the owner was very welcoming.

Guest from York stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in July 2017


Angela replied 352 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in The Cake House

Beautiful gem of a cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cake House looked nice on the website but exceeded all our expectations on arrival. It's the standard of a luxury hotel but with the feel of being at home. It was spotlessly clean, very spacious and furnished to a very high tasteful standard with many small personal touches. All the crockery and cutlery is very high quality too and the kitchen is very well provisioned.
Both bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms, the twin having a wet room with mobility aids if required, all beautifully maintained. Each room has a large patio door with stunning views across wheat fields were we saw pheasants, hares and barn owls every evening along with beautiful sunsets.
The cottage is part of the Green Tourism scheme so has wind powered underfloor heating, a composter for the loos, recycling and many other green credentials.
It's situated in a quiet country lane but within 5 mins drive of both Bempton Cliffs and Bridlington. There s so much to do in the area we will be coming back for longer.
I can't stress how lovely this cottage is. There are 4 cottages each sleeping four so it would be lovely to hire them all for a family gathering or special occasion.
A gem of a cottage an highly recommended


Gail from Sheffield stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in July 2017


Angela replied 359 days ago
We're so pleased you liked The Cake House and the setting at High Barn. We think it's pretty special and are delighted when our guests think so too.

Comfortable stay in lovely surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner, and my elderly parents and I thoroughly enjoyed a week here. The place was spacious, comfortable and a welcoming place to come back to each day after sightseeing. The bedrooms are at either end which gives more privacy to each couple and being on one level was ideal for mum and dad. Being in a rural location was wonderful for seeing the wildlife. And spotting the barn owls we had seen on the owlcam each day was addictive! Yet it was not far to different locations for sightseeing so you don't spend long in the car. My partner and I walked the Flamborough headland from North to South landing. It was good for bird spotting. However RSPB Bempton cliffs is magnificent for this also and very nearby. The owner John was there to welcome us and very helpful.

Carolyn from Storrington stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in July 2017


Angela replied 343 days ago
We're delighted The Cake House suited all members of your party.

Perfect place to stay in the country, near the coast.

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unfortunately we had to leave early due to my husband being unwell and needing our own doctor. Everything about Cake House was perfect and we hope that maybe we will be able to return another time.

Ann from York stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in May 2017


Thelma and Louise chill out......

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a trying year Mum and I needed a little break away from it all. We needed somewhere suitable for a not so nimble 84 year old, but with all the comforts of home and we found it (with brass knobs on) at High Barn Cottages, and specifically in The Cake House. The cottages are furnished to a very high standard and everything you need for a relaxing stay is there, including a lovely welcome basket. If you prefer to shop once you arrive there's everything there for a light breakfast the first morning. Sadly, the weather was pretty dire for the few days we were there, but we made the most of it with lots of reading, wildlife spotting in the fields at the rear (from the comfort of a seat in front of a lovely fire in the wood burning stove) and most enjoyably... watching Owl TV! The owl is located in a nesting box above the aptly named Owl Cottage and live stream is available to watch 24hrs a day. The current occupant had a clutch of four eggs when we arrived, and by the second day it was clear one of the eggs had hatched. The Mum is very attentive and so you have to be pretty lucky to see inside the nest, but we got a quick glimpse of what we believed was a sleeping chick and the remaining 3 eggs, on our last day. We did try to view the Gannets and Puffins at the RSPB reserve just up the road at Bempton Cliffs, but the weather was to rough for us. There's plenty to do, locally, for everyone and if you enjoy walking, then this is a superb base. If you prefer (or need) to drive then there is a wealth of choice within a 30 minute drive, but give Hornsea Freeport retail outlet a miss, it was very disappointing.

Judi from Ripley stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in April 2017


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so pleased The Cake House lived up to your expectations and that you were entertained by the camera in the Barn Owl's nest box. Hopefully, Thelma and Louise might breeze by in the future!

Another fabulous stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely love it at High barn. The cake house works well we like the layout and spacious feel. All the properties are so very well equipped and extremely comfortable. We will keep returning.

Helen from Matlock stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 3 nights in April 2017


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It's always pleasing to welcome back regular returners like yourselves. We're delighted the cottages at High Barn live up to your expectations.

Easter getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have rented a lot of cottages and this one is a favourite. We had a wonderful stay in an immaculate cottage in a relaxed environment. The facilities include everything you need and seeing the owl was a highlight.

Claire from Macclesfield stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 3 nights in April 2017


Angela replied 343 days ago
I'm so pleased we count as a favourite cottage of yours.

No Title

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent have booked again nothing further needs adding xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Peter from Ilkley stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in April 2017


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your 1st stay with us and look forward to seeing you again later this year.

Easter break

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cake house provided an excellent base for a short break. Location, house and weather could not have been improved.

