FB Twitter

Tigh Phoil

Tigh Phoil

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
4.7
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.5


Tigh Phoil, Elgol is a characterful traditional croft house, perfect for couples or single travellers. It has a double bedroom with log burner, a lounge / kitchen / diner with another log burner and a bathroom with W.C. and bath with shower over. It is a cosy and rustic cottage, perfect for those looking to get away from it all!

A lovely little cottage hidden away in the trees, ideal for a peaceful hideaway!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Despite the worst of weather the week we stayed in Skye we had a lovely time.

The furnishings were rustic and cosy and fitted the setting. The wood burning stoves were great and we lit the living room/kitchen one every evening. We lit the one in the bedroom only 1 evening. The flat was sound proof and with extra thick walls we were not going to be disturbed or cold. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. The wifi was good in an evening but a bit hit and miss during the day. There was enough to check emails but no netflix viewing :-).There was one day when we looked out of the window and saw 3 sheep looking back at us which added to our experience.

Apart from one small hotel restaurant (with mixed reviews) there were nowhere else to eat out in an evening. We brought food with us and at the local Coop in Broadford. The small kitchen had all you needed to able to rustle up a snack to a full roast dinner.

All in all, we would definitely come back again




4 day stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Had a lovely 4 day stay at this cottage beautiful location. Well equipped easy to find. Comfy bed but sitting room chair is dreadful need throwing out ASAP no tv and couldn’t get radio so would be advised to bring own cds .



A lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We drove for many hours to be greeting by a hidden little cottage with a lovely garden - from which the view of the Black Cuillins was magnificent. The little cottage has all the comforts that one needs, we certainly didn’t miss anything. The bed is very comfortable, the shower warm and powerful and the fireplace very cosy. Would recommend to anyone.

There is a beautiful Michelin star restaurant opposite, a village shop 20 mins walk away, and all else is just Nature. You will receive a welcome chorus from the sheep in the opposite field when you leave your house, and the sound of the Cuckoo will keep you company during the day.

Christine who looks after the house is ever so lovely.




Thumbs up!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy place to stay! Great to have a log fire. Very nice welcoming touches of wine and biscuits. Would recommend!



A very traditional cottage in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Apr 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tigh Phoil is a great property for anyone looking to stay in a very traditional cottage on a beautiful location. Whilst it doesn't have as many creature comforts as other properties, the location is great and the historic nature of the house makes for a unique holiday.



Ideal retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I enjoyed our 3 nights at end of August, in this hidden retreat.

We were cosy the entire time, especially with the log burners - although we only used the one in living room!

The bed was extra comfy!

It's worth bearing in mind there's no microwave. Although would highly recommend regardless!!

Don't forget to switch on the hot water before taking a shower as we did one morning :)

Thanks for having us Tigh Phoil!




Comfortable Cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband & I chose this cottage based on the pictures and location. The cottage was adorable. It's very private, in fact you can't even see it from the main road. I think that the pictures and directions should be updated because the beautiful sign for the cottage is now hidden by the overgrowth of trees and we had a little bit of confusion trying to find the cottage & parking space for our car. The front lawn is also overgrown as well and needs to be cut down. We would recommend this cottage to everyone, however. It truly felt like a home away from home and if we ever find ourselves back in Skye, we would definitely book again.



A lovely croft in great location on isle of skye

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My girlfriend and I had a great stay. Great location in Elgol. Woodburner was great in bedroom. Lovely garden.



A great retreat and base for exploring Skye

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Tigh Phoil is an absolutely charming place for a couple to get away and relax from it all. It was also great as a base for exploring the rest of the island (by car). All the facilities were clean and most conveniences catered for. No TV or microwave but then who really needs those when you have the amazing landscapes and wildlife of Skye, the sound of the stream outside, the birds calling, the rain pattering on the roof, the crackle of a log burner, and the odd sheep barring! We had breakfast outside on the picnic table too. It's just a 30 minute walk down to actual Elgol, which has a great view of the Cuillin Hills over the water, opportunities for boat trips (we took the Sea Explorer over to Canna which was fantastic), and interesting rocks to climb over on the shore. A lovely experience and would definitely recommend.



Rustic cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very rural location. Lovely characterful crofters cottage. Well kitted out. Had expected to be closer to the sea from the pictures, but harbour not too far to walk.



IH Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for leaving the review and great to hear you enjoyed the cottage. Thanks again!