Jackie from Lincoln stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in April 2017


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your early Easter break in The Cake House

An enjoyable short break

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very well equipped property close to Sewerby and Bempton. We liked the open plan living and kitchen area and views of open countryside. We had requested adaptions for a wheelchair user which were provided although the wet room only has a rain maker style shower head, no separate attachment so was quite difficult to use. Also one of the bedrooms was very light in morning as there was a glass door to the bathroom and no blind on the bathroom window! Having said this it is difficult to find properties all on one level so would return and recommend to others

Anna from Sheffield stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 3 nights in March 2017


7 days Christmas brake

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all enjoyed the warmth and coziness of our stay.The hamper was a real Christmas treat, and watching the Owl ,what a beautiful bird can't wait to come back again and see if her?mate comes back,and they rear some Owlets.Have given your card to 2 other couples with my recommendation.!!!

Frank and Helen from Warrington stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in December 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted your stay in The Cake House was such a success. Thank-you for recommending us to others.

Fabulous!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cake House is a wonderful, first class place. Angela & John have thought of every detail & are extremely helpful. I wholeheartedly recommend this accommodation.

Joanna from Holmfirth stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in October 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for posting such a lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed our stay. Lovely setting and very comfortable house. Well located for enjoying beaches and also Bempton RSPB reserve. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Guest from Perth stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 8 nights in August 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for taking the trouble to write a post holiday review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Cake House and delighted that you will recommend us to family and friends

Somewhere very special.

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th visit to high barns the 3rd in the cake house, this place draws us back excellent accommodate beautiful quiet setting. Lovely freindly owners.

Sylvia from Nottingham stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in July 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It is always lovely to have returners like yourselves. We're delighted you think of High Barn as a 'special' place - we do too.

Perfect Accommodation at Last

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been seeking high quality accommodation in the Scarborough /.Bridlington area for over ten years; hotels, rental properties and B and Bs were always disappointing. Finally we found The Cake House in the High Barn development near Sewerby and as far as we and the friends who travel with us are concerned it is perfect - hence our return visit this year. This small development of rental properties is well thought out and perfectly managed in every way. Its quiet location offers peace, quiet and glimpses of wildlife but also easy access to beautiful coastlines and many of the historic properties of East Yorkshire. We're glad we persevered in our quest for a high quality rental property in this relatively unexplored part of England - it was worth the wait!

Joanna from stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in July 2016


Angela replied 343 days ago
We're thrilled to accept your complimentary review.

A perfect stay in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cake House is a lovely cottage fitted out to the highest spec in an amazing location. We saw hares from our patio Windows and at night bats flew round the cottage. I even caught a glimpse of the resident owl flying across the fields and a hedgehog making his way across the grass. It is very peaceful and rural yet only a short drive from the lovely beach at Bridlington. Be piton cliffs are very near where we saw puffins and kittiwakes nesting.


Janet and Dave from Notts stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in July 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
The opportunity to see wildlife up close is one of the most attractive features of our cottages at High Barn. Coupled with top- quality high end accommodation, we think they are pretty special and we're so glad that you agree with us. We hope to see you again.

SUPERB

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There are insufficient words in the English language to express our gratitude to John and Angela Foster in facilitating our recent stay at the Cake House. The property is beautiful with all the comforts of home making our short stay extremely relaxing. In our opinion the coastline around the area cannot be beaten with numerous options for trips out and about. We will be back!!!

Susan from Ripon stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 3 nights in July 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your thoroughly positive review. We're delighted you so enjoyed your stay.

The Cake House

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend the cake house for it's first class accommodation and well situated holiday destination. It provided us with a very comfortable place to return to after a busy day discovering Yorkshire.
John was very welcoming and provided us with lots of information and the welcome hamper was exceptional.


Linda from Dumfries stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in May 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay in The Cake House and found it to be both comfortable and welcoming. Our local produce hamper is always very popular with guests.

Five Star Accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to the Yorkshire Coast, the location and quality of the accommodation was of the highest standard. This really made for a most enjoyable week in an area that we look forward revisiting soon.

Shirley from Bushey stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in May 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your 1st stay in this area at High Barn. We look forward to having you stay with us again some time in the future.

Review of The Cake House - February 2016

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a super weeks holiday at The Cake House during the February half term break. The cottage is beautifully appointed and we enjoyed both relaxing in the cottage during rainy days and also exploring the surrounding area. The welcome hamper and fresh flowers were very much appreciated. The children (including me!) enjoyed watching the Owl cam and we were determined to see it fly off before we left. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Cake House and would be very happy to return to spend another holiday there in the future.

David from Mattersey stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in February 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your half-term break in The Cake House and hope to see you again in the future.

Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect !!! in every way can't fault anything beautiful.The best cottage that we have stayed in. Location,comfort,decor definitely give it a five star rating

Frances from stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in October 2015


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for such a glowing review. We're delighted The Cake House was just right for you. Hopefully, you'll be able to re-visit our cottages at High Barn in the future.

A delightful short break

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this cottage - well appointed, warm and comfortable and in a peaceful location but still within an easy drive of holiday facilities and a wonderful coastline. Looking forward to returning in the future.

Guest from Keighley stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in September 2015


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Cake House. We look forward to welcoming you to our cottages in the future.

A relaxing break

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property lives up to the description on the website. It has everthing you need for a lovely peaceful break. The standard of the barns is very high. The beds and linen are lovely and it was hard work to get up in the morning! There is no noise at all and we didn't see anyone else around all weekend. We went out and about in the daytime but the barn was so lovely we ate in each evening as we couldn't bear to leave the setting sun which we could see from our lounge and bedrooms. It was nicer than my actual home and I never wanted to leave ;-). The kitchen is well equipped and it's all lovely and clean. The bathrooms are modern and the wet room in the cake house is lovely and roomy. The towels provided are also of high quality.

Ann-marie from Northwich stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 2 nights in September 2015


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted that The Cake House lived up to all your expectations. Never wanting to leave is the highest of praise - we thank-you.

Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real Home from Home.
We were delighted with the high standard of the whole place .The welcome basket was so unexpected and very useful thoroughly enjoyed the home made apple juice.We thoroughly appreciated the wide sunny aspect from all areas of the cake house ,the lovely patio area and despite the comment below we found it all very relaxing.
Very easy Access to Bridlington the wonderful RSPB Bempton Cliffs and Flamborough Head..
Very well thought out high standard accommodation for normal needs , I would have loved to try the wood burning stove but as main patio windows are south west facing the whole place was lovely and warm. The sunsets brilliant.
A small comment :-
I mistakenly took wheelchair accessible as suitable for someone who cannot stand I therefore
took my very elderly mother who is unable to walk/stand as stated the whole area IS wheelchair accessible BUT the bathroom sinks are very modern sit on top of the surfaces and look wonderful but are not accessible for washing from sitting position in a wheelchair.


Guest from Froggatt stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 7 nights in July 2015


Angela Foster replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review of The Cake House. We're very happy that you experienced such an enjoyable stay. We're sorry about your misunderstanding regarding the cottage's suitability for a visitor unable either to walk or stand. Both the Cake House and The Spinney have level access and wide doors which enable access for a wheelchair user. The en-suite bedrooms feature wet rooms and the living/dining areas, the kitchens and outside seating areas are all designed to accommodate a wheelchair user. We provide a shower stool in each wet room. However, lower sinks and washbasins have not been installed and are only required with Mobility 3 Ratings, which we have not sought to achieve. We believed we provided very clear information explaining what was on offer, but your very welcome comments indicate that we perhaps need to clarify this, both on our website and in our literature, in order to avoid any possible difficulty . Thank-you.

Yorkshire comfort on the coast

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we stayed in High barns this year.
It truly is a wonderful relaxing and most excellent base to see the Yorkshre Coast and meet the lovely people who make up the many communities around.

If you enjoy walking, cycling or just chilling out, you will not be disappointed.



Guest from Newark on Trent stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 4 nights in July 2015


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you, Peter for your very positive comments about our cottages at High Barn. I would agree with you that it is a good spot for a walking, cycling or just getting away from it all type of holiday.

Perfect Yorkshire Accommodation - At Last .

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in the Scarborough/Bridlington area every summer for over ten years and have sought in vain for high quality self catering accommodation for 4 adults. Finally our tenacity has paid off. The Cake House offered us just what we required in terms of location and 5 star accommodation. The chance to observe the local wildlife at such close quarters was an added bonus!

Guest from stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 6 nights in July 2015


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Joanna for your very kind comments. We are very glad you have now found accommodation to match your high expectations, and that it is at High Barn. We hope to see you again.

Weekend Break

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having searched extensively for somewhere to accommodate 2 couples on a nice weekend break from kids and jobs etc (close to the East coast) of a high standard, I chanced upon High Barn Cottages on the web. I made a phone call to enquire about availability for our dates and spoke to John initially and then to Angela later and was offered Cake House for a reasonable price for the obvious standard and quality as it appeared on the web site
My wife and friend were in the advance party to get things organised and prepare a meal for us 2 men to arrive later and as I understand they had no problems finding or getting in to the property. Well I don't often rave about these things often but we were all so impressed by the standard and quality of the accommodation and the interesting story of how it had been developed from old farm buildings and the environmental aspect of the project. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we could not have asked for anything else it was all there....It felt like staying in a 5* hotel with bathrobes and all the trimmings even a welcome hamper!
Superb location, very secure, ample parking, quiet and peaceful but not too far from local amenities etc. We were also told not to rush leaving on Sunday as they didn't need to turn the property around that day so just relaxed chatting over breakfast all morning. As the weather was not good we decided to leave for a little shopping trip to York and were sorry to leave. Will definitely go again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you from Gary, Anita, Nadim, and Louise.


Guest from Sheffield stayed at High Barn: The Cake House for 2 nights in June 2015


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
A late reply, but many thanks for your lovely review. We have only just started two night breaks at High Barn, which we intend to develop more fully this Autumn, throughout the Winter and into 2016. I am so glad we fulfilled your expectations for a relaxing short break.